Related Articles

Hyundai wins three 2018 Good Design awards

Marvel fan suits up Iron Man-inspired Kona

Hyundai launches Kona Iron Man special edition

Vehicle sales and transfers to go online


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Dec 2018
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Hyundai Kona 1.0 GLS Turbo (M)
11 Apr 2018  |  Hyundai Reviews
The Hyundai Kona is one of the many new crossovers hitting the market. But with its minute and fuel-saving powerplant, will it be a hit amongst Singaporeans?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Hyundai Kona 1.6 GLS Turbo vs Subaru XV 2.0i-S vs Toyota C-HR 1.2 Turbo
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Kona
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
5 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
5 out of 5 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

5 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
MarkerPen
1st Gear
15 reviews
54 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2011
Good car, pity only the manual is available for the 1.0T  Posted on 24 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I was drawn to the looks of the Kona when it was launched. It looks exciting and fresh in the car world. The car was packed with many safety features and was priced reasonably (back in March 2018) about 85k.

I test drove the 1.0T which had only a manual gearbox and found it to be a fun city car which had ample power for overtaking. The interior design is slightly drab and quality is just average.

I was keen on the car but due to the lack of an automatic option for the wife who only has a 3A licence and it would be a chore to drive a manual everyday, I decided to give the car a pass. This is the major gripe I have with an otherwise attractive car.

What I like
- Funky and fresh looks
- Many safety features
- Priced reasonably during higher COE (March 2018)

What I do not like
- Manual gearbox
- Boring interior design
- Average interior quality

shandelxar
Premium User shandelxar
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2015
So much fun in a sub 100k crossover  Posted on 14 Nov 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bold styling. Stands apart from the crowd (sorry Vezel/HRV). Packed to the brim with safety tech. Apple CarPlay and Android Auto preinstalled. Excellent fuel economy. Features you'll only normally find in a car somewhere twice its price.

And then there's it. The manual transmission.

For me, it was an easy trade-off. Having driven my last vehicle manual transmission more than 10 years ago, it was a leap of faith, albeit an easy one. The Kona is a fresh breath of air in the saturated crossover segment. There's always benefit in letting others go first (unsurprisingly, a popular mentality somewhere, hmm) and then coming with bold styling and packing the car chock-full with technology.

After taking delivery of one about 2 months ago, the car is still a joy to drive each time. The manual transmission is engaging (literally, one won't find time to use electronic devices while driving - a good thing) and puts you in focus of the joy that is driving. At the same time, everything else is taken care of by the car. Auto wipers, auto headlights, Apple CarPlay reads messages to you and one can use Google Maps or Waze to navigate around and then finally, the auto start-stop. It's almost poetic that they want you to only drive - and not get distracted by anything else.

And for those fearing the almighty dead engine due to improper clutch handling in a traffic stop/go - don't worry. When it happens, return the transmission to neutral and the engine starts itself back up in less than a second. How cool is that?!

The build quality is solid - and while many carmakers pretend to be steel companies by touting the use of high tensile steel or whatnot, Hyundai is a steel company pretending to be a carmaker, sourcing materials from other arms of their massive conglomerate. The build quality is solid and one can almost feel the technology and the sturdiness underlying the steel frame of the vehicle.

Finally, hats off to Komoco Singapore for a wonderful customer experience and delivering a car that's truly one for the (manual) masses.

tohkaeluen
Premium User tohkaeluen
1st Gear
1 reviews
85 points
41 forum posts Joined on 24-Apr-2016
A very good alternative to Vezel/HR-V/CH-R, if you don't mind driving manual  Posted on 06 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was looking for a car to replace my manual vios. Found this through my friend's recommendation. Went for a test drive and loved the way it behaved and handled. As the price was acceptable at that time, I put down the deposit after a day or two of consideration. Didn't regret the choice so far.

What I like
Response is on par or better than a 1.5 non-turbo car, despite its heavier body.

Features that are optional in many car models are standard for Kona.

Price.

Manual. 6 speed and I love manual.

Very stable in cornering. Handling is quite responsive, similar to a small sedan.

Spacious cabin. But that one is subjective.

What I do not like
The current fuel consumption is some distance from the claimed number, but that really depends on driving style.

No options for wheels. The original one is quite ugly and hard to maintain in my opinion. But no choice cos Hyundai only has one design for the 17 inch wheels.

No boot cover for the variants brought to Singapore.

jakekoh619
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
18 points
10 forum posts Joined on 06-May-2015
Kona Kappa 1.0L  Posted on 06 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I'm a convert from auto to manual 10+yrs after i passed my driving test. Honestly, it wasn't easy but the custom transmission helps people like me to get used to driving the stick after so long.

pick up is great if you're the type that enjoys power. No spare tyre given but i guess no one does changing of their own when it really goes these days.

all in all, i feel the features provided are still somewhat premium for an SUV class

What I like
» Boost from the mini turbo
» SUV class at a sedan price
» Apple CarPlay
» Spacious cabin area
» Blind-spot warning system
» Lane keep assist

What I do not like
» Manual only for 1L
» poor FC @ 14.4 avg (mixed of highway and city + medium foot)
» Small boot/cargo space
» Interior features are way different from other variants thus difficult to get accessories

» 3-cylinder engine
» heavy body

benedutoria
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Mar-2018
Packed to the brim with features, v nice drive.  Posted on 19 Mar 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had the opportunity to drop by the hyundai showroom recent - as a 1st time car buyer all i want is a fuss free, simple n reliable car for my growing family. I was considering the kia cerato k3, hyundai elantra n honda city.
when i went to hyundai, the se jerryl ling suggested i take a look at the kona too since i am v comfortable w driving m/t cars (i used to drive my company kangaroo van home). 1st impression when i got in was how the interior was such a dull n boring place to be - the orange stitching on the seats are an additional cost optn. It totally doesn't match the trendy n funky exterior! Car is obviously built to a cost - plastics are hard n v hollow sounding when u knock, boot dun have cover so ppl can look inside n see wat ur boot has.
drive was total opposite of the boring interior tho. Clutch was light n v easy to use (unlike the loose yet stiff clutch on the honda city we all used to learned in driving sch), n the se encouraged me to rev it a bit harder in 2nd gear... Boy did the car fly fwd. Once the turbo kicked in the 0-100kmh tot dun feel like 12s at all.
when i tried to corner a bit hard, there was a bit of body roll, but forgivable given its taller than other cars. Se and brochure said the engine is only 3 cylinder, but when i compare it with the attrage 3 cylinder, far cry. Kona is much smoother and almost no vibrating from the engine.
se also pointed out a whole load of featured like blind spot detect, lane keep assistance, 6 airbags, auto emergency braking, sensor to monitor tyre pressure, android and apple auto. N the list goes on. All for below 85k?! A bit ridiculous but se was saying hyundai is always about providing value for money, which i tot agree.

What I like
many std features.
fun to drive, super powerful for a 1l car.
got some nice outstanding colors but dunno resale value will be affect or not if choose something too loud.
fuel economy on paper looks v good.
cheap road tax.
manual car so should be v reliable n cheaper to svc.
knowledgable n not pushy se. my friend recommended se jerrly ling n i can see why - he can confidently ans all my qns, n he seemed v sincere when attending to me. excellent cust svc, should be commented for it.

What I do not like
the interior is so boring. all gray, gray n more gray. also. plastics v hard inside but they look q durable la.
when u off the engine, there's a v cheesy ringtone the car plays. v minor but why hyundai like to do this type of calafare thing?
dealer komoco look like they cut a lot of cost - they dun even include a cover for the boot. if u put a laptop bag inside. n drive to malaysia, god bless u.
speaking of boot, it is small. confirm cant fit 2 prams.
bcos its a turbo, maybe require more exp petrol.
dealer komoco dun give any free svcing package once a discount is given. only first 3 svcing, the labour is free. wth? all the other dealers include minimum 1y free, n i think 1y is already not enuf!
no 10y engine wty available. kia n mistubishi have.
no auto version w the 1l engine. otherwise, take my money n dun give it back!
1.6l auto is v exp - 40k more! se say it is due to ves surcharge. damn.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Hyundai Kona
4 stars - based on 5 reviews