Recommended for you

Seat to unveil refreshed Ibiza and Arona

Seat converts an Ibiza into a rolling nightclub

Top 20 cars you can buy with the lowest mark-up

Audi RS 3 is a compact sports car like no other


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Car Review - Seat Ibiza 1.0 EcoTSI DSG Style Plus (A)
23 Apr 2018  |  SEAT Reviews
The new Seat Ibiza has grown more handsome and also gained the maturity that comes from being underpinned by the Volkswagen Group's MQB A0 platform.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
FR trim not available here
spacer
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda Jazz 1.5 RS vs Seat Ibiza 1.0 EcoTSI DSG vs Suzuki Swift 1.0
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The SEAT Ibiza was facelifted on Jul 2021. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SEAT Ibiza
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
12 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

12 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Woonyang
Clutched
1 reviews
7 points
435 forum posts Joined on 19-Jul-2009
All Rounded Small Car and Best Buy Under $90k  Posted on 18 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I didn't consider this model initially because i wanted a hatch with decent rear leg room, but i was pleasantly surprised when i opened the rear door at the showroom. After testing and viewing almost every model under $110k, i booked an Ibiza Style Plus in March 2021 and Vertex secured the COE on the 2nd bid. After half a year of ownership, i have no regrets at all. Looks, performance, space, economy, this car ticks all the boxes. Vertex's after sales service is also excellent.

What I like
exterior styling is better than that its sister MQB A0 models - Polo, Fabia.
the 200nm of torque, which is plenty for less than 1.2ton.
rear leg room is unmatched in this segment.
decent boot size.
good fuel economy, low rd tax, low depreciation.
love the adaptive cruise control, which i use whenever i'm on expressways.
has all the bells and whistles that you don't usually get at this price point.

What I do not like
idling is slightly rough due to the 3-cyl engine.
stop-start is a tad slow to wake up.
can do with a stiffer rear end and a bit less body roll in the corners (applies to most stock cars i guess).
limited range of colours to choose from.
halogen headlamps.
stock rims that are impossible to clean properly (just had to change them).

philzzz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2019
Punchy engine and packed with features!  Posted on 10 Jan 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Previous honda fit owner... Moving to the ibiza here is a world of difference! Probably the most affordable 'continental' car in Singapore right now.
The DSG mated with the 1.0 turbo engine is very perky and engaging to drive, the steering is light but accurate, making daily drive around singapore super enjoyable.
The sound insulation is good, sound system is also powerful.
Comes packed with features like:
auto headlights
rain sensing wipers
adaptive cruise control
Front collision avoidance
Front and rear parking sensors
TPMS
Android Auto/Apple car play
Dual zone climate control
electronic dimming rear mirrors

So coming from an PI honda fit which is spartan to this Seat Ibiza has been such a huge change of experience from me.

The 1 litre engine also means road tax is cheap.

Interior design is also very minimalist and also have a lasting modern look. Buttons have a good feel to it.

Very decent rear passenger space for a car of this size as well, slightly smaller then the honda fit but much bigger then the mazda 2.

Sister car on same chasis, the VW Polo seems to be generally priced around 10k higher with lesser features, so if you are not big on the brand.. Seat is definitely a more value for money option!

What I like
Packed with features
DSG gearbox
turbocharged 1 liter engine
Good looking inside out
Decent rear passenger leg room
Fun to drive:)
Affordable conti car

What I do not like
Alot of plastic in the interior
No center armrest
Stock rims difficult to wash and keeps getting dirty
Lights are all halogen
No grab handle for passengers

MarkerPen
Clutched
21 reviews
15 points
12 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2011
Undervalued Compact Hatch  Posted on 14 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Built on the same MQB AO platform as the Polo AW, Audi A1 and several other VAG compact cars, the SEAT Ibiza in Singapore is priced comfortably cheaper than all its rivals while having the exact same engine and gearbox while being the lightest amongst them all (for the 1.0 version).

Don't let that small engine mislead you into thinking it will be underpowered as it boasts 200Nm of torque, similar to a Golf Mk 7.5 1.4TSI and hauling significantly less weight.

Coming from a Kia Stonic 1.0 previously with a similar 3-cylinder engine, the one in the Ibiza is noticeably smoother and punchier with better fuel consumption. (10km/l vs 12.5km/l in urban conditions).

All these factors coupled with its sharp looks, makes for a value-for-money hatchback.

What I like
- Looks inside and out
- Fun to drive
- Power
- Fuel Economy
- Price

What I do not like
- Engine gets noisy when revved hard but it is a characteristic of all 3 cylinder engines
- Cabin plastics all hard but to be expected at this price point

Ahhao_01
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2011
Value for Money Continental  Posted on 06 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went to test drive 2 SEAT model and immediately fell for the IBIZA due to stylist outlook and solid 1lt performance . Did not expect to commit on the spot.

What I like
Easy on the Pocket
Easy to drive around in a small country like Singapore.
Spacious leg Space for a compact hatch back.
Good Pick Up speed for a 1 liter Car .

What I do not like
Nothing for Now.

Nats
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Sep-2020
The best value continental car!  Posted on 20 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I wasn’T expecting to buy a Seat in the middle of this year tbh, but this car really turned my views around the moment I set eye on it at Vertex (was considering Arona too). The exterior design is sharp and stylish, while the interior is minimalist and cool looking. Yes, plenty of plastics abound inside the car, but it never feels cheap and bad quality. The drive and transmission is very smooth and I’M always the first one to pick up and zoom off at any traffic light junction. The engine is little bit noisy on standby though, but that doesn’T bothers you when you are inside the car.


Only ‘Major’ Complaint is there seems to be a minor bug that affects my voice messages on my phone from being played out in full everytime on the in-car entertainment system, which by the way offers a rather impressive sound quality for an audiophile like me. But it seems to be just an issue with my phone rather the car as a technician at Vertex tested and confirmed with me. All in all, I consider this a top value for money continental car which sadly gets a little overlooked in favor of more locally well-known brands.

wj89
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Dec-2020
Pracrical and zippy hatchback  Posted on 08 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a car great for city driving which is often overlooked.
While the exterior may be less stylish than its cousin the VW Polo and its badge less recognisable on our streets, the interior is sufficiently equipped and gives a sporty feel.

Having the same drivetrain as the Polo, the small car is nimble and agile in traffic. The turbocharged 3 cylinder engine is fun to drive and provides sufficient power, although at higher revs, the engine roar is much audible (like most entry level cars). No doubt more pricey than its Japanese competitors, the Ibiza offers more performance and is a big discount from the VW Polo. Surely does the job of city driving well and worth considering for anyone looking for a European made supermini.

Dyer
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Nov-2020
Value for money 💰  Posted on 13 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Good handling with smooth turbo transmission and gearbox, very value for money for cars under 90k. Overall I think it one of the best car out there for this year. The only thing I think the car should have is the armrest compartment I just feel that it missing something...

Perdeep
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Dec-2016
Best hatchback in its class  Posted on 07 Jan 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Its really a stylist and practical car to drive, making it a top hatchback car in its class. The 1.0 liter turbocharged petrol engine is quick and powerful and its even better than a 1.6 liter.

What I like
The Ibiza looks sporty, the performance from the three-cylinder is good and quiet too. A very zippy car....

What I do not like
There's hardly I can think about....

ChewHongRui
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Dec-2018
Fun and Sporty car with amazing Handling  Posted on 17 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Awarded the Parker's New Car of the Year award 2019, the SEAT Ibiza was my very first car and was a breeze to drive, even for new drivers. The handling is amazing, the engine feels spirited and sporty, and it's the perfect car to zip around the city. I'm always the first to move off at the traffic junction once the light goes green. It also comes with a ton of safety features, which was why I chose it over the Jazz. An amazing car all round

MarkerPen
Clutched
21 reviews
15 points
12 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2011
Fun drive but dealer support and touchy DSG issue casts doubt  Posted on 07 Feb 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Fun drive, attractive price but reliability of the 7spd DSG and the local dealer support is questionable.

The car is nice to drive and packs many features for the price. However, the local dealer used to distribute Chery cars in Singapore and suddenly moving to such an advanced brand which may make you question if the aftersales support is up to par.

A visit to the showroom doesn't give the assurance that the dealer is here to stay for long. Certain sales consultants also have left a bad taste in the mouth.

Salesman who brought me for a test drive of the vehicle was not very assuring regarding the DSG Mechatronic issue saying it has been 'mostly' fixed and that it's a 'small' issue that will cost around $3000-4000 'only' to fix if something happens to the mechatronic unit. One lady owner who just collected her car had a DSG issue just after 2 days of driving as shared on the SEAT owners group on FB.

What I like
Fun to drive
Good build quality
Feature-packed car
Good price

What I do not like
Reliability of DSG gearbox in the long run
Questionable dealer support if warranty will be upheld
Only a 3 year warranty
Several bad reviews regarding aftersales support.

Jiakpahliao
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2019
Small car with  Posted on 04 Feb 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I test drive both the Ibiza and Toledo and to me, both cars offer outstanding driving performance and is very good value for money.

Touchscreen Entertainment System
The moment I step into the Ibiza, I am very impressed by the large touch-screen display. The user interface is also very beautiful and intuitive and best of all can connect to my Samsung phone for the Android Auto

Driving Performance
The Ibiza is fitted with a Volkswagen engine and provides very powerful and smooth acceleration.

Handling
The Ibiza handles like a breeze with responsive and precise steering. It is a light and nimble car to drive and can zip around town easily. The suspension is also quite good and can soak up the bump pretty well and there's minimal body roll when taking the car at higher speed.

Entertainment System
Beautiful touchscreen with Android Auto feature. The sound system is also very good with good bass and clarity.

What I like
1) Good driving performance
2) Nice sporty design with lots of colours to choose
3) Big touchscreen with Android Auto
4) Sound System is good
5) Price is very affordable

What I do not like
1) No adaptive cruise control (i think SEAT recently added in adaptive cruise control now)
2) Small side and rearview mirror

LuminouX
Clutched
2 reviews
7 points
41 forum posts Joined on 11-Mar-2016
One of the best drive in this segment  Posted on 02 Oct 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test driven a few models in the same segment and came to a decision of owning this little beast. Yes, I will mention as a little beast as the 1.0 EcoTSI packs a punch. In this segment, nobody could expect more than a good sound proof interior and also stylish interior design of a car, but the Ibiza meets all, you won't feel like driving a supermini given the quality drive it provides. Given not many people know about this brand and always fear that they will commit a huge sum of money into without any returns, i can only say I feel no regret choosing this over other models i test driven, even to some sedans which I've tested.

What I like
1) The power of the 1.0 EcoTSI, although it does lag when picking up, once it hit the bar, it won't lose out to a 1.6 car.

2) the stylish exterior design, Yes, although it uses a VW Polo body, but it does not look like 1. It looks more young and sporty, giving the VW Polo to look outdated.

3) The drive, yes, the drive is excellent. Quiet, powerful and smooth, that's why i chose Ibiza over other tested model.

4) Features, features packed given it's a supermini.

5) don't feel like you are driving a supermini, because it feels really great when driving. Like what they said, test drive before you judge on the brand.

What I do not like
1) No fog lamp even though there's the control in the car.
2) lag in turbo, but I'm not racing, so I do not really car.
3) No sports rims, should have came with the sports rim.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SEAT Ibiza
4 stars - based on 12 reviews