BMW 5 Series Sedan

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of BMW 5 Series Sedan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
29 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
23 out of 29 (79.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

29 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Weez911
Supersonic
2 reviews
39,549 points
5979 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2011
Luxury sedan with the power!  Posted on 13 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have owned my 528i for 2 weeks and the initial impression has been very good. It has huge interior space, fast, full of gadgets and drives very well in terms of steering feel. My previous ride was a F30 3 series, which also drives great, but smaller and less stable at high speed. I would recommend this car to all seeking conti luxury!

What I like
Space, torque, power, gadgets, steering feel, comfort.

What I do not like
The slightly dated looks.

Hachi28
1st Gear
2 reviews
70 points
168 forum posts Joined on 24-Feb-2012
520i LCI luxury, 2014  Posted on 18 Sep 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven W203 C class for almost 10 years and now decide on a BMW 5 series LCI luxury line. The reason for choosing 5 series is because C class and 3 series rear seat can only seat 2 persons comfortably. Why I didn't consider E class is because it suits more for older driver or uncle liking.

I must say that the first thing that attracted me is the new BMW adaptive LED headlight design. However, though the outlook sells, but the interior insulation is lacking even though I soundproof the front doors.

A mistake that I had is to forgotten to request to include solar film when I bargaining with the car salesman in Performance Motors. It is advisable to have solar film as my previous car interior ceiling fabric came off and drop down due to hot sun.

Overall I like this car very much due to the features that comes with it and the exterior design.

The drive is powerful if you put it on Sports mode

What I like
Adaptive led headlights with active cornering head lights
Reverse camera
Thicker leather quality seat for luxury line
Ambient light with choice of red or blue color
Illuminated door handles
Ability to activate DVD in motion by USB playback
18" light alloy wheels
All round parking sensor
Inclusive of first aid kit
Exterior design is better looking than Mercedes C & E class
8 gears
Digital gauge panel that changes to 3 different colors upon drive mode setting
Hands free trunk release
Foldable rear seats
Internal hard disc inside dash to stall music files onto car

What I do not like
Cannot upgrade head unit for music playback-need to get processor for ICE.
No spare tyre.
According to BMW, run flat tyre not supposed to be patch when you get a nail, and need a new tyre replacement.
Car interior noise insulation not as good compared with my W203 C class, able to hear louder traffic noise such as buses passing by.
Body material is not metal like as compared with W203 C class, you can hear the difference when you knock on the bumper between these 2 cars.
Need to install own twitters.

TeoHK
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Sep-2015
Powerful but weak GPS system  Posted on 04 Sep 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is my first time owned a BMW, bought in June 2013 from PML
attracted by it exterior look and good quality seats.

What I like
Good power even on Comfort mode
Not too bad consumption, on average 9km per L

What I do not like
1. poor GPS system,
cannot use post code for input address
cannot use building name eg Changi Airport must key in Road name
my condo more than 12 year old address not found
2. stop the car and when restart, on aircon you will get hot air blow out , unpleasant.
3. when car moving must remember to off outside air circular otherwise you will get smoke or smelly air from front car,
4.error message from the computer , take long time from agent to reprogram as software not available.

Hachi-Roku
1st Gear
1 reviews
84 points
18 forum posts Joined on 31-Aug-2012
Car that never fails to amaze me.  Posted on 17 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I am driving a 528i. It's the second car and frankly, the car that i always wish for. Its powerful, comfortable, responsive and spacious. The only qualms i have for the car is the roughness of the engine.. Being a inline 4 turbo, its engine sound wouldn't be as smooth and creamy as the famed inline 6 2.5. The saving grace is in the turbo. Woohoo, the pull and the torque power!!!! Never feels to amaze me how a 2 liter engine can pull a over 1.5 ton car with such great power!!! Especially in sports+ mode on manual transmission!!!Haahaha... But i would recommend you to leave it comfort for the all round driving enjoyment; Sans the rough engine noise. All in all, a great car to own...!!!

What I like
Powerful engine. Responsiveness. Comfort. Feature packed. Nice exterior design.

What I do not like
Rough engine noise. Dated interior design.

Miles
4th Gear
1 reviews
833 points
1831 forum posts Joined on 23-Mar-2006
Grown up 5er  Posted on 22 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The F10 520i LCI is a true competitor to the W212 E class in terms of comfort and drivability. Handling may not be the sharpest, but it is good enough and easily the market leader. The award winning N20B20 engine and ZF 8 speed transmission is without doubt one of the best forced induction 4 pot in the market. Together it creates one of the best power train available today. Chassis and suspension setup is without comparison.

What I like
Excellent refinement with ultra low NVH.
Long list of standard equipment.
Excellent drive train
Comfortable seats.
Nice BMW Advance Car Eye feature.
BMW Connected features

What I do not like
Irritating lack of reliability for small issues, often taken for granted, but matters.
Ambient lights too dim.
Bulky key fob
Barge like weight

carma1965
1st Gear
11 reviews
17 points
35 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2015
Major improvement from the last 5  Posted on 20 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I drive the last 5 series on several occasions, enough to feel
the difference the latest 5 have. Probably the best all round mid size saloon.

What I like
- really smooth transmission
- outlook, very classy without being pretentious
- interior is leading class along with the E class
- handling is good for such a boat..
- major major improvement from the last 5

What I do not like
- could feel the engine struggle that little bit.. no big issue there though
- due to the size, naturally lost alot of the agility of past 5

Newbie26
Hypersonic
11 reviews
79,915 points
1815 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2015
Excellent car if able to afford  Posted on 18 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Excellent handling with good boot and rear space.
internal features are sufficient though like most BMW, has not been a revolutionary change in interior over the years.

What I like
excellent handling
comfortable drive
exciting
enough power and acceleration

What I do not like
the price
a little dated interior

Steptronic
Supercharged
1 reviews
5,172 points
4385 forum posts Joined on 09-May-2011
Fun to drive  Posted on 18 Jan 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Very good for city driving. If car is frequented on NSHW, better to get a higher CC car. 2L Turbo's Pick up is better than 2.5L.

What I like
Handling, exterior look, Comfort, Pick up.

What I do not like
Price

Thaiyotakamli
Supersonic
9 reviews
53,897 points
26763 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2010
One of the better ones  Posted on 14 Jan 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Bought F10 520i, replacing my old W212.

I had to say that F10 has many features which comparable to 7 series or Audi A8. In addition the handling was superb and driving never been more confident than before. There are 4 options of driving mode for you to choose from to suit your mood. The GPS was great and it was supported by the 10 inch screen which makes guidance perfect.

Look wise, it looks muscular and interior looks new to me. It seems that BMW really makes the car well and ensure every pieces inside is built solidly. The seat is comfortable and boot space is decent.

However it does not comes with reverse camera and sunroof which is disappointing but the awesome features offset its downside and I had to say its probably best in its class.

What I like
- handling
- powerful
- 4 different modes of driving
- built in gps
- 10 inch wide screen
- E and Auto handbrake
- bluetooth music from your phone
- LED headlight
- Boot opening with leg sensor
- Silent ride

What I do not like
- No reverse camera
- No sunroof
- Rear passenger leg space slightly small due to large gearbox
- The color of speedometer a little bit tacky with orange color
- More compartments in driver side will be great to store items

qwertul
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Oct-2014
Best handling mid sized luxury sedan  Posted on 09 Oct 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Drove it at BMW 5 series performance academy. Reasonably powerful 2.0l inline 4, different modes for driving (comfort, sport, eco pro) make for slightly altered character depending on your mood. The event was to showcase the dynamic handling of the car on a makeshift track, which it did very well. Body roll is very little considering the car has fixed dampers, acceleration is quite abrupt from low revs as expected of a turbocharged engine but lacks top end power delivery. Brakes well for a luxury sedan and even kicks its tail out if you floor it on a wet surface without DSC.

What I like
New LED headlamps for LCI update.
Digital instrument cluster looks like a jet cockpit.
Little body roll.
Turbo kick when you floor the throttle.

What I do not like
Car isn't quite as comfortable as an E-class.
No more sport+ mode or sport automatic transmission in the LCI units.
Interior looks a bit boring.
Leather isn't even as good the new C class.

Bmw730li
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
1 points
11 forum posts Joined on 10-Aug-2006
Executive Car Champion  Posted on 10 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
With a perfect blend of performance, technology and design, it is easy to understand why this is the champion in the mid size executive class.

Ergonomics are top notch thanks to a slightly angled dash towards the driver. Wide iDrive screen, beautiful multifunctional instrument cluster and a well sorted cabin design.

What I like
1. LED headlights are stunning.
2. Integrated puddle lights in door handles.
3. Handsfree opening and closing boot adds to the convenience.
4. Multi functional instrument cluster - Full LCD.
5. Sports display - gimmicky but its nice to have.
6. Turbo engines are smooth and delivery low to mid end punch.

What I do not like
1. It is not as rare as a Lexus GS

dtkw
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Jul-2014
Awesome Car with Awesome Drive and Handling  Posted on 09 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Took delivery of the car for about 1.5 months now. Comparing it with the previous Lexus LS460, it's a totally different feel. The previous car was real comfortable to be seated in while the 5 Series is a real driver's car while not compromising the passengers comfort. I no longer feel like a 'chauffeur' anymore. Hahahaha... I am enjoying every single second of my ride now!

What I like
Diving experience, Good control of car, Spacious, Classy interior and awesome all round experience.

What I do not like
Have to manually activate the Park Assist while on the road (unless switch to reserve) and no camera for 520i.

Volks_Retro
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
520i LCI - 2014 (Facelift Model)  Posted on 28 Apr 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Took delivery of the car in Mar 14 and driven a few thousand miles.

My previous ride was E200 W212 and immediately I can tell you the difference:

i) The handling and ride of 520 is far superior than the W212
ii) 520's Acceleration is silky smooth from the revised 8-speed ZF auto gearbox
iii) 520's Improved sound insulation with very quiet ride
iii) FULL LED headlights DRLs rear Light clusters etc
iv) 520's Comfortable seats front and back - Superior and luxurious feel
v) New MMI and Instrumental cluster with superior performance display
vi) Boot can be opened and closed with remote or using the leg sensor w/o using your hands.

What I like
Everything
Service staff has improved tremendously

What I do not like
NA

Henry847
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2009
Latest 5 series is cool!!!  Posted on 18 Oct 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
With the New Improvements, the BM 5series looks cool on the exterior with the interior too!!! This model that I purchased with the Dynamic Dampers is really good especially comfortable going over bumps and pot-holes...

What I like
The New Improvements, I-Drive, Display, Navigation instructions on the Display itself, Sport's Rims...

What I do not like
$$$

SkypeIsOsm
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 17-Nov-2012
Worst car I have had in my life  Posted on 05 May 2013
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I used to have a Morris Marina, even that was better than this! this is one of the shittiest cars i have ever owned. 530i. DONT BUY ONE!

What I like
NOTHING

What I do not like
the iDrive system is stupid, you need a rocket scientist to operate anything. BMW! Improve it

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
BMW 5 Series Sedan 3.5 stars - based on 29 reviews