Mazda 3 Sedan

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Mazda 3 1.6 (A)
26 Apr 2012  |  Mazda Reviews
Virtually unchanged since the last model evolution, the Mazda 3 is close to being caught up by the pack. Real close.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda 3 Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
29 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3/5
20 out of 29 (69%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

29 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
driverless
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Dec-2013
Continental feel at Japanese price.  Posted on 01 Dec 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
To improve my mileage, I installed a fuel charger and air charger. The improvement is noticeable. When driven below 80kmh, I get 13.3km/L, 12.5km/L at 90kmh, around 11km/L at 100kmh. Slightly heavier than previous model as such unable to attain speeds in excess of 165kmh with 4 occupants and boot fully loaded. Still better than Toyota Altis in terms of handling and high speed driving as it is very stable even when cornering at over 80kmh. Mazda's pride is it's brakes, fantastic !!

What I like
Body work.
Boot space.
Repair work is the best amongst Japanese makes at dealer workshop.

What I do not like
4 speed gear.
no turbo.

Jem_Q
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-May-2012
2012 MAzda 3  Posted on 03 May 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Purchased the new Mazda 3 and driving it for a month now.

Love the exterior look, the smily face has been toned down with a more sporty front bumber. To me this was the main selling point, in terms of looks it beats the boring 2012 civic and altis hands down. Nothing against forte and elantra owners, but I'm not gona pay close to 100k for a korean car.

Handling is excellent. Takes sharp turns and high speeds very well. The car feels solid and grounded.

Interior is nice, love the sporty cockpit. Audio is also very good.

Fuel consumption is not great but still bearable, with no sky active technology available yet, but then again everybody knows mazda has never been known for good FC.

Initial pick up is abit slow, but after a while you do feel the zoom zoom kicking in. The car does not feel heavy, and you can really enjoy the driving experience.

Features include keyless start, auto lock, rain senser wipers, headlights, dimming rear view mirror, remote boot release, and cruise control, useful if you're driving on msian highways.

Major disappointments for me are the 4 speed auto gear box, lack of ipod/ipad connectivity and lack of memory seat functions.

The service centre kinda sucks, guys are unfriendly and not very helpful.

What I like
1) Sporty looks
2) Sporty interior
2) Handling

What I do not like
1) Service centre
2) 4 speed gear box
3) lack of MP3 connectivity

Mafia_baby
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Apr-2012
Good looks only.  Posted on 24 Apr 2012
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Other than its sporting good looks, this car's performance after driving it is not as good as its looks. A comparison with similar models of its fellow japanese competitor brands, I will say that this car is a great disappointment.
I was attracted by the perks and the great discounts given by the sales person who was very aggressive and pushy with the sales.
After I bought the car, I was utterly disappointed. Due to the heavier weight of the car, fuel consumption is very high and especially so when I have to revv up my engine to pick up speed.
And the car servicing experience was terrible, I wanted to ask the car mechanic about some of the features on the car but he gave me an attitude problem and ask me to read the user manual!!
If you were me, will you still recommend this car to your friends?

What I like
Sporting looks that is suitable for youngsters
Features of the car

What I do not like
Slow in pickup
Mileage- high in FC
Very pushy sales person
Lousy after sales service- workshop mechanic got attitude problem

Archtomato
1st Gear
1 reviews
25 points
77 forum posts Joined on 18-May-2011
My First Car and it Rocks (1.6L)  Posted on 06 Jul 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I fell in love with the car the moment i saw it in the pictures. The Sporty exterior and smooth curves and the well furnished interior.

Interior looks more posh for it's class. Very fun to drive and the handling is excellent. Takes corners very well. Once you are seated, its quite hard to get out of the car.

I read alot of reviews on pickup being slow, but i actually find it pretty responsive. Only down i can comment at the moment is the FC which i am hitting about 10KM/L.

The Keyless start and entry makes life very very easy and convenient.

For those buying the 1.6L model, remember to ask the SE for mods that can make the car look like a 2.0L.

What I like
Quiet Engine
Heavy Suspension
Keyless Entry
High Speed Handling
Smiley Looks
Great looking int and ext

What I do not like
- Updating the CD system to a MP3 system would be much better
- Bluetooth system like the US ones would be awesome
- A slightly more better space for back seat passengers
- If only the gearbox was a 6 speed, this would be a perfect ride

(Able to live with all these cons, and still very satisfied) :)

Jrgx
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Feb-2011
Most Reliable car I've owned  Posted on 04 Feb 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
We were so in love with the external design of the All New Mazda 3. Once you sat on it, you just simply do not feel like getting out. The engine is quiet and interial was great.

What I like
External design of the car

What I do not like
nothing at the moment..

Vextan
1st Gear
1 reviews
52 points
4498 forum posts Joined on 23-Apr-2002
The good and bad of my Mazda 3 2.0L  Posted on 17 Dec 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I have owned it for 5 months and done 13000 km, been to Malacca and Genting and back once. My FC was from 10km/litre initially, to about 11.5km/litre these days. I know it sounds a bit too good to be true but it is. To sum up on a few words about this car, that is, it is a car that encourages spirited driving due to it s free revving engine.

What I like
Styling
Build and quality
Interior design
LED tail light
Xenon headlight
Bucket Leather seat gives a snugly feel that encourages spirited driving
Blackout instrument light
Integrated factory fitted stereo
Excellent gearbox that encourages sporty driving, very free revving

What I do not like
Very small sitting space especially in the rear, in its class (I so nearly could have gotten an Altis for this)
Relatively small storage compartment and side pocket
Auto lock door and folding mirror works erratically, it is convenient as doors lock when you walk away, but if you need to walk to the other doors, the doors become locked.
Average Performance in terms of high speed torque
B pillar sometimes a hinderance when viewing blind spot (but I am nit picking really)

KennyJoseph
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
3 forum posts Joined on 12-Dec-2009
Mazda3 2010 2.0L - Good performance and exciting looks  Posted on 03 Dec 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The 2010 Mazda3 2.0L offers a comfy and relatively quiet drive, with continental inspired styling and equipped with several modern features and functionality.
The equipment level of the 2010 Mazda3 is quite high - auto headlights, auto wipers, bucket-styled leather seats, push-start ignition, auto door lock, cool black-out speedometer gauges, etc.
The 2010 Mazda 3's exciting exterior also never fails to turn heads.

What I like
Reliable engine, coupled with the 5-speed auto gear-box gives adequate power at the various road speeds.
High equipment level - keyless start, door auto-lock, remote boot, remote windows, etc.
Comfortable and relatively quiet ride.
Exciting exterior of the car.

What I do not like
If the gearbox was a 6-speed or a DSG, the drive would be perfect.

Alvinhoo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
38 forum posts Joined on 25-Nov-2010
Good handling car  Posted on 25 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Good handling in terms of higher speed, cornering. Seats are comfortable. Telescopic steering wheel comes very handy if you have more than 1 driver. Can change the height of the driver seat too, which is useful for shorter drivers.

What I like
Push start and keyless entry is a convenience. Handling of car, stability of car during higher speed. 16 inch tyres, make it look a little more sporty...

What I do not like
Responds of car not too good, as I guess weight of vehicle is on heavier side as compare to other 1.6l cars.

Jeff23
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
22 forum posts Joined on 06-Feb-2007
A car that smiles at you. What more can you ask?  Posted on 24 Sep 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just got my car M3 recently. Before Mazda I own Toyota and Honda cars. I was kind of worried for the FC as Mazda is known among my frens for Bad FC. But when the new model was launched in 2009. It caught my eyes. And I went to test drive the car. it's a very comfortable ride. As for FC... I'm getting 11.5km/l, so it's quite good.

What I like
Engine: Very quiet went driving on the road.
Interior: Very Class.
Exterior: A car that smiles at you. What more can you ask?

What I do not like
Interior: If can have more space on both passenger and driver side would be better.

M3ZZ
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
44 forum posts Joined on 21-Jul-2010
Perfect vehicle for me  Posted on 23 Jul 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Due to the generous promtotion launched by mazda and the dropped of the COE for Cat B cars($35k) I decided to book a test drive for the M3 2.0L SDN. The 2.0L comes with full bodykit and nicely furnished interior. Verdict: Beautiful. Test drove the car for 45mins..."I demanded it from the agent" lol. Conclusion: I find the shifting of the gears are smooth and the car is definitely not under powered. Accelerated a few times and the car pushes fwd efficiently. Not much drag being felt. Did a few sharp corners and find the car handles well. The car doesn't swings when doing sharp u-turns. On high speed the wind noise are not obvious.
Love this car even more after the test drive and decided to put my money down for the 2.0L crystal white. Got my coe on the 1st bid. now waiting it to be deliver.

What I like
Everything from the performance and the specs.

What I do not like
Too early to list down any faults. will do so after driving my car for a month.

Majordan
2nd Gear
1 reviews
114 points
712 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2010
Looks great but not for everyone  Posted on 17 May 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
A lot of people have issues with the front smiling grill. But if you don't, this is a really sleek looking car that packs equipment above its class: xenon lights, paddle shift, welcome light, press start engine. Lots of people also claimed that the old 1.6 was under powered but fortunately the new Mazda3 is available in 2.0

What I like
Xenon lights
LED lights in rear, side
Superb cornering
Looks great
made in japan
auto lock doors
cool interior lighting scheme
value for money (2L model)

What I do not like
tight back seats
heavy fuel consumption
no LED 3rd brake light!

Sceptics
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
12 forum posts Joined on 04-Aug-2008
Surprisingly drivable  Posted on 02 May 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Been hearing too much about the lack of power on a mazda and its horrendous FC. test drove the unit and its comfort level surprised me. the power delivery although running on a 4 speed auto gearbox, was actually quite punchy. Legroom at the back is sufficient though the point of entry to the back seat requires the door to be opened quite a fair bit(not a luxury singapore carparks normally provide) Dash instrument takes a little getting used to unlike the Civic which you can find any information almost instinctively.
Going upslope on this car can be a tad frustrating and you can actually hear the engine strain and run out of juice

Pricing is a tad at current levels but looks of the car will last a long time to come.

What I like
Power delivery on straights and ability to change line swiftly and precisely
Comfort for cabin
Design
Keyless entry and autolock
Decent boot space

What I do not like
Rear passenger seat entry too narrow
Engine strain when going upslope(even gentle ones)
Cluttered instrumentation panel
FC
Ancient 4 speed gearbox!!

Fattytey
1st Gear
7 reviews
70 points
64 forum posts Joined on 22-Apr-2010
Great buy  Posted on 22 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had wanted to buy a new car then, test drove a Cerato Forte and found it underpowered.. A cruze is not to my wife's liking.. Let alone a Avante which will change model in the near future.. Tested a 3 and found it more powerful than a cerato.. Wife and daughter loves the shape.. And I love the car for the fact that it will depreciate slower than a avante.. Add in much higher OMV and I bought it on the spot.. Got a good deal from Mazda too.. Been driving it for a month.. And enjoying the envious looks from others.. Recommended some friends and they too said this is a good buy

What I like
Everything

What I do not like
Nothing

Ky13
Clutched
1 reviews
8 points
98 forum posts Joined on 03-Sep-2009
Underpower.. just like the old 3  Posted on 03 Apr 2010
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
This is the second mazda-3 my family owns. The prev model is mine and the new model (1.6) is my sister's.

All I can say is this new model has decent built quality compared to most M-I-T cars like Honda or Toyota. The design is nice and unique. It has good handling. The car is quite stable @ 150km/hr. However, just like the previous Mazda-3, the engine is extremely underpowered. With Mazda-3 (1.6), you can never outrun any other jap, korean, or conti car of the same size/class.

In addition, the price of the car is not very realistic. I believe this is just like the good old Mazda-3; the car's price was very expensive when it was first launched. A couple of year later, the price dropped like mad. Perhaps, for those who really are interested in getting this car, they should wait for a year or 2 for the price to drop.

All in all, this is a good car for people with spare cash to spend. If you only need car as a mean of transport for your daily life, I suggest you get some other make (with more realistic pricing & better engine performance).

What I like
- Handling
- Built-quality
- Comfort
- Service Centre (much better than C & C)

What I do not like
- Engine Performance (underpowered)
- Price (Extremely Overpriced)

JingHng_1990
Neutral Newbie
47 reviews
2 points
12 forum posts Joined on 01-Apr-2010
Stylish car  Posted on 01 Apr 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drive this car two days ago and is surprised with the stylish looks of outside. Cabin is still okay despite feel dated and cheap plastic everywhere. Boot space is okay for a normal sedan like the Sunny and the Latio.

What I like
Mostly all

What I do not like
Engine lacks refinement

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Mazda 3 Sedan 3.5 stars - based on 29 reviews