Volkswagen Jetta

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI Sport (A)
08 Sep 2011  |  Volkswagen Reviews
With the recent runaway success of Volkswagen models, the latest Jetta seals the German's sales position further...
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Forte K3 1.6 (A) vs Corolla Altis 1.6 (A) vs Jetta 1.4 (A)
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Volkswagen Jetta was facelifted on May 2015. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volkswagen Jetta
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
55 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
45 out of 55 (81.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

55 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Tee_
1st Gear
1 reviews
29 points
11 forum posts Joined on 16-Feb-2017
Most Unreliable car ever owned  Posted on 15 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Volkswagen Jetta is definitely one of the most unreliable cars in the market as mentioned by others. Spark cable issue, Engine failure, Car key problems, Jerking as gear changes, wiper makes very loud sound even after changing. The service centre is equally bad. After servicing, engine failure within a week. No replacement cars on hand and even ask you to pay rent for replacement cars. The service centre is filled with mostly jetta with engine/gear problems. Avoid at all costs. Can never understand why they will fail to improve after the recurring problems from customer's worldwide.

What I like
Price paid for a continental car
High speed cruise control
Handling
Will be a pretty powerful car without the jerking

What I do not like
Too unreliable be it the car/ service centre
Jerking as the car changes gear
Gear issues
Car key failure even after changing battery
Wiper noise
Petrol consumption relatively high in SG roads
Roll back on slopes when moving off from stationary position

Tanweechong
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-May-2012
Cat A - Most powerful Car  Posted on 06 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I'm the ex-owner of toyota Corolla, toyota Vios and toyota wish. Toyota really a good car and never give me any problem at all for many years. After driving jap car for so many years, I decided to try out Conti brand.

Jetta is really value for money as it is a very powerful car compared to my japs car that I owned. The quality is far better than japs car with good sound insulation and powerful. This is really a fun car to drive at high speed with turbo kick in. However, at very low speed, example in the carpark, non turbo car will have a finer control.

6 months and Clocked almost 10K mileage without any issue so far and enjoy the fun drive everyday.
Will upgrade to Passat if got $$$$

What I like
Powerful pick up, low fuel consumption, interior quality and good sound insulation. No regret of buying so far as it did not give me any issue.

What I do not like
At low speed handling is not so fine as slight acceleration will charge forward.
Need to get use to it especially if you never drive a turbo car before like me.

Longbg
2nd Gear
1 reviews
109 points
29 forum posts Joined on 13-Nov-2012
Solid TSI engine combining with 7-speed DSG Gearbox  Posted on 19 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have the same query as other about the reliability of the DSG Gearbox but was told by my brother who owns a Passat to give Jetta a try. Have been driving Toyoto, Mazda, Honda the last 20 years and the latest was Honda Odyssey (7 years). Complete different test drive experience compared to my experience with Japanese. Have been driving Jetta for 19 months. Love it. No problem so far. Likes to play with the Sport and Manual mode under different driving condition on the road. This cars come with solid safety rating. Drove in NSH cruising 160-170km all the way from JB to Melaka, very stable and don't feel that I am speeding.. There was a pouring rain and I was at traffic light junction. As I was rushing for time, so very heavy footed on accelerator. The car ramped over big trapped wafer when I started to accelerate. There was a alarm and I notice that the Traction control icon light-up. Big splash of water as I drove through but the car moved super steady... Couldn't image if this car did not come with all the 5 road safety features (ABS, ESP, EDB,...).

The DSG GB is super smooth. That's build upon a complex system to deliver that smoothness and performance. Lots of talk about DSG GB might go down, but I am willing to set aside few thousands after the warranty is over..

Only problem I have so far is at lower RPM (1000-1500). DSG shift gearbox up quicker, but shift down slower, probably for FC purpose. I will either switch to manual mode or heavy on gas paddle to overcome it...

What I like
DSG + TSI engine

What I do not like
Plastic feel interior

Erictay_82
1st Gear
2 reviews
20 points
50 forum posts Joined on 12-Sep-2010
One of the most powerful cars in its class!  Posted on 18 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought the jetta sportline.
Having some reluctant at first due to the infamous gearbox.

After some research, seems this issue was resolved. Those complaining are mostly the older batches. This car has put many other cars at the same range to shame.

Seems like VW is pushing very hard to regain it popularity.

What I like
Sunroof, turbo, cheap road tax, rear aircon.
ability to wind down the windows using remote control.

What I do not like
no electronic parking brake.

Khairul8715
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Nov-2016
A car to consider  Posted on 12 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was looking for a sedan car to replace my 7 yr old kia forte . Dropped by Kia showroom and tested their 2017 kia k3 sx. Was impressed by its features and warranty of 10 yrs and 5 yrs. However decided to drop by VW showroom and tested their jetta trendline. It was really impressive with its 1.4 turbocharged engine. 0-100 in merely 9secs. Overtaking was very smooth. Cabin was well insulated. But the trenline lacks features other similar cat car can offer. Better option will be its sportsline but headroom for rear passengers kinda bad due to the sunroof.

What I like
Smooth transition of gears
Huge boot
Turbocharged
Bluetooth connectivity for smartphones
Navigation
Reverse camera
Rear a/c vents
Great FC

What I do not like
No auto folding mirror
No auto headlamps
No cupholder for rear passengers
No multi function control on steering wheel

Bigryl
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
5 forum posts Joined on 26-Feb-2013
Major improvement!  Posted on 02 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was going around showrooms looking for a Sedan priced around $100k sometime March/April this year.

At first i was weary of the gearbox reliability due to lots of bad feedbacks from other Brands sales rep, so naturally we avoided Volkswagen.

After much contemplating and was about to place a deposit to confirm the Mazda 3, my wife told me she wants to go over to Volkswagen to have a look before commiting to Mazda.

The initial impression of the Jetta's exterior was somewhat dull, nothing special but interior was a leap forward in terms of quality as compared to Mazda, Toyota, Honda and Kia. Not examplary, but it's what everyone called "Conti" Feel.

Features available for the Jetta was disappointing for the Trendline version.
No Keyless, no auto headlight, no electric seats, which are the main features im looking forward to my next car. Thus i've decided to explore the Highline Version instead, which has everything included but a top up of $10,000.

During the test drive of the vehicle, i was impressed by the drive of the car. Steering wheel feels just right, not too heavy and not too light. Power was superb even though it only has 120bhp, it feels like a 2000cc Japanese car but at a lower Road Tax cost. The initial feel of the DSG shifts quick, which is good and then come the question of reliability from me. Was told the Dry DSG gearbox has some changes and the 2015 models onwards like the Sportsvan and Passat 1.8 are very reliable. Went a did some impromptu research online and did not manage to find any complains, which kind of side track my decision towards the Jetta HAHA. The suspension on the Jetta is leaning towards the stiffer side but when a need for sharp cornering, it shines in this aspect. Overall, i am quite satisfied with what the Jetta has to offer. After afew days of comtemplation, both me and my wife has conclude that the Jetta is a better buy

After owning the Jetta for 6month, i dare say that there isn't anymore juddering or failure of MU as mentioned in forums.

Satisfied customer

What I like
I think i will rate this vehicle 8/10 in terms of pricing and what it has to offer

• Turbo surge in Power
• Smoothness of the DSG
• Boot Space
• Features in the Highline/Sportline
• Interior Built Quality
• Price for a German Conti Brand

What I do not like
• Trendline doesn't comes with the basic necessaries in an average car.
• No complimentary updates of Maps
• No Auto folding mirrors

curryzerox
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
6 forum posts Joined on 08-Mar-2016
A good switch from Japanese car  Posted on 01 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
After deciding between a Golf and a Jetta, decided to go with a Jetta because it can fit more family members and has a large boot space. The performance and fuel consumption is awesome, just as in reviews. Handling and interiors is inferior to the Golf. The Golf just has the full continental German package. Nevertheless, the Jetta would be a great car with its huge interiors, performance and competitive price compared to a Japanese sedan.

What I like
Turbo performance
Smooth gear transitioning
Great fuel consumption - my full tank can go up to 800km, highway 18-20km/l
Huge leg room for front and rear passengers
Many good storage spaces
Huge boot (probably the largest in its class)
New piano finish on steering wheel and between the doors

What I do not like
Rides may feel stiff
Handling not as agile as Golf (maybe cause its a sedan)
When touched by water, leather have white spots
Cheap plastic door interiors
No bluetooth interface which should be a basic!!
No Android auto and Apple CarPlay

Lovingwch
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-May-2013
So far so good  Posted on 07 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Own this car for 1 and half years, done 30K, so far no major problem. Hope the reliability keeps up.

What I like
DSG gives fast and smooth gear shifting.
Turbo add more power when in gear 2 onward.
Overtaking on the highway easy and fun.
Big boot space for family with baby.
Comfort seats and low noise.
Good FC, average 14-15 KM/L with daily driving (50% highway, 50% city)

What I do not like
Gear 1 slow compare to Golf.
Turing roll compare to Golf (because of Sedan).
for base model, 120 HP not enough.

nicklaus
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2016
Test Drive  Posted on 01 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Jetta Sportsline on 23 Sept 2016. Was impressed with the interior and drive. Booked the car but worried about the gearbox. So far anyone knows of any gearbox problems recently?

What I like
Price

What I do not like
Afraid of the gearbox issue

Erictay_82
1st Gear
2 reviews
20 points
50 forum posts Joined on 12-Sep-2010
Powerful car at its class  Posted on 30 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car last week. Powerful drive.
Plenty of torque available.
However the rear aircon seems weak.

Still have some doubt on the gearbox. Hope it's resolved

What I like
Paddle shift, powerful pickup
Huge boots
HID

What I do not like
Hand brake

Jjlimjohn
Clutched
2 reviews
8 points
22 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2016
Powerful and Fun  Posted on 20 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test-drove the car recently. First impression of the exterior is that it looks really earnest. Not a bad thing but difficult to wow anyone.

The interior feels "European" And upmarket.

The drive was really fun and you can really "Feel" The road with the steering. The car came to life with the sport mode. Overall, the drive was fantastic.

What I like
Great engine and transmission performance.
Refined drive.
Upmarket interior.
Massive boot space.
Reasonable safety features (airbags etc)

What I do not like
DSG gearbox could kaput anytime.
$11.5k for upgrade to highline.

JayLim_142151
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
3 forum posts Joined on 19-Jun-2015
Excellent Car!  Posted on 08 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got a brand new Jetta MK6 since June 2015.

Overall, it's an excellent car with few things to complain about, and they're mostly unimportant.

What I like
Good fuel consumption
Fast acceleration, sporty drive
Spacious and stylish interior
Quiet on the road
Rear aircon
Big boot
Excellent brake
Low body roll
Fast delivery of car (2 weeks)
Excellent price

What I do not like
Plasticky interior
No auto folding side mirrors upon car lock, have to turn the knob to fold them
Creaking sound from doors on uneven surface
Lack of built-in USB ports
Lack of gimmicky features (bluetooth, gps navigation, touch interface etc.)
Car judders slightly (at gear 2) when coming to a stop

Zhngmycar
1st Gear
9 reviews
57 points
100 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2010
Das Auto mexican Jetta  Posted on 14 Jul 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Try the 1.4 comfort & sports.
Basically all the model are roughly the same outlook with the massive boot.

The (trend line-comfort) model all comes with 16" Rim and small colorless interior User interface.

As the sport model comes with paddle shift, bigger GUI & mated with sirocco engine. Power isn't that much as the car feels quite heavy when accelerate. Did the same thing to the golf, it feels so different.

The different between the sport is around 30-40k different. COE is going down but AD just keep increasing the car base price. So it ended up increasing the car deprecation to another level.

The drive itself is quite comfortable, the power is just nice regardless on which trim. Just that the interior don't feel so exclusive comparing the sky high price selling from the AD.

Able to achieve a maximum of 600 km++ on average 50% Urban & 50% Highway on a 55L

What I like
- Massive huge boot
- looks like a bigger displacement car

What I do not like
- Problematic gear box and clutches
- Low resale level on high millage & multiple owners
- Many parts of the interior is plastics made
- After sales is poor
- 10% leg room for rear middle seats

shakleewei
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
8 forum posts Joined on 23-Jun-2015
A tigress lurks under the veil of the bonnet  Posted on 22 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I was driving a humble 1.6 Jap car for pass 3 years in Sg. Now have give a try to "VW". Just love it when first saw at the 2015 design especially the new rear tail light design and 17" Rim, (Sportline) with a cool paddle shifter on steering wheel.

Need used to it on acceleration paddle as TSI engine + DSG easily burst speed if acceleration paddle pressed more than one quarter in D mode. Things are getting more and more 'lusty' between me and the car after 2 weeks of driving. In S mode, TSI will just unleash her fully potential without hesitate under bonnet with low pitch exhaust roaring.

Steering wheel feel meaty maybe because equipped with 17" Rim. Not much body rolling in average speed corner, good stability, and most important is adaptive steering assist. Make you more confident in high speed drive in NS highway.

Notice that, as DSG has traditional manual gear box characteristic. It tend to pull high rpm in 1st gear when up slope approx 10~ 20deg and she will shift to 2nd gear once build up enough of speed. :D totally different from normal torque converter automatic transmission. (Make me recall conventional manual dry clutch car)

Cabin look classy, with new design steering wheel. Interior is solid and elegant. Exterior clean and neat look.

TSI engine capacity is just 1.4L, 122hp. However, she came with excellence torque, good suspension package, handling, braking, steering feedback. No doubt she bring a lot joy of driving. And this what we call "German Engineering"

What I like
-Like her interior design
-Steering wheel with paddle shifter
-Sound insulation better than my previous Jap Car
-Good acceleration due to high torque (1.4 TSI)
-Excellence steering feedback

What I do not like
-No Aux In or MP3 USB port
-No LED head light
-No LED rear light
-No Start-Stop Button

mindfighters
Clutched
1 reviews
6 points
1 forum posts Joined on 22-Jun-2015
Most stable car ever...  Posted on 22 Jun 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Comparing the previous car I have driven (Mitsubishi Lancer Ex, Nissan Sunny, Toyota Starlet), the handling of this car is just fantastic, especially the brake.

What I like
Braking System
Turbo

What I do not like
Nothing.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 4 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Volkswagen Jetta 4 stars - based on 55 reviews