Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Perodua Myvi 1.3 EZi (A)
12 Oct 2012  |  Perodua Reviews
Manufactured by Malaysian carmaker Perodua since 2005, the Myvi is surprisingly well-equipped. But will car buyers have this hatch under their radar?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Perodua Myvi
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
13 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
10 out of 13 (76.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

13 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Jamesc
Premium User Jamesc
2Fast2Furious
5 reviews
25,185 points
7907 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2007
A practical and easy to maintain car  Posted on 23 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a very practical and easy to drive car. The 1.3 litre engine pulls well and is good for city driving. Could do with a bit more power for highway driving but more than adequate for city driving.

The face lift version is more stylish with more curves than the old boxy version. Handling is fair for such a short wheel base car and ride is reasonable comfy.

Parts are easy to find north of the border and servicing is easy with many work shops familiar with maintaining this car.

The rear space is very good but the boot is small.

What I like
Easy to park because its a very compact car. Rear passengers will appreciate the good leg and headroom.

Parts are easy to find and servicing and maintenance cost is very reasonable.

Driving this car is very relaxed as controls are light and easy

What I do not like
Boot space could be better and a bit more power of highway driving would not be missed.

FiatMan
Neutral Newbie
22 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2010
Test Drive IT  Posted on 19 Sep 2012
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
When my Brother in law purchase this vehicle in Malaysia he ask me to drive it and compare to his previous generation. Drove it was Comfortable, Nice and Good Quality.

What I like
Great Performance

What I do not like
Nothing

DCooper
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Mar-2011
Budget car, but NOT for new drivers  Posted on 08 Mar 2011
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
A car that lacks greatly in car safety department. It does not meet the standards of EuroNCap crash rating, not even a star. This is a typical bread and butter car so there's nothing you can expect out of this car. Bottom-line is it is made of cheap materials making it affordable but compromises on safety.

I bought this 1.3A Myvi in 2009, @ard $43K. This is my secondary car, i used it primarily for driving between the work sites everyday, but i drive home in my VW Tiguan.

The car does not come with powerful Toyota engine but weigh a lot less than most cars in the 1.3-1.4 class, in fact too light for good handling. Again all these is a compromise for good fuel economy.

The bodyroll you get from this car is horrible, i hate to do fast bends with it, because rear passenger will complain a lot, especially my engineers. The ride is pretty bumpy, leather seating doesn't make much of a diff either. It has adequate leg room, but lacking in shoulder, so basically is comfortable for 4 persons only. Most of us are of an average 1.75m tall 65kg built men.

I do not recommend this car for long journeys, the leather seatings are not bad, but not too comfortable either. It is a car you wish to spend as little time in it, the road noise can be too stressing for long journeys. One of my engineer's Hyundai Matrix is an older car but has better sound proofing.

I do not know how reliable this car can be, because mine starts to show some wear and tear. I did the usual maintenance regularly, and i have only done 12,000km. The doors now rattles when the car idles. However, i think the door wasn't well design to fit well. I've to slam the door hard just to close it when i bought it 2yrs ago. It can get irritating whenever it refuses to close.

My suggestion, if you really wanna buy it because it has a Toyota engine, pay more to get a Toyota Yaris, especially if this is your first ever car. Perhaps get a Korean, they are getting better than Japanese in recent times.

Myvi is cheap to buy, yet not necessarily worth to own especially COE is on the rise.

What I like
It is cheap.
Small enough to park easily.
Fuel Economy is good.

What I do not like
Failed Euro NCap Crash standard.
Rubbish interior quality
Bad door fittings.
Noisy cabin.
Too much bodyroll when cornering.
No iPhone sync to car stereo

Hrndri
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Oct-2010
A car that meets your basic needs.  Posted on 17 Oct 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
While many are skeptical or have negative perception of Malaysian made cars, Myvi will certainly prove wrong to many. This is one car that will surprise you and meet your basic needs. I am just sharing with you my personal experience. I changed the original seats to leather seats and it looks perfectly good. Thanks to Xavier who relentlessly giving good customer service.

When I told my friends that I bought Myvi, many actually exclaimed 'Huh?', "Why you buy that car?", "Why never buy XXX?" and many other skeptical remarks.

After they have seen my car, sat in my car, and drove my car, this is what they said:
1. "Wow, the interior is so spacious. Better than some Korean made cars."
2. "I love this car, the engine is powerful"
3. "Cool, easy and smooth driving experience"
4. "Very sleek, definitely my choice of car as soon as I passed my driving license".
5. "You've made a good choice buying this car. Impressive."

What I like
Interior space.
Smooth engine, smooth driving experience.

What I do not like
Well, for basic needs to move from point A to point B, I have no complaints.

EUGENE_LIM
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Sep-2010
Economical Car with Good Customer Service BUT...  Posted on 27 Sep 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Considered a few car model/brand and decided on getting a Myvi (even though it's a Malaysia brand).

Good fuel consumption (depend on how you step your accelerator), spacious, low maintenace and smooth driving/handling so far. A good Point A to B car. The price quite dependent on COE so not much comment.

Must comment on their salesman, Joseph, who is very patient when attending/explaning the details of their different models of cars. Good customer services and prompt in updating us with the COE results. Even after sales, he is always prompt and there for us when we have any queries regards to cars ownership (since this is my first time owning a car). Keep up the good work and services!

Of course, there will always be some down side. Just bought my Myvi for less than 1 month and the supposed to be leather covering on the car doors came dropping off and causing the inconvi of going back their office for Glueing which makes me car-less for 3-4 days... haiz... the initial leather covering (took 1-2weeks to do) then now 3-4days of waiting. don't know what will be next dropping off from the car.

What I like
Fuel Consumption, Spacious and Good Customer Service.
Overall a good and economical car.

What I do not like
Better to find your own car shop to do the leather (not leather anyway) seats and interior covering... *disappointed*

Mamil_angelo
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
1 forum posts Joined on 21-Aug-2010
Test drive  Posted on 21 Aug 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
At first i was not into malaysian car that much but after yesterday i was into it. Especially Myvi. The comfort is there and the engine run smoothly. And i found out the engine they use is from toyota engine. Good Petrol consumption and good for economical car. For those who looking for economical car i advise you try Myvi. I also manage to drove around for awhile. And i really enjoy driving the car.

What I like
the design and the engine.

What I do not like
I found out that there is no airbag. quite dangerous if accident. but i believe this thing can be done

Good-Carbuyer
NOS-ed
1 reviews
12,186 points
16110 forum posts Joined on 31-Jul-2010
Its got 1.3L engine that performed like 1.4L  Posted on 15 Aug 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
On par with some similar Continental hatchbacks:-
Brakes, spacious cabin, fuel consumption, minimum servicing required,

What I like
Hatchback means more space within carpark lot for easier parking
Higher sitting level provide better visibility for car parking
Japanese model known to be more reliable
Small wheel/tire size means fuel saving and less tedious wheel mounting/dismounting
Suitable for DIY servicing

What I do not like
Lack of lumbar support (non-adjustable) for long distances driving
Noisy like having worn shock-absorbers, when road surface uneven (to seek AD advice/assistance)
Occassional wheels spin noticed during some acceleration
Obstructive sized pillar at offside when turning right
Prefer standard size spare tyre for long distances driving

Rahmataqil
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Aug-2009
Economical and reliable car  Posted on 01 Aug 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I had just bought my MYVI EZ(A) car last week. It had been a long time waiting for this stylish MYVI car from Malaysia Perodua Production, to be on sale in Singapore.
Take a Good Look at “MyVi” 2009 model. You will definitely fall in LOVE with HER!
The New Perodua 2009 “MyVi” will definitely be a success!

What I like

THEME: Modern, Futuristic, Young, Vibrant, Lovely, Sporty, Safe, and yet very affordable & Economical!
DESIGN: This model shows that Perodua is striving to modernize the car design’s and is entering into the dimension of futuristic automobile concept.
SAFETY: This model also significantly illustrated that Perodua has really improved and upgraded the safety standard of Perodua’s car, especially on the ABS and Air Bag features.
SIZE: The size of this car offers more spacious interior compartment.
QUALITY: This model is energized with the powerful DVVT engine which will deliver power and will also achieve fuel economy.
PRICE: The price tag on the car is well priced within the budget concept. So, she is considered as being Reasonably Priced taking into consideration Her entire outlook and features provided.

What I do not like
Just had a 1st hand on this model, at present had not identify any.

Mustang
4th Gear
33 reviews
593 points
708 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2005
Almost perfect if not for the pricing.  Posted on 30 Jun 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Borrow my cousin one when he gone to UK for holidays last mth. Drove in from Eunos to JB through and flow. Surprised by the FC almost the same as the new Proton Saga. Comfort wise is good for 1.3. Quality wise is so-so. The DVVT really respond well.

What I like
The DVVT response, Roomy interior, Cute car.

What I do not like
Pricing! Boot space is a no for me, that's why i chose Saga over this plus more cheaper. Perodua must slash the price to 40K if they're to survive in SG or there's another alternative like Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Sirion!

Ninjaturtle
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Myvi not the best selling car in MY for nothing  Posted on 07 Mar 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Myvi was finally launch after delaying for so long due to the Sirion in Singapore. i drove the Myvi in malaysia b4, not too much complains abt it. smooth acceleration, more spacious and the best thing is still tons of accessories in malaysia and its still cheap to maintain it. Heard that the rear boot hydraulic lever spoilt easily, yet to confirm if it is true

What I like
-spacious interior
-up to date design
-very reliable
-cheap to maintain
-tons of accessories in Malaysia

What I do not like
The Singapore Myvi is priced too EX!
$43900 for an auto 1.3? Might as well get a Sirion 1.5 sports or even the Avante, Lancer and even the new Kia Cerato Forte is cheaper than the Myvi !

If Perodua gonna survive in singapore, they better drop the price.

Johnphang55
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Jan-2009
Never strike my mind  Posted on 19 Feb 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Never strike my mind that Myvi will be launched in SG. Sales for Passo from PI is total a failure. As for Sirion, although the car is made in Japan, the customer service sucks. From pre to after sales. Both Sirion & Passo does not appeal to local Singaporeans, what more to talk about myvi?

I find that the car is over priced. For that kind of price, i would rather take Sirion. 4 air-bags with rear anti roll bar which Myvi don't have. On top of that, Myvi is riding on the old YRV engine, so why pay so much for a car that is using outdated technology?

No doubts Myvi is selling like hot cakes in malaysia, there are alot of complains of defects courtesy of it's poor QC. The only reason why I find why most m'sians choose Myvi is because Perodua is ridding on Daihatsu technology. Some form of security from japan.

Form interior to exterior, nothing impressed me. Honestly speaking, I prefer the old face lift for both Myvi & it's SE model. On the whole, it just cosmetic appearance that catches attention.

What I like
Door visor
Steel plate
Roomy interior

What I do not like
Using old YRV engine
No Air bags
Fabric seats, poor interior materials
Clone version of Passo / Boon / Sirion
Over priced

Gannesh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Not worth it  Posted on 16 Feb 2009
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Drove my cousin's car back in JB.
To be frank, don't feel the power in the car. Not worth for the price given. If the price is brought down, then can have a look at.

What I like
Its a Malaysian product, so maybe to get spare parts done shouldn't be a problem.

What I do not like
Price too expensive.
Interior very simple.
Nothing to look forward to.




SGCMBasiccar
Neutral Newbie
10 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
A little too late to introduce this model  Posted on 11 Feb 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have try drive my cousin Myvy in JB. Spacious interior due to wide body.Best gadget for a CKD model. Love the rear LED tailights. Can use either Daihatsu Boon or Toyota bodykits. Dunno if the sales for Sirion will be affected due to this model Perodua bring in. Price quite ex, should be selling for under 38k for auto models. Handling is average. Pick up is excellent. Good FC too, Thanks to DVVT system

What I like
The accessories, LED Tailights. Handling. Can space 5 adults with no problems.

What I do not like
Ex, Boot space.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Perodua Myvi
3 stars - based on 13 reviews