Related Articles

DS 7 Crossback is packed with style and features

5 most established Parallel Importers in the East

» Go to articles

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - DS 7 Crossback 1.6 (A)
04 Mar 2019  |  DS Reviews
The DS 7 Crossback SUV offers a touch of style and sophistication that will give the more premium models a run for their money, but can it offer a better drive?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of DS 7 Crossback
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
9 out of 11 (81.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mervynwm
3rd Gear
114 reviews
278 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The EYE CATCHING DS7.  Posted on 08 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test driven the Grand Chic 180PS version as was told by SalesPerson the only difference between 180PS and 225PS not just the horsepower, but only feel it when you drive in SPORTS mode, otherwise almost the same.

The exterior was indeed eye catching as per the title where knowingly French are always known to be artistic when it comes to design. Unlock the car from the front, you see a 180 degrees turning crystal like lights to welcome you and the back lights of spikiness entice you for the looks too.

This version I tested comes with panoramic sunroof but is a limited batch where likely next batches might not come with it, so for those liked the sunroof do check out before you sign.

Interior, a great French design when it comes to minor details from the display clock to the buttons. Space is adequate for a conventional 5 seats SUV which you will be enchanted by its interior comparing to other makes as after all its design by the French.

Drive...In Normal mode, its a smooth move off but you do hear gear changes locking up even its a 8 Speed but in Comfort, you feel that you are almost floating while cruising.

During the drive, tried the Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) at designated speed which at the cockpit, you see Lane Departure works as dual lines showing your car in lane and will swerve back when out of lane. As for ACC, it has a car picture showing you the actual car in front and does braking when close up, just a mere tap and it goes off by itself in ACC again which gradually to get reach to its defined speed.

Overall, for its smooth ride plus its designing looks to both exterior and interior, its certainly be an unique as well as an eye catching vehicle when you are on the road in this.

What I like
Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC).
Lane departure assist (with ACC in use).
Blind Spot Assist.
Comfortable suspension (where it smoothed the ride along).
Full digital cockpit or to many known as Active Digital Display or Virtual Cockpit.
Futuristic Welcome lights when unlock car.
Comfortable drive (in Comfort and Normal modes), did not try Sports mode.
Electric Tailgate.
Both front are electric seats.

What I do not like
Price tag of S$ 173k (as at 8th June 2019) for 180PS.
For $20k additional to get the 225PS not into it for some.
Panoramic Sunroof option is limited, subjected to availability.
Small glovebox.

Gabdat
4th Gear
19 reviews
668 points
251 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Typical french cuisine,with a flair  Posted on 08 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this latest DS model yesterday at C&C. It has been some time since we tested a french car. Especially an SUV.

What I like
-Elegant & bold design
-Powerful 1.6 turbo charged engine
-Comes with all the safety tech as standard
-Diamond rotating headlights
-Comfortable and massage-enabled front seats
-Rear reclining seats
-Full panoramic roof
-Reliable Lexus 8 speed gear box. Probably the only reliable part of the car
-Way too expensive

What I do not like
-Infotainment screen needs a genius to master
-Too many sub menus
-No physical button for auto start/stop. Can only be turned off from the screen. Tedious!
-Not as insulated as expected
-Adaptive Cruise Control stock feels cheap and confusing
-Too many disruptive icons pop up while driving
-Engine designed by PSA. Something will eventually screw up

Lotr
6th Gear
4 reviews
3,655 points
1500 forum posts Joined on 11-May-2002
Premium features at a premium  Posted on 24 May 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Local reviews have been positive for this car but there is a reason why we see so few of these OTR.

C&C is asking for a lot for this car.

Pricing needs to be more realistic if they want to win customers

What I like
Engine performance, the seats (memory, cooled and massage)

What I do not like
Handling, the cheap plastic used for the cruise control, PRICE

RayNg_217040
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Nov-2018
Presidential car that we can own  Posted on 15 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
During the recent Vivocity roadshow2019, i am attracted by the DS7 performance line design and the taillight ,the salesman arranged for me to test drive on thatday which i cannot as i am not free on that day,the salesman then arrange with me and wife a test drive at the leng kee showroom.
During the test drive, i must say i am impressed by the comfort level,the car handled humps and corners very well.
i made the booking after the test drive.My wife also like the mulit-climate at the 2nd row and also the ample leg room.
It was only at the showroom, i saw the poster on french presidential car DS7.
i ask the salesman, he told me that dS7 is made for presidential car in France.
Wow, i am so lucky to own a presidential car

What I like
-3D tail light
-comfortable handing
-suspension makes the comfort a whole new level
-stable when negotatite bends
-ample leg rooms
-boot space more than enough my stuff
-of course i feel like president when owning this DS7

shuaigeai69
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2019
Wow!!! Luxurious, Comfortable & Best Value SUV  Posted on 15 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the DS7 Grand Chic 180 2 days ago, and I must say it changed my impression of France cars totally.

From the outside, the car had a wow factor in term of outlook. The body line is very nice, stout and unmistakably continental. The headlight and taillight are so attractive with its diamond shape inner insert, especially the 3 jewel LED headlights that swirl when lock/unlock. Simply love it.

The car had all the safety features found in more premium brands, but at the much cheaper price. The features include all round sensors (total 12 sensors), blind spot indicator, auto e-brake, park pilot, ACC, etc. The car is also very comfortable when driving on the road, and it even has electric seats for driver (with memory function) and front passenger that comes with massage function. Wireless handphone charging is super convenient to charge my iPhone. At the back, my son enjoy the convenient of charging his iPad through 2 x USB ports under the rear air con vent.

There is a little body roll when driving (as compare to my Camry), but I believe is normal for tall SUV. If compare to Japanese SUVs that I'd test drove, the road holding is still much better.

The only not-so-good thing about DS7 is its interior color. Everything is black, including the roof lining, which make the interior very dark. If there is a option of lighter color leather seats, it will be perfect.

What I like
1. Look
2. Lots of safety features
3. Massage front seats
4. Comfort drive
5. LED headlight
6. 8-speed Aisin gear box

What I do not like
1. Slight body roll
2. Interior too dark
3. 18" rims (too small for this car)

dldl888
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Oct-2019
SUV With Luxury Features At Reasonable Price  Posted on 12 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I went to recent Cars@Expo to source for full size SUV, and viewed Harrier, Outlander, 5008, etc. Chanced upon DS7 Performance Line which lineup beside Mitsubishi booth, and immediately attracted by its impressive and eye catching exterior.
Through detailed briefing by the sales consultant, Daniel, I understood that beside the look, DS7 also did not fell short in features found only in more luxurious brands like MB, BMW, Audi, Lexus. These features include all round sensors, blind spot monitoring, lane keep assist, active emergency brake, adaptive cruise control, and many others. And also, the car even come with Alcantara seats that is widely use on super sport cars such as Porsche, Ferrari, Lamborghini, etc. Without hesitation, I placed a fully refundable option-to-purchase deposit to secure an irresistible special package (according to Daniel, the package only valid during the event) even before the test drive.
On following Monday, I (together with my wife) made an appointment with Daniel at the showroom to test drive the DS7 Performance Line in order to know the car better before confirming the purchase. The drive exceeded my expectation of a car that priced at such a competitive price (at least $50k cheaper than above mentioned big 4 premium brands of similar spec). The suspension riding on 19-inch rims was comfortable and not harsh at all. The gear change is seamless, most likely contributed by Aisin's 8-speed gearbox. I was even encouraged to drive over road humps (along Margaret Drive) at 30km/h without throwing out my lunch.
Immediately after the test drive, I topped up the deposit and decided on the purchase. Two days later, I was updated that C&C had secured my COE😄.
If not for my tight budget, I'll definitely go for the Grand Chic 180 or 225 that equipped with electric front seats (with massage) and park pilot (auto parking). Nonetheless, I'm satisfied with my purchase, and believe that I'll love it for long.
Overall, a very good car (at least when new) at very reasonable price.

What I like
1. Striking look
2. Luxury and spacious interior, especially the Alcantara seats
3. Features
4. Comfortable drive
5. Smooth gear change
6. Price

What I do not like
1. Uncertainty on the engine reliability, as the engine is rather new. However, based on the review and International Engine of The Year 2015 - 2018 Award, I'm willing to give it a try.
2. No electric front seats for Performance Line.
3. Compact compartment

Xrayyokomo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Sep-2018
What an Interior!  Posted on 10 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was In the market for mid size suv and test drove the DS7 gc180 .

The rotating diamond lights was a wow factor , something many cars doesnt have and also the very chic interior stunning exterior.

Many features on these car like front 2 seats with massage function and and electric reclining rear seats , at these price range its a steal etc

Interior space is also spacious, compareable to some large SUVs

Under the hood, the 1.6L turbo engine was powerful enough and a great drive, excellent road holding, comfortable and quiet ride.

What I like
What I like
Stylish exterior, scores high on looks
Luxurious interior, scores high on quality
Decent powerful engine makes a refined drive

What I do not like
What I do not like

Infotainment ok but need some short cut buttons on the exterior
Driver and passenger middle console could be a little slimmer to enchance space

SYSCAR
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Sep-2019
Cool, Luxury Car and most value for money car I've owned!  Posted on 10 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Seems Citroen DS really upped their game to capture Luxury Car market share. Very impressed with the DS7 Performance Line. Cant say enough good things about it. Thinking the Alcantara Leather Seats is the highest specs model but it is the entry level. Perhaps the best value for money suv now.

Opulent look and feel on the surface but proves to be a very functional everyday suv. It has enough of the gadgetry as well. It also ticks all the boxes for any sensible driver; 5 star safety ratings, peace of mind on reliability with the 5 year warranty or 200k km, good for a family of 5 with the interior space, and handsfree eletric tailgate!

The drive is fluid and polished enough, agree with most of the reviews about decent fuel efficiency.
1600cc yet with enough power and torque. Very very smart. For our Singapore City Drive where speed limit 90k and cars are only used averagely 5-6 years at most, dont really need anything more.

During my new car hunt, was exploring the likes of evoke, merc glc, toyota harrier, Audi q3, BMW X1 and Volvo xc40 .. When you take account what you get for the price you pay, DS7 is worth every dollar. Just right for the savvy consumer.

What I like
-very well spec'd and fairly loaded
-touchscreen system
-quiet and comfortable cabin
-convenience package equipment with handsfree tailgate which many models -dont have when i test drive
-cavernous interior
-iconic daytime running lights, compliments the sporty powerful stance
-innovative and efficient power delivery
-handing is composed, sharp and tidy

What I do not like
the interior color only has one option. Brown color only for the highest 225 Spec

Diligent
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Oct-2019
Luxurious French SUV  Posted on 09 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The DS7 Crossback has this super luxurious exterior with the superbly designed with style in mind, especially the headights that caught my eye, and has fell in love with in the moment I saw it. Being a SUV from a French continent which I feel can be comparable to other German brands that are currently on the road, this SUV may not be a common sight in Singapore roads but it definitely stands out amongst others.
The interior looks sleek, and it does have lots of headroom as well as ample foot room. There is a digital driver display, as well as a the safety features that alerts you at any point of time when it detects danger. The front seats are massage chair, definitely a plus factor for comfort of drive. The boot itself is spacious, and unlike other cars, adjustment of the back seats to cater for more storage space is made convenient with the help of a lever.
Like all other cars, the DS7 Crossback comes with a back camera, probably to make up for the narrow back mirror which is pretty hard to see.

What I like
- Stylish exterior
- Big Boot with plenty of storage space
- Strong suspension, does not feel jerky
- Different modes of driving to cater to individual preference

What I do not like
- Noisy when at low speed
- Narrow back mirror

Stan2004
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Jul-2019
Best looking SUV  Posted on 25 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove in mid-July 2019. Externally a beautiful car, from the masculine front to the curvy back with the beautiful brake lights. So far the most good looking car I've seen in a long time. Internally, impressive safety features e.G. Side mirror blind spot alert light, lane tracking (steering wheel auto-pulls back car into its own lane if you accidentally move out of your lane), front car alert display/auto-brake. The seats only comes in dark/black color theme (in Europe, there are 4 different factory produced color theme for selection), in Spore they may be able to change the color theme but its local customized. But that being said, in Spore many other car's comes with dark/black color theme, so not really a big issue (different factory produced color theme would be a sweetener though), the higher model has front passenger and driver massage seats. The back row has ample head and leg space. Overall the interior of the car and seats shows the well-know flair for design and details the french are known for. The size of the car is large both externally and internally (its larger than BMW X1 and closer to the X3). The car handles well, there are different drive mode to suit the driver's preference and driving style, it runs on a small, economical turbo engine (same as the Peugeot 3008, they are under the same French company PSA Group). The only issue facing DS is their relatively unknown brand awareness in Spore. For those where brand is not the deciding factor, I feel its reasonably priced for such a beautiful car, loaded with a lot of features and details that are normally only found in cars that cost more than half a million.

What I like
- Beautiful looking car
- Safety features
- Small, economical turbo engine
- Interior design and details
- Car size is large (most SUV in this price range is smaller)

What I do not like
- Only 1 color theme for seats and interior

petrolpump
Clutched
13 reviews
30 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2018
Doubtful  Posted on 24 Jul 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tried the Grand Chic (180ps). Trying hard to be the Lexus of Citroen. Lexus has different shades of leather to choose from but this only had gloomy black. Interior looked very dark and dingy and that was in the DAY. Imagine, at night. Ride quality was ok nothing to shout about. Initial pick-up seemed rather slow. Guess its the turbo lag. Since its a European car, aircon is not climatised to our warm weather. Had to set temperature at 17deg with fan-speed to no 2. Fan speed 3 was noisy. Moreover no direct button to control temp or fan speed. Its a 2 step process. Cumbersome. Japanese/Korean cars be it honda, mazda, toyota, Kia or Lexus aircon has real power! At even 27deg and fan speed set to no 1. Can feel the coolness plus direct aircon controls. Price is way tooo steep for a French car as compared to Peugeot, Renault or even Opel. If price is at 110-130k mark perhaps, people will buy and that's what C&C should do. Saturate the market first then play the premium game like what Renault is doing. Have not seen a single DS7 on SG roads. If its so rare, imagine when a part fails... Will have to wait months for it to get repaired.

What I like
Sequential Turn Signals both back and front
Diamond Headlights
Space

What I do not like
Aircon
Controls
PRICE

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
DS 7 Crossback
4 stars - based on 11 reviews