Related Articles

Hyundai launches 2011 version of Avante Hybrid in South Korea

The Hyundai Avante is poised and composed

Hyundai Avante - A Transformational Legacy

Renewing your car's COE might be the worst choice


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Hyundai Avante 1.6 S (A)
17 Jan 2019  |  Hyundai Reviews
Reasonably furnished, well-priced and easy to live with, the facelifted Hyundai Avante S will appeal to many buyers.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Avante
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
18 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
18 out of 18 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

18 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Vinceng
NOS-ed
2 reviews
16,230 points
5107 forum posts Joined on 28-Aug-2007
Best bang-for-buck 1.6l sedan  Posted on 11 Nov 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Feature packed at a bargain @ $20K cheaper than a similar specs Honda Civic or Toyota Altis with no compromise in comfort and reliability.

Taking the base model Hyundai Avante GLS to compare with the Kia Cerato L which shares identical engines, the Avante comes with traction control, rear aircon vents, rear disc brakes, drive modes (Eco & Sports), Tuff Kote rust proof and Sound Clad insulation which the Cerato L lacks, and 7 airbags against the Cerato L's 2 air bags.

What I like
- Low purchase price. Value for money
- Features packed
- Good road holding and high speed stability
- Smooth 6 speed auto gear change
- Can switch to manual mode
- Safety feature: advanced high strength steel structure. Continental feel with heavy doors

What I do not like
- High fuel consumption due to heavy body (1345kg)
- Slightly under powered on lower gears on a full load
- Design can be an acquired taste
- Low rear headroom due to sloping roof

RaymondKhong
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Jan-2019
Many features at an affordable price  Posted on 11 Feb 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Shortlisted a few models like Cerato, Shuttle, Toledo and Sylphy before settling on an Avante S model as it has the most features at similar pricing. Exterior design looks similar to the previous version but the back looks a lot nicer and sportier. Interior looks more traditional compared to the sportier Cerato but still acceptable to me. Engine is smooth and sound insulation is average; Still can hear a bit of outside noise but still better than my previous car Forte.

What I like
Android Auto
Handsome daytime running lights
Smart boot release
Hidden boot release button
Car handle welcome light

What I do not like
Too many interior hard plastics

VIERRRRR
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Dec-2019
Hyundai Avante  Posted on 23 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Modern conveniences, onboard entertainment, and the latest safety features,
Hyundai had 1.6-litre inline-four engine and six-speed autobox are better paired to offer a smoother progress.
And it’S competent in this area and the facelifted version remains very much so.
Even when nearing 5000rpm, the Avante remains unusually calm for a 1.6-litre mass-market model

silentdarkwave
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Dec-2019
Comfortable Ride with Impressive Features  Posted on 21 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Rented the S trim from Komoco for a road trip up North. The car performed respectably along the North South Highway, with cruise control making the long distance a breeze. NVH was decent, with wind and tyre noise above 120 kph being acceptable. The infotainment system came complete with Apple carplay (and Android Auto) plus touch screen capabilities, making navigation quite convenient.

Overall a recommended ride at this price range.

What I like
Interior
Seats are very comfortable for long drives. Infotainment with touch screen is easy to use and pretty impressive at this price range - especially when compared against that in the Altis or Vezel.
Multi-function steering wheel comes complete with volume and cruise control.
Handling
Steering is a touch heavy, but allows for taking corners with more confidence. Car is also very stable at high speeds. The suspension is also reasonably good when gonig over uneven roads or speed humps.
Safety
Comes with 6 airbags as standard, which puts it ahead of the competition.

What I do not like
Exterior
Styling seems a little dated, especially when contrasted against the 2016 Elantra.
Engine
Even on sports mode (via the drive mode selector) coupled with sports setting on the gearbox (by shifting to the right), the car lacked pickup despite the higher revs.
Transmission
Downshift on comfort mode when accelerating on the highway can take a noticeable amount of time.

Romancesun
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Jan-2010
Excellent choice for entry car lovers  Posted on 17 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The touch of the steering is one of the first experience of a new driver that one could expect to test drive. More to say this car handle well and gives a comfort and calm feeling to those has yet to go on roads. While those who are experienced driver find themselves more suited to the likes of the pick up speed and value of the features that it can offers to match other cars in the market. In short it is a car that has met expectations.

Z030005
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
24 points
25 forum posts Joined on 18-May-2019
No regret after 9month ( 10, 000 km)  Posted on 15 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought this as my first car in SG, it's also my wfie's first car.
Although it's our first car in SG, I have been driving/ renting car (Mazda 3, Attrage, BMW) in SG and oversea for a while, I'm not new to driving.
Local grab/ uber ride also give me some thought on what to look for my own ride.

What i am looking for my car: basic car for my wife daily trip to office, family car @ Weekend and ocassional ride to MY. The ride must be at least as comfortable as cab/ grab.

With all this considered, i chose avante base model.

What I like
First of all: remember the price of this car, it's about same price ( or slightly cheaper than Honda Jazz) when all discount (financing, insurance and car trade in) is removed

1) Design: its in car entertainment is well designed such that there's no glare or direct sun light on it at all. Inclusion of android and Apple carplay is great.
2) the interior build quality and material: it's at least Honda civic or Toyota Altis level
3) Stability of car frame: The car is like continental car, car is on the heavy side and suspension is stiff. When the car goes thru a hole/ hump, you're going to feel it but it settles very fast. This is good for highway (when the road is generally good), but bad if you're going thru some lousy road section
4) noise: Take note: road condition/ type also affects noise in the car, same is true for this car. For most of the road I travelled, the noise is reasonably low
5) fuel consumption: it's close the manufacturer's spec, i get around 9l per 100km (with all the jam in cross way, MY/ SG city route ...)

What I do not like
1) The power (in terms of volume of air it moves) of rear air con is rather weak
2) angle/ slope of rear window that makes rain water stay
3) exterior design make it a bit difficult for newbies' first car. As the car has a curvy design, it's not so straightforward to judge the edge of vehicle.
4) engine power ( I dont mind this but I guess some of your might): it's a 1.6 NA engine for AT, so manage your expectation. I feel it's more than enough when there's 2 person in car (the engine RPM hardly reaches 3.5k in ECO mode, less engine rev sound). When there's 4 in car, the engine noise (as rpm hits 3.5k and above to overtake vehicle on highway) is more noticeable.

Sherleo
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2019
Bread and butter car  Posted on 15 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested the Avante Elite variant. Sturdier and seems more durable when comparing to Attrage but hence the higher pricing as well. Car is certainly suitable for SG driving.

What I like
Priced pretty much according to cars worth
Lots of features such as ventilated seats, memory seats, rain sensing wiper etc
6 airbags for this variant
Climate control aircon as well as for rear passengers
Cruise control for longer drives especially up north
Based on specs, 0.4secs faster than brother kia cerato (makes you wonder)

What I do not like
Still feels a little underpowered for me (but can't argue)
Will be nice to have a sunroof since its elite model
Traditional handbrake makes centre console smaller
Overall handling is pretty basic
Front seats have hard plasticy cover, will make it uncomfortable for rear passengers knees especially taller ones.

Haydenlim05
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Feb-2019
Comparing to KIA Cerato brother  Posted on 09 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Compared to the kia cerato, this is more Value for money while the Cerato is more of looks rather than value. For example, the cheapest variant of both cars have a huge difference in terms of specs. The Cerato barely offers anything and either get a free upgrade to leather seats and touchscreen or top up yourself. While the Avante has alot of of features such as Rear aircon, touchscreen and leather seats.It is also safer as it has 6 airbags compared to 2 on the Cerato and also includes TC. So, if your planning to buy any of these two, U can choose either looks or specs.

What I like
Base model of this already comes with Touchscreen and Rear aircon compared to the Cerato
Legroom and headroom are both decent
Comes with 6 Airbags compared to the Ceratos 2 airbags(base model)
Value for money

What I do not like
Engine takeoff is slow as engine is from 2010 and still not updated.
6 speed transmission can be improve and engine displacement should be smaller with a turbo

FY88
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Aug-2019
2019 Hyundai Avante  Posted on 08 Aug 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
We wish to extend our sincere thanks and appreciation to Komoco management and the sales team for the wonderful services rendered during our recent new Hyundai Avante purchase.

On 22nd July 2019, I went to Komoco showroom together with my wife and relative to meet Ms Anna Yap the sales consultant to view the range of vehicles and subsequently, Anna arranged for us to go for a test drive and at the end of it, we were amazed with the smoothness, quietness and responsiveness of the Avante engine. We were also impressed with the design of this compact sedan and felt that it was well suited for the needs of my family and budget consideration.

We had a wonderful experience at the showroom as Anna who had been with the company for the past 15 years was able to provide us the professional and excellent service throughout our visit meticulously, patiently and cheerfully.

At the end of the day, we felt that the new Hyundai Avante was the right choice for us as our expectations in terms of practicality, affordability, safety and efficiency were met.

On 5th August 2019, we went back to Komoco showroom to finalize the sales contract with a booking fee for the bidding of the COE.

On 7th August 2019, I received a pleasant surprise from Anna informing and congratulating me that I have successfully secured the 1st bidding of COE with the strong support of Komoco despite the huge jump of COE price. I was overjoyed with the news and I am now a happy buyer.

Many companies provide services as part of their offerings but it is only with Superior service that makes or cuts a deal.

Congrats for having Anna in your staff.

ferrytales
3rd Gear
4 reviews
393 points
388 forum posts Joined on 15-Jul-2019
Perfect sub $80k car!  Posted on 15 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I drove the Avante HD previously and was impressed by the reliability and low cost of maintenance. Decided to skip the Elantra from the previous generation and went straight for the facelift Avante instead. Just look at the number of coe renewed avante running on the roads now, reliability is proven since they are still using the same engine and gearbox albeit some tuning improvements.

Absolutely no regrets for the price we are paying for at sub 80k for the s model which is a great balance between the basic and elite model. Gotten the car at 75k (some might have gotten lower at 73k during the CNY 8888 promo) and with a parf value of 7k+, the depreciation works out to be less than 7k per annum. Car price is about 5k difference per trim level. Shares similar parts with pre-facelift elantra so maintenance and repairs will be a breeze.

During my car hunt, I was comparing a few sedans within the same range such as Civic/Vios/Impreza/XV/Cerato. Test drove all these cars but CVT gearbox really make the drive horrible and lethargic despite flooring the accelerator but gotta give credit to Honda for making civic a decent drive despite the CVT.

In the end, decided to just compare sedan cars with the traditional AT gearboxes which left me with only Cerato/Avante within the sub 80k price range. Price wise only cerato came close but at the expense of safety features and having to deal with the nonsense t&c from C&C such as minimum loan, mandatory trade in and long delivery times. A savvy guy just needs to do a simple computation and conclude that you are paying way more for the cerato with lesser safety features as compared to avante.

What I like
1) Decent soundproofing by KMC (soundclad) - This really helps to reduce the road noise and gives you a peaceful drive

2) 3M solar film - better spec solar film as compared to other distributors

3) Flexibility of KMC - You can opt for your own insurance/loan amount/with or without trade in and car price will still be the same, unlike C&C

4) 6 airbags + Traction control for all trims as compared to Cerato (only SX/GT has the top safety features), this should be a basic feature in all cars instead of the usual 2 airbags

5) Wireless charging + amazing legroom for both front/back

6) Delivery time is absolutely amazing, collected the new car all within 2 weeks from making a book to securing coe followed by car collection (better to check with SE that they have ready stock for your colour option)

Great to see KMC giving soundclad/3m/tuffkote for all avantes as default regardless of trims and not removing the basic safety features (airbags + traction control)

What I do not like
KMC should considering bringing in the Avante with 1.4 turbo engine + 6at, this car will definitely be a top seller and relive the good old days in 2009 era.

Please do not bring in the avante with DCT which is prone to issues down the road!

zhenhong77
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2015
Upgrade from Hyundai Accent to Hyundai Avante after 4yrs ..  Posted on 07 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Hyundai Avante 2018 is a newly design, young and up trend car model
in Singapore market. The car capture my attention in 15 Nov 18 but at
that point of time, i am very happy and comfortable with my hyundai
Accent (2015) and have no intention to change.

Somehow after a visit to the Komoco show room in June 19, makes me think twice and eventually go for the change. Komoco Singapore Sales team Patrick Neo exhibits great professionalism, patience in his car introduction and allow me time to test drive the all New Hyundai Avante that finally makes me go for the change.

What I like
I feel much faster acceleration and pick up power than my Hyundai Accent.
Spacious and longer cabin interior but height same.
More attractive dashboard materials and solid build quality.
Quiet, Comfortable ride and decent handling and ride.
Trendy looking, Good Leg room and Roomy trunk space.
Cabin noise and Road noise is very low.
Hardly feel the gear change upon speeding..
06 airbags for my family safety
Air con outlet for the back passengers allow more comfort..
Good sound system just like Accent.
Sudden brake response is good.

What I do not like
I got preference for fog lights at night drive at super dark area
,hopefully this model allow me to install later on.

City driving needs a good braking system for sudden braking, Hyundai
can improve on it.

My Accent tyres gave a lot of road noise at 30K, Hopefully the
new model tyres are much better now.

Not able to enhance my family safety with a choice of installation
of Hyundai forward collision avoidance in Singapore market.

sayan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-May-2019
Reliable and practical car  Posted on 21 May 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a review of the Hyundai Elantra which I have now owned for 9 months and clocked over 12k km. To begin with, I should convey that I am extremely happy with the car. Honestly, it has exceeded our overall expectations from a daily commuter.

What I like
Ride quality provides a sense of solidity
Great features even in basic models
Comfortable seats even on those long road trips
Nice infotainment system
well laid-out driver console
Fuel economy ~10.5-11 kmpl in city, 13.5 kmpl in highway driving

What I do not like
Wish there was a bit more power, although, for most parts, it feels adequate in city driving conditions

jameswwp
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Jun-2015
Best budget saloon car IMHO...  Posted on 07 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I went saloon car hunting in Dec 2019. The usual suspects are Japanese T, H, N, and Koreans K and Hyundai. In terms of built quality, the Koreans had pickup a lot over the years. As for price wise, it is about 10 K lesser than the Japanese. Next, the reliability, we still see a lot of Hyundai on the road nowadays with COE being renewed.

In the end, it's between K and Hyundai. The drive not much difference, though K has rear drum brake. Next, look is not important to me, since I will be sitting inside.

In the end, I have chosen the Avante basic model, as it has a rear aircon and comes with 6 airbags. For me, it is a no brainer. Just collected my Intense Blue car on Tuesday. Very happy with my purchase and the SE service at Ubi is excellent.

What I like
Best money for the buck!

Rear aircon and 6 airbags

Autohead lights

Remote boot release

Android Auto, I can use WAZE and Ok Google!

Pay much lesser Road Tax, compare to my previous 2.4 Liter car.

What I do not like
Lack a bit of power going up slope (compared to 2.4 Liter)

LionelBoon
Clutched
1 reviews
30 points
23 forum posts Joined on 09-Jul-2016
First car! Happy owner.  Posted on 05 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Initially was looking at Honda Jazz 1.3, and SE quoted me 69k.

However, decided to pop by to KMC to have a look at the Accent, when the SE told me about the 8888$ discount.

Originally my budget was 70k, hence the base model of the Avante suited my needs perfectly.

Did a test drive and fell in love with the car. I typically drive my dad's car which is a Diesel MPV, so its abit difficult to get an Apple to Apple comparison.

But comparing it with the Jazz and Accent during the test drives, the Avante's insulation, road feel and handling just felt superior.

The rear seat space is also spacious and it would be perfect for me - as I'm embarking on having children soon.

All in all, looking forward to continue driving my new baby!

What I like
- Great value for money
- Rear of the car is really nice
- Leather trim for base model
- Apple play comes factory fitted

What I do not like
- Knob climate controls...
- The front grill is a little over the top, if i could - i would have preferred if they toned it down a little, or follow the same approach as the SPORT version in MY or USA.
- Would have liked a little more color variety to choose from as well, believe a navy blue would have been a great option.

Alslee
1st Gear
1 reviews
71 points
52 forum posts Joined on 09-Jan-2019
Almost everything you need in a bread-and-butter car  Posted on 31 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The new 2019 Avante 'S' trim was a natural choice for me when i scrapped my older 2009 Avante 'S' due to the following reasons.

What I like
-Good comfort, with locally fitted leather seats.
-So far no issues with a new ride of a month, but if going according to track records, the previous Avante is able to endure most terrain and require minimal wear-and-tear replacements if proper maintenance is given. Same for the Elantra and the same could be expected of the current Avante considering is is a facelift.
-The handling of the vehicle is good considering the price tag on this car, as it is sensitive and responsive to minor adjustments of the steering wheel. The car itself is able to provide a smooth ride on regular roads, and the provided soundcladding helps to dampen quite a bit of high frequency noise.
-You will either love the exterior styling of the car or hate it. Choose one.
-The interior is mainly hard plastic, with some fabric and carbon fiber livery interspersed between different pieces within the car. Not the most luxurious, but feel free to change it with your own accessories.
-The features of the Avante include cruise control which is useful for certain situations, and contains three drive modes for different use case. Apple play is useful for iOS users, the HU fits in nicely and the sound system is rather good considering there is a tweeter upgrade. Keyless entry and start is a big plus since previous cars require keys. Another plus are the 6 airbags in this car.
-The car is definitely value for money, considering other alternative cars either have lesser features or are more pricey for the same type of similar features.
-After 1k servicing, synthetic oil does give the engine a bigger performance boost. The car's FC increased from 10-12 to around 12-14km/l on 80% highway, 20% urban.

What I do not like
-Amount of hard plastic in the interior.
-Lack of any sensing systems on the 'Basic' and 'S' trims, which can prevent unnecessary accidents, such as Blind spot detection (only on Elite Trim), lane keeping assistance, emergency brake system. Weirdly, Komoco does not allow you to pay for these options to be on your car, sticking to the three trims.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Hyundai Avante
4 stars - based on 18 reviews