Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Feb 2012
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Geely CK
10 Oct 2008  |  Geely Reviews
The Geely might be another car from China, but at least it has an honourable amount of originality and doesn't pretend to be something that it isn't.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Geely CK
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
14 Reviewers
2.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
2/5 Reliability
2.5/5
spacer
Handling
2.5/5 Features
2.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
2/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
2/5
8 out of 14 (57.1%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

14 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Brightstar2211
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2010
Cheap and good  Posted on 27 Apr 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I drove a Geely CK 1.5L it is quite good and only sometimes it has a slight problems. The exterior looks quite okay... But the interior looks abit cheap as it is made out of plastic and the seating position in abit weird...

What I like
Engine from Toyota.
Cheap transport for getting you from point A to point B.

What I do not like
Now I do not know where to go for my car maintenance as Geely had closed down and I have some problems with my Geely... Anyone can tell me where to go for my Geely car maintenance? Normal workshops do not repair China made cars...
My email is brightstar2211@yahoo.com.sg

P0318693
Premium User P0318693
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2009
Disappointed!  Posted on 22 Aug 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Very disappointed with this car, I have owned a Geely Ck for a year, still driving it, my Car Plate Number is SJF5968A, just in case there are people saying that I'm just another competitor that trying to spoil Geely's reputation --> I'm not!

For the past one year, these are the problems I have encountered:
1.Left Head Light Misalignment (too high)
2.Spongy Brakes (Air inside brake system)
3.Engine Overheat (During run in period)
4.GearBox Sensing cable leak transmission oil (gasket broke)
5.Fan belt broke while half way driving on the road (I drove to work and suddenly heard a loud 'pop' sound, stop by the road side to check engine, realized fan belt for aircon compressor broke away. Aircon is dead then)
6.Speedometer and Odometer failed (on e very day collect car with happy mood, drove to Tampines Caltex to fill up tank. Hit onto odometer reset button which in turns toast e microchip for speedometer.)
7.Parking sensor failed ( No more 'beep beep beeeeeppp liaoz, after a year! Warranty for parking sensor is only a year.)
8.Rear left power window unable to wind up but can wind down (problem only on its own door control, if use master control at driver seat then its okay)
9.Rear right door central lock failed
10.Auto Gearbox leak transmission oil.

I have went back to Geely workshop countless times for warranty claim, got so fed up with the long waiting time (booking needs at least a month!) that I have decided to go Private workshop for servicing.

End up one day my car gave me e last 3 defects that is shown on the above list and I have to go back Geely workshop again!

Worst news of all is the Supervisor told me that my warranty has nearly void as I did not come for servicing previously and i need to do a 20K servicing package with them for $220 in order to bring back warranty validity.

My advice: Think carefully before buying a China Car, the warranty is honored but with the expense of your car keep on failing.

Waste of time to keep on visiting Geely workshop for warranty claims.

What I like
Things I like:
1. Exterior design, personally feels that it looks nice.
2. Really cheap price, i bought it at $39k with COE value of $15700, not too bad..
3. Really cheap insurance --> $980 for 1st party insurance at my age of 22 years old. (But! Only for the first year, take note!!)
4. Fuel consumption is acceptable, i got 12 km/l even with my heavy footed driving style.
5. The interesting feature of able to wind up all windows using the remote control.
6. Cheap maintenance cost ( Provided you did the servicing at Private workshop, about $100)

What I do not like
Really far too much problems within a year of ownership. I wasted lots of time and effort just on the warranty claims alone.

Sometimes I do wonder if other Geely owners had the same experience.

Do email me to share alone --> p0318693@yahoo.com.sg

Topshopgirl
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Jun-2009
My CK Auto  Posted on 16 Aug 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I buy a CK auto 2 months ago, considered the car because i'm a new driver, don't want to put too much to buy a car, and also insurance is very high, so just want buy a car below 1600cc.
For me, my point is the money and engine, for value for money i think its very good, engine from toyota vios, i take the engine picture and compared it with toyota, then it can proved.

What I like
Good price, good engine, outside looked nice, and after service is good, my sales girl is quite nice person, so i feel good generally.

What I do not like
Inside i feel not very nice, the plastic quality is not high class, don't have too much entertainment features

Mansteam
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Very happy to own Geely CK 1.5 manual  Posted on 12 May 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought this weekend car in Oct 2007, test its performance only after the compulsory 1000km engine running in. (Any type of engine will spoil if you dont obey the running in procedure. Read your car manual)

The test - Full load with 4 big-size passengers and the boots are fully filled then I drove around and tried several situations in Singapore. With slight press on accelerator pedal, I’ve no problem driving 90-110kmh on expressways, 60-80kmh on most of main roads. And the engine never stall when I tried several times starting off from mid upslope. And overtaking other cars is just a slight more press on the accelerator pedal. Just like all other cars.

I drove it many times in JB even during the busy traffic at the checkpoints. Few months back, I drove it for 2 hours non-stop to Kota Tinggi (single lane main road) and 3 hours to Malacca (double lane highway). On the highway, I’ve tried several times getting the needle constantly pointing at 130km/h but of course I had to worry about the speed trap camera.

I just wouldn’t want to spend much on cars and that’s the reason of choosing a Geely. Although in the internet there are some bad comments about the car but I believe that every individual cars has its own lackings. I have 11 years of driving experience and had driven many types of vehicles, motorcycle to cars to van to big lorry, brands, new and old. I know what is comfortable and what is powerful.

I’m so happy to drive around in the Geely sporty looks.

What I like
1. Pay much cheaper but get more/less the same like other cars
2. I’ll lost lesser than other cars
3. Spacious Cabin and Legroom
4. Spacious Rear boot
5. Features like motorized all-4 windows, individual cabin-lights for each seats
6. Front and side look like C-Class Merz but with additional sporty Fog light
7. Rear look a bit like Volvo
8. Simple technology and engine so cheaper maintenance cost, compare to VVTI which if once spoil you might as well change another car.
9. Toyota engine can be service/repair at most of workshop in Singapore and Malaysia

What I do not like
1. Can’t put many things on the Dashboard like other drivers displaying figuring/toys
2. Feet blower is from the side
3. Booking for a servicing at the agent, waiting time at least a month. I guess many Singaporean has started to buy Geely.

Diq
Diq
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Jan-2009
Good enough for 1 of the most affordable cars in S'pore!  Posted on 09 May 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
So what if it is made in China? It does the job.. It's practical and affordable. Its as cheap as owning a bike.
Wat made me decide on the car is wen i reached the showroom, I realised how reliable it is, and for that price, I guess its really good!
Plus there's a really cute salesgirl to attend to you!
I have yet to buy this car but once i get my licence, I definately will!

What I like
Exterior is quite nice.
Affordable.
The Cute salesgirl, lol.

What I do not like
Not many features, but what do u expect for that price? Just add in some after market features of your own!

Pam1969
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Consider ONLY when you REALLY need the space  Posted on 16 Nov 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Someone bought it despite warnings from most of us earlier this year. Engine and electrical faults heard almost every month. The owner told me that handling is 'ok' lah, except steering not too sharp. Fuel consumption: Dealer told her easily 14km/liter, she has only been making 10-12.

I sat in her Geely once and felt that the auto transmission is really rough and sound insulation is bad (for a saloon car) Leg room is not bad and aircon is ok.

It gives abundance of space at low cost, but then you will not wish to put your colleagues/customers/family members in this poorly built car.

Resale value: buying at 30+k last year, now worth 20+k. Buy low, sell even lower.

What I like
1. Price
2. Legroom
3. Rear boot space
4. High spec. (got 2 airbags)

What I do not like
1. Poor build everywhere (interior, engine, transmission, insulation, electricals...)
2. Poor resale value
3. Fuel consumption far from what dealer claimed

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Good on FC, Pricing but no for power  Posted on 05 Nov 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 1/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

What I like
Price and fuel consumption

What I do not like
Defect parts. Underpower engine. Geely should use modern VVTI Totoya engine with more HP and torque for this kind of chassis

GGSESP
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Lousy car  Posted on 08 Oct 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Bought the luxury model as the styling is better compared to Chery a168.

Alas, thing started to fall apart though are minor yet annoying e.g:
water sip through when i send the car for car wash and the sensor door light was soaked and auto unlock after you lock the car.

Engine overheating and radiator fluid flushed out - found the radiator cap is leaking.

Windscreen rubber creating marks, replace once for free. Second time occur, service centre ask me to pay.

Sold the car a year later to car dealer at a lost but happy to get rid of it :-)

What I like
External styling
Body shape
Flexible bumper
Value for money

What I do not like
Unable to rev - loud sound no power. Felt like the car want to explode though i only run at 80 km/h

DrakeTan21
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Excellent Service, And Fast Delivery  Posted on 27 Aug 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I order the Geely CK in June, and I promptly got it in the same month! Really happy with the speed. Salesman was polite and thoughtful.

Impressions of this car up to now is not bad. At least fuel consumption is better than my previous COE Nissan Sunny.

Handling is almost the same, but engine is lacking in a little power. I guess thats the trade-off for better fuel economy. Steering is super light, so very easy to drive.

Transmission is abit jerky, but still bearable. Hope it does not get worse. But anyway, I'm covered by warranty.

Its a point A to B car for me, so I do not expect much.

What I like
Fast delivery of car
Good fuel economy
Reasonable price
Nice exterior
Cheap insurance ($600+ per year)

What I do not like
Transmission is jerky
Engine can do with more power

Superboi
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Worth to buy Budget Car  Posted on 27 Aug 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Price for this vehicle is really competitive. I was choosing between a Korean or a China car. Korean cars are pretty much more expensive, and so I chose the Geely CK.

Looks good, and handles well. The engine is fairly powerful, and can easily out-run smaller Korean cars like the Getz and Aveo. Fuel economy is also good. I clocked about 12km/L.

What I like
Spacious interior
Suspension is not too hard, so ride is comfortable
Engine is not bad
Fuel economy is good
Handling is good as the C.G is low

What I do not like
Wipers are flimsy
Cheap plastic feel in the cabin

Chong547
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Worth to buy in terms of economical and convenience  Posted on 26 Apr 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

What I like
Reliable, have been used for two years plus without having any problem.
Driven continuously 500km to Malaysia without stopping yet everything fine.

What I do not like
Poor sound proof.

SGCMWinson
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
I owned this geely ck 1.5  Posted on 15 Feb 2008
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The engine become a bit noisey when air-con kick in, but the consumption of fuel is ok

If you are looking for car that fly and go in fast speed, please don't get this car ...

But if you are using it for transportation from point A to point B, just for the convenience, and saved money on fuel, this car is recommended !

RomanGod
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
I rather buy a COE corolla  Posted on 05 Feb 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I've personally test driven a Geely 1.5 and to my shock i found my friend's 16 year old toyota corolla much more smoother and has a better handling, even the engine of the 16 year old corolla is slightly less noiser when the aircon is switched on, one of the worst part is the reason for my friend buying a new car is the warranty, but he is unable to get the parts for his geely cause the agent said they need to indent, but after 4 months he still hasn't got his replacement parts, in the end i bought a 1991 corolla at a much cheaper price, but the fuel consumption and overall driving is much better, i did some replacement of wear & tear which includes changing of, radiator, engine mounting, aircon compressor & water pump which cost me less than $300. the parts is so easily found, and my car is now perfect, i cant wait 4 months or more for parts as im in the sales industry, i need to use the car very frequently, i would advice all car seeker out there to get a new jap/korea car, if not get a coe toyota, china made cars still has a long long way to go.....

BOY_MIC
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
CK 1.5 Beware  Posted on 25 Jan 2008
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Hi to all, Well i own this crap car. I bought it in 10/2007. To my surprise the car in the showroom was good, after speaking to sales staff, it looked econmical.
After buying it. gosh my dreams crashed. I am not complaining, but telling you the facts. When it rains, water seeps in thru the Front windows (both driver and passenger) The car sales Broucher says they use a 4 speed auto gear box. BUT NO IT IS A 3 SPEED AUTO G/BOX. Trust me! your ride comfort is gone out of the window. The engine sounds like a Bedford lorry only a bit smoother. When the A/c compressor kicks in, the engine will rattle. The car will vibrate like a 10yr old car. The exact fuel consumption is 498km-50liters of petrol. If you seldom use aircon, you can get 520km. My testing with a empty tank -(pumped 51 liters) my mileage 542KM average speed 80km/hr. I drove without air con and till the car stalled (no petrol).
The engine is a Toyota AE101 engine. But the gear box is China made. The compressor is also China made. (Too big for the Engine.) When i went to the agent and asked them to tune my engine as it rattles when the compressor kicks in- TO MY SUPRISE THEY SAID, SORRY WE CAN'T DO ANYTHING AS IT IS COMMON. Well done geely, you will go far with this
I have met a few Geely CK 1.5 Drivers, they too face this problem. So i guess my car alone couldn't be a 1 in a 1000 car with specific problem. Even my wife won't get into the car.
So to all future geely car owner's- think carefully before you buy. Being economy isn't everything. There are better cars in the market with better fuel consumption and comfort driving. I have driven a few. I am from the Automobile Industry.
Further more i tried to sell my car- but the resale value is very bad. TRUST ME on this.
If you people need any clarification pls e-mail me at rk_fremantle@yahoo.com.sg

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Geely CK
2.5 stars - based on 14 reviews