Viewed : 3,284 times

Recommended Articles

The Volkswagen Polo has been awarded the 2010 World Car Of The Year Award at the New York Motor Show, following up with its European Car Of The Year award

06 Apr 2010 | International News : Germany

The Polo beat out two other finalists, the Mercedes-Benz E-Class and Toyota Prius, to win the award. 30 vehicles were initially nominated, and the shortlist was subsequently narrowed down to the three cars. The Polo had already picked up the European Car Of The Year award last year.

To be considered for the award, a vehicle had to be in production and sold on at least two different continents in 2009. At least 500 units of each nominated vehicle had to be produced in 2009 to qualify. The award is voted on by a jury of 59 automotive experts from around the world, and previous winners included the Volkswagen Golf, Mazda2, Lexus LS460, BMW 3-Series, and Audi A6.

"Holding its own in the most competitive market segment, the all-new Polo is one of VW's star performers," a representative of the jury said in a press release. "Draped in head-turning stylish curves, the Polo is certainly one of the classiest small VWs ever built. It's also safe, generating a maximum five-star Euro NCAP crash-test rating. Behind the wheel, the Polo demonstrates mature manners and boasts a superb driving position that's adjustable and, in common with the latest Golf, all the controls are well weighted and precise. The Polo is just one brilliant supermini."

You may also like

1-10 of 20