Recommended for you

Kia Soul 1.6 (A) Review

The car rental business in Singapore is booming this CNY! Here are the best cars to rent before they are all gone!

» Go to articles

This is an old car model that is no longer for sale by the local distributor since Jan 2014.
Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Kia Soul 1.6 (A) Review
13 Jul 2010  |  Kia Reviews
The 2010 Kia Soul brings a whole new attitude to the Korean automaker's lineup. With the catchy style and a comprehensive list of fun features, it's hard not to get emotionally involve.
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Soul
spacer
4.0
 
3 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
4.5 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Jerrcik
1st Gear
4 reviews
100 points
305 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2010
Small on the outside, big on the inside (2012 Kia Soul)  Posted on 06 Jan 2013
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Summary:

A great city and touring car. Adequate comfort rating with good performance from its 6-speed DOHC engine. It may look small on the outside (some say its the twin of the Mini-Cooper Countryman) but in reality, it is very spacious on the inside with good leg and head room.

On the downside, you get bored with the shape and design very fast. Not sure why, but eh, maybe its my harley doing the trick.

Collected the car on 24th December 2012 (after waiting for 5 mths) and had already clocked 1.9K (as of 6th Jan 2013). Yet to have the service (7th Jan 2013), But the car is doing just fine on it.

What I like
1. Lovely 18 inch Burner Rims (must add 2K though)
2. Great leg/head room for all
3. Cool red/black combo upholstery/dashboard
4. Push-start button
5. Comfy ride
6. Mini Countryman look-alike
7. I-pod/Aux/USB connectivity
8. Excellent Bluetooth set (in-built)
9. Reliable 6-speed CVT and DOHC engine
10. Hidden exhaust tip
11. Lots of customizing possibilities
12. Good acceleration/performance
13. LED daylights
14. LED rear lights
15. Solid built car (with 5 star rating if i am not wrong)

What I do not like
1. No sunroof (Thats a pity)
2. I prefer it to be 2.0 rather than 1.6
3. No cruise control
4. No shift paddle (it will complete the entire sporty outlook)
5. Again, i prefer it to be manual (oldschool)
6. HOW COME NO UVO SYSTEM!!!!! (Why those in USA have those)
7. Lack of accessories support
8. I waited 5 mths for the car, poor management response to the problem.
9. No solar film, visors, etc.
10. I prefer to have Bi-Xenon lights
11. Absence of rear air-con vents and plugs.
12. Armrest for driver feels weird. (I just felt that the size is not right, yet it is not too big nor too small...just a weird feeling)
13. Stupid COE price. ( i bought at 55K, July)


Zekexone
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
2 points
5 forum posts Joined on 21-Feb-2012
A good basic family crossover car  Posted on 21 Feb 2012
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Been owning the Kia Soul for about 10 months now, the first drive of the car was great even til' now, the comfort and higher lever of seating makes most of the drive a pleasant one. The steering is light and rather abit effortless in maneuvering. Fuel consumption is rather alright in my opinion for a 48L tank that could go around 550KM and slightly abit more for 40% street and 60% Highways.

Comes with the ipod/iphone charging cable which i do not own any to be able to utilise, nice dashboard display for the ambience in both daytime and night drive. The overall driving experience is good but lacks features such as climate control air con, traction control, abs etc as standard. Its more of a basic the rest have to be added on. Takes abit more effort to accelerate in overtaking and driving up the slope. All in all, if you're looking for a good basic family ride without much expectation, this should be in your list. Great servicing place and people over at Leng Kee and Pandan branches by the way.

What I like
Handling
Box-y Look of the car
Spacious Compartments
Fuel economy
5 years unlimited mileage warranty

What I do not like
Doesnt come with reverse sensor as standard
Features such as abs, traction control not as standard
No solar film as standard
Takes abit more effort to accelerate


Mustis
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Nov-2010
Unique yet efficient and pratical.  Posted on 19 Nov 2010
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
KIA soul 1.6 cvvt
18 inch wheel,
Leather seats.
Got it from Kia store at Ubi.

Just got the car. Been using it a while. Handling on corners with the 18 inch wheels and the hard suspension give you more stability. Love the height like a SUV as u feel more superior. From the outside you may think is a small car but once you get in, the amount of head room and space between legs and seats layout is large and spacious. Alot of leg room, good factory audio dashboard with chargeable iphone connectivity that includes the cable upon getting the car. You can use the headphone jack out to the Aux input in the car to play any videos or music from any device. Great 6 speakers audio system with good bass. Love the sportronic gear shift with good pickup. Fuel consumption not bad.Put it as an average. Keyless entry and push start button that makes the car feels up to technology. Full disc brake with ABS and its damn safe. Overall a practical car for family, friends outing or just solo fun but not for racing.

What I like
Audio

Color like speakers that can switch different settings by mood or by music (bass sensitivity, lights will get brighter by following the bass/beat of the music). My friends love to plug in their Iphone or ipod to listen to their music out loud.

Good 6 speakers system with good bass.
Easy to navigate audio system.
USB, iphone/ipod connectivity
Aux input.

Aircon

Auto climate. Inside car temp adjust automatically and you always feel the temp is just nice. Still can switch to manual.

Space

What more can i say, head room, leg space even at the rear seats. ALot of room and spacious boot.

Handling

Very stable, very safe, Steering wheel feels light with control buttons for vol, channel (or skip diff track) and mode. Cornering feels safe even as the speed is fast. (thanks to traction and eps features). Pick up average but its good enough for me.

Safety

Keyless entry, push start button, 5 star rating for safety. ABS, traction control, EPS. 5 years warrenty.

Overall, its a fun car, with alot of interesting features at a good price. KIA is getting more better and hotter.

What I do not like
Due to suspension given is the hard absorber, thus driving on the road wont feel smooth as you can feel bumps at times. But hey, nothing is perfect, you want less bump u get soft suspension, you want stability go for hard.

Plastic interior dashboard looks easy to get scratch. But so far im a careful person so looks good at the moment.

Thats all so far.

Kia Soul
4 stars - based on 3 reviews