All Categories
reset

Related Categories

Featured Products


spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Shell Helix Ultra 5W40
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
10 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Features
3.5/5 Performance
3/5
spacer
Design
3.5/5 Price
3/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

10 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Kombahbao
1st Gear
7 reviews
23 points
60 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2012
There are better products out there  Posted on 26 Jul 2017
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 2/5 Performance 2/5
Design 2/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Honda Jazz

Review
Was introduced to this as it was Kah Motor's standard product.

So so performance. Not that great pick up. Engine didn't sound that smooth. Overall average.

Tried other products after going to new workshops and I have to say that Shell's EO pales in comparison to the other products out there.

Go try other EO. There are many that are much better.

What I like
Nothing much. Only the "branding" and some basic assurance that it's a decent oil cause its from Shell.

What I do not like
Average performance. Not worth it. Your engine deserves better.

Badieboy
1st Gear
12 reviews
58 points
46 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Average engine oil  Posted on 18 Aug 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 3/5
Design 3/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Honda Jazz

Review
This is the default engine oil for many brands of cars when going for servicing, including my previous Honda Jazz. Therefore it must be a reliable oil. Works okay for my Jazz.

What I like
Normal oil, normal price.

What I do not like
Nothing in particular. But not the smoothest.

Kingkong
5th Gear
6 reviews
1,938 points
1140 forum posts Joined on 12-Jun-2006
New formulation engine oil  Posted on 02 Aug 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Toyota Corolla

Review
First time on this new formulation.

First impression is that the engine seems to be noisier compared to the cheaper brands I've been using so far. Thought it could be just another oil in the market of similar grade, until I needed a quick start at the turn of green light. Immediately noticed the smoothness during the pick up. That's a great feature, as I do occasionally ram the car a bit. Hehe.

The price may cause potential want-to-give-it-a-try customers to shun away from it though.

What I like
Smooth pick up.

What I do not like
Noisier engine.

Ladykillerz
4th Gear
8 reviews
586 points
4613 forum posts Joined on 23-May-2009
Marketing Wins  Posted on 02 Aug 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 1/5
Design 3/5 Price 1/5
spacer

I installed this on
Mitsubishi Lancer

Review
I have been driving for many years and tried many different brands of engine oil. Let's go straight to the point. By putting aside all the advertisement and marketing strategy in Singapore market, this engine oil will not sell for drivers who are sensitive to what is inside your car's engine.

I try to put it in a positive way. There are many other brands which are far better than this engine oil, including those lowly marketed brands in Singapore. :)

What I like
The bottle looks nice and the advertisement is all around the island. Perhaps, good marketing strategy in Singapore.

What I do not like
Basically, everything till the last drop & the worst engine oil so far for my case.
Noisy engine, it wins. Very poor engine performance, it wins.
What else can I conclude?
Note that I don't hate Shell, it is purely based on own experience.

Jasongcp
3rd Gear
9 reviews
465 points
151 forum posts Joined on 03-Oct-2012
Obvious difference before and after  Posted on 12 Jun 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Toyota Rav4

Review
I was very impressed at how the SHELL Helix Ultra 5W-40 perform on my car. I was around 7000km in mileage when I decided to go ahead with the change due to an upcoming long trip.

The first engine crank already impressed me as it is significantly quieter and vibration of my engine bay seems lesser.

What I like
quiet engine
smooth acceleration
less engine vibration

What I do not like
None

Car_man
2nd Gear
5 reviews
180 points
184 forum posts Joined on 19-Nov-2005
Smooth engine oil  Posted on 07 Jun 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

I installed this on
Honda Stream

Review
Tested on the Shell Helix for 500km. Cant't say it the best but overall not bad.engine is smoother and quieter. Mileage wise is almost the same as all other brand. Acceleration need to push hard to move off.

What I like
Price is good, quality not bad

What I do not like
Engine need to work hard during gear change

Furrynadz
5th Gear
6 reviews
1,666 points
6560 forum posts Joined on 01-Mar-2005
decent oil...  Posted on 03 Jun 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 3/5 Performance 2/5
Design 3/5 Price 2/5
spacer

I installed this on
Volkswagen Passat

Review
pretty good all rounder oil, but stay away if u want power/fc

good for bread n butter jap car..for conti...try other brand, best stick to what ur mfg-er rcommend

What I like
pretty quiet and smooth, proven brand

What I do not like
high fc after using, loss of power

FourZero
Hypersonic
7 reviews
113,969 points
3223 forum posts Joined on 08-Apr-2014
Great Smooth Engine Oil  Posted on 01 Jun 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 4/5
Design 4/5 Price 3/5
spacer

I installed this on
Audi A3

Review
Had a oil change to Shell Helix and was a great smooth feeling after the change. Can feel the great difference once u step on the gas. 😊

On the gas it feels like it just wants to go on and on 😄😄😄

What I like
Smooth accelaration and engine sounds so masculine

What I do not like
Not at the moment.

Limpeh23
2nd Gear
8 reviews
142 points
201 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2011
Very Good Engine Oil  Posted on 02 May 2014
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 5/5 Performance 5/5
Design 5/5 Price 5/5
spacer

I installed this on
Toyota Corolla

Review
Was a bit sceptical about using this at first because it seems to have many negative reviews in the forum. However, my workshop recommended it to me and I gave it a try. Have been using it regularly for the last 2 years and I must say, my engine is still running very smoothly with decent power and responsiveness. I believe it does a good job of protecting the engine internals as well and I would certainly recommend it to anybody looking for a good engine oil to use.

What I like
Smooth and responsive engine

What I do not like
NIL

Divers
2nd Gear
20 reviews
220 points
305 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good Fuel Consumption  Posted on 26 Jun 2013
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Features 4/5 Performance 3/5
Design 4/5 Price 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a good oil. Oil consumption is good, very quite engine and smooth. It almost you cannot hear anything when travelling (80km/p to 90km/h).

However, if you want power. You may want to skip this.

Generally, a recommended oil for bread and butter car.

What I like
Good FC and quiet engine + smoothness.

What I do not like
No power. Not very responsive.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page

Recommended for you

1-6 of 14