Recommended for you

Audi A4 2.0 TFSI S tronic Advanced (A) Facelift Review

Audi A4 Sedan Mild Hybrid 2.0 TFSI S tronic (A) Video Review

Audi A4 vs Jaguar XE vs Volvo S60

Watch out for these hazardous road surfaces if you don't want to get into an accident!


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Apr 2024.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Audi A4 vs Jaguar XE vs Volvo S60
05 Nov 2020  |  Audi Reviews
The three newest compact executive sedans in the market look to make their case for being the smart buyer's choice.
spacer
spacer
Audi A4
Timeless, tried-and-tested design
Luxurious and functional cabin
Smooth and easy drive
Most economical engine
Jaguar XE
Athletic exterior design
Well-equipped interior
Overall sense of heft and weightiness will appeal to some drivers
Sharpest handling
Volvo S60
Bold and modern design
Spacious, modern and plush cabin
Smoothest and most refined engine
High levels of refinement and style
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Audi A4 Sedan Mild Hybrid
spacer
4.0
 
6 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5 Interior Design
4.5
spacer
Value for money
4.0 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
terencetanwq
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2021
Over-rated  Posted on 29 Jul 2023
spacer
 

Review
Cons

- Exterior looks bland - lack premium car feel
- Weird door handles that tilt up - just pure bad design what rubbish.
- Driver left leg is always hitting the left side.
- Interior looks and feels cheap - hard plastics abound
- Gear lever feels uncomfortable to use - even new Avante feels better. Ergonomics designer should be sacked
- Brakes are over-servoed. Feels powerful but difficult to modulate finely/smoothly. Brake pedal mounted too high vs accelerator pedal. Hard to switch from gas to brakes quickly.
- Steering too light and devoid of feel. Similar in weight to latest Avante.
- Signal stalk is placed too far from steering wheel - abit of stretch to activate.
- High beam - very very dim.... Why... Audi..
- High speed wallow and float - even along Bukit Timah Road - old cars like Civic FD / CL7 feel more planted.
- DSG hesitates when you floor from standstill - nothing - then boost & wheelspin & traction control.... An utter mess....
- Tons of turbo lag - engine doesn't pick up smoothly but instead has off boost on boost character
- Strong understeer - somehow the nose just stubbornly pushes for a small light car. Just not very entertaining to drive....


Pros

- Uber silent - v v v v little wind noise. 140kmh feels like 100kmh
- Fuel economy - but did you buy an Audi for this?


redorayel
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Feb-2022
Glad I bought it before the COE climbed  Posted on 15 Jul 2022
spacer
 

Review
Looks subtle yet stylish enough. The drive is good and packs a punch when I need it. Comfortable and quiet at high speeds, the A4 is truly a joy to drive. Looking forward to more good years with it and glad I bought it before the COE climbed.


redorayel
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Feb-2022
5/5, upgrading from Altis  Posted on 01 Feb 2022
spacer
 

Review
Having owned the car for 6 months now, I love everything about it. But my standards were not high in the first place as I upgraded from an Altis.

I enjoy my drives and when I want to kick it up a notch, I'll change it to sport mode. 😀


kyo465
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Oct-2016
Good but not Great  Posted on 08 Dec 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Collected the car in July 2021 and have been driving it almost daily for 5 months. My trips are always short distances (~5km) city driving but still able to achieve ~11.2mk/l mileage. Exterior makes the car look big and the interior is sufficiently spacious. The finishing are all quality and the HU is very intuitive and smart.

The front bumpers and grilles can be more aggressive. The rear makes the car look elegant.

I also hope the engine was higher powered. But the current 150bhp is sufficient for daily driving, Will consider the MTM upgrade in the future.

What I like
Spacious, elegant and smart. The 17 inch wheels are just right for the car size,

Adequate power (though more will be nice)

Noise insulation

What I do not like
Lack of safety features like Front End collision Prevention (MB has such features for cars of lower price), auto parking.

Stock tyres (Hankook seriously???)


Conan86
1st Gear
8 reviews
48 points
88 forum posts Joined on 08-Jul-2019
Nice, but lack most safety features  Posted on 30 Oct 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 2.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The face lifted A4 looks good, the exterior light designs are always a touch above its two rivals. The drive is good and sufficient for day to day, handling is great and since it's a front wheel drive, it's technically simpler and easier to handle.

I can't understand why the door handles tilts instead of pull, needs a slight adjustment but felt really weird to me. The main deal breaker is that this car does not have any modern safety feature at this price point. No BSM, AEB, whatsoever.

What I like
+ Looks, especially the lights
+ Drive and handling
+ Front passenger ISOFIX with airbag deactivation
+ Digital instrument cluster with nice design and layout
+ Wireless Apple CarPlay

What I do not like
- No servicing coverage, only available as added purchase
- Mediocre sound system
- - - No modern safety features!


CarbonFalcon
Neutral Newbie
43 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
Absolute B&O Sound! Most Comfortable among G3 and Japanese  Posted on 20 Jan 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Deciding between the G3 and Japanese brands for a respectable sedan has been pretty tough. Infiniti is long gone from the mainstream luxury market. BMW's new 3 series, although now VES neutral, remains at the same price point. Mercedes Benz C180 is still of South African make. Effectively leaving the German A4 to take on the Japanese IS300.

The IS300 was clearly a winner. New design, honed at Shimoyama (the Japanese Nurburghring so to say), an output about 50hp higher than the A4 advanced, rear-wheel drive, Apple Carplay - overall a very solid proposition.

What I liked about the A4 was that it doesn't scream luxury - nor even attempts to be luxurious. It simply focused on engineering, technology and being well put together. Great fit, finish and was a lot more spacious than expected. The online configurator also provided plenty more options to consider vs C180. Luxury to Audi, it seems, is about having the freedom to choose.

Quietness on the A4 was top notch - even a tad better than the C180, which i expected to top the segment. Combined with the optional 3D 19sp Bang & Olufsen audio, it felt way more opulent than the standard 10 speaker systems in the other makes. Sadly, nobody really reviews how good the audio is - and I must say, this is probably the best in segment.

Surprisingly, the A4 felt a lot more punchier and faster than the more powerful RWD IS300. Something was v.Wrong here, unless Lexus had purposely made it relaxed for luxury reasons - turns out the 0-100 figures were almost the same.

The final verdict came not from under the hood or the interiors, but the boot. The A4 was decent enough to come with an electric tailgate while the IS300 screamed "Get a Camry". I could forgive the lack of electric tailgate if only the IS300 was less well behaved and punchier. Otherwise, a Camry Hybrid has all the Japanese luxury you'll ever need.

Does the A4 handle better than the evergreen 318i? Maybe not. Is it more comfy than the C180 - most definitely.

Overall, the cheaper starting price on the A4 also meant I could opt for higher specs and be comparable to an entry 318i. Otherwise, 318i vs A4 advanced - Tough choice indeed.

What I like
Truly Made in Germany - Quality Fit & Finish
Ambient Lighting
The whole Audi cockpit experience - Audi Connect, digital display, maps
Electric Tailgate (it is 2021)
B&O 19 Speaker 3D Sound

What I do not like
Could have had a cheaper quattro variant
FWD

Audi A4 Sedan Mild Hybrid
4 stars - based on 6 reviews