Recommended for you

Hyundai Avante takes on the competition

Toyota reveals its Japan market Corolla Cross

Toyota Corolla hits 50 million milestone

ENZO TPV car mats are durable and easy to clean


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 Elegance (A)
29 Jan 2020  |  Toyota Reviews
The new Toyota Corolla Altis brings subtle refinements to the tried and tested formula that has made it the best-selling car in the world.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Not very quick
Unintuitive locking system can be frustrating
Many alternative options in the market
spacer
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Hyundai Avante vs Mazda 3 Sedan vs Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
16 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

16 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Gabdat
4th Gear
23 reviews
555 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
TNGA  Posted on 28 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Drives far better than previous model. Menacing looks and has that Lexus vibe for the tail lights. There's a reason why Corolla is the most sellable car on earth. It just never fails you. Tested the non hybrid model.

What I like
-Android auto & apple carplay
-Full suit of active and passive safety features
-Drive was confident and planted
-Not much of CVT whining
-Totally new design and platform
-Responsve steering
-Solid brakes
-Freezing cold aircon
-Good resale value
-High ARF for a Thailand made car

What I do not like
-Slightly underpowered. 1.8ltr engine would have been better
-Crampy rear legroom
-Small boot
-$7k top up for the Elegant model

quippery
Neutral Newbie
24 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Good all-rounder family sedan  Posted on 09 Jan 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Toyota Corolla is no longer the boring family sedan we know. There's a sharp front and rear thanks to the fresh head and taillights, and a pretty cool blue instrument cluster as well.

What I like
Sharp exterior looks alongside a sensible and still fresh-looking interior dashboard and cabin.

It's a naturally-aspirated engine paired to a CVT, so don't expect too much torque to send you off at the traffic lights, but the entire setup is still reasonably refined and quiet.

There's also good ride quality making the car just comfortable and a pleasure to steer.

What I do not like
Central infotainment really needs to be completely redone. The bezels on the display are huge, and the screen graphics and layout look like it could be in a car from one generation ago.

josh98
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Dec-2021
Pretty great car to drive  Posted on 20 Dec 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just gotten my Altis, have been a very enjoyable ride. Got the Standard variant without Toyota Safety Sense. Exterior looks great, interior leather feel is soft and nice. Features wise is not that impressive compared to other sedans, but not that big a dealbreaker for me. Can make do without some of the features, but also would love other features like the pre-collision alert and front sensors.

Overall is really great driving the new Altis, i think it's quite fun each time i drive without much effort and it's fuss-free, even without much features i don't think it is really that big a difference. I mean it just means more effort to look out for vehicles or other road users and paying more attention to the road but that's expected of a driver.

What I like
- Engine is quite responsive and quiet, doesn't require to step that hard on the accelerator
- soft touches and nice design
- simple, easy to drive
- very comfortable and good suspension
- rear aircon vents
- big boot space

What I do not like
- lack of features like the headunit without Android Auto/Apple Carplay (but easy to upgrade)
- should have some safety features even if not the whole TSS suite
- no auto folding mirrors after locking vehicle
- door should have the small storage space that can act as the handle too
- halogen headlamps

technetium
Clutched
8 reviews
8 points
2 forum posts Joined on 19-Nov-2021
Playing it safe (but spoilt by the infotainment console)  Posted on 27 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Altis & Vios - have to say the Altis drives much better than the Vios (but that is probably not saying much)

Exterior design is above average although a bit bland.
Internal design is okay too, but unfortunately spoilt by the infotainment centre console which has THICK bezels that just looks outdated.

All-round: average enough there is no real motivator to buy except it is a Toyota (with its expected reliability etc) but infotainment bezel was a deal breaker... Did not buy in the end.

What I like
Toyota Safety Suite was quite comprehensive
Exterior design is not bad

What I do not like
Infotainment console looks VERY dated/out of place with the thick bezels. Badly integrated into the dashboard (neither the integrated look, nor the "stuck-on-iPad" look). Being the centre stage of the car interior, no-go for me

Williamtlh
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Nov-2021
My Toyota Altis 12 Generation model  Posted on 21 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
I owned several Toyota Altis before. From 4 gen, 6 gen, 8 gen,10 gen, 11 gen and this is my latest 12 generation Toyota Altis.

The major differences and improvements are:
Quite
Most comfortable
Best fuel economy from city driving 14km per litre to straight express way 20 km per litre.
Best handling
Comfort ride, dampened any uneven and good for rough roads.

I like the back seat designed, for passengers easy in and out because high seat good for Support of back.

Overall for the money you pay, it will not disappoint. It delivers more than a family sedan car and equals to a Camry ride.

Cons.
Change the Audio head-unit and speakers, you need features like wireless Apple CarPlay or Android for handsfree driving. Toyota safety sense is a plus but hand free driving to me is a must.

Jimmy1978
Neutral Newbie
18 reviews
0 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Up styled uncle car  Posted on 11 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the following car , really face lifted to the latest daring and racing mode style car. The car interior also have changed from the previous look which is up to the market from other competitors. The driving around was smooth.

What I like
the design very daring and elegant

What I do not like
the wheel rim shall be 18 inch to be more sporty.

wongpumpkins
1st Gear
2 reviews
94 points
100 forum posts Joined on 01-Jun-2016
Reliable and comfort ride  Posted on 22 Oct 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Just collect 3 weeks ago..Is comfort and smooth ride..Got a very good service from my SE- Laurence Ng of Borneo Motor..

What I like
exterior look is nice and handsome
not much cvt rubber band effect
simple and reliable ( i not like those "high tech" feature which u seldon use actually)
rear aircon
smooth ride
rear leg room ok

What I do not like
the rear passenger door opening degree not generous, should allow more angle..
lack of storage for water bottle/etc
smart entry button only at driver side door ;)

JimmyChua_103464
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Dec-2014
Practical A to B Car  Posted on 25 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Collected my Altis from Inchcape yesterday and clock around 80km. This latest Altis is good for beginners too. My previous Altis (2006 to 2016) was reliable, just needed servicing but no need major repairs even after 165k km. Hope this can last well too!

What I like
Light easy steering
Stable when cornering
Quiet engine until more power is needed (80kmh and above)
Rear Air Con / Powerful Air Con
Free leather seats / solar films / front & back car camera
Big boot
Good fuel efficiency / easy to service at outside workshops

What I do not like
Car ceiling is low, tall drivers may not feel comfortable
Rear passengers feels "cramped" compared to older versions of Altis
Lack of nice colours for paints
Not easy to use screen mirroring to get Google Maps to work (need cable) / time lag etc

Joshua7788
Clutched
1 reviews
6 points
6 forum posts Joined on 27-Dec-2018
Best looking Corolla so far  Posted on 14 Apr 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Impressed with the facelift look. Sporty and with a touch of Lexus. Booked a test drive and find the handling amazing, winning the Civic and more comfortable than Mazda 3. Safety features like dynamic cruise control and lane keep assistance also win the competitor hands down. Only complain is the infotainment system. No idea why Borneo motor doesn't give the original infotainment system to the non hybrid elegance model. Also should give e park brakes rather than hand brake on elegance model. Indeed Toyota has listen to the consumers and finally made a corolla that can compete with Civic.

What I like
Handling
Comfort
Exterior look
Really impressive handling (got to reiterate)

What I do not like
Borneo motor infotainment system. The Original Pi model looks so much better
No electronic parking brake
Can make the rear wider for a more sporty look
Smart unlock only for driver side

Terenceho15
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Oct-2011
Reliable car and easy to maintain  Posted on 24 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have owned two Altis and each of these had not failed me before. Very reliable. Great car from point A to B.

What I like
trouble-free, easy to handle

What I do not like
the new model has more functions but the outlook is not impressive. the model before this new one is much nicer.

Alan_Chan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Sep-2017
This Altis is like no other before  Posted on 09 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The new Toyota Corolla Altis continues to be as practical and reliable sedan as before, but this time around, it packs in an added dash of styling which feels both sporty and elegant at the same time.

WLT
WLT
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Mar-2019
Superceded many sedan cars  Posted on 09 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Toyota has been a breeze car for a lot of drivers throughout many years. And over the years it has improved or rather has supercede many sedan cars in anything.. Be it features.. Designs.. Fuel consumption etc..

Jimmy1978
Neutral Newbie
18 reviews
0 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Uplifted car for a sporty family  Posted on 09 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This alits is the one of the best uplifted car for a sedan with new sporty looks and interior to match the up and coming looks for the future.

What I like
the design looks no more the old uncle look but more sporty than ever. with new improved LED lights

What I do not like
if possible to have more leg rooms.

Nudgedoink
1st Gear
5 reviews
30 points
47 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2017
The car for people who want a car that works.  Posted on 17 Oct 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I just purchased the corolla altis elegance after considering all other options in the price range, the main competitor being the mazda 3 since the current gen Honda civic is already quite an old model and thus not part of my consideration.

When choosing the altis over the competition, its really about what kind of person you are. If you want the latest and greatest tech, this car is not for you. If you want a car that is fuss free, drives well and gives you a peace of mind, the altis ticks the right boxes.

It has features that matter, nothing more. The toyota safety sense gives you all you can ask for safety wise, but the head unit is very simple and lacks apple carplay or android auto. However, since its a typical square unit bin, finding aftermarket replacements are very easy. The mazda 3 gives you a better infotainment system and a heads up display, but if they fail or give issues (users have complained about black dots appearing), you have no choice but to go back to the agent. Also, you can't upgrade it at will in the future.

The ride quality is way better than the competition. The TNGA platform and double wishbone rear suspension makes the car feel so stable and so very comfortable. You can tell the engineers are focused on giving the driver the most relaxing drive, instead of loading the car up with electronics. The drivers seat has adjustable lumbar support. To be fair, the mazda 3 has this too.

The final point is on durability. As mentioned above, this car is for the buyer who wants things to work. Fancy thingamajigs are second priority. A simple Google search will show you all the issues owners of its competitor - the mazda 3 latest gen have experienced.

This is a car for the buyer who wants to keep it for a long time without having to go back and forth to the workshop for things failing. It is futureproof as well with full led lights and a replaceable infotainment system so you can switch it out for the latest and greatest way easier than its competitors who use dedicated ones specific to the car model.

What I like
Modern yet not over the top design inside and out which will age well.
Full led lights.
Toyota safety sense.
7 airbags.
TNGA and double wishbone suspension is simply the best.
Good sound insulation.
Comfortable seats with lumbar support for driver.
Responsive engine with no noticeable cvt lag.
Standard infotainment space which allows for easy upgrading.
17 inch rims.
Auto headlights and auto wipers.
Durability since no unnecessary electronics to fail.
Contrary to most people, I prefer the traditional handbrake. Useful for emergency situations if things fail.

What I do not like
Acceleration could be a bit better.
Fake plastic covers in place of fog lights which were removed (able to install separately from agent).
Very few USB and charging ports.
Not many storage compartments in the cabin.
No apple carplay and android auto in default info system with a smallish 7 inch screen (saving grace is that it is easy to upgrade).

choozeee275
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Sep-2020
Bought my first ever car and I chose a Corolla Altis!  Posted on 22 Sep 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
It's been a long while since the first review of the car Hence thought I want to share my ownership experience.

Before landing on the Corolla Altis, I test drove these cars as well:

Mazda 3 mild-hybrid
Kia Cerato Forte (GT Line)
Honda Civic 1.6

Why I chose the Corolla Altis in the end was because:

- Superb visibility (this was what impressed me the most once I got into the car for the test drive) due to the thin pillars and new design and placement of the side mirrors which enhanced the driver's visibility of the road and kerbs

- Smooth and comfortable ride (with my wife sitting in the back sit and she felt likewise as well). To be fair, the Mazda 3 was also smooth and comfortable given the both models were still pretty new but the edge still went to the Altis

- Comes with important safety features as standard across all variants (never knew that the idea of 7 air bags was so important until I realised that not all car manufacturers offer that as standard)

- The new exterior look impressed us and didn't give us any of the "Uncle" Or "Old-man" Car kinda vibes

After the test drive with the sales agent (Serina) in mid Feb, both my wife and I were convinced that the Corolla Altis felt the nicest overall, although our hearts were quite torn with the Mazda 3 (for the stunning and sexy looks, and the HUD was pretty amazing too!). We decided to confirm and place our deposits that same weekend.

We decided to go with the Corolla Altis (Elegance model) despite it losing out on looks to the Mazda 3 due to the comfort and the overall driving feel which I felt was the deciding factor, from a driver's perspective.

We managed to get our COE on the first try and collected the car in mid March just before circuit breaker. The timing was just perfect as they had stock of the exact colour that we wanted (pearl white).

The driving and ownership experience has been generally positive so far over the last 6 months, no major complaints although it is not without some minor ones and some personal preferences here and there (which I've elaborated below). Hope this review will give you some insights if you are considering getting this car for yourself or your family!

What I like
Driving experience (smooth transition and engine performance all round), sound insulation is generally alright though road noise can still be heard within the cabin.

Comes with shifting gear pedals (which was a first for me), quite a useful feature when I need to down shift to gain more speed to overtake or to merge on the expressway.

Driver's visibility from the driver's seat (the thin pillars and placement of the side mirrors really made that small but huge impact)

The exterior look of the car (although the rear isn't as exciting as the front) that gives it good road presence

Good cabin design and generally spacious all round, including the boot space
Air con vents for the rear passengers is a good add for SG weather

BM was nice enough to offer me 2 in-car cams (instead of the usual 1)

Key-less entry (via the driver's side)
Lumbar support for the driver's seat (realised that it is important for the driver and it's not offered by all manufacturers also)

Air conditioning is good and strong (with dual zone climate control), and has cleaning technology too!

Pretty happy with the fuel consumption (average FC so far is about 14.8km/l)

What I do not like
The 7" infotainment system which doesn't support android auto / apple car play.
The looks and functionality was pretty dated, and it doesn't help that there was this huge bezels surrounding the infotainment system which was pretty much of an eyesore, had to swop for an Android based 10" infotainment system which now looks so much better, as it should have been!

No USB charging port for the rear passengers

Lack of an updated/new rims design (it's an update in designs in terms of having more spokes than the earlier generation), if only they had a newer design for the 12th gen though

Would have been nice to come with a wireless charger similar to other car manufacturers

Steering wheel is towards the light side (personal preference is something a bit heavier/more engaging), guess this makes the car pretty easy to drive.

No memory seats in all variants

No electronic parking brake (only available in the Hybrid model)

Limited storage spaces at the front & sides of the car

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Toyota Corolla Altis
4 stars - based on 16 reviews