Recommended for you

Trusted Parallel Importers in Singapore with 30 years (or more) of experience

Rule change allowed car buyers to access bigger loans

» Go to articles

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mercedes-Benz C-Class Saloon Mild Hybrid
spacer
4.0
 
11 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
4.5
spacer
Value for money
3.0 Engine Performance
3.5

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
anandkmoorthy
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Apr-2022
Very good car, BUT... Four stars NOT five  Posted on 21 Oct 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
C Class review

Hi - After watching all kinds of car reviews and test driving about a dozen vehicles, I finally settled on the C Class. We traded in a Toyota Corolla. Overall, it's a very good car, but not the perfect car. Perhaps there is nothing called a perfect car, but this one comes very close. There are several things that I like, but there are a few things I am disappointed with in the car. For the price you pay for this car, I think these issues should have been ironed out.

The drive is silky smooth, but the transmission is jerky. You will feel every gear change.. Coming from a Corolla CVT to this, i found that a big surprise. But once you cruise, it's like hot knife over butter. The finish of the car, the appearance of the car are all excellent, to me. Looks great interior and exterior. But the fit quality (this car is made in South Africa, not Germany as your website says) leaves a lot to be desired. Push the wooden panel or the side panel, you feel as if you are cracking a biscuit. Seriously, not what one expects of a $300,000 car.

The engine is adequately powered and the mild hybrid is very nice. Four adults and a child should be comfortable in the car. Three adults in the back will be a challenge/uncomfortable.

More bad things: The audio system is basically crap, for the money you pay for the car. Worse still, Mercedes wont fit you Burmester or any other system for you. Resorting to third party will void the warranty. Not nice and you are stuck. The car has very good outside noise insulation, so that helps a bit. I dont find any issue with the run-flat tires.

Air conditioning is also not great. In the corolla, I used to set the temperature at 26 and it would cool the car well. Anything above 24 is not going to help in the C Class. The Fan speeds 1-4 are pretty much useless. Five is the bare minimum and sidx and seven can be noisy.

What I like
Appearance
Space
Smoothness
MBUX
Interiors
Ambient lighting

What I do not like
Jerky transmission
Bad audio system
Fitting quality
Value for money paid
Features for money paid
Air conditioning


Blackie_32
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2008
Unbelievable C-Class  Posted on 20 Oct 2023
spacer
 

Review
My 3rd Mercedes-Benz after CLA & GLB. Happily driven for first few months.
Things started to get weird when noises, software & hardware issues surfaced.
The repair/replacement list kept getting longer, even the car was left with C&C workshop for weeks & no less than 10 times with a year.
Eventually gave up & asked to return my c-class from workshop & traded-in almost immediately.


Hyperstar
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jan-2002
One of the best looking luxury sedan inside out that pleases  Posted on 14 Aug 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
One of the most entertaining and comfortable drive.
The interior sets you in the mood every time. Never fails to impress your passengers with the interior and comfort.
When driven hard the extra boost from the electric motor gives a punch.
Stock Mercedes Audio is reasonable once tuned right.
Fuel Consumption and Reliability is up there for an European made car.

What I like
The interior is love at first sight
Big screen for those old eyes
Pickup is good with the new EQ boost technology
Comfortable and handles well when driven hard
Turning radius is small for a long car. Easy to park even not using the Park Assist.

What I do not like
Can have more features for the price point.
Noisy RFT tyres. Sound insulation can be better since using RFT.


corproral
Neutral Newbie
55 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Sleek, but could do better  Posted on 14 May 2023
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
The popular Mercedes C-Class, in my opinion, stands out as the design-driven choice of the segment. Muted yet muscular on the outside, clean and sleek in the cabin.

What I like
Other than the looks? There's now more space than before in the cabin, especially handy for the rear passengers.

The car also now can come with rear-wheel steering, which is actually pretty handy for those tight parking lots, although here its not quite as dramatic as what you can get in the other cars from the segments above.

Drivetrain is smooth and quiet enough.

What I do not like
But the high insulation can make the car feel slower than it is. MBUX system will take some getting used to, and the ride with the AMG-line suspension just never settles, even on seemingly smooth roads.


Caletta
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Dec-2022
An exceptionally all-rounded car  Posted on 21 Dec 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
The new 2023 Mercedes Benz C-class seems like a totally different beast of a car. The looks of the S and E class combined, packaged with the compactness of the C-class and the practicality of a phenomenal saloon, finally allow it to enter the conversation for the best compact-executive saloon.

The C-class has always been the budget S-class or a cheaper alternative to the executive class, as such a popular option for Singaporeans. However, it always falls short of the 3 series, outperforming it in every category and being a better bang for its buck. With this version, however, it might finally have a compelling case to fight the 3 series.

The main argument for getting C class over 3 series is definitely the flashiness of the interior as compared to 3 series. It inherits the flashy yet intuitive 11.9-inch touchscreen from the S-class, making it seem more 'atas'. The spamming of ambient LED lights around the cabin, and the little features like red lights flashing when aircon temperature is increased really elevate the whole driving experience. It has a slightly longer wheelbase, just around 1.2 cm shorter than that of E class, making it sufficiently spacious for rear passengers, solving the issue of lack of space in previous generations. Boot space is acceptable at 455 litres, sufficient for daily use.

The Exterior has shifted from boring E-class lookalike to a beautiful identity of its own, especially in AMG line. The aggressive side lines panning from front to end of the car, revamped face and rear of the car and impressive side profile really make the C-class make you go wow whenever you go past one.

The 1.5 litre engine, regardless of engine trim, provides sufficient power and torque for daily driving. It is very responsive and sometimes sounds pretty good. Handling is typical for a comfort-biased car - light but surprisingly receptive enough and accurate, not too numb, an improvement from its predecessor. Ride quality is good, and soaks up bumps in the road well, which should be expected from such a car. Body-roll is not very bad due to a tauter suspension than its predecessor, but still inevitable for a comfort-biased set-up. Overall, the driving package is very appealing as it combines exceptional comfort with easy driving.

In conclusion, if having a driver's car is not a priority to you, there is no reason not to get this car.

What I like
How amazing the interior looks at night, especially with the ambient lighting everywhere and the massive 11.9 inch display dominating the centre. It always feels very refreshing and futuristic whenever I get into the car. I love the fuel efficiency of this car. When I drove this, I could get around as good as 4 litres per 100km fuel efficiency, which can be achieved with the amazingly fuel efficient 1.5 litre engine paired with mild-hybrid system. This is also helped with the fact that it has a drag coefficient of 0.24 and also the 9-G tronic transmission, which constantly changes between gears to find the optimum rpm for maximum fuel efficiency.
I just love how well-rounded this car is.

What I do not like
The price is a bit on the pricey side, more than standard 3-series which comes with more features as standard. Even though the car is capable of performing certain functions, one must pay extra to access them, which is something that I deeply dislike. As many features do not come in as standard, one has to pay more when its competitors are giving the same features free.

The brake pedal feels weird at times, which takes time to adjust. The infotainment system might feel complicated at the start and took me a while to get used to. Some of the materials in the cabin feel cheap, which I do not expect from a car of such price tag.


dtkw
Neutral Newbie
10 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Jul-2014
A GREAT PACKAGE!  Posted on 18 Aug 2022
spacer
 

Review
Basically a small S Class. Interior is VERY premium and the built is GREAT! Extremely fuel efficient as well! Getting 700KM on full tank.


Arch
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
4 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2011
Unparalleled  Posted on 24 Jun 2022
spacer
 

Review
Feels luxurious for a C-Class
Fantastic ride quality. I wasn't expecting much for a C-Class but was blown away by the sound proofing, you won't even hear much road noise at 100km/hr.
The W206 is beautiful both inside and out.


Like
Smooth, comfy ride
Improved rear seats
Modern looking both inside and out
Solid performance, fantastic handling


Dislike
Expensive for it's class
Many features at this price point will be available to other makes of cars but missing in the C-Class


DriveAndDrive
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Nov-2021
Comfort, understated style and top in infotainment as of this point  Posted on 23 Jun 2022
spacer
 

Review
A newfound sense of smoothness bolstered by a well integrated mild hybrid system. Added, XPel stealth PPF, the wide vertical slits grille and 19" And this car looks amazing.


aerolith
Neutral Newbie
64 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Mercedes-Benz popular sedan - improved  Posted on 29 May 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Mercedes' new C-Class now comes in as an all new model. It's apparently bigger everywhere although you probably won't notice it unless you have both the old and new car side-by-side.

What I like
The styling is alright I guess. It brings the C-Class up to date with the rest of the Mercedes range although having said that, I think it's a little uninspired.

On the inside is where the new car truly shines, MBUX is showy, if requiring a little time for familiarisation, while the switchgear here is also all rather premium. Space is also quite decent front and back, although there is a huge centre console.

What I do not like
You'll need to buy into a bigger Mercedes if you're looking for a truly comfortable cruiser, or just get a Lexus. The ride in the C-Class is firm, and a little busy actually. Not all that great.


quippery
Neutral Newbie
82 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Showy on the inside, but not so much on the outside  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
The Mercedes-Benz C-Class has grown in size, even if I don't think most people will be able to tell there's that much more space in the cabin.

Not that it will really matter. What they will notice is the fact that a lot of the switchgear is borrowed from the larger S-Class, and the massive vertically-oriented screen in the middle.

Ride quality here is also ok. It's firm and a bit busy so if you're expecting a cushy Mercedes get the E-Class. But otherwise, it's all a delight to steer and the platform feels reasonably solid - one place where you will notice is much improved over the previous-gen car.

What I like
It's really extra on the inside. The infotainment screen is unavoidably huge, and there's a variety of colours available from the ambient lighting, so you can change the atmosphere from cozy lounge to nightclub with just a few buttons.

What I do not like
The ride really could be improved. MBUX is also a hot mess if you're unfamiliar with its myriad of layouts.

The design of the exterior is really a little bland. Those that are not familiar with cars can easily mistake this for either an E-Class or A-Class Saloon - whether that's good or bad is up to you.

Some of the interior plastics also need to be improved. There's sections such as the door cards that could be better covered with carpeting or leather.

Features such as adaptive cruise control and lane centering are all available only as costly extras. Not cool when non-premium brands already have these out of the box.

Mercedes-Benz C-Class Saloon Mild Hybrid
4 stars - based on 11 reviews