Recommended for you

Hyundai Avante takes on the competition

The new class act - Hyundai Avante

The Hyundai Avante is a stunning sedan

Rule change allowed access to bigger loans


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Hyundai Avante 1.6 Elite (A)
21 Dec 2020  |  Hyundai Reviews
The Hyundai Avante gives those looking for an everyday sedan a stylish option both on the inside and out. Could this change the image of the Korean brands?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Hyundai Avante vs Mazda 3 Sedan vs Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Avante
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
10 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

10 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
LPPL
6th Gear
5 reviews
2,612 points
1368 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2012
An appealing car in every sense  Posted on 12 Oct 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car drives very smoothly and has good interior comfort. Elite comes with ventilated seats and a sunroof, features that I like. When driving on the road, this car is certainly a head turner with its unique design. Its wide body and long wheelbase offers passengers the luxury of space. There are also plenty of safety features, making this car a safe family sedan. I have tested this car and the honda civic and it did not take me long to decide on the CN7.

What I like
Safety features
Smart cruise control
ventilated seats
rear aircon vents
memory seats
sunroof
beautiful wide body design
spacious interior

What I do not like
default lane assist
beeping of turning signal

Kazuya
4th Gear
3 reviews
550 points
310 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2016
A huge leap forward for Hyundai  Posted on 24 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I'm currently driving a Hyundai Elantra AD since 2018 and this is serious improvement in terms of Engine, Fuel efficiency, Comfort, Styling and Features.

I was comparing the Hyundai Avante CN7 to the Mazda 3 and if only the CN7 has an interior like the Mazda, they would beat every single Japanese rival from Toyota, Honda and Mazda hands down.

I ultimately still chose the CN7 and put my money down because of its other features and styling. The Engine feels smoother compared to Mazda, better fuel economy, bold styling, and of course more spacious.The only downside is that the interior still feels plastic as compared to Mazda 3.

What I like
- Spacious (Spacious compared to the Elantra AD and Mazda 3)
- Engine (Smooth Pick up and quiet)
- Bold styling (Not to everyone's liking though)
- Features like Android carplay, electronic dashboard etc..

What I do not like
Overly Plastic interior

tanbk
4th Gear
3 reviews
564 points
207 forum posts Joined on 08-Oct-2013
Gives Japanese rivals a run for their money  Posted on 17 Feb 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Lined up against its rivals, the Avante is a serious Corolla challenger and almost on a par with the Mazda 3.

What I like
Longer, wider, lower and with a wheelbase extended by 20mm to 2,720mm, it is also roomier.
Bold sculptured lines across its flanks immediately set the car apart from its rivals.
Those following the car at night will notice an LED strip linking both taillamp clusters - a segment first.
The authorised agent currently has no plans to sell this car to private-hire firms.
The Avante is built on a new platform and lighter than its key rivals.
It is also fitted with a new-generation continuously variable transmission which replicates the behaviour of traditional autoboxes.
At the wheel, the Avante feels sturdy and agile, almost like a 3-series before BMW embraced forced induction.

What I do not like
Hard plastics in cabin

ilovetoyotacars
Neutral Newbie
23 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Impressive looking sedan  Posted on 19 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Hyundai has really outdone themselves with the design of the new Avante. There is no mistaking another car for it.

Not only does the exterior look good, the interior of the Avante is probably one of the best in its class featuring quality metal, leather and fabric. Unlike othe cars, it even has wireless Apple Carplay and Android auto.

The insulation is good, with little engine noise.

What I like
- Good looking
- Comfortable ride

What I do not like
- Fuel consumption not as good

DesmondSim_145850
Clutched
1 reviews
12 points
14 forum posts Joined on 09-Nov-2017
A big step up from 2 generations ago.  Posted on 20 Jul 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Previously owned the AD model of the Elantra. This car is a massive step up with a new platform newer engine and the IVT.

Been driving the Elite trim of this car for a few days.

Personally I think this car looks striking and it has character. This is continued on in the interior which really gives it's main rivals a serious run for their money. The level of features it packs is the best bang for buck here in SG.

Compared to the AD, with this car being lower, wider and longer, it definitely feels planted and the stock Kumho PS71 tyres are decent giving you the confidence that this car can handle more.

If you enjoy cruising, the IVT and driver assistance features will make it enjoyable. The level of soundproofing is also considerably better compared to the AD.

The only downside is the lack of ambient lighting available in markets and what I feel are subpar audio speakers.

Of course many don't like driving a CVT but once you see the FC figures, I think you'll learn to like it.

What I like
Design both inside and out.
Features on the Elite trim especially the ventilated seats.
Leather wrapped wheel is lovely to touch.
Fuel Consumption on 70-80% highway easily 16km/L
Visibility of the car is improved compared to AD.
More spacious rear leg room
Pretty big boot.
Seats are comfortable.

What I do not like
Some hard plastics on the rear passenger door arm rests.
Audio system speakers are weak.
Rear suspension is cheaper torsion beam set up so it feels harder than the AD.

Pa86tr20
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Dec-2010
Avante CN7 was nice  Posted on 10 Jul 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
FC not as mentioned but still acceptable if this model was 1.5 turbo same as other country's it were be perfect. And other country there is ambient light but Singapore doesn't have it :(

What I like
design and technology

What I do not like
not a turbo spec and model name difference from other country it not really easy to purchase item for this car.

Knoidegdun
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2021
The best car in its class  Posted on 08 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have owned the avante for 2 weeks now and I can safely say that its the best car in its class. "Even better than the mazda 3? How can it be?" You say. Well, the avante has more features than the mz3 (ventilated seats, wireless android auto and apple carplay), way larger and more spacious interior, less body roll, less throttle lag, full digital dash. The only thing mz3 has over the avante is the heads up display. I don't get the obsession that everyone has with the mz3's looks as well. Sure, it's a decent looking car, but it's not THAT beautiful. Looks pretty boring and small to me. Still reminds me of the first phv cars that Sg private hire companies used.

Now on to the avante itself. I purchased the elite model with the sunroof and I'm glad to report that at 185cm tall, the roof is comfortably high enough with 2 inches to spare. I'm getting an average of 14kml with 70% Highway and 30% City which is pretty decent. There are hard plastics used but the arm rest at the doors and the front of the dash is soft touch.

This car really punches way above its asking price. Hyundai has come a long way and it feels like this car is proof of their success. In my eyes, the avante is ahead of its competition and is the car you should buy if you're in the market for a mid range sedan. This is my third car and I am blown away. Go and buy this car. Seriously.

What I like
- Both the front passenger and driver has electric seats (elite)
- 2 presets for memory seats for driver (elite)
- real leather seats from factory which are so freaking comfortable (elite)
- ventilated seats (elite)
- lumbar support for driver seat
- the leather steering wheel feels so awesome, different from other cars in its class.
- When you turn off the engine, the seats can be configured to automatically move backwards to give you more room to exit. It goes back to your sitting position when you get in and switch the engine on. How cool is that?!
- great soundproofing
- excellent suspension with minimal body rill
- front and rear has lots of space even for tall passengers
- wireless AA and Apple Carplay
- digital dash
- auto hold function
- Lane tracing assist + adaptive cruise control means you basically don't need to control the car yourself on highways other than making lane changes
- huge boot
- awesome exterior design
- the car door handles will light up with a white glow when you near the car to welcome you. Not sure if this is an elite only feature.
- auto wiper and auto headlights
- the cupholders can be adjusted to be either deeper or shallower. The genius that came up with this should have gotten a raise.

What I do not like
- sound system sounds cheap. I guess that's all?

Mr_LTH
1st Gear
6 reviews
63 points
39 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2018
Striking looking car  Posted on 14 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
When I first saw the car in person, it captured my attention with it's exterior styling. It also has lots of safety features available even on the 'S' variant. The interior design is pretty good as well but like others have said, it can be quite cheap looking because of the plenty of plastics used. The seats are comfortable and the interior is bigger than before. The rear leg room is definitely comfortable and big enough for 2 adults. Engine performance can be better but cannot expect much from a 1.6 NA engine.

What I like
- Striking looks
- Lots of safety features
- Roomy for a compact sedan
- Comfortable seats
- Wireless Android Auto & Apple Carplay
- Ventilated & heated seats
- Powered seats for both driver and passenger and also memory function for driver's seat.

What I do not like
- Amount of plastic used in the interior
- Engine not that powerful

kaposama
Clutched
1 reviews
14 points
39 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2016
Best looking car i have owned  Posted on 19 Jan 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Exterior
One of the best looking as of now on the road, there are more than 5 strangers come talk to me about my car which is quite a surprise for me. Normally people wun come engage with conversation in singapore.

Interior
The headunit is awesome with wireless android play/apple play, even sometime it hang but it can be forgive as it did not happen that frequent. Screen is big.. Everything go digital is nice but the dashboard and the door look plastic. The car have very good leg groom, to find a car able to accommodate someone who is 190 tall driving the car with comfort for both me and the passenger behind me is not easy.

Handling/engine
Best looking car but not the best handling car, pickup wise u cannot expect much from a 1.6 car with this size. The special feature of this car on helping driver to keep the car within the lane can be a issue for season driver who did not need the lane assist ( it cannot be switch off permanently)

What I like
- headunit
- car exterior design

What I do not like
- pickup speed is really bad
- the stupid lane assist that almost caused me accident

Wasteland
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
Leaps and bound from hyundai  Posted on 15 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Exterior
Nice looking modern design, close to Audi look. Diamond cut lines on the side, nice looking led lights that streches across the whole rear. Front looks sharp especially with the large grille. Car is lowered giving it a sporty look.

Interior
Overall setup looks nice. The infotainment screen and the digital instrument screen extends across half of the front dash board, giving it a very modern high tech look. It comes with wireless Auto Andriod and Car play.

The only thing that I do not like is the generous use of plastics on the dashboard and side doors. However the aesthetic of the digital instrument housing does not look posh and elegant.

Drive
During the test drive I had no chance to push it to 100km/h. I can say that the insulation is good during acceleration and at speed of 80km/h. The throttle is pretty responsive compared to other 1.6 cars, its much better than Mazada 3.

The steering wheel feels weighted, giving it a good feel. It comes with all the safety features that it's competitors lacks. I must say I am pretty impressed what Hyundai has done.

What I like
Lots of features compare to it competitors.
Engine and gear box is good, power is available when you need it.
Good weighted feel on the steering wheel.
Good sound insulation.

What I do not like
Too many plastics used inside the car making it less posh. The overall aesthetic can be improved, one look on the overall front screens and gear level I can tell the quality of the materials used are of lower quality.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Hyundai Avante
4 stars - based on 10 reviews