Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Road Test - Toyota Wish 1.8 X (A)
20 Aug 2009  |  Toyota Reviews
Toyota does a second take on one of Singapore's favourite MPVs. It promises better comfort, safety and performance. But will it replicate the same cult-like status as its predecessor?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Wish
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
18 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
16 out of 18 (88.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

18 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Mach23
Premium User Mach23
2nd Gear
8 reviews
207 points
203 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most practical choice for an MPV  Posted on 03 Nov 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Over a short term rental, I finally understood why WISH was consistently the top selling MPV in the little red dot. My rental car was Toyota Wish 1.8 CVT PI version.

Given our road constraint and busy traffic we can't but wished we could have the ideal driving on a autobahn. With star stop traffic, high car prices and tight parking spaces, this MPV ticked most attributes that a family can wish for.

The drive was brisk and quick acceleration was quite unlike the CVT of the past. Only let down was the loud engine roar that 'over hyped' the speed climb. Ride comfort was good and unless you read the brochure you won't suspect that it came with torsion beam as rear suspension. Fuel efficiency was very good with an average of 11.5km per liter with 50/50 highway & road traffic.

Overall, it should score highly on practical consideration of the middle income family to retain its well deserved market leadership.

What I like
Ride comfort
Fuel efficiency
Dash controls within arms length (without leaning forward)
Versatile to carry 5 + 2 kids or as a station wagon
Toyota ownership experience
Strong resale value

What I do not like
Dated instrument display
No steering mounted controls or cruise control
Mediocre sound systems
Hard plasticky dashboard and door panels

ElvinSwim
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
9 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-May-2014
Test drive 2014 Wish facelifted version  Posted on 14 Aug 2014
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 3/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Used to like this brand alot becos of its reliability and great looks.After a visit to the showroom,so dissappointed. Poor service and car design never improve...not only wish also other models as well.Will not be my next car.

What I like
-Becos its build from Toyota.
-Reliable popular brand
-It is a popular MPV
-sipping fuel capability

What I do not like
-Poor sales service at eunos
-Attitude problem
-Same old interior look no changes in 2014 model,except exterior some "touchup"
-No 2nd or 3rd row aircon vent
-Many other MPV to choose wuth this kinda price

Tianmo
Premium User Tianmo
2Fast2Furious
6 reviews
36,851 points
26195 forum posts Joined on 22-Mar-2010
Rather big for a mid size MPV  Posted on 14 Aug 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
drove a friend's wish some time ago, this new wish has really grown up comparing to the older version. More interior space, better third row leg room and taller as well. Surprising powerful with just a 1.8L engine, and doesn't drive like a van. Nothing to complaint for a mid size MPV.

What I like
better 3rd row space
powerful for a 1.8L MPV
comfortable ride

What I do not like
nothing much for such a MPV.

Coolpica
Premium User Coolpica
5th Gear
9 reviews
1,538 points
1138 forum posts Joined on 26-Sep-2005
Amazing Fuel Consumption  Posted on 14 Aug 2013
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a mid size MPV to get if one is looking for a low FC MPV. Able to seat 7 people comfortably and has no issue in pick up thanks to its valvematic technology.

What I like
Reliability
Low FC - getting 12km/L consistently due to Eco mode and 7 speed CVT
Valvematic technology
Borneo Motors island wide servicing centres

What I do not like
Small boot
Hard plastics
Sound proofing can be further improved

Larlee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
22 points
21 forum posts Joined on 16-May-2007
Reliable car  Posted on 25 Jul 2011
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Good to drive, like a workhorse. Bigger room and a bigger boot. Fuel Consumption. Price is reasonable minus off COE.

What I like
6 air bags, bigger space, smooth transmission and engine. 7 speed CVT is good but not sure how long can it last.

What I do not like
No steering control which i think it should come as basic. It is a safety feature that will keep your eyes on the road and not on the HU. Should have a better spec model to choose from just like the Honda Stream and Stream RSZ.
with a car this heavy, option to choose 1.8 dual disc or like the PI 1.8S. 15" rims is way too small, a Vios is light but a Wish is so heavy and can ferry more people, how can the car stop in time with full load.

Rabidin
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2010
Most reliable car i've owned  Posted on 14 Dec 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Comfortable,quiet, smooth engine.
good accelertion.
I feel the older model is slightly bulkier and heavier.

What I like
Everything is fine with me. Spacious and good fuel comsumption.
During driving to K.L. going to 150 kmh accelertion no problem.
better than the old NFL wish model 06.
You have slightly lighter feeling when driving this car.
With 6 adult passengers inside the pick up is good.
No regret buying.
I would recommend for those looking at mpv that have spacious interior and fuel comsumption.

What I do not like
The original tyre is small 15 inch. Should gave a bigger tyre.

Fuelwise
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Apr-2005
Definitely my next car  Posted on 30 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have several criteria when it comes to buying my next car. It will be a mid-sized MPV that can seat 7 people with reasonable comfort (adequate leg space) and the ride should not be too firm (since i have young kids travelling with me). The MPV must have one of the best fuel efficient engines for that category with smooth gear changing mechanism. I have test driven the Toyota Wish and other makes and I must say that overall, the Wish is it! It may not be the best in appearance (interior or exterior) but it definitely offers the best value for the price.

What I like
Comfortable ride
Good handling
Good fuel efficiency
Good size for small/medium family

What I do not like
Interior and exterior style and material (hard plastics) is not much improvement over the previous Wish version.

Redspring
1st Gear
1 reviews
50 points
37 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2006
Best value for money MPV  Posted on 29 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is a continuation for the 05 TOYOTA wish, with the new technology CVT gear box and greater fuel economy. I will say this car will have alot of customer.

What I like
Price tag and technology in engine and gear box

What I do not like
Rear without LED look like backdated.

Nikkei121
1st Gear
1 reviews
55 points
54 forum posts Joined on 09-Jun-2009
The most sensible buy for an MPV  Posted on 29 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Toyota Wish remains the clear winner in the category for MPV capable of carrying 7, which typically includes 2 children. So this category is best termed as 5+2. The ride is quite vibrant with its spirited engine output and cabin quality is adequate to reduce noise to a comfortable level. The exterior styling could be improved though (the facelift does not convey a distinct character of the car).
It's closest competitor looks better in the exterior but suffers from poorer noise insulation and doors shut vibration does not convey a good sturdiness unlike the sure-tightness of the Wish's doors.
The more upright position of the seats are also more comfortable for the some passengers such as the elderly. Overall it should reign the crown for 5+2 MPV for some years to come until its competitor comes up a better value proposition.

What I like
Build quality, manageable cabin noise and engine response.

What I do not like
Uninspiring exterior facelifted styling. The cheap 'leather' feel.

Lightzvs
Clutched
1 reviews
36 points
20 forum posts Joined on 31-Mar-2005
Most econ MPV  Posted on 16 Nov 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Wish 2009 1.8 with Dual VVTI valvematic is the most econ MPV. The dual VVTI had given the power needed to driven the MPV and the new valvematic had further enhanced it's fuel economic.
The smooth CVT gears transmission has always make the ride smooth and enjoyable.
With the safety features - Electronic brake-force distribution (EBD), EBD distributed the correct pressure across the brake system and allow driver to have stable ride in any driving conditions. The other safety feature - curtain SRS airbags allow the driver has a peace of mind with the protection.
The versatile seating configuration has allow owner to have dynamic arrangement depend on passengers capacity or bulky item transportation.
In the of design, exterior look has given Wish a fresh sporty and stylish new looks. The interior layout is not impress as it don?t have much changes from previous generation.
Looking at the overall features, I should say Wish 2009 with valvematic is value for money in term of performances and fuel consumption in it's class.

What I like
CVT gears transmission for smooth ride
Valvematic for fuel economic
New sporty stylish looks.

What I do not like
Boring interior designs.

Bryanlim
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most reliable car  Posted on 25 Jul 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Drove several cars of this range and this is best of its class. The ECO mode has significant saving on fuel consumption and the power to transport 7 adults is not compromised. Two Thumbs Up to 2009 WISH.

What I like
1. Good Fuel consumption
2. Nice exterior and interior
3. Deliver good torque and power that makes transporting 7 adults easy
4. The 7 speed with smooth gear shift
5. and many more of it

What I do not like
None

Buaya
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
1 forum posts Joined on 09-Jan-2010
BM 2.0L Toyota WISH  Posted on 06 Mar 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Overall, this is my 2nd WISH and first time buying product from Borneo.The SE is friendly and knowledgable. The ambience of showroom need improvement. On the vehicle itself, the general impression is good. I would strongly recommend to friends or brothers out there to consider BM WISH rather than PI WISH. Pls take into considerations on the recent Toyota incidents, if happen you have bought from PI and warranty expire then where you are going to get assistance. Remember, PI only sell car but BM not only sell car and also has a workshop and reputation is also well known.

Just sharing my view.

What I like
1. Dash board speaker's location allocated.
2. Powerful engine 2.0 L.
3. Aero dynamic in style.
4. Traction control function . improve steering reaction time and reduce the potential of skidding.
5. More SRS air bags
6. Front and rear are disc brakes.

What I do not like
1. 3rd row still do not have aircon
2. Side mirror still doesnt c/w led indicator light.
3. No keyless entry.
4. Auto start engine.
5. Fix design of sport rim. No other selection of rims given.
6. Co-driver's seat no arm rest.
7. No more compartment box on both side of 3rd row.

Grease_palms
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Feb-2010
PI better than AD (not BM)  Posted on 19 Feb 2010
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
1.8s. Loads of space. Light on fuel consumption. Good response on paddle shift. Handling is a dramatic improvement over the last model which I owned before. Some may find it a bit too hard for the liking. But a MPV that handles this well, I'm more than prepared to short change a little on comfort.

Was driving a legacy GT wagon before this. Its auto is dumb, the paddle shift is near useless. Wish 1.8s beats it hands down. Of course, the legacy handles way better, but to feel no lack of confidence on the Wish since day 1 of owning it. I would give the Toyota engineers many thumbs up on this incredible effort.

Overall, very happy with the car. More happy that I've no longer have to deal with the local Subaru AD.

What I like
Fuel Consumption
Space & comfort
Lots of storage
Paddle shift
Sports body kit

What I do not like
Some rattles on dash
ICE needs some investment for sound enthusiast

J09b06s85
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Reliable Car  Posted on 25 Sep 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car is quite reliable and spacious. I never own it but have rented it thus giving this review. It's worth the money and worth it if your family is big in terms of number. Thanks.

AH2Wish
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Aug-2009
First Japanese after many yrs of conti  Posted on 20 Sep 2009
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My first Japanese car after 5 previous continental cars. I have driven RSZ and decided on Wish 1.8S after riding on my colleague old Wish.

What I like
The leather steering.
Paddle shifter.
Sunroof.
The cruising down the highway.
The seats.
The rear secret compartment.
Gas filled suspension.
The board computer.

What I do not like
The pick up with ECO mode.
The brakes.
The light steering.
The 16 inch rim and 195 tires.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Toyota Wish
4 stars - based on 18 reviews