Toyota Corolla Altis

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6 (A)
07 Oct 2010  |  Toyota Reviews
Are the minor changes to the Altis good enough to improve its drive? Join us as we find out more.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
77 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3/5
41 out of 77 (53.2%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

77 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
SGCMcorolla
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
1 points
9 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
A Car With No Regret  Posted on 13 Dec 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving Toyota Corolla since I was young. Corolla have never disappoint me in terms of reliability, performance and handling. I got my second Toyota Corolla in 2000 and a pre facelift model this year. I was quite impressed with the exterior and interior design. The handling is very good and it is very comfortable. The reliability and quality is still there although it is made in Thailand. There is some space of improvement for the features such as adding keyless entry and start stop engine. The price could be cheaper since it is made in Thailand. The engine performance is good enough for town use and I would give it a 5 star if my Altis comes with Dual-VVTi.

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
Nothing

Hppls23
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Dec-2010
Everyday workhorse delivers what it promises  Posted on 06 Dec 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
You can accuse the Altis for being unexciting and maybe even a little frumpy but you cannot fault it for what it was designed to do: deliver unremitting reliability for your everyday transport needs. Everything works, and keeps on working. My previous Corolla served me for 8 years without a single breakdown, and the current model is set to maintain if not break that record.

What I like
Mechanical reliability, overall fit and finish.

What I do not like
I wish they could make it a little prettier (why can't it look like an European car?)

Shawnwong31
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Improve at the right place  Posted on 30 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I am always a Toyota lover. But the latest generation of altis is a failure. It still offer all the things a mid size saloon must have but it losses out on the engine department. By simply putting a previous generation engine into a new shell is not bring the new model any good. But it still sell because of branding.

The worst parts is the increase in fuel consumption compare to the previous model. Previous model average 13.5km/L while new altis is around 11.5km/L.

Those who have a chance to drive the JDM corolla Axio will notice the different. And the fuel consumption is average about 16.5km/l without much effort . Reason being the lighter but equally tough material use for the chassis and also the CVT gearbox.

But I still love the altis for all the reliability. And hopefully the recent facelift and improve in engine will bring back all the good memories I have again on Altis.

What I like
Reliability and well design. Spacious interior.

What I do not like
On the pre facelift model. High fuel consumption compare to previous model. Hopefully the facelift model will solve this problem

Andy00389
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
5 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2009
It's a cheaper mid size sedan  Posted on 29 Nov 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I have owned this Altis from Feb 2010, overall feeling, just a normal car as the price when i bought is cheap! 62k! everything with COE 20K. if you asking me, do i like or not, from my heart says i still love civic better than this car.
Overall design- ok
Internal design, so so, the real mirror nod should be on the door side for easy adjustment. the door below edge, everything i clean, the black oil always there, my cloth getting dirty and more when i try to clean another time.
Fuel consumption, so so, average about 11.5 km/L only, after change to plug, it feel better, but still below 12km/L

What I like
the boot floor can be removed for cleaning

What I do not like
Fuel consumption
interior design
overall performance
safety features

Wanka
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Feb-2009
Bought this without a test drive  Posted on 29 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Toyota may have hit some quality bumps along the way but having gone Toyota for the last 10 years, the folks in Japan do really know how to make a quality no frills car.

What I like
* Super easy drive
* Toyota's power steering, not too light
* Fuel consumption
* Any ayam brand mechanic can service this car

What I do not like
* This is the Uncle car.. well, at least for the not so rich uncle
* Kena chie by souped up small cars

Keithpapa
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
1648 forum posts Joined on 09-Dec-2005
My 2nd Altis. Value for $$$  Posted on 18 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving this 1.8 version for the past 1+ years. The build is better than the previous one. No regret so far. In fact, it protects and help us survive though a very bad accident which nearly total the car (repair time of 7 weeks) and no injury to us.

What I like
Powerful 1.8 engine (though it is the older vvti version)
Smoother than some of the CMI "CVT"
Good pick up
Quiet engine
spacious
auto head light
HID
auto wiper
reverse camera
touch screen LCD
steering wheel control
Multi Information Display
Big boot
effortless steering
side mirror indicator
electic driver seat control
Stable at high speed

What I do not like
NVD still not to par to Camry.
No integrated GPS
FC arond 11-12 km/l. Less impressive than my previous Toyota.
No valvematic
No Dual vvti (at that time)

Kalvinpannu
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most practical daily transport !  Posted on 16 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Low gas consumption for daily usage for daily used, practical for Singapore road has the maximun speed on our roads are 90km/h.

What I like
1> low consumption
2> Cabin less noisy
3> Spacious Interior
4> Sleek Design
5> Agent Service

What I do not like
1> Less aftermarket add on like bodykits sold for other Brands, Has Toyota F1 bodykit are expensive compare to those provided by Mitsubishi EX or Honda.
2> Parts sold by agent are pricy

Brightstar2211
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Feb-2010
Toyota Altis Elegance  Posted on 15 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Toyota Altis Elegance is quite good, except for the engine sound that can be heard. The interior is quite spacious and nice with the luminated speedometer and there are sufficient space in the boot to put anything you like.

What I like
I like most of the things.

What I do not like
I do not like the sound of the engine as it can be heard if you speed up.

Klkk7658
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Jan-2010
The "NEW" world best is here?  Posted on 17 Oct 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
"NEW"... the exterior and interior - at least 85% resemblance to the current model.

As for the Dual VVTI engine, many Japan Toyota models has started using this engine since 2007.

What I like
The engine

What I do not like
Everything except engine.

Richlmsh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
3 forum posts Joined on 26-Aug-2010
My First Car  Posted on 25 Aug 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is my first self own car. Good and Spacious enough for my usage with 3 small kids. Quiet Engine

What I like
Value for money.
Very spacious.
Very easy to handle
Will definitely recommend to other who want to have

What I do not like
Standard Saloon car if with adding bodykit and other facelift.

No car is perfect. Go with your budget

K0j9h8g7f6
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Aug-2010
Bought at the Lowest Price is the ONLY consolation I have  Posted on 19 Aug 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Booked it in early 2007 for $52.5k when COE was amongst the lowest.

Almost everything else went wrong.

### Modest Driving Habit ###
*Low-Medium Mileage of 40,000km @ 3yrs
*Light foot on pedal, Average Rev 2,000 to 2,500 RPM

What I like
5 years warranty

What I do not like
1. Engine Pinking Noise from 30-65kph
2. Gear Box Humming Noise from 75-90kph
3. ALL 4 Door Panels Leather Wrap Drop Off within 1 year, starting as early as 3 months old.
4. Rust appeared on 3 out of 4 Door Frame after 2 years
5. Foul Smell from Air-Con as early as 3 months old.
6. Poor Radio Reception and Flat Sound from Audio Unit
7. Mediocre Engine Performance - Weak + Noisy
8. Poor (or NIL) Sound Proofing at Car Roof, sounds like rain drops directly hitting your head!
9. Expensive yet Lousy (customer service) Servicing by BM to keep the extra 2 years Warranty. Mineral Oil Package Discontinued, virtually killing any choice of bringing own synthetic oil.
10. Poor Mileage, 11km/l in mix city/highway

What BM has done so far:
1. Recommend RON98 to reduce pinking noise (it works only when I pump Esso/Mobil RON98, but all grades at Shell does NOT help, seldom pump at SPC or Caltex)
2. Changed Gear Box after >1 year of complaint. No more noise now, traveled 20,000km since changed.
3. Changed All Door Panels.
4. Paint work touch up :(
5. Complementary cleaning twice. No more smell for more than 18mths now.
6. Nothing BM can do. LPPL, unless buy specific models that compatible with factory fitted steering audio control
7. Nothing BM can do. I won't buy non-Japan made next time.
8. Nothing BM can do. Work hard to buy Lexus or Benz next time.
9. Nothing BM will do, Toyota sells for itself. Removing mineral package was calculated intention.
10. May be Avante or Forte can do better without much compromise. Go for Prius for fuel economy.

Alanchensc
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2010
Corolla Altis Elegance Is A Choice!  Posted on 05 Aug 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just got the car two days ago on 03 August 2010. Bought the Elegance model with reverse camera, auto-fold mirrors, etc. As compared with previous Altis model, I personally find the Elegance model a better buy in terms of engine power (improved) and better quality features (DVD player, auto-fold mirrors, better quality door panel, etc). In terms of road noise, I find that Elegance model is more quiet than my previous Nissan Slyphy but in terms of engine noise, I suggest to Toyota that they can still better improve and make it more silent.

What I like
1) "Big" exterior look
2) More car play features such as DVD player, reverse camera, auto fold mirrors, boot sensor release, etc.
3) Good sound insulation
4) More responsive and reliable VVTI engine (YOM 2010)
5) Unlimited mileage five years warranty from Borneo Motor

What I do not like
1) Air-con too cold (may be new car)
2) If COE goes higher, price of Corolla Altis may be too expensive for a Japanese Thailand made car
3) Low OMV (around S$16.8k)

Simon63
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Jun-2010
All people tell me Toyota Altis, good & reliable, me, unlucky loh!!  Posted on 31 Jul 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My 2005/11 hit by Gearbox problem! Confirm checking by 04 workshop! They told me i'm the first car having this problem for this model! Bad Luck, Repair cost $1800 ! Mileage around 80,000!

Advise those who want to buy used car for this model, better consider!

Jckok888
1st Gear
2 reviews
24 points
51 forum posts Joined on 30-Jul-2010
My favarable car  Posted on 30 Jul 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got my new car yesterday, everything are fine and impressed with the quality of built. Previously drove Altis G9. Very lucky to get the car at 70k (COE 30k) after attractive discount of 11k.

As usually, Altis is family car, most of the features are nice for me and my family members. Impressed with the quiet engine and smooth gearbox. Feel engine a bit powerful than G9. Car body are well built and heavy, but feel more stable while in high speed.

What I like
Quiet engine
Solid quality
Eletric steering wheel
Multi-information display & Optri meter
5 yr unlimited mileage warranty, free servicing until 20k plus 4 free car-care package
Value for money

What I do not like
Consumption around 12-13km/ltr
VVT-I engine and 4AT. Should change to Dual VVT-I + 7AT
Interior a bit plastic feel. Should change to wood-dashboard

Chukngek
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2010
Plus bad service at Leng Kee  Posted on 17 Jul 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Altis 1.6, 1 year 3 month old, run 21000 km.
Extremely dissappointed with service.
Engine got some knocking noise during acceleration and driving up the hill.
Went to Borneo Motors @ Leng Kee. I could not believe my ears when serviceman told me: "it is not a problem, the car is old now (1 year means old?!) so use 98 petrol."
That is all. No diagnose or service were done.

What I like
Classical design
Spacious

What I do not like
The worst service I have ever nad.
Dull engine.
High FC.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 5 6 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Toyota Corolla Altis 3 stars - based on 77 reviews