Related Articles

Mercedes-Benz unveils the new C-Class in Singapore

Mercedes-Benz updates its ever popular C-Class

Updated C-Class Coupe and Cabriolet unveiled

Buying used cars is the smarter choice here


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz C-Class Saloon F1 Auto Cars Edition
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
25 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
2.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
21 out of 25 (84%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

25 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Eugn86
Premium User Eugn86
4th Gear
21 reviews
709 points
367 forum posts Joined on 05-Mar-2009
Awful and not befitting of the 3-pointed star  Posted on 26 Dec 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
My review is with reference to the 318i M Sport that I also rented for a recent overseas trip. I had the C180 in Avantgarde trim for 6 days. It came with 9G tronic.
For whatever reason, the suspension was awful. It transmits everything on the road into the cabin, and has poor absorption of the bumps. The car does ok for low-speed bumps but it thumps uncomfortably on high-speed bumps. Road noise is also a big problem at speeds above 80km/h. The car was fitted with Bridgestone Turanza T001 run-flats and they are meant to be comfort tyres. Super noisy. The 318i M-Sport that i drove before the C180, came with 18" Wheels and was quieter and more comfortable than the C180. Shocking. The 9G-Tronic gearbox wasn't smooth at all. It shifts hardly into gears quite often, unlike the smooth gearbox in the 318i.
The C-Class has an off-set steering wheel, and the seats were very uncomfortable for long drives, lacking in lumber and thigh support. Poor ride, poor handling, poor refinement... In comparison to the 318i M-Sport. And you thought those should be all the negatives? Nope. The cabin may be nice, with nice choices of materials for the switches. But the gloss black center stack scratches easily and feels absolutely cheap. There was a constant rattling near the driver's side A-pillars even though there was only 20,000km on the car. The 3-series felt better built with better fit-and-finish. The boot has a wider opening than the 3-series so it is easier to fit your luggage through the opening.
The C Class is supposed to be the most comfort-oriented car in the Compact Executive class, and it's premium pricing vs the rest raises expectations. I am putting this car right at the bottom of the class.

What I like
Classy exterior styling.
Classy interior styling.
Interior is slightly more spacious than a 3-Series

What I do not like
Ugly iPad screen.
Difficult to use infotainment.
Difficult to use cruise-control stalk. Can get confused with signal stalk and cruise control stalk when operating on the fly.
Gearshift stalk is confusing and not intuitive to use.
Very intrusive road noise that produces a thrumming frequency that is very unpleasant to the ears.
Fit & Finish not as tight as BMW.
Row of switches on the centre console looks nice but not intuitive to use.
Off-Set steering makes you feel twisted while driving.
Uncomfortable seats that lack support and comfort on long drives.
Rough shifts from the 9G-Tronic gearbox
Harsh ride with no pliancy whatsoever, especially at high speed corners.

xinz
Premium User xinz
3rd Gear
2 reviews
459 points
152 forum posts Joined on 21-Jun-2017
Good looking Sedan C180  Posted on 20 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Good representation of Mercedes class design, both exterior and interior. Details are just exquisite.

C180 similar to BMW 318 and A4 in terms of engine size to looks. Merely sufficient. C200 would be just nice.

Smooth 9 gears transmission and only one with passenger memory seat in its class.

What I like
1) Interior is just top notch Mercedes design, love the seats, the buttons, the steering wheels, the stitches...
2) Even comes with auto-park feature.
3) Passenger Memory seat really pleases the other halve.
4) Good interior space for 5 adults.

What I do not like
1) Need to rev very high to go quick for the 1.6L Turbo, very un-glam with the harsh exhaust note.
2) AD model made in SA. Hmmm..
3) Fake dual exhaust design is the largest turnoff, seriously?
4) Tiny little iPad looking middle screen

Wolfverine
Premium User Wolfverine
2Fast2Furious
10 reviews
20,581 points
770 forum posts Joined on 03-Dec-2005
Nice drive but not sure about the premium  Posted on 25 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Overall nice styling externally and internally although I must say that just like BMW, Merc's styling is getting a bit dated and need a desperate refreshing change.

As mentioned below, the RWD idea is not crucial IMO as the speed at which the roads here can cater to will hardly make much difference between RWD vs. FWD.

What I like
-

What I do not like
-

BMWX1
Premium User BMWX1
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
23 points
5 forum posts Joined on 10-Oct-2016
Merc C250 AMG  Posted on 11 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My friend bought one and had the chance to sit in to experience. Went to view one C200 AMG at PI. Somehow different feel and different experience. Generally was impressed with PI C200 AMG with lots of features e.G. Heater seats & auto thigh extension for front seaters. C250 AMG bought by friend on the other hand was fully of complaints. Intrusive noise, bad customer service from authorized dealer, delivered different spec as showroom (with sports stitches vs without stitches), yaya papaya sale rep etc. In the end my friend had to fork out own money to do up extra noise insulation for 4 doors and ended up with minor scratches in the process of installation.

To be fair I did not test drive this car but mandatory fields must be filled in so I rated "Average" For handling and engine performance.

What I like
1. exterior design (front).
2. Comfortable interior.
3. Quiet interior for PI C200 AMG

What I do not like
1. Exterior design (rear) is weird looking.
2. Rear leg room.
3. noisy engine is audible at front passenger seat (for C250 AMG from authorized dealer).
4. Long lead time for delivery (i.e. 5 months).
5. No GPS feature despite branded car at this price.
6. High technology features package not as competitive as BMW.
7. Arrogant (or lousy) customer service.

alex976
Premium User alex976
5th Gear
7 reviews
1,219 points
411 forum posts Joined on 24-Dec-2013
Overpriced German car made in South Africa  Posted on 17 Mar 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Drove my mum's car a few times. Felt that it is very comfortable and looks good. But at 190k, there are much better options available outside. First thing is when you spent so much money on a car, it should be at least German made not SA. The car was sent in a few times to adjust the brakes, suspension and Ecu that speaks about about the fitting quality of the SA. Engine don't feel as if it's 180bhp more like 122bhp, my sis 6 year old civic has a livelier engine.

What I like
- Very comfortable
- good looks and styling.

What I do not like
- Expensive
- Poor fitting quality
- Reliability is chap
-Complicated interior

orion2006
Premium User orion2006
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
47,397 points
483 forum posts Joined on 06-Jan-2016
Super Comfortable!!!!  Posted on 04 Mar 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the C180 in Feb. Have to say I really like the exterior styling. Its aggressive yet modern looking.

Very surprised to hear that the C180 does not come with genuine leather interior as standard. Also the steering wheel is manually adjusted. Huh? I thought this was a luxury car?

Anyway, start the engine and drove off. Hey completely different feel. Car is responsive. Acceleration is nice and smooth. Step down and the turbo engages smoothly bringing you rapidly to above 100kph. Nice body setup, next to no body roll when we took a roundabout exit from the expressway at speed.

Engine is smooth but not exciting.

Super Comfortable. My wife in the rear seats mentioned she had really good legroom and really liked it.

Tech comes standard too. Adaptive braking, auto dimmin mirrors.
BUt its so popular, there's a 6 month waiting period.....

Oh well.....

What I like
-Comfort level is high
-perception of luxury
-smooth engine

What I do not like
-Really premium pricing
-not real leather trim
-not exciting

KennyLee83
Premium User KennyLee83
2nd Gear
5 reviews
228 points
229 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2010
A good drive but overpriced  Posted on 19 Feb 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The car is what you would expect from MB, powerful and smooth with the right curves. However the gears shifted to the steering area which needs some getting used to.

Overall looks damn good with AMG kit :)

What I like
Classy

What I do not like
the dashboard/interior could be better

Mervynwm
Premium User Mervynwm
3rd Gear
110 reviews
269 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The NEW C Class, a BABY S Class worth getting !  Posted on 05 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was actually test drove on behalf of a friend who's keen on C200 (2.0L) but was told by SE that the C180 (1.6L) actually delivers 156bhp, approximately 30bhp lower than C200.

Exterior looks similar to the S Class with the LED lights and the curves that the S Class gives but at a much fraction of a price and much shorter too.

The exterior shape is a looker, plus with the standard 17 inches rims too.

Interior was sporty and Mercedes has done a great job re-inventing this C class to capture the young and mid executive hearts than the predecessor model.

The LCD screen and the controls use are a breeze where many options you can do with. And not forgetting its spiky shaped air con vents, looking like jet turbines to blow your mind away.

Seats are ok but is only C200 comes with full electric and memory seats with an additional of high price tag whereas the C180 comes with "Semi automatic" Electric seats, only the forward and backward is by lever and no memory options.

Sitting at the back is also comfortable and great back protection as the curves are reclined to your backs, same for front seats too.

GUESS WHAT ? This new C class comes with electric tailgate even for C180 as standard which is great.

Mercedes removed the traditional smaller classes gear shift knob and replaces with lever gear shift like its S Class....GREAT and feels you are driving their S class which its known as a BABY S CLASS to many.

The drive was excellent and when move off from junction to main road was easy as all you need is "Tap" On the gas and it GOES....

Mercedes also retains its HOLD or many known as START/STOP function in this version too.

When I tried revving and overtaking, its certainly a breeze with no lag and cornering was easy too without much body roll.

Perhaps, with adding options like the Drive Assistance Package and Intelligent LED lights should be more than sufficient to have in this C Class. Other options, its up to your pocket.

Driving this 3-point star (like a smaller S Class) will keep eyes turning back and is certainly a good choice for young to mid executives to get or in their choice list.

Great Job Mercedes.

What I like
Stylish exterior.
Intuitive console and easy to use with the S class handwriting feature (think is an additional of small amount only).
Electric Tailgate.
Great engine even for their 1.6L (156bhp) which is powerful enough for Singapore use.
Good legroom for front and back.

What I do not like
Price tag too high.
C180 doesn't come with Intelligent LED lights by standard.
Only C200 comes with full electric and memory seats on top of a bigger engine for a high price difference which is not worth paying for it.

Huskybeckham
Premium User Huskybeckham
1st Gear
5 reviews
65 points
36 forum posts Joined on 19-Jul-2015
A very well Balanced car  Posted on 08 Sep 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
It is indeed a very well balance and well built car. When I test drove it , it has A great balanced of comfort, handling/sporty and luxury. Plus a well known brand. The only downside is that it feels a bit clamped at the cockpit against the other competitors in the same class and as I understand the seats are not real leather.

However, it was one of my top consideration if not for the huge premium/margin of 40K ++ that C&C is creaming off due to the brand they have helped built. In other countries, the price difference is less that 3K to 5K against its competitors.

What I like
1. Great exterior styling
2. Very modern interior
3. Great Engine & drivetrain
4. Built quality
5. Park assist feature

What I do not like
1. No real leather seats
2. Clamp at the Cockpit
3. Huge Margin Creamed off by C&C
4. Less rear legroom compared to most of its competitors

Sci90179
Premium User Sci90179
Clutched
11 reviews
27 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Jun-2012
A winner in its class  Posted on 14 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Overall the car is much better than the previous model. The design is really a break through and the tail lights (wings design) is a beauty.

What I like
The power of the car is good even though its only a 1.6cc turbo. Comfort is there and the interior feels up market and spacious.

What I do not like
The price point is a killer at close to $200K. A good car to consider if you have a budget of $200k to splurge. You cannot really feel the steering when you corner and the car do exhibit some body roll . A good car to cruise along in comfort.

Sitikchai
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
19 points
2 forum posts Joined on 13-Aug-2009
Mercedes-Benz just turned the car world upside down!  Posted on 05 Jul 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
There used to be a time when a Mercedes-Benz was boring to look at and dull to drive but had bullet-proof build quality. With the latest W205 C class Mercedes-Benz now has the best-looking 4-door premium sports saloon (inside and out) in the world especially in AMG Line spec. Whichever angle I looked at my newly-arrived C200 AMG Line (waited 9 months for the car), I love it! The car looks sporty but elegant and expensive at the same time. And I used to drive an Alfa Romeo 159 so that says a lot about the W205's design. The car was super-refined in terms of noise suppression and ride comfort. The steering is very light but linear and accurate. The car handles corners in a competent and consistent fashion with excellent grip from the tyres. But given how refined the car is, you just want to cruise around in near silence and marvel at the refinement. The interior is beautiful. Sporty, modern and elegant. The engine has plenty of low-end torque and more than enough performance for daily use. The 7G -Tronic Plus gearbox can be a bit jerky sometimes when changing from first to second but is otherwise very smooth. There is also some wind noise from the side mirrors at highway speeds. And some surprising creaks from the dashboard and doors over rough roads. That last bit is very uncharacteristic of a Mercedes-Benz! That is why I said this car has turned the motoring world upside down. Overall, I am loving this car after 3 weeks of driving it. Still getting used to the driving position with its floor hinged accelerator and top hinged brake pedals. But so far so good. I tested the BMW 328i M Sport, Audi A4 2.0, Lexus IS250 F Sport and Infiniti Q50 but it was the C200 AMG Line that impressed me so much on the first drive I bought it there and then.

What I like
1. The way it looks inside and out. Sporty. Elegant. Expensive. Cohesive. And way more stylish than anything in its class.
2. Very smooth and comfortable ride even on harder AMG suspension.
3. Quiet, refined, smooth and torquey engine.
4. Overall refinement and quietness.
5. Spacious interior and big boot.
6. Firm and powerful AMG brakes.
7. Mr Alan Tay of Cycle & Carriage was very knowledgeable, patient and meticulous. A lot of car sales personnel know less about their cars than I do but Alan is very well-versed with the car and that impressed me. His contact is 9851-5723 if you are considering a Mercedes-Benz.

What I do not like
1. The gearbox jerks sometimes when changing from first to second and from 5th to 4th.
2. The seat is a bit wide for my skinny patently un-German body. Doesn't grip me well enough in corners.
3. The brake pedal is placed too close to the driver in relation to the accelerator so that makes getting the perfect driving position hard. Also the accelerator is floor mounted and to brake pedal top hinged. Strange arrangement.
4. Some mild wind noise from side mirrors at highway speeds.
5. Some creaks from dashboard near steering column and from the door panels over very rough roads.
6. It's not made in Germany.

dtkw
Premium User dtkw
Clutched
5 reviews
33 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Jul-2014
C300 - My first German made and the finest so far  Posted on 01 Jul 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
3.5L V6 BHP @ 301 and Torque @ 470. All in a small body of the C Class. The ride is very comfortable but yet when SPORTS mode is on, the average cat turns into TIGER! Not forgetting about the Quad AMG Exos! WOW!!!

What I like
The just nice body. Not too big and not too small. Overall styling. POWERTRAIN! FAST and FURIOUS! Looks can be deceiving!

What I do not like
No sun roof. No push start.

Andrewtam3000
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Jun-2012
Another big step for C class  Posted on 31 May 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Another big step in improving handling and closing the gap with BMW 3 series. I have driven W202, 203 and 204 before. Every generation has made improvements in handling, and steering feel. Over all these years, steering wheel size has been adjusting to the proper size.

What I like
Steering is precise, good feel of the road. The last bit of understeer left in the W204 is now all gone.

The car feels lighter probably because it is actually lighter. Acceleration is very good for a 1.6 liter engine. Braking is very responsive.

Seat is very firm, comfortable with great posture.

Interior is made with nice and quality materials.

What I do not like
This car (at least the 1.6 liter engine) feels much better driven fast on the freeway or on empty roads. At low speed around the block, there are some weird sounds that seems like the engine is rattling due to over-upshifting. My sales guy said its normal. Switching to Sport mode improves only slightly with the delay in upshifting. That's the only thing that drives me nuts after paying 200 grand for a car. It was not there in any of the earlier version Cs. I'm still trying to figure out if this is meant to be or a defect.

Another typical issue of C class is the big center console that takes away space for my left leg as always. At least now they took away the manual parking brake pedal, reducing the risk of my shin ramping into it in an accident.

user50
Clutched
5 reviews
32 points
40 forum posts Joined on 22-Apr-2015
No more ah pek car  Posted on 03 May 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Very refreshing exterior and probably the most balanced car overall in all department that i tested before i made a purchase decision. The C class is now a true segment leader ....Which i would never even consider in the past.

What I like
a) interiors, setting the bar back to very high as what i used to expect from mercedes. the trimimg and cabin build is of very good quality.
b) cabin is well insulated from any road noise
c) the 2L engine is powerful and responsive while being very cultured in higher rev.
d) handling and chasis feel is sharp with a slight preference for comfort.
e) very new design. looks should still be fresh even after 5 years.

What I do not like
a) the rear is the only subjective aspect, in terms of design, i just find it not appealing compared the the total look. could do will a neutral or higher rear, rather than a downward sloping design.
b) price is rather steep compared to its segment class, but yet somehow understandable why :)
c) slighly lacking in features

Newbie26
2Fast2Furious
11 reviews
78,541 points
1570 forum posts Joined on 18-Feb-2015
Stylish merc  Posted on 29 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This new c180 catches with its stylish exterior shaking away the old uncle look of its predecessor.

It is loaded with lots of fixtures.

The engine is responsive but a bit noisy at high rem

rear space is OK but still a little small if there are 3 at the back

leather is synthetic and back of front car seats made up of mostly plastic

Overall a very nice upgrade but just too costly

What I like
nice stylish exterior
lots of fixtures
comfortable drive

What I do not like
too costly
rear too small for 3
synthetic leather with mostly plastics back for front seats
no electronic seats

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mercedes-Benz C-Class Saloon F1 Auto Cars Edition
4 stars - based on 25 reviews