Viewed : 1,059 times

Recommended Articles

The 3 Series will return to Britain's premier motor racing series this year, with BMW confirming it is to bring its best-selling model worldwide back to BTCC.

05 Mar 2019 | International News : Germany

A prolific winner virtually from the outset, the story of the BMW 3 Series in the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is a long and distinguished one, yielding five Drivers' titles and two Manufacturers' crowns between 1988 and 2009, from Frank Sytner's success with the M3 to Colin Turkington's triumph with the 320Si E90.

In-between, there were back-to-back championships for Will Hoy (1991), Tim Harvey (1992) and Joachim Winkelhock (1993).

The 3 Series was superseded by the 125i M Sport in 2013; since then, BMW has clinched two further Drivers' trophies (both with Turkington - in 2014 and 2018), three more Manufacturers' laurels and Teams' honours in each of the last three seasons. Now, the class-leading 3 Series is back, with a refreshed driver lineup for Team BMW and designs on future glory.
  • Email

You may also like

1-10 of 20