Recommended for you

BMW 1 Series Hatchback 118i M Sport (A) Review

BMW 1 Series 118i M Sport (A) First Drive Review

BMW 1 Series Hatchback 118i M Sport (A) Video Review

New driver planning a road trip? Do these first!


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
BMW 1 Series Hatchback 116i Luxury (A) Review
15 May 2021  |  BMW Reviews
With an excellent ride and safety features aplenty, the BMW 116i is a hatchback that offers nearly all you'd expect out of a premium product.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Needs more power
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 1 Series Hatchback
spacer
4.0
 
9 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
4.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
4.0 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Kar_lover
Supercharged
10 reviews
5,922 points
6591 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2010
Excellent ride and drive, beautiful interior, great features - what more can u ask?  Posted on 10 Nov 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Was considering the A3, A180 and 116 hatchback. Compared to the other 2, the 1 series was my choice because:

Better drive and ride than A Class (A class rear sus is torsion beam) - the lower performance numbers doesn't translate to the drive experience but of course A3 has much higher output
Better interior than A3 (A3 center gear "Tunnel" Looks budget compared to 1 series and A class)
Lower depre than A3 and A class (A3 depre >$20k!)
Cheaper than A3 and A180

Of course some of the above are my subjective opinion, YMMV. In the end, the design of the center gearbox "Tunnel" And high depre of the A3 was a deal breaker for me as was the A180's torsion beam rear suspension and the gear lever being mounted at the steering wheel (also MB is a bit too common/mass market for my liking). I also considered the A3 1.0 but the depre would still higher than the 1 series and it would lose the main advantage it had over the other 2 which is the engine output.

My only doubt about the 116 was the engine output - although it felt alright during the test drive, I was unsure if it would leave me wanting in the long run. In the end I found a pre-own 118i and now I have my perfect car at just $15k depre :)

What I like
Everything except the engine output.

What I do not like
Engine output could have been tuned to 129hp/220Nm instead of 107/190 and would still meet Cat A requirements


Arenljk
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Mar-2021
Most Value Conti Car  Posted on 07 Nov 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Overall really happy with the purchase, the features including in this entry level hatchback is rather amazing, with features like electronic seats, very elegantly designed MBUX and adjustable LED.


Michellechin94
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2022
Bmw 116i Rocks and superb car  Posted on 22 Sep 2022
spacer
 

Review
Have been driving BMW 116i Luxury for a month. This car is extremely awesome and wonderful to drive. It is packed with useful features such as blind spot indicator, good audio, auto parking, rear aircon are very cooling, walk away locked, interior lighting are nice and electric tailgate. Driving and handling of the car are great too expecially sport mode. Car take up very fast when at high speed. The interior built quality is fantastic with leather and soft touching surface throughout the cabin. Rear passenger space and boot space are spacious. Also in love with bmw apps which i can trace my vehicle and monitor my vehicle through bmw app. Will highly recommend bmw 116i to everyone who dream to own a BMW.


Michellechin94
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2022
Extremely Perfect Entry level German car  Posted on 20 Aug 2022
spacer
 

Review
- Technology is so advance
- Fuel Efficiently
- Quite spacious
- Price is very reasonable as an entry level car
- Ambience lighting and Audio are awesome


P0711142
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
20 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2018
The perfect entry level car to get into the German luxury brand  Posted on 17 Apr 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
This car is packed with useful features such as blind spot indicator, auto parking, rear aircon and hands-free electric tailgate. Driving and handling are great even though it is front wheel drive now. You can't really tell the difference between fwd and rwd unless you are driving at very high speed. The interior built quality is fantastic with leather and soft touching surface throughout the cabin. The infotainment system is intuitive and easy to use. Rear passenger space and boot space have largely increased compared to its predecessor.

What I like
1. Safety features (blind spot indicator, lane change warning and front collision warning with brake intervention).

2. Great driving experience. Firm ride and good handling.

3. Good FC.

4. Useful features (hands-free electric tailgate, auto parking).

5. Functions in cabin are intuitive and easy to use.

6. Overall package is better compared to its competitors of the same class.

What I do not like
1. Rear exit is little tight for elderly to alight from the car.

2. Stock rims are 17". The car would looks better with the 18".


kwongsm
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Dec-2020
Very Satisfied with my BMW 1 Series purchase  Posted on 30 Nov 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I am so happy I picked BMW 1 Series over X1. I test drive both. It's a total different feel. First of all, the current X1 has been in the market for at least 4 years and it should be going to be refreshed soon. There are a couple of things I didn't really feel like I am a X1 driver after test driving it, I thought I was, am already planning to make the payment.

There are many safety features in BMW 1 Series that probably exist in 3 series and above. Lane departure, front and back collision, blind spots, etc are all available.

The handling of the car is very smooth and easy to drive. Making a left or right turn is very smooth and easy.

The pick up is relatively fast, I usually gets ahead with most of the cars stopping at the traffic light, with just a light touch on the pedal and it excelerates smoothly and quickly.

Besides, it comes with Apple CarPlay, the best driving experience I've had so far.

So far, my average fuel consumption is 7.5-8l/100km, which I feel is very good for such a car at 1499 cc, 138 hp.

Pretty spacious as well :)

I have to say I am a proud, happy owner :)

What I like
Smooth ride
Look and feel
Safety features
CarPlay
Pickup
Fuel consumption

What I do not like
ACE 2.0, doesn't connect to cellular such that I can access remotely ... I can only playback when I am in the car.


Amirul04
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Oct-2013
Best hatchback you can buy!  Posted on 09 Nov 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Although the new 1 series is a step back from the previous generation, F20 series, which I currently own its still a good fun hatchback to drive. Bmw is all about driving feel and driver oriented which you can feel even when driving the basic model of the new F40 1 series. With its big passenger space and big boot, you can look no further when considering a hatchback. Although if you want more from the car, the m135i is you choice to go.


Lohkyx
Clutched
1 reviews
6 points
25 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2012
Bmw 1 series  Posted on 04 Jul 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 2.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
My experience with the bmw authorized dealer is summarized as follows:

You sell me a factory defect for $10k less and you as the 1st owner. Which car in SG is sold with the boot fully filled with water inside on collection day? And who will pay u over $150k only to see his/her bmw get transmission strip down all the way from rear axle to front axle on day 2 ownership? You need a month downtime to fix a loose shaft fault? And your bmw asia management disregard the matter thinking your agent can shoulder? You think u will get away after u offer a free shampoo wash? Go back and rethink your business values.


Newfamilyguy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
7 forum posts Joined on 12-Oct-2019
Meant for small car lover  Posted on 11 Oct 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Driven multiple affortable conti cars before (with each mileage ranging form 10k km to 100k km) - A-class, CLA, A3, 320i, X1, m140i, Astra, Insignia and Discovery Sport. Had also driven some Japanese cars.

Owned this baby beemer for 3 years, clocked 100km, unmodded. Other than the normal servicing, there is no problem. Doors gave ratting sounds initially.

When alone, this baby beemer provides drivers the usual bmw fun drive and stability. It is possible to do sharp turns at 60km/hr without drifting or losing control (not much body roll). At low mileage, when taking off at traffic light, this car feels slow and sluggish. After owning for a period of time, the car gets faster when moving off (at around 2000rpm), usually the first few cars, leaving the others behind. The steering is responsive, sharp and gives good feedback. All the above are driven in comfortable mode. Though most cars allow drivers to drive aggressively, not all cars are fun to drive. Driver seat is fairly comfortable but not the best in the same category.

When with family, the car allows the driver to drive 'less fun', providing more comfort to passengers. The suspension absorbs well but not the best in small car category. Due to run flat, road noise are noticeable. The cabin is well isolated, however, when rev-ing with open windows, the rattling sound is noticeable. Breaking gives better control and less jerky than some of bmw competitors. The interior are more than sufficient for small families (inclusive of kids and elders). Able to put chicco nextfit child seat in rear seats with 2 more passengers in car (front passenger height ranges from 1.60+m to 1.70+m with sufficient legroom, knee not touching the glove compartment). The boot is adequate for small family. Had transported many DIY furniture's. Even though many sedans have 40:20:40 rear seats setup, this baby beemer has the additional height and height entrance for its boot.

Fuel consumptions are pretty good, ranging from 14+km/l (80 city drive-20 highway) to 18+km/l (80 highway-20 city; Based on Google map). Tried once to kl, Malaysia, with fuel consumption of 20.5km/l. Competitive fuel cost.

Driven a m140i on autobahn. Even though it is impressive to own a m140i in Singapore, having a 100% Down payment for non-m140i is quite impressive too.

What I like
-New engine
-Responsive zf8 speed gear
-The only rwd in the same category (feels the 'push' after the turbo kicks in)
-Smart algorithm that adapts to driver's driving behaviour
-Comes with signal light switch
-Memory seats (front)
-Good fuel consumption and affordable fuel cost
-Good steering feedback
-Provides options to drive - fun driving (not aggressive) or family oriented, instead of pure family oriented driving
-Good turning radius, able to complete a u-turn within 1.5 lanes
-Low enough for kids and elders to get into the car
-Well isolated
-Can be fast in cooling car down by using auto mode
-New competitive standard servicing package (AD) comparing to some korean and some Japan cars AD
-Rear legroom is very close to 3 series
-Tested by overseas organisation on good crash rating compared to small Japan cars

What I do not like
-Bmw stigma
-Doors' designs, challenging for kids and elders in tight parking space
-Noticeable road noise when using run flat (runflat had saved me before)
-Need to drive 60-70km/hr for 15 to 20 mins every 2 to 3 days to generate diesel particulate filter (DPF), possible PDF blockage for daily short distance drive
-No ventilation seats, good in hot weather
-Rear seats not as comfortable as front seats
-Crash rating might not be as good as bigger conti vehicles, hybrid vehicles and construction vehicles

BMW 1 Series Hatchback
4 stars - based on 9 reviews