Related Articles

Cradling the family with love

Highest Asean NCAP score for Teana

3.5-litre Nissan Teana launched


Past Car
Models no longer being sold by local distributors.
Model unavailable since Jun 2017
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Nissan Teana 2.0 (A)
09 Dec 2013  |  Nissan Reviews
The 2.5-litre Nissan Teana that we recently reviewed is a big improvement over its predecessor. Will it also be the same case for the smaller 2.0-litre variant?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Mazda6 2.5 R (A) vs Nissan Teana 2.5 (A) vs Toyota Camry 2.5 (A)
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Teana
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
3 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3/5 Features
3/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
14 out of 22 (63.6%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
wpy
wpy
4th Gear
4 reviews
740 points
247 forum posts Joined on 17-Apr-2017
Unbelievably comfortable  Posted on 05 May 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove 2.5l verson of this car in late March. To be honest, I'd initially struck the Teana off my list after reading some of the reviews on sg carmart. However, after testing numerous other Japanese and Korean cars, I eventually decided to give it a try. I wasn't disappointed. This car was, by far, the most comfortable of all the cars I test drove. And it has to do with their zero gravity seats. It's hard to describe, and you just have to try it for yourself. Overall, the car was really smooth and quiet. Road bums were well absorbed and it had a nice feeling of luxury. As an executive sedan for regular driving to work and on weekends, it's really a great car. Performance wise, I felt the 2,5l had sufficient pick up from a complete stop. It's pretty much a great family car and i almost bought it. The two things that put me off eventually buying this were the footbrake and that the car didn't have a manual mode. I'm particular but, in this day, the footbrake somehow just seems a bit archaic, especially as so many cars today come with electronic parking brake. And no manual mode just made this a little boring for me. But other than that, i really loved the car and its design. It's plush and elegant. Although I eventually settled on another car, this ranks pretty highly in my book and i think is worth a test drive at the very least.

What I like
It's remarkably comfortable
space is more than adequate for driver and four passengers to feel comfortable
quiet and luxurious
Liked everything about the car except for a couple of things

What I do not like
no manual mode
no electronic parking brake ( uses footbrake)
entertainment system is nothing to shout about

MatthiewC
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Nov-2016
Not this time round for Nissan  Posted on 29 Nov 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
HowI owned a Cefiro before. I thought of changing it to Teana at first but I have decided against it.

I do have some expectation for the Teana. Higher one of course. Naturally, it should be much improved version but it after viewing it, and trying for a drive, it is almost the same.

The petrol consumption is worst for the old Cefiro. The new one has some improvement but not good enough.
The features are better but still look a bit dated. The Steering wheel is still too large and not sporty. I do not like the moonroof! (2.5L)

The CVT is the same. Can they make it more responsive, please.

Other than that, I agreed that it has improved overall. I think I will not go for this Teana. Another reason is that the name changes making my old Cefiro out dated, meaning Teana will change its name to another after the facelift.

OK, I still love Nissan overall but I am getting this one I will explore other Japanese cars for a change.

Many thank you Nissan.

What I like
New Name instead of Cefiro.

Complete change in design especially exterior.

More safety features

Speakers

What I do not like
The performance seems to be the same when I compared to my old car.

Others things are good.

However, just an opinion of mine only, I think previous Nissan owners should try other Japanese cars. At least, try it which I did I have decided to make that change myself.

For those remain loyal to Nissan, I also feel good for you and "proud" too. It's your choice at the end of the day.

Hole-in-one
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Nov-2016
It's comfort, reliable, luxurious and good fuel consumption. Value for money.  Posted on 28 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I went for test drive on Toyota Carmry, Mazda 6, Kia Optima and Nissan Teana. I end up with Nissan Teana 2.5 XV.

I use my Nissan Teana 2.5 XV for over a year now. I have no problem with this car at all. Only at the beginning the radio reception was not good but after I sent my car back to Nissan service centre and they just updated the software for me and it's turn out excellent with BOSE speaker in front. It likes you are sitting in a good audio room.

For petrol consumption it's quite good on highway. One night I drove from Raffle golf and country club back to Tampines using cruse control at 90km/hr. And 80km/hr inside the MCE tunnel. The consumption shown at the destination at 20.3Km/L. However I'm normally using my car about 60% In town and about 40% On highway average 1 tank of fuel is about 11 - 12 Km/L.

CVT transmission, for some one who's never driven gear CVT before may feel that the car is quite slow to move out from the stopping point. That is just a feeling, in fact it's not slow and once it's kick-in it's fast and smooth.

What I like
- Comfort
- Quiet
- Luxurious in side
- spacious
- Good cornering, reliable

LuckyDaddy
1st Gear
4 reviews
57 points
34 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2014
Looks good and drives good  Posted on 21 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Dear friends,

Having drove this car for 2yrs, I think I'm more familiar with how well the car drives than if someone had just test drive.

This version of Nissan teana is the Nissan Altima that was selling very well in the U.S. What makes it a good car is its comfort, space and fuel economy.

Not the best car in all aspects but it's really a nice and comfortable ride for the driver & passenger. The CVT works best when traveling on the highway. With cruise control, you can achieve 17km/l. The seats are extremely comfortable with lumber support for long distance travel. Boot space is superb, biggest in its category.

The design of teana had also improved a lot through the years. Gone are the celfiro days. If you look around, there are more young family driving teana. I personally met a lot of friends during reservist that drove the same car.

Try the car if you are looking for something practical & comfortable.
If you want excitement, should try elsewhere. Go check out the YouTube if like to know more abt the car.

What I like
Smooth comfortable ride
Quiet cabin
Modern & practical interior
Large boot
Chrome handle
Large Screen
Nice steering & user friendly steering wheel

What I do not like
No DRL

Ma-rilyn
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Oct-2016
The Best Buggy Car of the Century  Posted on 20 Oct 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Dear Friends,

Never buy this car. That would be my advice to all. This is truely an old uncle car. Most Expensive Car! No difference compared to all current category including Korea makes.

Old because the inside has terrible design everywhere. The engine is bad. Very slow car.

Wasted my time to try this one for my car shopping.

What I like
Nothing at all

What I do not like
Very Expensive
Very Old Fashioned
Very Slow
Very Boring to Drive

Ma-rilyn
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Oct-2016
Teana looks good but ....  Posted on 18 Oct 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Hi,

I was considering to purchase this car but there are too many disappointment the more I look into it.

Superficially, it looks great and stylish from the exterior. Huge car does matter and it shows status. The moment I stepped into the car and drove it, my perspective completely changed.

Inside, everything seems dated. The dashboard looks ordinary and very predictable. The orange colour illumination display is very dated just like the BMW uses in the 90's. The audio system for the 2.0 litre sounds like a portable transistor radio in the 70's. I did not like the copycat version (from European cars) of the door handles for the driver and the passenger. The centre console (storage compartment) looks disgustingly bulky and out of place.

The worst observation for the Teana is sadly their selling point for CVT. As we all know, CVT are used to save fuel. It does nothing much for the Teana if we compared this engine with any 4,5,6 and 7 speeds of other cars. Worst of all, the CVT, although Nissan was one of those who started it first, has power lags which makes the car slower on the roads in most instances.

I cannot mention more about the negative sides. Why don't you try the 2.0 litres and see the headlights for yourself. My description will be having attached two portable touch lights with the orange lights shinning when switched on. How really old fashioned and yet sadly it appeal to some customers. Maybe the designers are of our forefather's generations.

On the flip-side, I only like the cabin space and the quiet engine from the CVT. I also like to observe the potential customers at the Nissan showrooms. Observe and discover what they all have in common.. And are you part of that too?

My final verdict, the Teana is not ready for our local market. It is a sad car.

What I like
Exterior
Size
Quiet

What I do not like
Dated Interior Cabin
Dated Dashboard
Simple Electronics
Lorry-style Steering wheel
Engine and CVT
High Fuel Consumption
High CO2 Emission
Headlights
Small Multimedia display screen
Two-uncovered cup holders
Small air-con vents

Albertcarreview
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Oct-2016
Not My Choice  Posted on 13 Oct 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 1/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I went car shopping recently and I would like to share my experience with you.

I test driven the 2.0L and did not like it at all. I am sure this is not my choice and probably will never be.

The main reason will be the CVT. It is slow in response. Compared to other makes CVTs, Nissan is not there. Nothing unique about their CVT and the rubber band feeling is there.

This car is bulky and take some skills to drive in faster pace situation.

Nissan is not selling this right. Instead, they are focusing on indirect accessories such as the car seats (zero gravity), and maturity of the audience. Well, most car fanatics are looking for the car performance, reliability, and technologies in general.

Sad to say that Nissan will never overtake the first and the second in the car markets (their rivals) and yet they play the price as close to them. I think Nissan cars should price at least 20K lesser to make up for the market share.

Not much relating to the cars, the service centre looks outdated. The technicians looks mature just like Nissan car audiences. Sad.

Although, the Teana exterior looks modern, it is not if examined more closely. I cannot imagine some superstars or celebrities driving this in Singapore.

Time to modernise for Nissan. Try to sell this to the younger generations of Singaporeans instead on focusing those "Young at heart".

Thanks but sorry this is not my choice.

What I like
Nothing much as things are predictable.

What I do not like
Price cannot be close to the rivals.
CVT Engine
Extremely slow and unresponsive
Association with Mature audience.

kelvinguru
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Sep-2016
Think Again, Are you Sure??  Posted on 22 Sep 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Hi everyone,

Consider other makes before getting Nissan Teana. Honda Accord and Toyota Camry are the major 2 makes that you cannot leave out in your decision making.

I have owned a Nissan car before before changing it to other makes. Nissan (their CVT technology) is too slow. You will be given a false impression that you are driving alright when you are inside the car. I reality, you are driving very very slow pace. The worst will be the pickup. Do not be deceived by the output and torque for Teana. You must understand the entire technology in the car system. It is very different and far off compared to the 2 models I mentioned earlier even when making apple to apple comparison.

The CVT Nissan Teana (or even Sylphy and Almera), practically "Walks" On the road.

See for yourself that almost all the Nissan cars are the super last to move off from any traffic lights or when cruising on the roads. Even the lorries and buses overtake Nissan very easily and these are heavy vehicles (most of them are not even speeding).

Therefore, you must think extremely careful about this investment for this model or make. My recommendation is to try and test drive Toyota Camry, Honda Accord and even the Mazda 6.

Good luck.

What I like
Comfort
Quiet
Spacious
Size
Price

What I do not like
Without doubt the super slow speed
Slow pickup, ..... "no" pickup

mm1
mm1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-May-2016
Good family car  Posted on 19 May 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was driving a c class 1.6 model car

Been driving a new teana 2.5 for a month. No regrets on the switch. Car is quiet and roomy. Whole family loves it.

Does not have the urge to drive in a hasty manner anymore. Rather, always enjoying the drive without stress. Car handling cannot be compared to a C class over bends. But with a bit of care, who needs to complete a bend fast?

Consumption is good at average of above 11km per litre. Suspect it is much better than V6 engine

What I like
Comfy drive
Have almost everything you need in a car

What I do not like
No DRL
Audio system looks cheap
auto fold mirror needs to be purchase
poor workmanship on window film, needs to be redone

LuckyDaddy
1st Gear
4 reviews
57 points
34 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2014
I have faith with this car  Posted on 08 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Unsure why lately i saw some bad reviews of this car so thought maybe spend some time to share my opinion.

I have been driving the current Teana for 1 yr +.
So far touch wood, everything seems fine.

The car was smooth to drive. In the highway, u can feel the vehicle gliding smoothly without much effort on the accelerator.

Seat cushion was comfortable. Side door has a good balance of leather and plastic. You don't have the cheap plastic feeling in it.

FC was not bad, given its size but surely we are not comparing with diesel or smaller cars.

Till now if anyone ask me, I will still recommend this car because of its comfort and space (headroom n legroom) :)

What I like
More sporty than previous model
Good value and economical to drive
Nice interior
Comes with Michelin tyre and spare tire + tools was neatly organized in the boot.
Boot tray
Sound insulation is good. Useful especially when you are having phone conversations in speaker mode

What I do not like
I think Nissan can improve further on exterior.
Other than that, I have faith in this car

Handgunner
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
8 points
10 forum posts Joined on 09-Dec-2004
Problematic car  Posted on 07 Apr 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven my first Cefiro in 2008, Teana in 2011 and the current Teana in 2014. Mixed feeling about this car. In terms of driving, it is indeed much better then the previous 2 models, but when it comes to quality issue, this is the worst. Not sure if it is becos it is made in Thailand or wat, start having problems when I started to own this car. Pls refer to what is mention in 'What I do not like" Friendly staff in Tan Chong, they did try to solve all my issues but those intermittent stuff , the car appears ok when I send in so they can't do any thing. Do welcome them to contact me if they feel what I say is untrue.

What I like
Spacious
Smooth Driving
Good FC
Comfortable
More agile than its 2 processor

What I do not like
Range of Quality issues
Car Handle lock not sensitive as precessor, need to press a few times
Reverse Car Camera quality real bad, feel like watching ghost movie
Head Unit with poor Bluetooth reception(Change 3times also same)
Poor interior alignment, if you sit in the driver sit the dashboard near ur kneecap is out of alignment
Latest aircon prob, need 1 min to cool intermittenlty

gsanglan
Clutched
1 reviews
27 points
30 forum posts Joined on 02-May-2014
Still Prefer Made In Japan Car  Posted on 06 Apr 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Had been driving the 2.0L Teana for coming to 3 years already. I would say the quality of made in Thailand car is way way below expectation.

1. The rear leather seat got grey markings after 4 months I gotten my NEW car. I went to TC and wanted to claim for warranty, and they told me that they can only help me do leather cleaning. After one round of cleaning, the marking is still there, and they can do nothing about it. Not even warranty claim.

2. Then 1 year after gotten the car there is knocking noise coming from the front suspension of the car. After several rounds of in and out of workshop, they finally addressed the problem, and the knocking noise was due to broken rubber isolator between the suspension and the car body. I cannot imagine that only 1 year and the rubber isolator will break apart. I am not even a F1 driver.

3. Recently, I encountered squeaking noise coming from the rear suspension when I parked the car and getting in and out of the car. They adjusted the foot brake and told me that it is due to the brake drum making the noise. The noise is less noticable now, but sometime can still hear it, very faint.

Bottom line, I still prefer make in Japan car rather than Thailand made car. I think the quality aspect still lacks behind.

What I like
Big and spacious, seat is comfortable.
Good Michelin Tires, last very long. 3 years already and the tires still looks ok.
Parking sensors help alot in parking the big car.
Reverse camera is good for parking.

What I do not like
Poor built quality.

So so fuel consumption, can only achieve 11km/l

Poor pick up when u need to overtake other vehicle, as usual due to the CVT, make a lot of noise but cannot move type.

Lousy Head Unit, only 4" wide, wanted to upgrade to the new 8" type and TC said must pay $800 for it. Cannot believe it.

Kwannie
1st Gear
2 reviews
73 points
20 forum posts Joined on 02-Mar-2016
Comfortable for passengers, but numerous quality issues.  Posted on 28 Mar 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
The Teana is Nissan's offering in the competitive Japanese large sedan segment, which also comprises the Toyota Camry, Mazda 6, Lexus ES250, Honda Accord and Subaru Legacy. This review is for the 2.5 litre Teana.

Its perceived comfort and fairly satisfying fuel consumption will appeal to traditional buyers. I constantly achieve 11.8km/l, probably due to the CVT and thin tyres.

This car handles fairly well for its size. Your passengers will appreciate the comfort, space, plush interior and silence if you are light-footed. Push the car a little and the drone from the CVT will intrude into the cabin, begging for you to stop. When you decide to do so, you might find the brakes slightly under-powered for the car's size.

Unfortunately, this is where the good parts end. I drove this car for almost 40,000km before selling it, unprepared to accept more mediocrity from this car.

What I do not like
I encountered numerous build quality issues on my 2.5 litre Teana.

First, the head unit. The Bluetooth connection fails intermittently. The head unit's screen displays static sometimes. There is also terrible radio static while tuned to the BBC World Service. I could not get the iPod cable connection to work. There was also either flickering or no image on the reverse camera.

The above could not be rectified despite several visits to the AD.

Due to the head unit's design, it was dangerous and inaccurate to dial telephone numbers on the move, unlike cars equipped with rotary dials on the centre console.

Poor video resolution on the free DVR camera which can spoil if you pull out the power cable (I was informed verbally that this was a common issue).

I also encountered loose and squeaking interior 'wood' panelling, one of which detached on its own. On the front seat rails, I saw marker pen markings for drilling points. I found this very shoddy.

As for the car's quality, I encountered loose front suspension parts after about 16,000km of driving, resulting in knocking noises. This was fixed under warranty.

While looks are subjective, the Mazda 6's curves seem more attractive. The Mazda 6 also handles better, but is noisier and slightly less spacious.

If comfort and perceived quality is important to you, the Camry and ES250 feel like superior offerings.

If technology is important to you, you might find this car decidedly ancient, with an engine design that is more than 10 years old. The only 'modern' aspect of this car is its CVT, which delivers good fuel economy.

This car is neither as comfortable, as well built or as good handling as the competition.

LuckyDaddy
1st Gear
4 reviews
57 points
34 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2014
A comfortable, quiet, spacious car  Posted on 25 Apr 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving this car for 4mths. Really amazed that this car can reach a 15-17km/L on highway. Very impressive, given its size.

My thumbs up on the ride.

What I like
Comfortable & spacious interior
Nice exterior curve
Rear air con
6 airbags
Large gps screen
Keyless entry
Worthy buy vs other jap/Kor competitor

What I do not like
No day light ( but I guess it's just cosmetic, not that impt)

meeloh2002
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Jun-2014
A good family Car!  Posted on 30 Dec 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
After driving for 6 months, 18k and travelling up and down KL. I must said that it is a comfortable ride for both driver and passengers. I am surprised at the fuel consumption in Singapore for long distance 17.4km/L (from airport to tuas) but suck for short city trip 6-7km/L. No regret for a family car and to ferry guests from airport.

What I like
1. Comfortable and spacious interior/boot.
2. Quite and smooth engine.
3. Good fuel consumption for a 2L.

What I do not like
1. Small HU and normal sound system.
2. Parallel parking and multi storey car park as the vehicle is long.
3. Poor radio reception.
4. Air con does not come with the ionizer.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Nissan Teana
3 stars - based on 22 reviews