Volvo XC40

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Volvo XC40 T4 R-Design (A)
29 Nov 2018  |  Volvo Reviews
Volvo has given the XC40 here a new trim line, which offers just about the same cool looks, but for much lesser money.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Jaguar E-PACE 2.0 First Edition vs Volvo XC40 T5 Momentum
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volvo XC40
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
6 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
2.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
3 out of 6 (50%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

6 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
petrolpump
Clutched
13 reviews
30 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2018
Not worth the price.  Posted on 02 Aug 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Nice car, decent ride but felt a little hollow as compared to its bigger siblings the XC60/90. Hate the fact that aircon controls are baked into touch screen and no direct physical buttons. Also, not nice was the price tag of 176k for a BASE model! Laughable. Go and test drive the car. Have fun. But I would NOT personally part with my money on this half chinese/swedish car especially, at that ridiculous price tag. Wearnes is getting over their head, to demand such funny price. OMV for the XC40 is only 24k and a Honda CR-V is at 28k and Honda is still much cheaper than the Volvo! That's comparing apples to apples.

As of 1 Aug 2019

Subaru Forester 105k
Mitsubishi Outlander 109k
Opel Grandland X 120k
Peugeot 3008 130k
Honda CRV 137k
Volvo XC40 176k... :P

I would ONLY consider this car if price tag was between 115-120k, not a cent more. Besides, Volvo falls under the Wearnes Automobile group makes me cringe even further.

My previous Land Rover gave me many problems which I believe a competent workshop could have solved but being under the Wearnes group the service I got from the workshop was simply, sub-standard to the very least. People are friendly but many service staff seems to know nuts about these conti cars. Friend whom have recently bought a Renault (also under Wearnes) has complaints after complaints not over the car but on the service of vehicle. Another one of my wife's friend owned a Jaguar (under Wearnes) sold it for a Mazda due to same reasons. Fix one problem and create another one, in her exact words. Wearnes need to up their game especially, when it comes to proper customer service and training like what Borneo/Kah Motor is doing if they want a slice of that pie.

Since Jan 2019 to June 2019 Volvo has sold approx 425 units of all cars vs Honda during same time period has sold over 7000 units. One must be doing something wrong and the other, something right. Go figure.

What I like
Thor design lights
exterior styling
transmission

What I do not like
all stated on review column above

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
118 reviews
280 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A more nimble and better drive baby SUV.  Posted on 07 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Hope its not too late to write this...

Tested this some weeks back for a friend deciding between XC 40 and XC 60 (which has no issue with budget).

Tried the T5 than T4 as T4 was heard quite under power for a Volvo car weight.

Being sharing the same 2.0L engine (248bhp in XC 40 vs 254bhp in XC 60) but the larger sibling seems to be having little more issue in the "Push" Of the car due to its size.

From the outside, its a smaller sibling of XC 60 with a better styling, better looks too. The "THOR" Lights are a norm to all Volvo now.

Inside is a typical high end continental car leather and details with the tablet mounted and flushed across the dashboard compared to others which juts out and seems like "Additional" Piece of equipment to me. Inside had high headroom and wider viewing span, compared to the sharpness in design that makes it smaller in GLA, QX30 and others in the same bandwidth.

Drive off was GREAT as sufficient torque was given to "Push" This little fellow ahead. Gear changes was quite quiet and smooth too. Changing to sports mode was no issue as it kicks in almost in seconds.

The nimbleness to maneuver this small SUV was a breeze with all the alerts in traffic for you, known to be safe as a Volvo.

A great to get if you are looking at a sizable SUV with great styling, gear changes, pickup and smooth drive, unless you need the slightly more people and boot space, then the next larger sibling, XC 60 is of your consideration and of course the max space, power and boot space consideration shall be none other than the eldest sibling namely XC 90.

Bottom line, Volvo offers 3 different taste of SUVs to your consideration from compact, mid and large to consider if pocket consideration is at you least.

What I like
Many gadgets close to XC 60
More nimble drive
Great styling

What I do not like
Price too steep at $180k (As at 7th Oct 2018)

ahbui8
2nd Gear
1 reviews
105 points
94 forum posts Joined on 13-Mar-2015
Low OMV with very high selling price  Posted on 21 Aug 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Don't even bother to test drive as Wearnes is selling this compact SUV with super high profit margin! Really don't understand why the OMV of this car can be so low! Currently even BMW warranty is 5yrs / 200k km and Audi warranty is 5yrs / unlimited mileage but Volvo Warranty only 3yrs / 100k mean Agent is not confident in Volvo reliability!!!

What I like
Very High Review Rating from Oversea

What I do not like
Selling price vs OMV of this car is way too ridiculous

Vincentfm
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
8 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Jan-2015
Proud to own the Volvo XC40 R design  Posted on 25 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Been attractive the Volvo XC40 exterior look doesn't stray away very far from the 40.1 concept model reveal in 2016.

Like the first look of this XC40 but fall in love after test drive.

What I like
Design looks fresh, spacious and comfortable.
The trim on R design is a bit more bling, driving a car that's not out on the road is always a novel experience.
Thor's hammer led daytime running lights is an eye catching.
It is a comfortable and stylish compact SUV that's big on innovation and expressive design, ingenious storage and smart technology, it's built for city life.
It come with a punchy, refined engine, strong infotainment system, 12'' touch screen panel, clever and soft interior packaging, nice ambient interior and exterior lightings.
Top safety, good sound acoustics (no wind noise on highway) and technical kits.
Sound system comes with Harman Kardon equips with air sub woofer.
It looks noticeably more funky and youthful than its larger SUV stablemates.
Uplevel T5 engine with AWD and 248hp boast a quick steering (3 levels of steering adjustable) and lively acceleration.
Smartphone integration with clear reception of Bluetooth connectivity and wireless phone charger.
If you love this baby, go for test drive and feel it yourself as compare the different with Japanese SUV crossover.
As for fuel consumption it is reasonable, it all depend on individual driver and it own driving habit.

What I do not like
Not at this moment.

Naughty9795
2nd Gear
1 reviews
104 points
118 forum posts Joined on 23-Sep-2007
Doesn't feel like a conti  Posted on 15 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Being driving the R design for a while. It feels more like driving a Jap. Steering is extremely light, interiors are hard plastics.
Pick up is good but engine and exhaust note is boring.

What I like
Good pick up.

What I do not like
Hard plastic interiors. Most of the functions are control by the LCD screen, how happen if the LCD screen failed?
It also doesn't give you "safe" feeling when driving as we expect from a conti.

chrisleong67
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
13 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Sep-2015
Volvo XC 40 European Car Of The Year 2018  Posted on 06 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The XC 40 is probably the best compact SUV you can buy today. It’s interior and exterior are both absolutely attention grabbing. Is a AWD SUV on a powerful 250 hp turbo charge engine and with Polestar engine chip up is very engaging to drive. Seats are very comfortable - what you will expect in a Volvo. 0 to 100 in 6.3 Seconds will surely impress most Drivers. Ride comfort on the 18 inch tires is very good and quiet and not much body roll. The boot is very big for this class of SUV - good for families. The R Design Trim is very nice if you can afford to spend an extra 20k but the mementum trim should be good enough for most. Is not difficult to see why the XC 40 won the 2018 European Car of The year award. The XC 40 is definitely a front runner if you are looking for a compact SUV.

What I like
Powerful engine with Polestar Chip Up
Ride comfort
AWD
Big boot
Very nice interior with a impressive infortainment system
5 years free servicing
Attention to details eg removable trash bin, huge door compartment for storage - can put your hangbag / laptop in the door storage compartment , hooks for your shopping bags in the boot and front passenger seat. Clever boot floor design to prevent your shopping bags from moving around and even storage area for the boot cover when not in use
Stylish exterior with 2 tone body color
Reliable local agent - Wearnes this is based on my experience with them

What I do not like
3 years warranty. Should be 5 years warranty
Reverse camera is not standard unless is the R Design trim
No fog lights unless in the R Design Trim
No blind spot warning unless is in the R design trim - safety features should be standard in all Volvo

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Volvo XC40 3.5 stars - based on 6 reviews