Recommended for you

Win a limited edition watch by reviewing a Subaru

The Subaru Forester with Driver Monitoring System

2022 Subaru Forester nets IIHS top safety award

BMW's compact cars are an appealing duo


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Car Review - Subaru Forester 2.0i-S EyeSight (A)
15 Oct 2019  |  Subaru Reviews
With EyeSight - a suite of safety systems - fitted as standard, the Subaru Forester is an aggressive-looking SUV that focuses on comfort and safety.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
It will no longer have a turbocharged variant
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Subaru Forester was facelifted on Mar 2021. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Subaru Forester
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
55 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

55 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Shox87
4th Gear
1 reviews
508 points
1293 forum posts Joined on 22-Feb-2007
Value for money car & good handling  Posted on 05 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was shopping around for a family car. Shortlisted the Subaru Forester for its rugged looks and reasonable price compared to the CX5 & Sorento.
The Forester is more of utilitarian car compared to its other competitors. The interior is simple/plain and fuss free.
Looks dated compared to its peers but works perfectly fine.

What I like
The car is extremely spacious and great for kids. All-round visibility is great for easy parking and good visibility in tight spaces.
U-turn radius is good for a car of this size. Will surely recommend the Forester to my friends if looking for a good looking family car.

What I do not like
Dated-looking dashboard design but functional none the less.
Other than this, its a great car to own at a reasonable asking price.
At this price point, there's not much to complain about.

WML888
2nd Gear
1 reviews
236 points
411 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2012
Most fun SUV I've owned  Posted on 01 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is one of the most fun SUV I've owned. The 'lower CG Boxer Engine + Symmetric AWD' highly differentiated handling of this SUV vs other SUVs in the same segment. Adding 'Confident in motion' during raining days and navigating road curves with more confidence.

My like of high seating out weights occasional body rolling due to height of the vehicle. Overall it has been a pleasure experience that met my expectations.

What I like
The 'lower CG Boxer Engine + Symmetric AWD' highly differentiated handling of this SUV vs other SUVs in the same segment. Adding 'Confident in motion' during raining days and navigating road curves with more confidence.

What I do not like
My like of high seating out weights occasional body rolling due to height of the vehicle

VSaravanan
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Jan-2021
Gentleman in Rugged looks  Posted on 13 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
The awesome looking Manly SUV in the road. Always eye catcher, very spacious and loaded with safety features and comfort levels. My next upgrade is 200% this Forester😊😎

Amous
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-May-2022
Subaru forester  Posted on 05 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
It is very responsive and reliable car. The new features helps to ensure safety and act as a double protections.
This is my second Subaru Forester and will not be my last.

justinrandom
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Apr-2022
Subaru Forester 2.0i-L Sunroof <3  Posted on 01 May 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was shopping around for a family car or SUV equivalent, Shortlisted the Subaru Forester for its looks and high vested feeling compared to others. Loving it so far!

Interior looks simple but classy enough

What I like
The car is extremely spacious and great for kids.Love the wide windows which brings clarity to your surroundings. The boot space is just awesome, and i took a total of 7 passengers (include myself) where most of us are adults. no lagging or dragging in the engine, very powerful engine to move the greatest of weights.

Loving the disable (auto start stop engine) function

What I do not like
No turbocharged variant as compared to the XT but very powerful nonetheless.
Slight bumpiness around uneven roads

Goodrealm
1st Gear
1 reviews
47 points
30 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2005
Best Safety Car for the Family  Posted on 29 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I love the Forester because it has a lot of features that are useful for my family. The Forester is a crossover SUV and is perfect for taking on challenging terrain. This car is so versatile and I love that it has a CVT for great fuel efficiency. The Forester is also a strong SUV. I find that the Forester is a vehicle that is perfect for the adventurous lifestyle.

I am a big fan of cars and love to drive, so I am always looking for the best cars on the market. I came across this car and really liked it. The Forester is a safe, reliable car, with a comfortable interior, and a lot of features. The seats are great and the car has a lot of space. I love how easy the Forester is to drive and that it is fuel efficient as well.

This is a great car! I am really pleased with the look and feel of this vehicle. I love the new EyeSight technology that Subaru offers and it has been very reliable so far. The Forester is a great car for people who want an SUV that is fuel-efficient and has a lot of features that make it easy to use and drive.

What I like
* Eyesight
* Safety Features
* Very spacious interior- extraordinary headroom -ideal for tall folks!
* Good quality interior finishings
* Exceptional Handling

What I do not like
*Sluggish engine especially when moving from a stationary position

Daze07
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-May-2010
Sporty and spacious SUV in the market  Posted on 28 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Owned a FNA since 2016 and I must say this car is efficient and quick on road. Take this vehicle for a road trip to Malaysia and you will be pleased with the generous boot spaces.

What I like
- responsive motor engine
- spacious boot space
- spacious rear space for passengers
- awesome sun roof for children to enjoy the night sky

What I do not like
- not the most modern interior and dashboard in the vehicle market
- wheel bearing wear out quite easily (changed all 4 after 4 years of drive)
- braking sound when the car is warmed up but no issue after that (dont know why this happen)

chrisiz1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Apr-2022
All in one Car  Posted on 26 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
What you get in a Subaru Forester standard is the top trim in most cars. Quality built and all rounder. Most spacious in the category.

What I like
Eyesight - saved countless of times
Space - big boot and passanger area
Windows - big windows; no field of vision is blocked

What I do not like
Suspension - abit soft for my like
Head unit - could do better
Stereo - could be better

Desmond2402
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-May-2013
Subaru Forester 2020  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
This is my second Forester. The first was a SJ model. The 5th generation of the forester really enhance the safety aspect of the vehicle. What I dun like about this 5th generation is definitely the disappearing of turbo. Fuel consumption wise, 620km from 62ltrs tank is already very good. Overall a great improvement but the service staff need to buck up.

What I like
Safety features
Interior

What I do not like
Strange enough, the vehicle might get power lost from time to time

Daniboey
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Fun safety ride  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
A car i have been driving for past 5 years that is fun with power in it class.
The power to overtake and pick up speed as needed to be on road

Ranger84
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Sep-2020
Practical family car  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
The driver's line of sight is good. The space is also spacious. Safety assist features are also useful. However, the fuel consumption is high.

ShaneLim_183310
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 11-Nov-2017
Work Horse  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
I have driven this car for the past 3 years, and I must say it handled anything my family threw at it with ease,

Pre covid it handled road trips up north with ease, it's a car that is spacious and stable,

It's size allowed us to sit 5 adults comfortably, not to mention all the furniture from ikea and tall plants the boot easily swallows up,

I have driven this car with confidence at the speed limit even in harsh and wet weather, it has good handling and road holding,

The interior is slightly plasticity and the rear seats are quite bumpy, also I find the positioning of the air con vents funny (they blow behind the steering wheel)

If you can handle a big car I would definitely recommend this

RedRock
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2022
Reliable Safe and Comfortable  Posted on 16 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Well designed for comfort ride with safety features that scored 5-Star on the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

Safety is priority for a Forrester XT SUV . The AWD ensures road safety under extreme weather and road conditions.

What I like
Comparatively spacious ride for a 5 seater with big leg room space for driver and passengers. Hatch back space allows flexibility for load storage thta surpass many SUV's design.

What I do not like
The legendary Forrester XT SUV is no longer in production.
An SUV that is above other SUVs of its class..

Bada
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Apr-2022
A good car for family with kids  Posted on 14 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I like the very spacious back seats, it's very easy to put a child seat behind and still with lots of spaces for other family members. Good safety measures that gives a sense of assurance. Despite being an SUV, maneuverability is great, corners well on bends even in wet weather, all thanks to the full time all-wheel-drive feature. Overall a very good car for family.

topplecatBn
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Sep-2021
Confidence on Wheels  Posted on 14 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Model: e-Boxer Mild Hybrid

Likes:
great road presence.
suspension tuned for comfort, those who attack corners might consider swapping out for coilovers.
point and shoot handling, very drivable and responsive.

Dislikes:
could have come with a hybrid, instead of mild hybrid.
FC only slightly improved with the mild hybrid version.
outdated HUD.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Subaru Forester
4 stars - based on 55 reviews