Recommended for you

5 value-for-money luxury PI cars of 2019 (so far)

Toyota unveils the 298bhp RAV4 Prime

Toyota Singapore now offers test drives from home

Toyota RAV4 Hybrid arrives in Singapore

The Polestar experience is unlike any other


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota RAV4 Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
10 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

10 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
retrozz
3rd Gear
2 reviews
256 points
124 forum posts Joined on 01-May-2018
Exactly what i need  Posted on 14 Dec 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Sold my new i30 wagon to get back a Toyota, for a good reason - to have a more comfy ride and a more roomy back seats. My review after a year drive - Toyota always deliver for the overall comfort and room.

What I like
Comfy leather seats
Very good leg room for all - this feature you can not upgrade unlike accessories and AI you can mod
SUV - great for getting in out
the cargo space is very good - for mt occasional bulkly items
Loved the auto-tail and have feet sensor too!
Able to style some parts - get the step bar!
Decent safety AI features
Got RAV4 club chatgroup
Colour choices are great!

What I do not like
Wished they added more AI like blind spot
Had some issues with rear cam for a few months before they rectified it
Interior style not as cool as some Euro brands but reasonable overall
Pick up slow if you can't find your sweet spot to rev the engine at low gear ratios
Sunroof will be nice but still bright enough without

aliveidiot
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 31-Dec-2021
Everything you want in an SUV  Posted on 31 Dec 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The RAV4's spaciousness was what stood out initially. The cabin is very, very roomy and it doesn't sacrifice cargo capacity, which is also quite generous. The interior is practical and very comfortable, with plenty of useful storage pockets and areas everywhere. It isn't particularly elegant, but it is very functional and gets the job done. Material quality is decent too.

The RAV4 is not a sports car and it doesn't feel like one. The suspension isn't overly firm, like the CX-5 and Tiguan. It's soft, comfortable and relaxed, just like a car in this class is supposed to be. That being said, it isn't some pillow like lump, rolling around. It still feels very well balanced and controlled without too much body roll, thanks to the TNGA platform.

The 2.0 DF engine is great for fuel economy and is more than enough for Singaporean roads and overtaking. The CVT transmission in this car is also quite nice as it has a launch gear with a fixed gear ratio up to a certain speed, so this doesn't have the slow acceleration of normal CVTs, yet retains the fuel economy and silence at higher speeds.

In terms of tech and features, the aftermarket head unit is a bit of a let down. While it does have apple carplay and android auto, which is all you really need, I still wish it came with a factory Toyota system. Otherwise, the car is quite well equipped. The toyota safety sense features like LDA, ACC, AHB and PCS are a great inclusion which come standard.

What I like
- Comfort
- Practicality
- Spaciousness
- Features
- Safety
- Cargo space

What I do not like
- Could use Toyota head unit head unit
- No power passenger seat
- Slow opening electric tailgate

Klwong
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Spacious and Most Practical SUV  Posted on 04 Jan 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This Toyota Rav4 is spacious with lots of leg and head room for the rear passengers. The boot capacity of 547l is the largest in its segment. I like Toyota Safety Sense 2.0 (Pre-Collision System/Automatic High-Beam/Lane Departure Alert/Dynamic Radar Cruise Control etc.) that is promising me and my passengers safety. Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) body design together with the new Dynamic Force Engine are making my daily ride more pleasant and enjoyable. The amount of $ spent in this SUV surely a value for money and peace of mind amid the Toyota brand of reliability covered with the 5 years free servicing.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
So far no

Alicechiang
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Oct-2006
Most reliable  Posted on 18 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Best Toyota vehicle I have bought and reliable.

We recommend to more friends and people looking at Suv

CarbonFalcon
Neutral Newbie
42 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
Ruggedness in Porsche Colors  Posted on 16 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Rugged enough to sport a snorkel kit, but not overly rugged like the Jimny. Interior is spacious as hell. With rear A/C, this is proper SUV material. Also one of the first few Toyotas to sport a Dynamic Force Engine which even the salespeople struggle to explain. High thermal efficiency - it's what made Mercedes cars dominate F1 so wildly.

Also, have you seen the color options on this thing? It is indeed refreshing to see those semi-matt palettes normally painted on 911s and Navy ships on a Toyota. I remember being at the expo one weekend and all i did was gaze at this Urban Khaki one.

What I like
The colors, the highlander front, the trapezoid wheel housing. Very edgy.

Rear Aircon. Spaciousness is a huge plus.

Fantastic pricing. For that new DF engine, this is really cheap. I guess Toyota hasn't figured out how to market it yet.

What I do not like
No Moonroof.

Infotainment could be better.

Cmunng
1st Gear
1 reviews
34 points
5 forum posts Joined on 05-Dec-2011
Good Family Car  Posted on 01 Sep 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Being driving this car for the last 5 months, I could say it's a good SUV for a small family.

I was rather upset with the Head Unit (Carion) upgrade, paying 3k and get a substandard basic set, with this money can easily get a good full package with any audio shop out there. It took BM months to solve the Head Unit basic issue.

Engine noise is loud in hard acceleration, especially in Normal driving mode.

Gas mileage is average, about 11km/litre, not too bad for a SUV.

What I like
- New design, not common on the road
- Memory driver seat
- Exterior styling
- Wireless charging pad
- All the safety features ** this is very crucial for a family car
- Electric tailgate

What I do not like
- Head Unit ** not come in a package
- Come without reverse camera

petrolpump
Neutral Newbie
14 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2018
Seem like a good car  Posted on 30 Jul 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Instead of a 2.0L they could have got away with 1.5 Turbo just like what Honda is doing on their CR-V. Felt car was spacious enough, to accommodate seat no 6 and 7 for that added versatility. Did not like black interior, make car look dark and dingy. Hope they can offer locally fitted range of leather colours for all their cars. Exterior lighting could have been fully LED just like the C-HR LED variant to keep up with the times.

What I like
Space
Memory Seats
Exterior styling
Wireless Charger

What I do not like
Interior colour
Audio
Exterior lighting

Axeman24
2nd Gear
4 reviews
163 points
211 forum posts Joined on 27-Apr-2005
Very good workhorse for daily driving  Posted on 08 Apr 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just followed my friend to collect his RAV4 this morning. Must say the features in the new RAV4 is really good. Interior is spacious as well. What I like about the car is the drivers display panel, it allows you to set to either digital or analog speedo meter. The display also looks cool, unfortunately his car has not been installed with the 8" Touch screen head unit yet as the stock has not come in yet. He will only get it during his first servicing. My friend was kind enough to like me test drive his RAV4. The drive and changing of the gears is pretty smooth.

What I like
Drivers panel, the power of the car and also the spacious interior.

What I do not like
The original head unit is ugly and outdated. Hope to see the new 8" touch screen head unit that will be installed on my friend's car.

Mervynwm
1st Gear
129 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Reliable Car with Dated Interior.  Posted on 10 Feb 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Went to take a closer look after saw it at the recent Motor Show 2019.

First impressions, nicer curvy exterior than its boxy predecessor. More sporty looks too which paired with the 18 inches wheels.

Interior is kinda disappointing the moment you opens the doors where you will see the dated audio system.

According to sales person, there might be a change later which is strange in current context. The next strange is gearbox seems to be more towards passenger side, which presumes this platform is a "Modified" From LHD without changing this portion.

The drive...For a 2.0L which pairs with the common CVT, is good for a day to day drive with 200Nm torque that picks up good too. Insulation was good as you revved this fellow as well. Cornering and overtaking is adequate when you need it. Not so much of bodyroll when you swing about too.

For Parking, without the usual touch screen audio, there is no reverse camera to gauge as you have to use back your skills which to some is ok to do so.

Overall, if you can forgo its strange things and merely looking for a reliable drive and some good gadgets that comes with, then this RAV4 is the one for you.

What I like
Punchy 2.0L Engine
Pre-Collision System
Automatic High Beam
Dynamic Cruise Control
Lane Departure Assistant
Auto Projection LED lights with DRL
Auto Rain Sensors
Electric Tailgate

What I do not like
Gear Shift more at Passenger side (Strange !)
Dated Audio system
No reverse camera (due to dated audio)
No Sunroof
Cheap Plastics
Easy wear off rubber buttons

LYC
LYC
3rd Gear
9 reviews
297 points
212 forum posts Joined on 11-Jan-2012
The All New RAV4  Posted on 01 Feb 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Having test driven this RAV4, i must say the car definitely handles better with the new TNGA platform. Nothing much to complaint much about this SUV, except for the HU which makes the car look very cheap and dated.

What I like
The car handling
Very reasonable pricing considering the AFR.

What I do not like
No screen HU.
Rubber parts in the interior might not last the full 10 years in our local heat.
BM only brought in the 2l model

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Toyota RAV4 Hybrid
4 stars - based on 10 reviews