Recommended for you

Subaru Singapore hosts pop-up at MOIC

Should you still get a hybrid?

The Subaru Forester with Driver Monitoring System

Supagard Polysilazane coating is maintenance free


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Sep 2021.
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Video Review - Subaru Forester Mild Hybrid 2.0i-S EyeSight e-BOXER (A)
06 Feb 2020  |  Subaru Reviews
The Subaru Forester e-Boxer delivers space and versatility in a new, more economical package. Does that make it the car of choice for the school run?
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Feels slower off the line than the regular Forester
No 360 degree camera
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Subaru Forester e-BOXER Mild Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Leechia
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Feb-2011
Very good car  Posted on 21 Apr 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Great car, value for money, feature rich. Highly recommended for anyone looking for mid-large size SUV.

What I like
Adaptive cruise control, anti collision braking, auto tailgate, keyless entry.

What I do not like
Cannot get the specified 6.7 milage, averaging 9.1 for me. Sound system speakers not fantastic, especially back speakers very soft can hardly hear.

Hensleyhans
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Jan-2010
Best Car I have driven  Posted on 08 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
When you sit,it just makes you feel you own and control the car and the road at the same time....Most cars will just give you way all the time and even wave to you .....

What I like
Sunroof ,the feel of the leather and the power to go further than usual with their eye-catching colours...

What I do not like
Nothing.....Love the cosmetics and the internal and external designs

kermitfm
4th Gear
1 reviews
590 points
188 forum posts Joined on 01-Aug-2016
First Impressions  Posted on 30 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have read conflicting reviews about the performance of the eboxer engine so I test drove this to determine which reviews were more accurate. In summary, I think that all the reviews were correct - it depends on which baseline the reviewer was comparing the eboxer Forester to.

Compared to the SJ 2.0 NA Forester that I own, the Eboxer seems to lack oomph and agility. It seems to do that only because it is heavier. The weight plant the vehicle more securely to the ground. I find the acceleration more than adequate and overtaking in city traffic does not pose any problem. I would love to test the overtaking at highway speed though.

This car should be on the list of those who wants to see what hybrids can do without having to worry about the extensive electronics and motors that comes with normal hybrids. It does not save a lot of fuel - at least this is what almost all reviewers agree on. But it is a proper SUV which can handle rough terrain. The ride is quiet especially the very few times it went on full EV mode.

I think drivers of previous generations of NA Foresters will have no issue with the performance of this car once they realised that the ride characteristics is influence more by the weight and not by the power of the engine.

Not I gave a 5-star rating on reliability because I need to tick this. - So I used the current SJ Forester which I own as a reference.

What I like
Eyesight features
Large cabin
Rear A/C outlet (small but important improvement)
Solid build
Long list of features

What I do not like
Apple Carplay is an expensive add-on - need to select the GT kit option
No spare tire - only puncture repair kit
Smaller fuel tank than the non-hybrid - not sure if this would be compensated by the less thirsty engine)

Wakaokang
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Nov-2020
I like this car  Posted on 12 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Very good Suv car and I like Super powerful and big and comfortable
Low fuel consumption
Easy maintenance
Alway use this car to Malaysia and also very powerful

vkmagik
1st Gear
1 reviews
21 points
31 forum posts Joined on 18-Apr-2017
My Ex Boss drive this model  Posted on 09 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Very comfortable and stable when speeding
Feel no bumpy rides
Fuel consumption is good
Value for money, must buy for Executive

Jacksontohwk
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Sep-2013
Test Driven this SUV  Posted on 25 Jun 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Firstly, the exterior is quite general for a SUV but the GT edition looks better with black spoiler and sporty roof fin and skirtings.
Secondly, the interior is very very spacious for the driver and all passengers. Leg rooms are generous. Front seats both automated with memory functions. Apple car play and Android auto enabled. Center Touch screen large enough though sightly reflective under bright conditions. Cabin drawer might be a bit small. All seats cushion are good and comfortable. Good center console with coin tray provided. 3 nos. USB ports provided. Good for 5 adult size passengers. The rear boot is spacious enough for any 4 mid size lugguage. Come with 12V adapter socket for day use of other equipments like vacuum. The tailgate is also automated.
Thirdly, the drive was good and stable . Tested a fast U turned and the car did not.Rolled much. Power is sufficient though it is mild hybrid unless you are a fast and furious driver. Good for family use. Looking forward to see it's fuel efficiency of 20% Saving as it's oil tank is only 48L . Lots of safety features of Eye sight , ACC, RWB, Blind spot warning etc.

In summary, witb the promotional price, it feels worthy of buying with so much safety festures and user friendly setups. However, was told that Casper Green was no stock. . .

What I like
Apple carplay and Android auto.
Thoughtful coin tray.
Interior with leather feel and spacious.
Memory seats.
Chrome handles.
Display size just nice.
Stable drive with min. roll
Eye sight and other safety features.
Some Fuel saving only as it is mild hybrid.
Knees airbags sys for front passenger and driver.
GT version.
Minimal.blind spots.
Sun/moon roof retractable.

What I do not like
Dash Drawer too small.
Rear USB flap flimsy.
No digital gauges.
Additional cost for GT version. Abt 2.9k.
Door slots pockets small.
No scuff plate for rear trunk bumper.

SamDing
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Nov-2018
Most stable car I've owned.  Posted on 26 Mar 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I went to test drive a few SUVs, decided to go for Forester eBoxer. I like how the AWD handles the road, feels stable enough even on a rainy day.

I will post more comments after driving for a period of time.

What I like
Interior & Exterior styling
rear A/C
spacious
Memory Seats

What I do not like
have to top up a bit to get CarPlay & Android Auto.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Subaru Forester e-BOXER Mild Hybrid
4.5 stars - based on 7 reviews