Related Articles

In a Nutshell: Uber's unhired fleet floods market

All new Mazda3 set to debut in Los Angeles

How does VES affect your car-buying decision?

This is how the COE bidding system works here


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mazda3 Hatchback 1.5 Deluxe (A)
19 Sep 2014  |  Mazda Reviews
We sample the hatchback version of the new Mazda3 to find out if it drives as well as the sedan that had us all mesmerised.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda 3 Hatchback
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
17 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
3/5
14 out of 17 (82.4%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

17 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
robofishtron
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Oct-2018
Think twice. I would not reccomend this car.  Posted on 16 Oct 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I bought the 1.5 Deluxe HB in 2016 for $106,888. At the time and the price point the Mazda 3 offered the best styling and most premium look. I was especially impressed with the interior, with its use of soft touch plastics, "Leather accents, touch screen, command wheel interface and heads up display. The seats were reasonably comfortable.
I have a love hate relationship with the car. I love that it does 6.8L/100km. However to achieve this, Mazda has sacrificed responsiveness. The car struggle to get going. The engine roars loudly if you push it at low speeds or from a standstill. I gather the transmission lags alot. It take about 1-2 seconds longer than it should to shift down or shift up. Going to manual mode does not help. When the car gets up to cruising high way speeds. There isnt a problem with the response as gear hanges are minimal when cruising.

The brakes are un-predictable as they have to be pressed really all the way to the end of travel to have sufficient bite and stopping power. This situation is worsened by the sluggish transmission response. I hate this about the car.

The auto-start stop irritates me. From a stop at a traffic light, if you release the brakes the engine dosent always come on immediately. This isssss scary as hell especially on a slope. I have rolled back about 5 times now and have been forced to pull the hand brake to avoid accidents. You never know ehn the car will do this, so i drive with the auto-start stop off. You have to turn it off each time you start the car.

When the car is fully loaded with heavy stuff like ikea furnitire. I realized i couldn't reverse the car on a slope.. Dont know why. Maybe its just my car.
The road noise is a problem.. But worse than that the side pillars are somewhat big so checking blind spots are problematic and id say the pillars obscure your blind spot.

2 plus yeas on.. The steering"Leather is peeling" The emblem on the horn is also peeling.

This is the saddest part. As you may know, a certain defunct ride hailing service has been dumping mazda 3s on the re-sale market at a steal.. So the resale value of your Mazda 3 is crap and will be for the next 10 years at least. I was offered 50K -55K for my 2.5year old car that is a drop in value of between 57K-52K in just 2.5years in my case.

What I like
-Interior and exterior styling
-Great on the highway at cruising speeds.
-precise handling

What I do not like
-Sluggish transmission
- under-powered engine
- unpredictable start stop
- sketchy brake response
- blind spots
-HORRIBLE RESALE VALUE

Madness85
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 23-Feb-2018
1 of the nicest Hatchback...  Posted on 19 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I've been driving the Hatchback model for 2 yrs. Didn't pay extra $4K for the features which i don't really require or extra $1K for Soul Red. I like the exterior look for this HB model of coz, esp with the sunroof as standard, but i'd say the paintwork really needs to upgrade. Interior compartment / storage space is really too limited, but at least it don't really gives u the "Plasticky" Feel for overall. Sound insulation is really quite bad, but luckily the sound system still has some standard. Driving feels is good, but a bit under power. No complain on the fuel consumption so far, but the rear seats can't really "Squeeze" In 3 normal size adults, maybe more comfortable for 2 big & 1 small...?

What I like
Hatchback look
Sunroof
Sound system
Fuel consumtion

What I do not like
Paintwork standard
Sound insulation
Rear seats space
Lack of compartment / storage
Under power

Angbernard
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-May-2011
Worst Car i have own till date  Posted on 22 Jan 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Bought the Mazda 3 HB in Jan 2017 first had Suspension & Engine mounting problems, till date engine mounting issue has not been solve.
It has been more then one year.
till date, 4 sets of engine mountings had been changed.
Any advise who should I approach to solve this issue.

What I like
Styling

What I do not like
Engine Mounting
Funny sound coming from the car
Paint work

MohamedGhazali
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 03-Dec-2017
Mazda 3 HB Deluxe: Good Value for money  Posted on 03 Dec 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I wanted a car which is practical and at the same time fun to drive. Mazda 3 HB is not just a good looker but delivers enough torque for city driving. The car is very stable in corners and urges you to take the turn just a little faster for the thrill. I removed the boot lid to make the huge boot useful. Very easy to down the rear seats from the boot to have a level floor to load whatever barang you need shifted. My best car purchase yet.

What I like
1. Very responsive torque converter. No rubber banding like my previous CVT.
2. Well balanced steering weight.
3. Good sound proofing. Not the best but definitely good for the price and better than the previous Mazda 3.
4. The package comes with reverse camera, which is a must as rear window is small.
5. Sound system is quite good with good base.
6. Sunroof is nice addition to brighten the back seat. And it is not too up front so as not to distract the driver.
7. The 1.6L model has better placement for the diver arm rest. They moved it more posterior for the 2.0L which is not a good position.
8. Dual zone climate control makes the wife happy.
9. The active display is useful. The high placement of the infotainment display keeps everything at eye level when driving.
10. Overall, it is a good looking, fun car to drive. I actually look forward to driving to work every morning. Engaging and responsive drive.

What I do not like
1. Infortainment has no Apple Carplay or Android Auto.
2. Low roofline of back seat can hit your head sometimes.
3. Rear window is high so kids can't see out.
4. High centre bump for rear passenger so third kid in centre will complain. Nearly impossible to fit 3rd adult in centre comfortably.
5. Early morning warmup sound like a porsche for 15 seconds. The engine auto revs to heat up the cat convertor. The neighbours may not be too happy.
6. Low seats so elderly may find it hard to get out.

Kia7200
5th Gear
3 reviews
1,621 points
1558 forum posts Joined on 29-Aug-2015
Most beautiful car I owned  Posted on 12 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
When driving this his soul red hb with 18" Sport rim, I noticed quite a high rate of ppl turning back to look at my car when I drive pass.

Really love the exterior n interior of this car. I find it to be one of the bestlooking hb in the current market with a conti interior.

What I like
Exterior
Interior
Headlights n rear light
Colour
Sunroof
Features
Good fc
Reasonable price

What I do not like
Noise
Rear seat space
Boot space
Istop

Victor68
Premium User Victor68
Turbocharged
3 reviews
9,968 points
4072 forum posts Joined on 07-May-2005
Good budget car  Posted on 25 Jul 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Personally, I feel it is only fair to review something based on what you pay. Given the cost of car in Sg, for less than $90K, the finishes for a M3 standard is consider good.

I am not sure if the made in Japan did add value but it is quite refine in most areas. I choose the standard because many of the items omitted from the deluxe I don't need. If the standard can cost less without sun roof, I would opt for it. That is my view.

The other cars in this range or slightly more that give me that quality finishes are mainly the conti cars and Subaru. This review is done after 1 day of ownership and less than 20 Km. So my opinion may change but I will be objective and provide my first hand experiences.

What I like
The standard model is equipped with many goodies you don't get with other brand's lower models. I actually wanted to buy the HB deluxe but they only have blue. Then SE shows me sedan deluxe and told me they have more colors for sedan. Then he told me standard cost $7k less. That is why I ended with standard. Not sure if I should consider this as one of my likes.

The general design and body shape except for the 2 points I list below. Keyless start is good and to be frank, I like mechanical knobs for ac and hand brakes instead of electrical/electronics.

Interior room space acceptable for a sedan but the rear floor with that hump isn't too passenger friendly. Would have score more if the hump is lower.

The front grilles stands up most for this car. sporty yet not to 'beng' in my opinion. Overall. the cutting is not what you see in many of Honda's today models with deep cuts and curves. I personally like the conti cars design which is more toward simple and clean cut. Another personal liking which is subjective.

What I do not like
My is a sedan and I find the back too round. A lip spoiler or something would help. The M6 back looks better.

The side of the body line not nice when they meet at the centre. A cleaner straight line would be better like the M6.

Insulation noise seem loud especially in rough surfaces. The radio reception also weak. It is not a big car but the 1.5 litre engine don't seem to deliver the power. But I can manage this.

Hope Mazda lives up to expectations and there is no more additional 'do not like' items.

cloudieeddie
Premium User cloudieeddie
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
12 points
7 forum posts Joined on 26-Mar-2017
Lives Up to the Name of "Sexy Zoom Zoom"  Posted on 29 Mar 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Drove the car for close to a month now. Car is beautiful as the tagline suggested. Handling is superb and ride is comfortable. Cornering/turning feels great, due most likely to the G-vectoring (or might be due to a combination of other things, really based this on what I read and asked around). Really fun to drive.

Acceleration from zero is a bit slow though. To be fair, I try to be as light-footed as I can to improve FC so I tend not to rev hard. The navigation system is built for overseas so certain terms it uses is weird in our context. For example, you may have to input "Hougang" Into the "Town" Field to look for a place in Hougang.

That said, the MZD Connect (the infotainment unit) with its voice activated functions enhances the driving experience, from playing music, accessing navigation to taking/making calls.

What I like
- looks beautiful, especially in red
- conti feel
- G-vectoring makes turning/cornering feels better
- lots of features, like MZD Connect with FC monitoring, voice activated functions (calls, music playback) etc.
- sun roof makes cabin brighter during night driving (maybe can see stars?)

What I do not like
- no autolock when car in motion
- no memory seat for driver
- no Apple CarPlay support
- GPS/Navi system a bit troublesome to use
- must pay extra for certain colours

chuacheekeong
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
18 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Jul-2016
Attractive exterior and interior  Posted on 29 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Engine horsepower and acceleration felt normal, nothing above the average.
The rear window is super small if you compare it with other hatchbacks like Ford Focus which I also test drove this week.

The most attractive of Mazda 3 is it's external and interior design.

Seats are fitted in Japan and the driver seat is electronically controlled.

Like all modern cars, it comes with auto wiper, lights, cruise control, dynamic bending of headlight when the car is turning, gps, bluetooth to mobile. Comes with 4 airbags and Euro NCAP certified. Start stop engine fuel saving feature when car comes to a halt. Actual fuel consumption is around 16km/l.

No big side mirrors to catch more of blind spots.

What I like
Exterior interior and its unique soul red colour.
Sunroof in hot country.

What I do not like
Small rear window.
The after servicing queue is horrible, my ex-colleague need to wait 4 months to repair a minor accident.
Mazda keeps increasing the price.
Normal engine horsepower.

coolbluepica
2nd Gear
3 reviews
197 points
555 forum posts Joined on 02-Apr-2015
Continental look  Posted on 23 Jun 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Overall a nicely designed and featured car with Conti feel. Well equipped with features but less the auto door lock and rear aircon. Stock 16" Rims doesn't look good.

What I like
1. Design.
2. Features.

What I do not like
1. Stock 16" rims.
2. No auto door lock when drive off.
3. Small interior cabin space.

Camistree
1st Gear
1 reviews
52 points
31 forum posts Joined on 16-Apr-2010
Beautiful Japanese Car with Conti Hatch Design  Posted on 18 Mar 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Have already place a booking with this car and what made up my mind is really how the car looks, drives and its value for money.

Was initially outside of my price range when searching for a new car but came within after the recent COE drop.

Went to give the car a drive and fell in love immediately with its looks and how it handles. Even my misus was impressed with the curves of the car and the drive itself. We were totally sold on the soul red and almost didn't get the car as there wasn't any more soul red left and for us that was a deal breaker. In the end the SE secured advance stock for us.

For what you pay, you get a car with remarkable design and quality finish. Comparing with the other C segment cars, this has got to be the nicest looking ride with the best quality interior. A true market leader in its category. For those who think it might be a pricey amongst its competitor, I can assure you that its a truly value for money car as I factor in depreciation, fuel consumption, road tax, and estimated reliability costs when choosing between other korean and Japanese competitors. The incremental yearly cost of owning this car is so marginally above the other Korean cars (the difference is really not that big when you factor in fuel consumption) that the quality and utility from owning a Mazda 3 more than compensates for that one two hundred dollars a year. As for the rest of the Japanese cars they are only comparable or more expensive to own but doesn't come close to challenging the Mazda 3 in its looks, feel and drive.

As for reliability however that can only be confirmed with time and I am pretty sure its not to the same standard of a Honda Jazz/Fit for example but likely to be as or more reliable as the Korean makes. I understand as well that noise is another issue others have complained about but I didn't really notice that during my test drive. Heard it gets worse with time as well.

What I like
Design - Other than how the hatchback looks, the soul red really won us over

Handling -It is really one of the most fun cars to drive, and I was driving a BMW Z4 in my one year in UK

Quality - The interior finishing feels great, not plasticky or cheap

Value for money - One of the pricier C segment car but factoring the quality, fuel consumption, engine and transmission technology, OMV... You are really getting a lot of bang for your buck.

Wide back seats - Not the most spacious interior BUT... I actually watched car seat reviews while choosing my ride and the Mazda 3, surprise surprise, has a relatively wide back seat. The reviewer actually managed to pack 3 car seats at the back. Was choosing between Mazda 3 and a certain popular parallel import crossover and the width of the Mazda 3 won hands down.

Bells and whistles - But only if you cough up the 6k for the deluxe! (Was a bit steep a price to pay IMHO so I went with standard).

What I do not like
Tight back seats - Yes it may be wide, but leg room is limited. That certain PI crossover had very generous leg room and head room and no hump in the middle! The center arm rest is also so far back that my size 10 feet cant moved across the back seat without difficulty. That in my opinion is just poor design. The hump in the middle is so high and wide that the person in the middle seat will probably have to go for yoga lessons on how spread his/her legs wide. That said though I still maintain that the back seats are really wide so fitting more across would be easier. 4 at the back in the Mazda 3 is definitely not an issue whereas I don't see that happening in the PI crossover at all.

Pricing - I really don't appreciate Mazda's pricing strategy. Everything from whether to get a HB or sedan, colour of the car, colour of the leather, advance or ex stock and many other things are all paid options. I cant recall any of the other close competitors charging more for hatchback or different colour of paint. The price difference for the deluxe option is also much wider than some of the close competitors, ignoring the real conti cars of course.

Service - I talked to not just one or two SE but a few and I have to say they don't give me the impression that they are trying to sell me the car, probably due to how popular Mazda cars are at the moment. While I wouldn't consider them downright rude but like many of the reviewers on the Mazda 3 sedan I didn't exactly have a wonderful experience talking to them.

Ken-sanki
Premium User Ken-sanki
3rd Gear
1 reviews
325 points
472 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2015
Japanese car with conti feature  Posted on 22 Dec 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
My ride is almost 3 weeks odd and my wife & I loving it very much. The outlook of the car is beautiful with interior had Conti feature & look.

We choose the deluxe version with lot of technology like FC monitor, navigation system and other features.

Overall, the car came with almost everything we wanted and will recommend this car.

What I like
- Conti feel
- Sporty interior
- Auto lock when walking away from the car
- Sun roof
- Auto headlights & wipers

What I do not like
- Noise from outside of the car

momoechan
Premium User momoechan
Clutched
3 reviews
42 points
128 forum posts Joined on 29-Aug-2015
Japanese car with conti feel  Posted on 30 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Owned the car for almost 2 weeks and we're loving it. The body of the car is wider than our previous ride, the pre-facelift Vios so it took a couple of days for me to get used to it but once I got used to the wider body, driving it is a dream. Of course, I'm still cautious when turning at carparks but not as bad as I thought it would be.

We went for the deluxe version so it had a lot of technology that we had never experienced with our previous ride. The MZD control is good but we found the navigation system lacking in providing directions to the addresses we want to go. Not too sure if it needs an update when we send it for servicing but will see.

Many people have complained that the interior is small but then, they have never sat in our previous ride before. It's comparatively spacious and the door are much heavier so our little girl needs more strength to close the doors when she's in the car. Noise level is comparable with our previous ride so we have no complains. In fact, I think it's good to be able to hear the ambience sound so we'll be aware should something happen on the road.

Overall, the car came with almost everything we wanted in a car save for a few features which we an live with. Will definitely recommend this car.

What I like
- made in Japan car that feels like a conti car
- sporty interior
- MZD connect and the HU to view your speedometer
- smooth driving
- auto lock when you walk away from the car
- sun roof, fantastic to get more light in the car when it's dark
- auto headlights
- auto wipers (although it doesn't always work, still trying to figure it out)
- spacious interior for our family of 5 (when parents travel with us)

What I do not like
- no auto lock when you start the car or when driving off
- no memory seats for driver side
- no website for booking of car servicing, would be a good feature so we don't need to do old school way of calling or emailing to book our appointments with the service centers.

Forexter
Premium User Forexter
4th Gear
1 reviews
504 points
399 forum posts Joined on 23-Oct-2008
A Driver's Car  Posted on 04 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Mazda has really reinvented the new Mazda 3 Hatchback. Exterior is easy to mistaken it for a Lexus, Volvo, Mercedes. Interior is updated and has a continental feel. From the sound of the door shutting, to the modern technology and the soft plastic and chrome used.

As for the drive, it is responsive to inputs and very predictable. It can be a little harsh and loud in the cabin, and Mazda can do better with sound insulation.

Beautiful car, smooth performance and sips fuel. Mazda should bring back the MPS, it would be perfect.

What I like
1) Stylish looks
2) Updated technology
3) Fuel Economy
4) Handling
5) Keyless Entry

What I do not like
1) Noisy Cabin
2) No MPS option

Jimmy1978
Premium User Jimmy1978
1st Gear
16 reviews
56 points
10 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Mazda 3 car to own.  Posted on 04 Nov 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
With the latest technology that Mazda insert into the cars and nothing to ask for more. With the ease of drive with many comparing to conti car.

What I like
Full car features.

What I do not like
Nil

Ntrj
Premium User Ntrj
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
15 points
13 forum posts Joined on 09-Jul-2011
One of the better option among the Japanese car  Posted on 19 Oct 2015
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test driven the Mazda 3 hatch over the weekend and I was pleasantly surprise with the comfort the car provides.

Granted the 1.5L was not as responsive as I would like but the overall package - the look and comfort, narrowed the gap. It is one of the better furnished car among the Japanese made car - looks more plush and aesthetically more pleasing.

Getting in/out is a little bit of effort but once you are inside the car, it is actually quite spacious, with enough leg and head rooms.

Overall, a pleasant surprise!

What I like
The interior finishing for a Japanese car at this price range
The external looks and design

What I do not like
Getting in/out of car - if the car can be a little higher..

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mazda 3 Hatchback
3.5 stars - based on 17 reviews