Related Articles

Two Toyota Wishes end up on sidewalk

Drugs could have been factor in N-Day crash

Driver of fatal accident arrested

Eight life hacks for a more epic road trip


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Toyota Wish 1.8 X (A)
20 Aug 2009  |  Toyota Reviews
Toyota does a second take on one of Singapore's favourite MPVs. It promises better comfort, safety and performance. But will it replicate the same cult-like status as its predecessor?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota Wish
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
33 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
29 out of 33 (87.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

33 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Kurumanbo
Premium User Kurumanbo
3rd Gear
3 reviews
309 points
96 forum posts Joined on 08-Aug-2017
A good family car  Posted on 08 Aug 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
A value for money MPV for a family. Simple and reliable, and can fulfill multiple purposes such as big family outing, or road trips that requires the family to bring a lot of stuff along. However, many claims that this is a boring vehicle and unfortunately I have to agree too. It has a very basic ICE so do not expect top of the line audio pleasure. Engine performance is mediocre at best; The pickup is slow and vehicle feels very heavy due to the lack of power.

What I like
The space available makes it a truly multi-purpose vehicle as you have the freedom to either ferry additional people or goods

What I do not like
Pickup and engine power
Vehicle feels heavy due to the lack of power
Very basic ICE

Ssmng
Premium User Ssmng
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
11 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A Comfort and Good to drive MPV with a reliability badge  Posted on 02 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have own and drive a number of Toyota including a Toyota Picnic before changing to this New Toyota Wish.
It looks like a downgrade from the Picnic in terms of space and height but I would say the Wish is still a great MPV at the expense of the luggage space when fully loaded with 7 people.
The Wish is not the most stylist and most sexy looking MPV.
This car is meant for people whom look for practical and car with many flexibility.
I have beeing driving the New Wish for around 2 weeks. The interior space is consider plenty for a small size MPV. The space on the second row is great. Third row is reasonable with the second slide forward to give the third row some space.
Interior control console and gear location is simple and practical. No state of the art control design.
Good head room with airy space inside the cabin and aircon is powerful even for the 3rd row passenger with the centre dashboard Aircon turn on.
Drive is steady and comfortable. Body roll is acceptable as long as you are not driving like a Ferrari.
The average fuel consumption is around 12.0KM/L to 12.5KM/L but I hope that the fuel consumption will decrease so as to get better mileage after the "Run in" Period.
The response from the car is great despite only a 1.8L engine for a MPV. The Dual VVTI mated with the CVT is a great combination. However, do that note the response from the CVT is not as quick as the traditional 4 or 5 speeder but I would said it is acceptable.
Safety is not compromise with 6 Airbags and other active safety control like the TRC, 4 Disc Brakes etc...

What I like
- Very reliable Car with plenty of spares in the market
- Flexibility in terms of seating arrangment
- Good interior space for the passenger
- Very good drive feel and very stable drive
- Good responsive from the engine
- Reasonable good fuel economic
- Simple and well posistion control console
- Door feel more solid compare to my old Picnic
- 6 Airbags and TRC and 4 Disc Brakes

What I do not like
- No Hybrid version
- Low ground clearance compare to Picnic
- Plenty plenty and plenty of WISH on the road
- 15" Rim seems small for the WISH

Mjklbkldl
2nd Gear
3 reviews
115 points
75 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2006
Great value  Posted on 05 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have the BM Wish (Elegance) for close to 3 months. First thing to go is the stock rims+tyres to beefier 17" And larger 235/45/17 rubbers.
Aircon is cold and last row pax can feel the central blower when set at speed 2; On hot day, likely need strong fan speed.
Drove up Malacca for a shopping trip with full load (7 persons) - very good drive and handles very decent. Had to drive 2 hours in heavy rain at 10pm on N/S Highway --- moves with confidence. Likely due to good tyres.
Body roll manageable around bends
Family is all small sized, so space is aplenty in this mid sized MPV

What I like
Reliable- model around for ages. Most issues should have been ironed out by now
Value for money
No issues on spare parts or outside maintenance / repair

What I do not like
Common- every where you turn, you see a Wish
lack of middle or rear aircon blower
with all seats occupied, luggage space reduces significantly; may need to install thule racks/boxes to resolve this challenge.
Not turbo charged, so power sometimes lacking in N/S Highway. Need to plan in advance to overtake etc.

Incubus22
Premium User Incubus22
2nd Gear
5 reviews
145 points
63 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2005
Reliability at it's best  Posted on 27 Dec 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The Wish 2016 sits among the top in terms of reliability and practicality in the already competitive mid sized MPV segment.
The 1.8 NA engine does it's job nicely without much stress even in full capacity although the engine noise does pick up when hitting around 4k rpm. The CVT gearbox is smooth throughout even at high speed.
The second and third row are spacious and the flat flooring in the second row is a added plus.
The pain point of a Wish (yes there is one!) does appear in the lack of a rear air con vent for the back passengers and especially in a hot sunny day. This can be felt in the last row especially in long journey.
If you're looking for a bread and butter 7 seater, look no further for this is one of the most competitively priced in the market.

What I like
1) Reliability of a Toyota
2) Quiet and smooth transmission at both pick up and cruising speed
3) Flat flooring of the second row
4) Good rear room space in the last row
5) Sturdy fittings
6) Steady depreciation value
7) Made in Japan

What I do not like
1) Dated appearance
2) The lack of rear air con vents
3) Standard 15" rims (in this age at time?!)

kaihern
Premium User kaihern
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
13 forum posts Joined on 11-Nov-2015
Reliable car  Posted on 15 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Used for 11 months, my FC is 13.3KM/Liter based on the reading. The economic mode can control how the engine will react when you press pedal.

What I like
reliable , simple and easy
air con can reach third row of seat

What I do not like
1) cannot switch off front seat air bag if you want to put car seat there.
2) the chassis build seems like very soft.
3)dashboard indicator didn't show which door is not closed properly.

Chivanloh
Premium User Chivanloh
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
24 points
25 forum posts Joined on 05-May-2009
"Wish" it will continue  Posted on 23 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Drove a Picnic previously and swapped to a Wish as we do not need a big size MPV. The power of the Wish is adequate for day to day driving. In fact, this 1.8L Wish HP is also similar to that of a 2.0L picnic. The fuel consumption averages 12.5km / L

What I like
Reliability
After sales support. No fear of no spare parts availbility
The Looks. It looks better than some other similar segment cars

What I do not like
NO auto lock when the car drives off! Have to manually lock it
The ride is a bit harsh, probably due to it's small size
(In fact, it is smaller than an Altis!)
They are stopping production soon and replacing with Sienta... Why?

zl1984
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
6 forum posts Joined on 16-Feb-2016
Nice MPV  Posted on 12 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Mileage > 5000 km, so far so good. Good reliability, relatively low FC, spacious. Good service by BM.

What I like
Good reliability, relatively low FC, spacious

What I do not like
Door not autolock

Greenwood
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
18 points
83 forum posts Joined on 11-Jun-2014
Value MPV  Posted on 05 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I drove an altis and camry previously. I need an MPV and was considering the wish along with mazda 5, sienta, mobilio, odyssey and the triplets. Family found the look of sienta strange; I found mobilio's look a bit low class; Odyssey is nice but pricey and triplets looks too tall for comfort.. Looks like a van. Decided on the wish over m5 as i trust the 6 sigma reliability of toyota cars.

What I like
Spacious, reliable, fuel efficient (about 13.5 km/L for me) car. Comfort is acceptable.

What I do not like
It would be better if the car can be as quiet as a camry.. front console look a bit dated but functionality ia ok.

kcng
Premium User kcng
1st Gear
6 reviews
82 points
48 forum posts Joined on 04-Aug-2016
Can't help to feel disappointed  Posted on 04 Aug 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drive around 2 weeks ago, simple to say, it is a typical Toyota car, the drive is smooth, relatively quiet, comfort enough as space is good. But compare to the previous version of Wish (PI version long time ago before BM brought in Wish), there is not much different for interior. SE said the engine is new one, but didn't feel much different except it is slightly more powerful. Back seat still lack of aircon.

Compare to other brand, especially korea car, kind of feel Toyota didn't improve much, of cos they still quite reliable and nice, but with 120K, only 1 year free servicing...... Hard to impress me enough.

What I like
It is Toyota.

What I do not like
No air con at back seat.
Really out dated interior.
1 year free servicing package (seriously?!)
120K price tag.

Wish69
1st Gear
1 reviews
99 points
119 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2016
A True Toyota Car  Posted on 29 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My first car is Vios and then Altis...So now upgraded to Wish.
The engine is quiet as I like it the most.
Although the interior is quite basic but still acceptable.
Toyota always been a reliable car and I reckon Wish won't fail me too.
I have been driving for 7 months, so far so good.

What I like
Quiet Engine.

What I do not like
15" sport rim

dsds110
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Oct-2015
Amazing Mileage!  Posted on 09 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I bought my Wish 1.8 in 2011 from Borneo, and have driven over 150,000 km in the 4 years and 9 months I have had it.

It is the most amazing car of it's class - truly a flawless mile muncher. Mechanically it's been A1, with no problems whatsoever. It just goes on and on.

It has the most amazingly fuel efficient engine. A far better performer than the aging 1.6 litre engine in my previous Mitsubishi. A full tank of fuel regularly sees me over 850 km.

The CVT drivetrain is amazing frugal, allowing you to accelerate to highway speeds without even going past 1500 rpm. A manual transmission will struggle to do this without feeling like you're taking part in a walkathon.

It's surprised me by getting up to 200 km/h fairly easily. It can go on, it's just that this is no Ferrari, so you either run out of clear road before being able to punch above 200, or like me, you simply run out of guts - pick our poison, either way, you lose.

The other contenders I was looking at 4 years ago were the Volkswagen Touran (glad I didn't touch that), and the Honda Stream.

The Stream I am confident would never in a 100 years be close to achieving 850 km on a full tank thanks to its automatic gearbox, something the Wish is not saddled down with. And the Stream had a smaller third row, or so it seemed in the showroom. The Wish does lose out in terms of handling and suspension compliance, where the Stream is just amazing. Having access to driving one, the Stream is amazingly sorted when it comes to cornering, taking bumps, and handles just like a sedan.

The Volswagen on the other hand, would probably have left my pockets empty on account of maintenance and transmission issues - not to mention any potential emissions problems due to the current Volks Emissions scandal.

The bottom line is, the Wish is no sports car or luxury car. You'd be looking in the wrong place if you're after that. It is basically a Corolla that seats seven. You may not want to have adults in the third row, but this car does it's job flawlessly, and giving you 850 km to the tank while doing that.

If you need a station wagon or a 7 seater, and want one of the most economical in it's class, look no further.

What I like
Truly amazing drivetrain! The CVT paired with the 1.8 litre engine regularly delivers over 850 km per tank! I only have to be at the pumps once a week. Had I been driving my previous Lancer GLX, I would be visiting the fuel pump twice a week. The Lancer had only a range of 400 km before the fuel light came on.

The most I've driven on a single tank thus far has been 889 km.

What I do not like
Very hard to fault this car.

1) The steering feels a little too light at highway speeds, but not overly light.
2) Does not come with aircon for 3rd row, and worst still, Borneo does not even do an aftermarket fit to solve this.

Bwilly
1st Gear
3 reviews
61 points
59 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Dated interior and not much difference from first look 2008 version to current one  Posted on 15 May 2015
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I drove the 2008 Wish for sometime, and was sourcing for a replacement as it reaches 7years this 2015. I was at the Nov2014, road show, and I find stunned the Sales Executive who was handling my queries - "I am paying for another $140k to get a new Wish, with 10year new COE, I don't find any other features (major) that can entices me to part my money now, I might as well drive for another 3years than change now"

The whole statement sum up what I think, it is time for a major facelift.
Current lot of buyers are existing buyers (loyal) who stayed with the brand, I wanted to, but be taken for a fool.
Those who frequently need the 3rd row space, and prefer a smaller CC card ,then I will say the Wish is one of the best in term of third row space for small size MPV.
Otherwise if you use 3rd row space only very occasionally, look for other brand exciting brands.

There are Nissan X-Trail, Mitsubishi Outlander, which gives much joy in driving. After 7 years - it was time to replace more major parts, the compressor/aircon is not cold any more - decision to make - to change all the major parts n drive for another 3years, or change to a new car.

In the end I choose the latter - I bought a SUV with 5+2, but will always look fondly back at the hard working Wish which faithfully drive me and family around.

For those who have faithfully staying with Toyota, its time to step up the comfort zone, you may find more joy in driving alternatives.
I may go back to Toyota in future if their future models improve by leap and bounds. (Look at their Camry, Altis all lacking behind, selling and moving cars by brand, then features)

What I like
Same reliability - did not have major problem 7years I drove, only wear and tear parts
Good FC - used to hit 11-12km/hr with no effort, normal for full tank to reach 600km+ mileage each time
Good service from Borneo, parts under warranty are exchanged without question asked

What I do not like
No rear air con - then, and now!!
Noise intrusion when reving up, and at highway it strain when trying above 130km/hr in Malaysia
Poor pickup - can hear engine groan when picking up
All the features in some MPV, and price range car, is not in Wish, no sunroof, no big rims, rear brakes - still drum? No rain sensor, auto lights, cruise control, power tail gate, AWD?

Palden
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
23 points
28 forum posts Joined on 05-Sep-2010
Tried because of the reputation  Posted on 30 Dec 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Typical Toyota.
No frills. Tried it because of its reputation as a reliable car. Did not strike me as outstanding. Just normal with standard features. Design is not terrific when compared to others like Mazda5 and Orlando.

What I like
The reputation

What I do not like
The service. Maybe Toyota too easy to sell and their sales people are lukewarm.

Jl7757
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
5 forum posts Joined on 09-May-2007
All multi-purpose car  Posted on 13 Dec 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is my second wish bought from BM, I received my new wish about one month ago. Compare to my 2008 wish, the interior space is bigger as the 1 & 2 row are equally spaced to create more room for 3 row without sacrificing the comfort in 1&2 rows. The 7 speed transmission is very smooth with no hint of changing gearshift, quite responsive when step on the accelerator, give the driver the confidence to overtake or change lane in a tight situation. So far, have travelled 1500km achieved 14.8 km/l with approx 70% express way. The sound insulation is much better now, and no more idling sound as compared to my previous wish. Aircon remain very cold, extended to 3 row as well. The sound system is one level above the old wish. I really like the touch screen entrainment system with Bluetooth connection to my phone for music and phone calls, very convenient and friendly interface with speed dial etc. Overall quite satisfy with the new wish.

What I like
Quiet engine
Smooth transmission
Better sound insulation
Better sound system
Bigger interior space especially 3 row now
Better petrol consumption
Sporty looking MPV

What I do not like
.......

Fastnfaster
Premium User Fastnfaster
3rd Gear
1 reviews
445 points
234 forum posts Joined on 01-Oct-2013
Jack of all trades?  Posted on 01 Dec 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Toyota Wish ticks most of the right boxes. You can't compare this with a full same mpv if you are looking at fetching 7-8 adults or a performance car with excellence handling & pick up. However, Wish will fare well if you just need to ferry 6-7 persons occassionally. My child is 1.6m and can still sit comfortably in the 3rd row. If the 2nd/3rd row is folded down, it can transport much more things than a sedan. It has reasonable pick up and sound insulation.

What I like
7 airbags, powerful aircon (cool enough for the 3rd row passenage), reliability , seat level is good for driving (not too high like SUV or low like sedan)

What I do not like
I cannot achieve more than 13km/L; 15" rim is too small; Too much pastic at the dashboard; Practically no optional accessaries to spruce up the car

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 3 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Toyota Wish
3.5 stars - based on 33 reviews