Viewed : 674 times

The 2022 Singapore GP proved to be a wet and highly eventful affair, with Sergio Perez holding off Charles Leclerc to take the chequered flag.

03 Oct 2022 | Local News : Singapore

The return of the Formula One Singapore Grand Prix proved to be a highly eventful affair. 

With heavy showers through the evening, race start was pushed back an hour as staff scrambled to dry the track to allow the race to commence. Drivers and fans alike perservered through the delay to finally get the race started at 9:05pm, with all the cars starting on intermediate tyres. 

After a two year hiatus, the Singapore GP, 'home of the night race', was finally back! 
As the lights went out, Red Bull's Sergio Perez got off to a fantastic start, with exceptional acceleration in the second phase to leapfrog pole-sitter Charles Leclerc. Red Bull teammate Max Verstappen, however, struggled off the line, falling from P8 to P12 by the time the cars reached Turn 1. 

As the drivers continued to negotiate the slippery conditions, it was no surprise that numerous safety cars (both actual and virtual) would be deployed, continuing the trend in Singapore. The first was on Lap 8, after an incident between Latifi and Zhou. A virtual safety car was also deployed on Lap 20 when an engine failure unfortunately brought Fernando Alonso's race to an end. This also marked the point when drivers began venturing onto slick tyres, with Mercedes' George Russell being the first to do so. 

A wet and incident-filled race saw multiple safety cars, but Perez prevailed to take the chequered flag
With track conditions getting drier, more drivers switched to slicks, and lap times tumbled. More incidents were to be had - attempts to overtake off the dry racing line often resulted in cars going off track, and dropping places. A total of six drivers retired from the race. 

With DRS only activated on lap 43, Leclerc made a mighty push to catch the leading Perez. The lap counter had also switched over to a countdown timer, as the race would conclude by the two hour time limit rather than the full race distance.

However, Perez managed to fend off the mighty challenge to take the chequered flag, scoring a decisive victory at the 2022 Singapore GP. Ferrari's Carlos Sainz crossed the finish line to round out the podium positions. Championship leader Verstappen pushed throughout, but could only finish seventh. 

Position Driver Team Time
1 Sergio Perez Red Bull 2:02:15.238
2 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +7.595s
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +15.305s
4 Lando Norris McLaren +26.133s
5 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren +58.282s
6 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +61.330s
7 Max Verstappen Red Bull +63.825s
8 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin +65.032s
9 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +66.515s
10 Pierre Gasly Alpha Tauri +74.576s
11 Valtteri Bottas Alpha Romeo +93.844s
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas +97.610s
13 Mick Schumacher Haas +1 lap
14 George Russell Mercedes +2 laps
NC Yuki Tsunoda Alpha Tauri DNF
NC Esteban Ocon Alpine DNF
NC Alexander Albon Williams DNF
NC Fernando Alonso Alpine DNF
NC Nicholas Latifi Williams DNF
NC Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo DNF

You may also like

1-10 of 20    

Tags :  

formula 1  f1  singapore gp  race  f1 singapore  race  race results