Nissan Sylphy

   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Nissan Sylphy 1.6 SSS DIG-T (A)
12 Nov 2014  |  Nissan Reviews
In order to keep things fresh, Nissan made some changes, inside and out, to its Sylphy. But is it enough to stand up against its peers and attract buyers?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Chevrolet Cruze 1.6 vs Hyundai Elantra 1.6 vs Nissan Sylphy 1.6
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Sylphy
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
30 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
28 out of 30 (93.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review

30 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Gnayed
Clutched
1 reviews
40 points
26 forum posts Joined on 02-Mar-2006
A class of its own.  Posted on 07 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
There are simply no other cars in this range has this cabin space. I own the 1.6 Premium model for 2 years. I could cross my leg and change a baby diaper at the leg space. While it may not be the most sporty car to drive, its cruising capability is awesome. Especially if you drive on long distance to Malaysia highway often, the ride is very stable at speeds above 150kmh. Having driven, Altis and Jetta for a number of years, I think this Sylphy is a much better ride. Tan Chong's servicing is also impeccable, alot of services are FOC (e.G. Tyre rotation) as compared to other brands.

What I like
+ Stability at high speed
+ Space
+ Smooth pickup, no gear-shift shock
+ Easy to turn
+ Rear aircon
+ Comfortable seats (butt does not ache after long hours)
+ Quiet
+ Responsive brakes
+ Solid chassis, feels well-built

What I do not like
- Roof insulation when raining

cclok1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2016
High fuel consumption and screeching noise in less than a year  Posted on 26 May 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I have a Sylphy and in less than a year, a screeching noise frequently noticed when doing a reverse. Sent a few times for check and mechanics always mentioned nothing wrong with the car, even if I had it video-ed the noise.
Sufficient for use as a transport

What I like
Spacious internally and at boot

What I do not like
Fuel consumption on average - 8+ km/L
Battery replacement in less than 1.5 years
Both sides of drawer at front passenger seat are not covered and items in drawer tends to drop off from either side or blocked drawer from closing.
Felt that space between Brake and Accelerator can be designed to be further apart and can be improved by further shifting both to the right
Screen wipers are blocked by bonnet and unable to be pulled fully up for cleaning.

keitxw
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2016
Practical car for the family  Posted on 15 Apr 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving the Sylphy for around 8 months now. This was an upgrade from the Latio. First off, the looks. It does not look as "Uncle" As the Latio, but isn't the most good looking one among the competitors. Interior is very spacious and comfortable. Some materials do feel a little plastic-ky but overall it is well-built.

Handling is a tad light but this is a love and hate. It makes turning or abrupt lane changes very easy but if you're the type that likes more grip, then it might not please you.

The Sylphy tends to be slow when moving off and lacks the punch. But the power kicks in easily at the later part. Car doesn't even hit 2000rpm at 100km/h.

Overall I think it is a practical car for the family and we are glad to have chosen it. Definitely a car to consider if you want something comfortable and modest.

What I like
Easy handling for turns
Spacious cabin
Comfortable ride
Keyless entry & ignition
Fuel efficient

What I do not like
Lack of power when moving off
Light steering
Vehicle entertainment system could do with more instructions
Tends to be noisier on wet roads
No auto headlights

Jezzmatezz
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
24 points
22 forum posts Joined on 02-Jul-2007
Great family car  Posted on 25 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The purpose why my wife and I decided to buy a car was because of our latest edition to our family.
We needed a car with a good fuel consumption and big boot space.
Most importantly, it should not be squessy at the rear seat.
After using the car for several months now, I can say that My average fuel consumption is approximately 13.9km/l.

What I like
Huge boot.
Good fuel consumption.
Beautiful design.

What I do not like
Lacks isofix for baby car seat.
The GPS software could be better.

whiz18
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
24 points
65 forum posts Joined on 25-Mar-2016
Nothing to wow about  Posted on 27 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test-drove this car when I was shopping for cars a few months ago. The drive was okay but the design is a bit-boxy and the price was very close to it's competitors which offers more features.

What I like
keyless
large cabin space

What I do not like
boxy design

jgenesis
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Apr-2016
Quiet ride!  Posted on 12 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just got our new 1.6 Premium model. Many thanks to our SA, Zhi Xuan (from Nissan@Leng Kee) who was very professional and prompt. Ride was much more comfortable and quiet than our previous car (Honda Airwave).

What I like
Quiet cabin
Rear aircon
Cool GPS system that works very well so far
Luxurious leather seats
Great handling
Wipers are amazingly smooth and quiet
Keyless entry
Good performance and generally smooth ride
Spacious interior

What I do not like
When it rains, there can be some undercarriage "squishing" sounds at the back but it's still bearable.

LPPL
6th Gear
4 reviews
2,651 points
1368 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2012
A very ordinary car for old uncles and aunties  Posted on 28 Mar 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
For the price of 96k (Mar 2016) for a base model, there are cars with better specs you can buy out there. I test drove this car and did not find the performance to be fantastic. The car seems heavy and acceleration was unimpressive. If you are an old uncle or aunty looking for a slow ride, then this is the car to get.

What I like
-Front grille
-Keyless

What I do not like
Lousy performance

Ema
Ema
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Feb-2016
Smooth Drive  Posted on 21 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Picked up Nissan Sylphy, in the last week of January. Since it was during the " Higher COE" Booking the agent threw in the 2 year servicing free. Jessline, our sales lady was very supportive and sympathetic but nothing more could be done. We are happy with her support.

All is good and the brown colour on the seats looks great. Engine is smooth.

But the reverse camera has been giving problems since almost the first week. Now, it has stopped working and indicates " No video". Have booked the first servicing next week. Hope this will get fixed.

What I like
Leg space
Big boot,
GPS
Upholstery
Noiseless engine

What I do not like
Reverse camera issue

debuzz2016
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Feb-2016
Sylphy 1.6A  Posted on 11 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was looking for an entry level saloon car. Was comparing between Altis, Mazda 3, Forte, Elantra and Sylphy, and of all 5 models Sylphy won me over with its nice interior and exterior finishings, large cabin, enormous boot space and competitive pricing. Plus the good service rendered by Ms Shirley Soo (HP: 93857736) from its Ubi Showroom, it was quite easy to decide. :)
Do look for her if you ware keen to buy a Nissan ride.

What I like
Nissan brand name
Large cabin space
Large boot space
LED day lights
Keyless entry
Competitive price

What I do not like
No knock-down rear seats
Made in Thailand, not japan
FC

Renren85
Clutched
1 reviews
43 points
18 forum posts Joined on 12-Nov-2015
A comfortable family sedan  Posted on 02 Feb 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Received my new Sylphy 1.6 (premium) just few days ago. After driving a few days, I would say I did not regret my choice on Sylphy over Mazda3. The most obvious reason is comfort and spacious. Kudos to Tan Chong and my SE, Linda from Leng Kee. I'm one of the owners who were affected by the sudden 9k drop in COE but thanks to Tan Chong who throw in the NPMP free to buffer the drop slightly. I agree with most of you that Tan Chong's pocket grew 9k fatter and a NPMP is insignificant to them but they can choose not to do so. So for this action and along with excellent service from Linda, my wife and I are really glad with our purchase and are already considering Nissan and Tan Chong for our next ride.

What I like
-Legroom
-HU
-Auto side-mirror fold
-Design of headlight and rim
-rear air-con vents

What I do not like
-Lack of electric seat with memory as my wife and I interchange drive very often, this feature will be extremely useful
-Narrow car width
-Steering is too light, it can be quite dangerous during high speed drive.

Robtan99
1st Gear
1 reviews
64 points
87 forum posts Joined on 29-Mar-2010
2014 Sylphy 1.6A Review  Posted on 13 Jan 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Having upgraded the car from Latio to Sylphy and driven the car for almost a year, i think the car meets all my expectation.

Cabin size is spacious with enough leg room, the car is quite fuel efficient and i like the new CVT gearbox. With speed at 100km, the RPM stays below 1800. Would recommend to those looking for a family car.

What I like
- spacious cabin size
- new design
- fuel efficient
- quiet car

What I do not like
- height a bit low compared to latio. always knock my head even though i am not tall.
- noisy on wet road.
- less state of the art electronics if compared to KIA
- no HID

Nanab0y
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
5 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Jun-2015
A reliable and efficient car  Posted on 04 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I collected the car in October. It is a fuel efficient and quiet car. A good value for money pick compared to other similar makes and models in the market. Boot space is ample to combine a stroller, baby seat and groceries. Rear aircon is particularly useful in our humid climate. One grouse is the GPS which can be unreliable. Always wanting to hit e highway when a shorter route is available. No worries for I can switch to google maps. Last but not least, the agent (Ms. Shirley Soo) who attended to me is knowledgable. Never pushy and rude. Always patient and listening. Highly recommended agent to anybody who need a guiding hand. Especially first time car buyer who needs a good support and advise to handle all the paper works and stuff.

What I like
Rear aircon.
Boot space.
Fuel efficient.

What I do not like
GPS which can get unreliable at times.

B_goh88
1st Gear
1 reviews
56 points
77 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2004
Value for money and spacious  Posted on 02 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving the car since beginning of June and clock 8,000km.
Fuel consumption is 14.2km per litre.

Very spacious for a 1.6l car with rear air-con.

What I like
Spacious interior
Large boot space
Rear air-con
Quiet
keyless entry and start

What I do not like
No day running white LED
No auto-lock
Lack of storage for driver
No mirror on the passenger visor
No clock on the dash board

Starlety
Clutched
1 reviews
26 points
24 forum posts Joined on 24-Aug-2003
Spacious and reliable car  Posted on 24 Aug 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Review
I collected my car on May 2015 and have clocked around 5000km. The Fuel consumption is good, able to clock around 13.5km/l for 40 percent Highway. Due to CVT, the acceleration has its own mind, can't accelerate fast even step hard on the accelerator.

What I like
- Spacious interior.
- Large boot space.
- Rear aircon.
- Good fuel consumption.
- Quiet and smooth.

What I do not like
- No auto lock
- Wheels is noisy when rolling on wet floor
- Noisy roof when raining
- No knockdown rear seats

Rockerbun
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
7 points
35 forum posts Joined on 22-Jun-2013
Spacious and value for money sedan  Posted on 10 Jul 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating  
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I collected my car on April 2015 and have clocked around 4500km. Till now, car had served my family well. The leg room is spacious and rear aircon is really useful when it comes to warm weather. The Fuel consumption is good, able to clock around 16.2km/l for 50 percent Highway.

What I like
- Spacious interior.
- Large boot space.
- Rear aircon.
- Good fuel consumption.
- Quiet and smooth.

What I do not like
- Compartment space for driver is small
- No auto lock
- Wheels is noisy when rolling on wet floor
- Noisy roof when raining
- No knockdown rear seats

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Login to sgCarMart to submit a review Submit a review
Nissan Sylphy 4 stars - based on 30 reviews