Related Articles

Eight best buys at the Singapore Motor Show 2019

Komoco launches the Hyundai i30 N in Singapore

New Hyundai i30 Fastback available in Singapore

The 5 Series: Best in the business


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Hyundai i30 1.4 GLS DCT Turbo (A)
12 Mar 2018  |  Hyundai Reviews
Spacious, comfortable and boasting much-improved overall quality, the new Hyundai i30 is definitely a capable and affordable hatchback to look out for.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai i30 Hatchback
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
7 out of 7 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Fierydragon
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
4 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2013
Good looking Station wagon  Posted on 14 Jan 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Good looking car, especially with the i30SW. With sunroof, Roof Rack, 4 Speed AT gearbox, Spacious Baggage compartment , colour coordinated leather seats, and numerous small storage space for small items and a 2 bottle holder makes it a perfect car for me.
I bought a 10 years old model, I have been looking for a i30 SW for a long time, and finally i found it.
Paid 5 years COE, changed new suspension, tires,brake pads,new paintwork, radiator, spark plugs, cam sensor and wipers.
Having owned a Tucson before, and knowing Komoco"S after sales service, I decided to have my car refurbished at a reputable workshop at SIn Min. Petrol consumption is lower than advertised and power is a bit lacking when over taking. Step down not so effective. Biggest letdown is the soundless remote car door lock.

What I like
With sunroof, Roof Rack, 4 Speed AT gearbox, Spacious Baggage compartment , colour coordinated leather seats, and numerous small storage space for small items and a 2 bottle holder makes it a perfect car for me.

What I do not like
Having owned a Tucson before, and knowing Komoco"s after sales service, I decided to have my car refurbished at a reputable workshop at SIn Min. Petrol consumption is lower than advertised and power is a bit lacking when over taking. Step down not so effective. Biggest letdown is the soundless remote car door lock.

SallyShelly
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Aug-2018
Most Recommend Car  Posted on 05 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Must recommend this car, good for use and drive!
Must recommend this car, good for use and drive!
Must recommend this car, good for use and drive!

Ikenshin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Surprising Car to own  Posted on 05 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went to komoco, got a great SE (Michael Goh, really helped me all the way) to test out a Avante, initially I am very bent on getting on. As days goes by, I tested more and more cars from other makes and finally decided to pay up for avante. Then my backside itchy when to testdrive the i30, .... The rest is history.

It is quite comfortable as a European made car (Czech) solid body, solid handling.
FC is pretty good going about 14-17 km/l (depending on my highway vs city ratio). Powerful when you (warning it's intoxicating) click on the sports button (yeah FC will take a hit). LED lights front and back, Android are good to have....

No complains thus far (coming from a GTI) except really need to press ISG off, and Autohold on(for tlc on the DCT, and resting your leg at the traffic lights)

What I like
Comfortable, nice to drive, good acessories
Turbo adrenaline when i want it

What I do not like
Really TLC on the DCT

Fenny
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Oct-2018
Hatch with Great Styling and Performance  Posted on 21 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
We also have a thing for hatchback cars, so then it is time to change our 9 years old hatch (Honda Fit), we were just zooming into all the hatches and SUVs that fit our budget and requirements.

Wilfred (from Hyundai Ubi) is very patient and very helpful. We were actually there upon the insistence of a friend to look at Elantra. Very test driving the Elantra, we saw the i30 Hatch and Wagon and were instantly drawn to it.

Immediately Wilfred arranged for another test drive for us.. And this time my hubby and I took turns to test drive it.

Wilfred went through every detail of the i30 and made sure we tested all the features during test drive.

It is very responsive and steering around corner is very stable, noise insulation is good, you can still hear a bit of the engine, but that is quite pleasing to the ears :) No road noise.

Quite generous in terms of cabin space and backrow leg room. For family with young kids, the backrow comes with ISOFIX for your babies's car seat.



The HU is a 9" Unit, sleek looking albeit a bit low-res. But that does not bother me.

Comes with Wirelesss Charging, AutoHold (you do not have to hold your foot brake at traffic junction), Drive mode(ECO, COMFORT AND SPORT), engine idle to save fuel. Comes with front and rear camera, tinted solar film, reverse sensor and keyless entry and lock and car mat. All this little details add up to provide a great driving experience thus far.

Although it does not have all the fancy features like blindspot monitoring, Autonomous Emergency Braking etc, the engine and the driving experience more than makes up for it.

It is in short, a fun and comfortable car to drive. The experience was so good that we ended up booked a unit that day itself.

If you are looking for Hyundai car, strongly recommend i30 and look for Wilfred (At Ubi branch).

What I like
- acceleration (about 9.2s for 0-100km)
- good noise insulation
- very stable when cornering
- 1.4 Turbo
- Great exterior styling & long bonnet
- AutoHold & engine idle
- Multi-link rear suspension
- individual aircon control for passenger and driver
- 7 speed dual clutch transmission
- Auto Chromatic rearview mirror
- drives like a Golf but cost much less
- taller, longer and wider than most hatch

What I do not like
- low res HU
- no blindspot and forward collision, lane departure warning etc
- a bit of lag when starting from a complete stop ( less than 2 sec). Same as my old car so I can live with this.

BruisedWayne
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
15 points
19 forum posts Joined on 12-Dec-2017
You wouldn't tell it's a Korean car without having seen the badge  Posted on 02 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Depending on your preference, the power steering makes turning a breeze. While road noise can still be heard on highway, it does not affect normal conversation in the car. Overall, the cabin is very well insulated, engine noise is nearly inaudible, except when the car is pushing the limit.

The turbo-charged engine gives the car a bit of punch when needed albeit the main purpose was to improve fuel efficiency.

Radio reception is abysmal, though. Not sure if this is caused by the reduce strength because of the shark fin antenna. Komoco's choice of installing the after market head unit was terrible. Bad UI, low screen resolution, slow GPS initialisation, terrible integration with iPod, and the absence of Android Auto and Apple CarPlay made the head unit felt extremely cheat and Taxi-ish. To make matters worse, most standard pre-emptive safety features like blindspot monitoring, lane keep assist were all missing from the Singapore model. Fortunately, some modern features like electronic hand brake, auto engine start/stop, keyless entry, auto brake hold, and hill-start assist were made available.

At this price point, the ride was extremely comfortable and value for money if you're able to overcome the negatives. Definitely a car that did not disappoint me (too much) after purchasing it.

What I like
- Turbo engine
- Fuel efficiency
- European design
- Solid door closure sound (unlike Japanese cars which sounded hollow)
- Quiet cabin even when starting and stopping the engine, in fact, even if you are not in the cabin, the engine is pretty quiet.
- Reasonably priced
- Adequate technology packed in the car
- Rear air vent
- Simple dashboard controls, not many keys to distract you
- Attracts attention as your car looks like Audi's grill/Mercedes A Class / BMW 1 Series

What I do not like
- Very easily mistaken for a cab
- The head unit / infotainment system
- Terrible connection with iPhone using USB despite the lack of Android Auto and Apple CarPlay
- Short delay before vehicle moving off (approximately 2 seconds delay when vehicle is completely stopped).
- Lack of some safety features that were sold as standard in other countries (blind spot monitoring etc).

Mralfredoh
Clutched
2 reviews
45 points
40 forum posts Joined on 20-Sep-2012
Value for money for a Cat B vehicle  Posted on 29 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Overall, this car is really barely equipped as compared to a Kia K3 SX Sports which is of similar pricing.
However, the 1.4turbo engine makes up for its shortcomings in features and equipment. A real nice car to drive and a simple and reliable car to own.
After test driving and have a look around of the car. I decided to book it.

What I like
1.4 turbo gdi engine
Electronic parking brake
Cruise control
Wireless qi charging
Rear aircon vents
Reverse camera

What I do not like
Non ventilated front disc brakes
No cooled seats
Other trim levels not available
Infotainment system 5 inch

Melvin123456
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
12 points
8 forum posts Joined on 05-Oct-2010
Good family car  Posted on 27 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Did some research on this car and went down for a test drive last thursday. Good handling and excellent performance for this segment car. A bit of a turbo lag but generally a smooth drive. Due to its a CAT B car and OMV, komoco seems reluctant to bring in some of its lastest safety kits like, Blind spot monitoring, lane departure warning, 6 airbags ,autonomous breaking and even the 8 inch infotainment system with Andriod Auto and apply carplay..(This one only had 5 inch)...But don't get me wrong, this car is still pretty well equipped.

Eventually, i still go of this car due to its excellent driving experience,(1.4T GDI engine,7 speed DCT and multi link susp), cheaper maintenance ,excellent customer service and got a good price from the sales rep. (Yong).

What I like
Good handling and pick up speed.
Smooth engine
7 speed DCT
Multi Link Suspension rather than Torsion beam on Elantra
Electronic Parking
Exterior and interior looks
Rear aircon
Noise isolation is good in its class
Smart keyless entry with start stop button

What I do not like
5 inch Infotainment (no andriod auto and apply carplay)
No autonomous breaking system like kona
No blindspot monitoring (Not Impt)
No lane departure warning (Not Impt)
No Driver's electric seat (Not Impt)
2 airbags only

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Hyundai i30 Hatchback
3.5 stars - based on 7 reviews