Related Articles

Odyssey redefines the meaning of space

2014 Honda Odyssey lineup announced

Honda recalls 9 Odyssey cars in the US

Puma celebrates endless reinvention with Scuderia Ferrari


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Honda Odyssey EXV-S Navi Res (A)
17 Oct 2018  |  Honda Reviews
The Honda Odyssey gets some subtle changes in and out to ensure its modernity against its strong segment peers. So how does the full-sized MPV fare?
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda Odyssey
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
26 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
21 out of 26 (80.8%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

26 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Kspecific
1st Gear
1 reviews
60 points
33 forum posts Joined on 26-Sep-2011
Good MPV but Not Perfect  Posted on 03 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got my new Navi Res model from Kah Motors in May18.
Generally, this car is pretty well equipped with Honda Sensing and many other features except no electric brake...
Interior quite spacious similar to Toyota Estima (owned Estima few year ago and last drive is Harrier). Built quality comparable with Estima but not Harrier which is alot more refined.

What I like
PROS:
* Comfortable MPV for a family of five.
* Comfortable seating for the driver with good all round visibility
* Nice features (all round camera, blind spot assist, park assist etc) that are useful.
* Honda Reliability

What I do not like
CONS:
- The engine overall is quite noisy.
- The cabin quite noisy also
-No electric brake….very disappointed
- Very low body, when open the doors/sliding doors, with extra careful, if not it will hit the road curb

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
144 points
61 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Honda being a typical honda  Posted on 08 Jun 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 1/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Powerful, it is not. Comfy it is. This car is pretty wellequipped with hond safety sense and many features at this price range. Interior pretty spacious but will top up some more for vw sharan which is more spacious alot more well built and alot more refined.

What I like
Honda, reliable supposedly la
slightly cheaper than Sharan

What I do not like
build quality
NVH, from inside keep thinking never fully shut the windows
Built quality is sub par to sharan
Space sub par to sharan
Performance sub par to sharan
Leather seats feel like pu, not relly comfy like real leather is supposeed to make u feel??

Phcar
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
8 points
5 forum posts Joined on 31-Aug-2011
Will not recommend  Posted on 13 Dec 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
My personal opinion on the Odessey which I had driven a fifteen month old car and found that the car has very minimum insulation, it appears that the insulation did not improve and it is the same as the 2.4L Accord that I owned before. Be aware when its raining, you can hear the roof sound just like under a zinc roof...
The Odessey seem larger than the normal MPV but smaller than those super MPV like the Toyota Alphard. The Odessey has not much improve on the external shape and outline of the vehicle including the lighting, the interior has not improve since the older generation.
The Honda steering has always been very light to maneuver which makes the road holding poor. The brakes are poor and stiff which you can feel that there is no damping cushion.

What I like
The brand

What I do not like
Overall insulation of the car
External and interior look
Steering
Brakes
Shape of the car

TKK
TKK
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Dec-2017
Do not buy the Odyssey!  Posted on 10 Dec 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I would skip the nice things which the other reviewers had mentioned, and I will go straight into sharing my terrible experience with this car.

When I just got the car, 1) Tailgate was not aligned properly, 2) big patch of brown stain on front windscreen, 3) front windscreen solar film had bubble patches (even after 10 weeks). Thus 1 trip to Mandai, and another 1 to VKOOL. These were not the biggest issue...

After a few weeks of driving, my family and I started to realize that there are loud RATTLING SOUNDS from both the sliding doors while the car is moving (It is caused by the door's roller). I have sent my car to the workshop for more than 5 times already, but until now they still do not have a solution to even minimize the sound (NEARLY 10 MONTHS ALREADY...). Just imagine the down-time for a brand-new car... It is really NOT acceptable. And recently, it is getting louder and it is causing a lot of discomfort for both the driver and the passengers. Even my friends complained about it when they took my car.

Besides this rattling sound, the doors (yes, all of them) also have clicking/ticking sound even when the car is not moving. From what I have observed, this sound is heard from the areas near the pillar of the doors where the black plastic pieces are. Not very sure what causes it, but I am sure KAH MOTOR does not have a solution for this either.

You might be wondering why I am the only one complaining about these sounds. I am amazed why no one mentioned anything about it, but this is definitely not an one of as their branch manager also complained about the rattling sound caused by the sliding doors too. And the engineer admits that this is a design flaw.

Take no risk, because it is really a torture to have the rattling sound right above the back of your right ear while driving. Do really consider getting Estima/Previa or something else instead of spending your $170k+ on this.

I really do not wish to see anyone else suffering from these problems.

Cheers.

What I do not like
TERRIBLE RATTLING SOUND

LuisHK
Premium User LuisHK
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Dec-2017
Honda Reliability  Posted on 06 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Been driving this car for about a year now and I must say this car ticks most boxes when it comes to a complete MPV.

The car is still very spacious yet not looking too bulky from the outside. All 3 rows have plenty of room which is a big plus for me. Ottoman seats are very big and comfortable.

I'm still not a fan of CVT despite all the talk about fuel saving - it is not as fun to drive! That can be felt especially during acceleration from the off - slightly sluggish acceleration. Fuel consumption hover around 10km/L on combination of city/highway driving, reasonable enough.

My only big complaint is factory fitted Dunlop tyres. They are horrible. (Of course easily rectified with a tyre change... But still....)

What I like
Ottoman Seats
Spacious Interior
Much better steering compared to RB1
New electronic gadgets that is useful when driving

What I do not like
Lack of power tailgate (why??)
Poor stock tyres
Relatively small tank (last time it was 65L?)

Abhi_boatclub
Clutched
4 reviews
25 points
2 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2013
Overall useful car, but leaves quite a few things to be desired  Posted on 20 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
I have owned the new Navi Res model from Kah motors for the last 6 months. Before this I had the older model of the Odyssey, which I was very happy with and hence decided to get the new one after COE expired. Here is my unbiased feedback after regular use.

When you pay 150k+ for a car, you expect the pros to outweigh the cons. Unfortunately the new Odyssey leaves a lot to be desired.

What I like
PROS:
* I have a family of 4 and a few dogs. As a people mover, this was the most comfortable and good looking MPV, that fits everyone well
* The 7 seater model allows you to walk behind through the middle row gap, which is very useful
* Sliding doors are incredibly useful for people with kids and in tight parking spots
* Excellent features ( all round camera, blind spot assist, park assist) that are useful.
* The Engine is very refined and steering feel is very comfortable.
* Maneuvering the car is relatively good too for a MPV
* Honda Reliability
* INterior trims of good quality
* Comfortable seating postion for the driver with good all round visibility

What I do not like
CONS:
- CVT gearbox lacks character and the engine overall is quite noisy.
- Even after you floor the accelerator in Sports mode, the engine barely responds.
- The Ride is very firm (hard)
- I prefer the looks of the old Odyssey!
- The old Odyssey had a button to fold and unfold the rear seats. In the new Odyssey - its manual! Why would someone take a useful feature and make it a headache, god knows
- Navigation system, in day and age of smartphones is useless at best, unless you drive to Malaysia. Similarly paddle shifters are a gimmick at best. After the first 2 weeks i have rarely used them... but then again its a MPV
- The touch interface for air con and other buttons is horrible. Since there is no tactile feedback like a button or knob, you need to take your eyes off the road every time you need to make any adjustments to the center console! Bad design
- The clock is not easily visible. Some of the settings on the turn and wiper handles are not visible since they are hidden behind the steering wheel.Bad Design!!!!
- For a 2.4 litre engine, this MPV feels very underpowered. Worse than the old Odyssey. On top of that, the fuel consumption is not great - i get at best 7 to 8 KMPL with mainly city driving.

All in all - nothing stops you from getting from A to B, but at the same time, the above seem like annoyances that your constantly reminded of. Honda could do better, after all its an Honda right?!

abwisdom
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Sep-2016
Nice but pricey  Posted on 14 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving an Odyssey for 9 years and about to scrap it. Generally ok and reliable but have been giving minor problems in the past 1 year.

Tested the new Odyssey. Nicer design and sliding doors. In the end, I opted for a Mazda 5 due to price.

What I like
Sunroof
Cruise control
Sliding door for new model

What I do not like
New model is too pricey now with the high CEO. Went for a cheaper one with comparable specs
Too many sharp corners in new design especially when you open up the hood. Prefer the old design.

Detonator8
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
9 points
4 forum posts Joined on 29-Jun-2010
Japan made - Japan quality  Posted on 05 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the new KM Honda Odyssey EXV 7 seater for over a month now and loving it! I was initially firm in getting a Toyota Harrier but decided to drop by KM to have a look at the Honda Odyssey and never look back then.

This car is spacious with very good head n leg room in every row. The third row of seat allows adults to sit with comfort even for long distant, not forgetting to mention the second row comfy ottoman seat which the children call them "Aeroplane" Seats. The trims level gives you a luxurious feel like a conti car. The leather seats are of premium grade, and nice features such as blind spot indicator, 360 view camera, tri-zone air con control, paddle shift, park assist makes Honda Odyssey a premium ride.

The 7-speed CVT does take a little while to get used to, but you will soon learn to appreciate the smooth ride with a CVT gear. When I first driven the new ride the suspension seems hard but with correct tyre pressure the suspension is much better than before, thou is still a little on the stiff side.
Despite being a MPV, the height of the ride is comparable to full size SUV, yet giving you a better leg room (longer wheel base) and better head room (low floor board). That's probably explain why in Japan MPV is still far more popular than SUV, not just for family but also appeal to singles who love the spacious and luxury.
Exterior of the ride looks sporty like extensive use of chrome, aero Bodykit and sunroof gives it a sporty feel, but with a 18" Rim would be even better.
The biggest downside of the ride is that it does not come with electric tailgate which nowadays is considered as a basic feature especially for car in this segment.

What I like
1) Premium trims level giving you a luxurious feel
2) Spaciousness, you probably will never go back to a sedan car
3) Smooth ride with adequate power for urban driving
4) Small features like turn signal when you push just a little, it will blink for 3 times for changing of lane.
5) Fantastic 360 degree camera view, especially the 2 side camera for those who want to maintain scratch- free rims
6) Blind spot indicator - you no longer need to turn ur head to check your blind spot anymore

What I do not like
1) No electric tailgate (which is unbelievable)
2) Small fuel tank - for lazy people like me who hate to head to petrol pump as rare as possible (but CVT suppose to compensate in the fuel consumption)
3) No electric sun shade for sunroof (good to have)
4) KM ride comes with spare tyre which elevate the floor board behind first row of seat a little higher. PI ride comes with run flat kit with a complete flat floor board which is more practical in my opinion
5) Does not come with absolute kit, like the chrome trimmings on Bodykit and front fog light.
6) Still traditional light bulb for front fog light

carfanB
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
11 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2014
Decent and comfortable MPV  Posted on 25 Apr 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have been driving this Odyssey for a full month, and it does earn it's car of the year award.

Exterior Styling: Looks really good for an MPV. With the DRL and bits of the bodykit, it does give it a sporty look. Honda does offer a reasonable array of colours, and all of them really suit the car's tall and big stance. Nice little touch of added sportiness with the rims, but it would look better with 18" Rims.

Interior: Comfortable. Really comfortable with plush leather seats. Ride is a little stiff, but the soft seats really balances it out. Legroom is ample, and so is the 3rd row seats'. The only setback is that the boot space has been compromised for a more comfortable sitting in the 3rd row. With 3 adults in the back, it gets kind of cramped, and it doesn't help that part of the chassis eats into the 3rd row seats.

Drivability: It feels nice on the road. Engine is not as responsive as an Estima's for example, but it's alright for daily driving. Steering is light and responsive, and so is the accelerator and the brakes. It feels rather sluggish moving off and feels underpowered. But once it picks up speed, it drives perfectly normally.

Equipment: It's pretty decently equipped, with electric seats, cruise control, bluetooth connectivity, and all that. It could do with slightly better, with the addition of memory seats, self-closing mirrors, auto rain-sensing wipers etc.

Overall, it is a decent car and does fulfil the needs of families. It does stack up pretty well against the Estima. Price-wise, it is rather reasonable as compared to its competitors. I suppose if you can look past what the bits and details the Odyssey lacks, its a pretty ideal car.

What I like
- Good reliability.
- Really comfortable seats
- Excellent leg and head room.
- Easy to drive
- Bodykit and DRL gives it a nice sporty touch

What I do not like
- Could do with a bit more equipment
- Feels sluggish and underpowered moving off
- Hard ride
- The 3rd row seats can't be kept away completely like an Estima and that it frustrating! If you need space for luggage, the whole 3rd row has to go down. Why haven't Honda thought of something like the Estima?

Alpha78
Premium User Alpha78
6th Gear
1 reviews
4,743 points
2496 forum posts Joined on 12-Nov-2004
Almost Ideal MPV  Posted on 30 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I was previously driving a manual Mitsubishi Lancer EX GT, which is a very fun car to drive. However due to expanding family size and ageing parents, a higher sitting position car with bigger passenger capacity became more important.

Over the last 2 years, I had test-driven several MPV models and explored 3 rows of seats in several more.

Sat in:
- Toyota Wish - too cramped and short for third row.
- Toyota Esquire/Noah - decent third row but seats cannot be hidden away.
- Toyota Estima - similar legroom and headroom as Odyssey, but much older model.
- Mazda 5 - hit my head while trying to access the third row.

Test driven:
- Citroen C4 Grand Picasso (previous generation), didn't like the static centre of the steering wheel, and EGS gearbox.
- Mazda Biante, felt the interior was quite spartan, and the 1.82m height a cause for concern.
- Honda Odyssey (Kah Motor version), liked the good handling and the high cabin height despite being only 1.695m tall.

Decided on the 20th Anniversary Edition of Odyssey Absolute, due to the lower price and better features than the AD version. Especially when the 8-seater versions are compared.

What I like
- Very spacious legroom and headroom for all 3 rows.
- Decent boot space for daily use, even with third row seats up.
- High tech features (Honda Sensing) in the 20th Anniversary Edition.
- Driving experience is still car-like, despite the van-like size.
- Rear passengers feel pampered, with the driver opening and closing the door for them.

What I do not like
- High price due to the COE.
- Low ground clearance of the front doors, have to keep reminding the front passengers not to swing the door open too wide, in case it hits the kerb.
- Japanese language dashboard info panel, takes some time to get used to.

Abdulwz
Premium User Abdulwz
1st Gear
1 reviews
64 points
41 forum posts Joined on 31-May-2006
A most impressive upgrade...  Posted on 28 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was driving a 2006 Honda Odyssey EXV from Kah Motors and was looking around for a replacement as must trusty Oddy was on her last legs. Looked at Alphard, Vellfire and the new Oddy from the PIs. Finally opted for the 20th Anniversary 8 Seater model. Quite a no brainer as it had a lot more features over the KM 8 seater and the PI 8 seater G and EX models.
This model is much more spacious for all 3 rows. The exterior look is quite imposing and the look really grows on you. As for the interior, the driving position is much higher and the quality of the interior materials are streets ahead of my old Oddy. My kids and wifey love the spaciousness of the new Oddy.

What I like
- The spaciousness
- Higher quality materials
- The cossetting ride
- The powerful engine
- ACC
- LKAS
- Stop Start feature
- Spacious boot space
- Sliding doors

What I do not like
- Has less compartments to store stuff
- Boot is still manual
- No spare tyre

Zenda
Premium User Zenda
2nd Gear
3 reviews
173 points
40 forum posts Joined on 31-Jan-2015
Wonderful MPV  Posted on 22 Feb 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Had the new Ody for 2 weeks and absolutely loving it. Elegant looking exterior and luxurious spacious interior full of wonderful features. Had looked at competition like Alphard, VF, Estima and finally settled on Ody. One big advantage is that it can safely enter all car parks and is not of XL look. Front transformers like look is love it or hate it.
Would recommend to anyone who is keen. Just one point, get the 2014 EXV. The 2015 EXV cost more but it s similar everyday except for infotainment panel, which IMO does not cost the difference in price.

What I like
1. Wonderful handling, fully adjustable front seat
2. Good fuel economy for MPV
3. Spacious interior, comfortable ride, plenty leg room
4. Sliding side doors
5. Plenty of useful features e.g. Surround camera, all round sensors, blind spot camera and sensors, cross traffic sensors, ottoman seat, fold down third row etc
6. Safe entry to all car parks heights

What I do not like
1. Lack of a turbo mode
2. Would be good to have auto rear door
3. Yellow high beam
4. Better if third row Is two separate fold down rather than one single fold down for all three seats

The_Bear
Premium User The_Bear
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
43,222 points
28588 forum posts Joined on 22-May-2006
A strangely interesting car  Posted on 04 Jan 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
No, I was not going to buy the Odyssey. MPVs are dry, boring and soul-less. I wouldn't be caught dead in one. I was at Kah Motor mainly as a 3rd party and provide objective opinions for my colleague. And to act as counterweight for a test drive, or required.

First look of the car reminds me of van. A van with interesting lines. The headlights look fine but I am not sure if there are too much grill on the front. My friend thinks it is cool. I objectively disagree. Other than that, the car managed to be big without looking big. I know it sounds odd but I am being objective here.

The interior of the 7 seater looks plush. The seats are manual (I believe electrical ones are available somewhere in this universe but...) but the levers were clearly marked and worked exactly as they say. Everything looks well screwed together. Made in Japan? No wonder.

Sitting in the captain's chair for the test drive was comfortable. Business class comfortable. Sleep is possible in full recline. The car wafts along in local traffic nicely. When pushed, the old motor boat sound of over revving without push happens as do all CVT, despite what the salesperson claim that improvements have been made. The suspension feels a tad too harsh. Clearly, this is a car for cruising. The second row is where you want to be.

Objectively, MPVs are still boring but if I am getting one, the Odyssey would be something I will take a harder look at. If only they can put more power into the car.

What I like
The captain seat
Interior space and finishing
Electric sliding doors

What I do not like
Hard suspension
Under powered, but that is subjective.

Picnic06-Biante15
Premium User Picnic06-Biante15
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
83,459 points
36853 forum posts Joined on 18-Nov-2006
The next MPV on my shopping list after my current reaches the 10 years life.  Posted on 02 Dec 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I test driven the new Odyssey the moment it arrive at showroom at Ubi. The comfort and handling was supered. My families like the interior design while my mother-in-law likes the sliding door cos of easy boarding & alighting as she is slightly handicap on her left leg. Had tested other brands with sliding doors but still the new Odyssey features captures my heart.

The only 2 things that prevent me from buying on the spot were the high COE at that time and my current ride (Toyota Picnic) still have 2 more years left. I'm waiting the moment COE drops to around the region of $60k and I wil sure enough rush to the showroom again.

What I like
The sliding door and the interior of the Odyssey. The height of the vehicle is also appealing for my Mother-in-law (slightly handicap) which she can board or alight within a parking lot. My current ride unable to and have to shift the vehicle if there is another car parking beside.

What I do not like
Not much of the rear space to place provisions or goods when last roll of seat on upright position.

CarbonFalcon
Premium User CarbonFalcon
1st Gear
35 reviews
86 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
Space Travel that rivals the French  Posted on 10 Nov 2014
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
There's no denying that the Citroen Picasso or a Peugeot 3008 redefined the segment. MPVs are now expected to be futuristic & spacecraft-inspired: so that you get reminded that it's spacious probably. Whatever the case, it sufficiently moved people away from the limo-MPV that Odyssey used to be. Tastes have changed.

The New Odyssey is a real head turner. Instead of looking like a stretched Sedan with minimal design changes from its Sedan counterparts, the Odyssey stands tall and sports a fat chrome grille that dazzles sunlight. The Rims are most welcome - and finally have made it past "for show only" models or concept cars. Something I've always wanted since the debut of Reventon. Put that on a MPV - very sweet, very target customer-centric. Men who dreamt of sports cars but got married and had kids - you'll be most delighted.

It addresses the problems that the old Odyssey posed - short ground clearance, horrible turning radius, difficult to predict front driving position and blind A pillar spots.

On a impulse level - currently this is the only MPV on the market that has caused both me, my wife and kids as well as my parents to say buy! As a car fanatic, takes a while to come out of that, sit back and decide if this is the right car - especially with the price being a bit too steep.

What I like
Normal Automatic - thankfully not some semi-automatic gearbox. Hate to see grown men keep their hands on the shifters of automatic cars like they did on manual ones.

Sliding doors are most welcome - never appreciated them this much before. Although it was probably included for segmentation's sake to be classified as a proper MPV in some countries (and not cause confusion like the Subaru XV), for such a spacious vehicle, it could not have been more complimentary. Besides, it closed the gap that had swayed a large chunk of customers to it's superior counterpart - The Toyota Estima.

The drive is smoother than the previous generation and a whole lot quieter. Despite the Eco drive settings, there was plenty of power on tap compared to the Picasso. While the heft of the vehicle can be felt, it wasn't as bad as feeling the shear forces on the differential of the previous version. The torque distribution on the body is a lot better, giving a more composed drive with less body roll.

Comparing this to the Estima, the Odyssey loses out a bit on ground clearance but makes up for it with better spare wheel positioning, bigger and bolder rims and better noise insulation.

Power and Torque from both vehicles are similar - although Honda owners would know that the reliability and envelope of Honda engines are slightly better.

What I do not like
Interiors have not changed as much as the exterior. The A pillars, while not as bold and disruptive as the previous generation, are not as thin as the French MPVs.

Driving position, although improved, is not as generous as the Estima. The front overhang must have been a difficult choice to make. It is slightly longer than the Stepwagon just to keep safety ratings. While understandable, wish the riding height was adjusted to make up for the loss in seating stance and feel.

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Honda Odyssey
3.5 stars - based on 26 reviews