Recommended for you

Hyundai reveals i30 N Drive-N Limited Edition

PARF cars: 5 mainstream alternatives to consider!

FWD cars that are highly entertaining

Honest Mech repairs and enhances performance


This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Jan 2014.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Hyundai i30
05 May 2008  |  Hyundai Reviews
Hyundai scored a major leap in quality with this one, but is it too expensive, like the masses claim?
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai i30
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
20 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer
20 Reviews
  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Kevinyeaw
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Feb-2010
Yes, only if u r looking for 'power'  Posted on 25 Aug 2010
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Drive for abt 5 mths, my old ride is a Lancer 1.5 auto for 7 yrs. After change over, feel uncomfortable about the bumpiness when travelling on uneven road. Paint work should do more. Rubber seal on the doors feels like those on commercial fridge door. Wat i dislike is the remote without sound. When remote locking the car, u need to physically look at the blink, which under bright sun is difficult. I was not told abt tis till i get the car.

What I like
- powerful 1.6 auto but loud engine when reach 3000rpm.
- spacious compare to Lancer, Colt plus.
- foldable back seat.
- interior looks good.

What I do not like
- poor after sales. My Remote went intermitten jus after 2 mths, bring back to komoco, CS told me it could be due to low battery, without even doing a check. I told him, but my car is only 2 mths old and BOTH my remote pcs is intermittent, he told me, ya, maybe the battery from korean is like tat! (still w/o checking anything). i ask him can help me to ascertain it, he said: sorry we dont sell battery here, you can get it from outside provision shop!
- was not told the remote is 'silent' when purchasing the car, and it cant be change. Some time you wont know is your car is lock or not, esp under bright sunlight.
- my car was bang when in car park lot. Got komoco to repair due to warranty concern. But, komoco DO NOT help me in 3rd party claims, meaning, they will only claims from my owm Ins co, even it is clear cut case of other party's fault. When the bills come up to abt 10k, no servicing voucher or any sort was given to me as token. Imagine 10k repair bill is abt a new car OMV.

Strife0018
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Mar-2006
Good Car  Posted on 30 May 2010
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
- Nice Interior and Exterior
- Smooth
- Good handling
- For the price you get a sunroof(bought it around 56K when COE was at 15K)
- Alot of add on acessories at Mancando

-So far the best car that I have drive

What I like
All about it

What I do not like
Engine start to get loud above 3300rpm

Crx6111
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Apr-2007
Not very competitively priced  Posted on 07 Dec 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test driven both new VW polo and this, must admit that interior space wise i30 feels slightly more spacious. but price wise polo definitely wins hands down.
Overall i30 not a bad car, but to remain competitive, komoco better lower the price, or bring in those sold in European market with more gadgets at the same price.
Feel that komoco is overcharging with the basic models.
Hopfully more european makes will come up with models like the polo to push the price of korean cars down.

What I like
almost everything

What I do not like
price.
with the new polo, who would buy this??

Saroja117
Neutral Newbie
8 reviews
4 points
193 forum posts Joined on 21-Nov-2009
Impressed with Hyundai for such a good car.  Posted on 21 Nov 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The best hatchback I have ever sat in. The comfort of the car is good. I find the car somehow fun to drive. Even though its a small car. The engine is responsive, the road noise is less and great! Sunroof adds more to the styling. The car is great value for money. Plenty of rear leg room.

What I like
The styling of the car.
Sunroof.
Features.
Interior design.
Huge leg room.

What I do not like
Old 4 speed auto.
No climate control aircon.

May_fifteen
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2009
Fortunate to own such a good first car  Posted on 17 Nov 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I test drive this car, Suzuki Swift and KIA Cerato Forte. The performance, power and handling of Forte was not up to my expectation though its price was competitive. I did not feel as comfortable driving it as compared to the other two. Performance, handling, comfort, safety and power were good for Swift and I30. I ended up choosing I30 because of the bigger boot space and more spacious interior. As stated in another review "The handling is weighty without feeling overly assisted". Furthermore, I prefer I30's design which reflects the current trend in Europe. Similar style as Mazda 2, Citroen C4 and Ford Fiesta. Also, I am paying less for a 1600CC I30 as compared to a 1500CC Swift. I collected the car within 3 weeks from the day of booking.

I got the basic model without sunroof as I found it unnecessary. The control panel for the audio system has a simple design unlike the confusing one in Forte. Braking under normal condition is not jerky and allows for a gradual slowdown till stop.

However, the engine can be loud at times when ramming up the speed. Speed increase is also not so instantaneous. Fuel efficieny is definitely more inferior than Japanese make but it does matter so much for me since I bought it under the OPC scheme. My sales consultant was a little pushy as well but I was glad that she did so. If not, I would not be able to get such a wonderful car at such a price with such a colour. She threw in a free spoiler and cheaper reverse sensor for me. She also gave me a red packet. Service is quite satisfactory actually.

What I like
Great handling and vehicle stability
Simple yet attractive design
High comfort level
Goof safety review
Not so common on the road like Hyundai Avante, Suzuki Swift, KIA Cerato Forte and Toyota Vios
Satisfactory service support
Nice braking system
Simple and neat interior design
Spacious boot

What I do not like
Poor fuel efficiency
Noisy and slow-to-reponse engine at times
No 5 years warranty

Jamesdevil
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
11 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Average  Posted on 12 Nov 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Initially thought this was the perfect car for my daily usage. However after a test drive found the car too slow to responses, poor low end torque and rather tight at the back. Handling was beautiful, however that was where the good points stop. Sales girl was also hastling me to buy by bad mouthing on other brands. Further more due to the weight, fuel consumption is rather poor according to my colleague.

So was put off, further more the pricing very similar to altis. Went to C&C and took the forte instead. much better car, better build quality and strangely more quiet.

What I like
Handling

What I do not like
Poor sales rep
Weak low end torque
Non responsive acceleration
expensive

Iridrium
1st Gear
1 reviews
19 points
108 forum posts Joined on 04-Nov-2006
Under-Rated Hatchback.  Posted on 12 Nov 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Armed with the budget of $50k - $60k, we test driven some of the short listed car within our budget back in July 09. We quickly eliminated:
Forte - Loud engine noise, poor road noise insulation, light steering and cheap door panel. All the equipment provide are good to have, but not essential. Key point for a car is that it must drive well isn't it?
Mazda 2 - Expensive and smaller interior space.
Golf - Very expensive. We like the drive, but we cannot see ourselves paying additional 30k for it. Not to mention the long waiting time.

It soon became very clear that we can hardly find anything to fault about I30. We like the size and the look of it.

The handling is weighty without feeling overly assisted. I don't like the light steering feel of some of the cars. It feels good just siting in the driver's seat. Inside the cabin is quite spacious and I like the conservative look, simple design and conservation look. However, it is neither bland nor dull. The blue lighting gives a soft touch to the entire cabin.

My wife loves the ipod connectivity which allows the singer and song name to be displayed on the console. Way cool for the price we are paying for it.

Sunroof is a bonus too. We enjoy looking up the sky while driving at night. It also helps to make the interior seems bigger.

The drive itself is stable. It has the dynamic capabilities to compete with more expensive vehicles and the handling is confidence inspiring. At no point while driving the car I feel that I lost control. While some don't like the brake or its lack of responsiveness, I love the fact that the brake are not overly tight that results in a very harsh braking.

We got the car at low COE price, so no complain on the price.

What I like
Good handling
Weighty steering
Handsome interior
Flat folding seats for trips to Ikea

What I do not like
Small rear windscreen
Restricted viewing from the rearview mirror.

Jtanyh20
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Oct-2009
Good Car but Price slightly too high  Posted on 10 Nov 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Went for test drive on this car. Now the non Sunroof version have been discontinued.. disappointing as not all people will want the version with Sunroof (cost $3K extra). Because of sunroof, the headroom is lower.

Driving experience is good, audio is cool..space is pretty good (2 methods of knockdown seats). Handling with electric power steering is responsive but not as good as Lancer EX.

Engine is powerful enough to push you along but when u rev up, the noise can be heard quite loudly.

Not sure of FC though, should be around 11-12 km/L for 50/50 drive

Overall a good car to have.

What I like
- Cool blue lighting for dashboard
- The conti looks of the car (esp with bodykit)
- General drivability of the car. Good response, powerful engine. Enjoy driving it..

What I do not like
- Price too exp for this range.
- non-Sunroof version discontinued.. Singapore too hot a weather for that, plus the fact is only the rear passengers get to enjoy (though they will feel more drowsy if they look through the sun roof throughout the entire jorney)... lower headroom because of sunroof.

Yagami85
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
139 forum posts Joined on 29-Sep-2009
1st car I have owned, and yes, I'm satisfied  Posted on 01 Nov 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Nice car with almost everything I'm looking for in this price range. Consider some other model, vios and lancer Ex. This is what i really find it value for money.

What I like
Almost everything

What I do not like
No 5 yrs warranty

6GHz
1st Gear
5 reviews
63 points
37 forum posts Joined on 09-Aug-2009
Next Generation of Hyundai  Posted on 09 Aug 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Having driven Hyundais since 1999, this i30 is one that really surprises me as it is a different breed altoghether.

For those who still holds a stigma against this Korean marque, do put your brand snobbery aside, try it and judge it against its peers within this price bracket. You may not be overly impressed; you may still turn up your noses; you may not sign on the dotted line; but you'd likely be hard pressed to agree that this is no Hyundais of yesteryears.

The i30 has in fact been my best Korean purchase thus far. Before the deal, I've tried, amongst others, Mitsubishi Lancer EX (up on drivability but ride is too busy for my liking), Subaru Impreza (nice acquired looks but cramp interior), Kia Cerato Forte (looks fabulous but interior was a letdown), Nissan Latio (excellent accomodation but out of budget).

The i30 looks desirable, the interior is several lamp-posts ahead of other Korean and Malaysian makes, and comparatively well-made even compared to Japanese offerings. The engine is refined in its normal operating range, however red-lining it yields harsh but muted noise in the cabin. Overall NVH is good. Ride comfort is simply superb, gliding over bumps confidently without fanfare and I would say it shines brightest in this department on this side of the price bracket.

It represents something that nicely balanced my bank balance, yearns and consdierations. Goldilocks would have chosen this.

What I like
1. Tops in ride comfort.
2. Engine refinement is high.
3. Comparative built-quality.
4. Good interior space.
5. Within my budget.
6. Acceptable fuel consumption, at 13.5km/L (60% Highway:40% Urban).

What I do not like
1. Headroom an area for improvement.
2. Rear view coverage is limited.
3. Bigger elbow-rest is welcomed.

Johncofee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Jun-2009
A new car I owe  Posted on 10 Jun 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I recently bought this car and before I got it, I read through a large number of reviews both from here and australia. I found that almost 98% have said the car was good. With the exception of 1 or 2 person who said otherwise. One said she heard large drilling noises when she drove and the other complained about the price. I find this car has no issues with maybe the price, since people have a perception towards korean makes.

What I like
1. very comfortable.
2. Steering is good, it doesnt oversteer like the avante
3. Its definitely not too bad with the FC. So far done abt 11km/l. It has only been with me for slightly less than a month so it could improve over time.

What I do not like
1. Its now slightly too ex, but still better than when it first was released. Heard it was about 60+++ k
2. ability to add GPS would be great!
3. no climate control!

But even with the negative parts, its still very much a worthwhile car to get. Please give this car or the new i30cw a try and be amazed!!

Leontan
Clutched
12 reviews
6 points
62 forum posts Joined on 30-May-2009
Review  Posted on 20 May 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Improvements

Should have leather for door panels, steering wheel and gear knob.


Should have reverse distance indicator, side mirror indicator and ECM included in the package.

Sunroof, steering controls and remote are good selling points.

Hope that Komoco will bring in i30cw with the above enhancements!

CoolAlan
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Steady, sporty but average car  Posted on 15 Apr 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Do not expect super car at this price level. However, if you don't care about fuel efficiency, this is definately a car to consider at this level. However, boot is a bit small.

What I like
Stable, various audio mode and on-wheel control, trip meter and sporty design.

What I do not like
Low fuel efficiency (11L/100km for me even after off the aircon), costly parts, small boots, uneven front panel which is difficult to put things on top of it.

Hansen
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Mar-2008
Who would have thought this was a Hyundai?  Posted on 05 Mar 2009
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Traded in my old altis for the i30. It has been great so far. Engine is very quiet even with the windows down and sunroof opened. When driven slowly, gear changes at 2000 rpm, giving excellent fuel economy. I clocked over 300km on the first half tank with 50-50 highway-city driving. Very stable at high speed and body roll very well controlled, compared to the roly-poly altis. Friends can't believe this is a Korean car. Neither do I!

What I like
- Very responsive engine
- Excellent fuel economy
- very quiet car
- 6 speaker system
- electronic sun roof
- sporty external design

What I do not like
- auto down windows only for driver's side.
- No chiller glove box
- Only 2 air bags - max
- Very little upgrade options available.
- no interior options

Getzmanzz
1st Gear
1 reviews
24 points
120 forum posts Joined on 08-Jul-2005
Nice Car  Posted on 04 Oct 2008
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have tested drove the car few weeks back, really like the feel and the handling of the car. i30 is very quiet, comfortable and have the continental feel.
A lot of people still having the mindset that Korean car cannot make it. They won't spend about 60k for a Korean car. But if you put the brand of the car aside, i30 is really value for money

What I like
Comfortable
Continental feel

What I do not like
Some of the features of the car are not available for the local market

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Hyundai i30
3.5 stars - based on 20 reviews