Recommended for you

For 'N-thusiasts': Hyundai i30 N begins production

Hyundai i30 Hatchback 1.0 punches above its weight

Hyundai unveils the enhanced i30 N

Cat B and Cat E COE climb above $80,000


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Hyundai i30 Hatchback 1.0 DCT Turbo (A)
10 Feb 2021  |  Hyundai Reviews
The facelifted Hyundai i30 Hatchback has a smaller powerplant, but it manages to make up for it with its excellent driveability and its suite of safety systems.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai i30 Hatchback
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
9 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

9 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
ZephyrX_045
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2019
Well-Engineered Car With Oblivious Sales Consultant  Posted on 01 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Went down to Komoco to see the i30, however only the station wagon was left, and the next indent is a 2-month wait. Test drove the station wagon as according to the sales consultant, it is the exact same. Boy was he dead wrong. The wagon felt dead, the 1.0T struggles to get it off the line and is stiffer to manoeuvre. The engine while it can save fuel like VW's 1.0 TSi Engine, but it struggles alot with acceleration. If I were to buy the car, I would immediately void Hyundai's warranty on the engine and gearbox to give the engine more power. The DCT in comparison to a SEAT Leon's is lethargic, a re-tune of the TCU for the gearbox is also needed.

Asked him a series of questions in regard to the car, he isn't well-informative and does not know head or tail about the car.

Asked him if there's wireless charging, according to him no. During the test drive, places his phone down, and the phone started charging wirelessly on the charging pad.

Asked him about the safety features while looking at the brochure, he says there's no Front Collision Assist, whereas the brochure stated that it comes as standard.

Asked him if the rear suspension was still independent, he said no, which was correct, but said the front and rear is both torsion beam. (What the bloody hell?). It sure doesn't handle like a car with a solid front axle.

So my final verdict is, if you were to buy this car, be sure to opt for an ECU & TCU tune if you are looking for more power to overtake cars in Msia when the borders eventually reopen, also looking to save fuel as ECU Tunes do improve FC by a small, but noticeable amount. (1-2 km/l improvement because of lighter throttle input).

What I like
- 395L Boot space with a flat floor and additional stowage under the floor.
- Full suite of Hyundai's SmartSense.
- Practical hatchback that is in-between when compared to VW group's offerings.
- Low roadtax for the 1.0 Turbo
- New, handsome DRLs and headlights. Stylish body without having the need to change the bodywork to the N-line.
- 16-inch rims prevent curb rash.
- Build in Europe.

What I do not like
- 16-inch while prevents curb rash, it is at 205/55 R16. Will not be stable if one were to give it an ECU tune.
- Sluggish performance, 0-60 in 11.2s in Eco mode, 10.8 seconds in Sport & Normal mode.
- Sales consultant is oblivious about the car's features and characteristics.
- SC does things in a very counter-intuitive manner and contradicts himself.
- Poor marketing done by the SC.
- Have to spend additional money to make the car handle and drive better.

iamahbee
4th Gear
1 reviews
829 points
244 forum posts Joined on 01-Mar-2020
Excellent value hatchback  Posted on 16 Apr 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
In all honesty, the i30 was not my first choice when I was looking for a replacement for my 7-year old Golf Mk7.

After going through a myriad of options and test driving various cars, I just couldn't find something similar in terms of drive and feel. Going nowhere, I decided to streamline what I wanted to spend and used the advanced search function on sgCarMart to view the options.

Decided to go down and try the i30 and made my decision on the spot; Primarily due to its low price, impressive list of features and a positive test drive experience. After a month and 1,500km with this car, here's what I like and dislike about my car.

What I like
+ Chassis. I can see why there are so many rave reviews of the i30N. The chassis provides a very good base for the go-faster N sibling while striking a good balance between comfort and handling.

+ Value for money. This car is hard to beat at it's price point and equipment/performance levels.

+ Nondescript looks. While this may be a complaint for many (especially journalists and testers), I personally like the fact that this car is good looking without being too attention seeking (doesn't apply to the N though!).

What I do not like
- Steering feel. Shame then, with such a sharp chassis, the steering feels numb and lifeless.

- Slight ergonomic flaws. Never been a fan of these "tombstone" infotainment systems, and the right side air vent surround trim reflects off the side window onto the side mirror.

- DCT. Coming from a DSG, Hyundai's DCT isn't as fast shifting as VW's. Maybe it is tuned this way to preserve the gearbox for longevity reasons.

- Cheap boot floor. While Europeans get their i30 even in the most basic trim with the adjustable boot floor, we have a cheap and thin layer of carpet. All in the name of OMV reduction?

Fierydragon
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
4 forum posts Joined on 20-Mar-2013
Good looking Station wagon  Posted on 14 Jan 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Good looking car, especially with the i30SW. With sunroof, Roof Rack, 4 Speed AT gearbox, Spacious Baggage compartment , colour coordinated leather seats, and numerous small storage space for small items and a 2 bottle holder makes it a perfect car for me.
I bought a 10 years old model, I have been looking for a i30 SW for a long time, and finally i found it.
Paid 5 years COE, changed new suspension, tires,brake pads,new paintwork, radiator, spark plugs, cam sensor and wipers.
Having owned a Tucson before, and knowing Komoco"S after sales service, I decided to have my car refurbished at a reputable workshop at SIn Min. Petrol consumption is lower than advertised and power is a bit lacking when over taking. Step down not so effective. Biggest letdown is the soundless remote car door lock.

What I like
With sunroof, Roof Rack, 4 Speed AT gearbox, Spacious Baggage compartment , colour coordinated leather seats, and numerous small storage space for small items and a 2 bottle holder makes it a perfect car for me.

What I do not like
Having owned a Tucson before, and knowing Komoco"s after sales service, I decided to have my car refurbished at a reputable workshop at SIn Min. Petrol consumption is lower than advertised and power is a bit lacking when over taking. Step down not so effective. Biggest letdown is the soundless remote car door lock.

SallyShelly
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Aug-2018
Most Recommend Car  Posted on 05 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Must recommend this car, good for use and drive!
Must recommend this car, good for use and drive!
Must recommend this car, good for use and drive!

Ikenshin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Surprising Car to own  Posted on 05 Oct 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went to komoco, got a great SE (Michael Goh, really helped me all the way) to test out a Avante, initially I am very bent on getting on. As days goes by, I tested more and more cars from other makes and finally decided to pay up for avante. Then my backside itchy when to testdrive the i30, .... The rest is history.

It is quite comfortable as a European made car (Czech) solid body, solid handling.
FC is pretty good going about 14-17 km/l (depending on my highway vs city ratio). Powerful when you (warning it's intoxicating) click on the sports button (yeah FC will take a hit). LED lights front and back, Android are good to have....

No complains thus far (coming from a GTI) except really need to press ISG off, and Autohold on(for tlc on the DCT, and resting your leg at the traffic lights)

What I like
Comfortable, nice to drive, good acessories
Turbo adrenaline when i want it

What I do not like
Really TLC on the DCT

Fenny
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Oct-2018
Hatch with Great Styling and Performance  Posted on 21 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
We also have a thing for hatchback cars, so then it is time to change our 9 years old hatch (Honda Fit), we were just zooming into all the hatches and SUVs that fit our budget and requirements.

Wilfred (from Hyundai Ubi) is very patient and very helpful. We were actually there upon the insistence of a friend to look at Elantra. Very test driving the Elantra, we saw the i30 Hatch and Wagon and were instantly drawn to it.

Immediately Wilfred arranged for another test drive for us.. And this time my hubby and I took turns to test drive it.

Wilfred went through every detail of the i30 and made sure we tested all the features during test drive.

It is very responsive and steering around corner is very stable, noise insulation is good, you can still hear a bit of the engine, but that is quite pleasing to the ears :) No road noise.

Quite generous in terms of cabin space and backrow leg room. For family with young kids, the backrow comes with ISOFIX for your babies's car seat.



The HU is a 9" Unit, sleek looking albeit a bit low-res. But that does not bother me.

Comes with Wirelesss Charging, AutoHold (you do not have to hold your foot brake at traffic junction), Drive mode(ECO, COMFORT AND SPORT), engine idle to save fuel. Comes with front and rear camera, tinted solar film, reverse sensor and keyless entry and lock and car mat. All this little details add up to provide a great driving experience thus far.

Although it does not have all the fancy features like blindspot monitoring, Autonomous Emergency Braking etc, the engine and the driving experience more than makes up for it.

It is in short, a fun and comfortable car to drive. The experience was so good that we ended up booked a unit that day itself.

If you are looking for Hyundai car, strongly recommend i30 and look for Wilfred (At Ubi branch).

What I like
- acceleration (about 9.2s for 0-100km)
- good noise insulation
- very stable when cornering
- 1.4 Turbo
- Great exterior styling & long bonnet
- AutoHold & engine idle
- Multi-link rear suspension
- individual aircon control for passenger and driver
- 7 speed dual clutch transmission
- Auto Chromatic rearview mirror
- drives like a Golf but cost much less
- taller, longer and wider than most hatch

What I do not like
- low res HU
- no blindspot and forward collision, lane departure warning etc
- a bit of lag when starting from a complete stop ( less than 2 sec). Same as my old car so I can live with this.

BruisedWayne
Clutched
1 reviews
12 points
19 forum posts Joined on 12-Dec-2017
You wouldn't tell it's a Korean car without having seen the badge  Posted on 02 Jun 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Depending on your preference, the power steering makes turning a breeze. While road noise can still be heard on highway, it does not affect normal conversation in the car. Overall, the cabin is very well insulated, engine noise is nearly inaudible, except when the car is pushing the limit.

The turbo-charged engine gives the car a bit of punch when needed albeit the main purpose was to improve fuel efficiency.

Radio reception is abysmal, though. Not sure if this is caused by the reduce strength because of the shark fin antenna. Komoco's choice of installing the after market head unit was terrible. Bad UI, low screen resolution, slow GPS initialisation, terrible integration with iPod, and the absence of Android Auto and Apple CarPlay made the head unit felt extremely cheat and Taxi-ish. To make matters worse, most standard pre-emptive safety features like blindspot monitoring, lane keep assist were all missing from the Singapore model. Fortunately, some modern features like electronic hand brake, auto engine start/stop, keyless entry, auto brake hold, and hill-start assist were made available.

At this price point, the ride was extremely comfortable and value for money if you're able to overcome the negatives. Definitely a car that did not disappoint me (too much) after purchasing it.

What I like
- Turbo engine
- Fuel efficiency
- European design
- Solid door closure sound (unlike Japanese cars which sounded hollow)
- Quiet cabin even when starting and stopping the engine, in fact, even if you are not in the cabin, the engine is pretty quiet.
- Reasonably priced
- Adequate technology packed in the car
- Rear air vent
- Simple dashboard controls, not many keys to distract you
- Attracts attention as your car looks like Audi's grill/Mercedes A Class / BMW 1 Series

What I do not like
- Very easily mistaken for a cab
- The head unit / infotainment system
- Terrible connection with iPhone using USB despite the lack of Android Auto and Apple CarPlay
- Short delay before vehicle moving off (approximately 2 seconds delay when vehicle is completely stopped).
- Lack of some safety features that were sold as standard in other countries (blind spot monitoring etc).

Mralfredoh
1st Gear
2 reviews
34 points
40 forum posts Joined on 20-Sep-2012
Value for money for a Cat B vehicle  Posted on 29 Jan 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Overall, this car is really barely equipped as compared to a Kia K3 SX Sports which is of similar pricing.
However, the 1.4turbo engine makes up for its shortcomings in features and equipment. A real nice car to drive and a simple and reliable car to own.
After test driving and have a look around of the car. I decided to book it.

What I like
1.4 turbo gdi engine
Electronic parking brake
Cruise control
Wireless qi charging
Rear aircon vents
Reverse camera

What I do not like
Non ventilated front disc brakes
No cooled seats
Other trim levels not available
Infotainment system 5 inch

Melvin123456
Clutched
2 reviews
9 points
8 forum posts Joined on 05-Oct-2010
Good family car  Posted on 27 Jan 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Did some research on this car and went down for a test drive last thursday. Good handling and excellent performance for this segment car. A bit of a turbo lag but generally a smooth drive. Due to its a CAT B car and OMV, komoco seems reluctant to bring in some of its lastest safety kits like, Blind spot monitoring, lane departure warning, 6 airbags ,autonomous breaking and even the 8 inch infotainment system with Andriod Auto and apply carplay..(This one only had 5 inch)...But don't get me wrong, this car is still pretty well equipped.

Eventually, i still go of this car due to its excellent driving experience,(1.4T GDI engine,7 speed DCT and multi link susp), cheaper maintenance ,excellent customer service and got a good price from the sales rep. (Yong).

What I like
Good handling and pick up speed.
Smooth engine
7 speed DCT
Multi Link Suspension rather than Torsion beam on Elantra
Electronic Parking
Exterior and interior looks
Rear aircon
Noise isolation is good in its class
Smart keyless entry with start stop button

What I do not like
5 inch Infotainment (no andriod auto and apply carplay)
No autonomous breaking system like kona
No blindspot monitoring (Not Impt)
No lane departure warning (Not Impt)
No Driver's electric seat (Not Impt)
2 airbags only

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Hyundai i30 Hatchback
4 stars - based on 9 reviews