Related Articles

Outlander PHEV and Outlander earn top honours

Double premiere for Mitsubishi in Geneva

2018 Mitsubishi Outlander awarded IIHS rating

Buying used cars is the smarter choice here


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mitsubishi Outlander 2.0 CVT Style 7-Seater (A)
28 Nov 2018  |  Mitsubishi Reviews
The Outlander may only look refreshed on the outside, but it now comes with a 2.0-litre front-wheel drive variant, and is more appealing than ever.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda CR-V vs Hyundai Santa Fe vs Mitsubishi Outlander
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Mitsubishi Outlander was facelifted on Sep 2018. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mitsubishi Outlander
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
18 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3/5
15 out of 18 (83.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

18 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
dyong28
Premium User dyong28
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
12 points
7 forum posts Joined on 03-Feb-2019
Affordable SUV with Okay Performance  Posted on 03 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
No doubt, the Mitsubishi Outlander is a handsome looking car. Its Dynamic Shield makes its front looks aggressively sporty and isn't that one of the reason why people like SUVs?

When I first bought the car, I love it mainly because how it looked and how it was being reasonably priced. However, after driving it for some time, there are some problems that I starts to see:
1. The CVT is a drag and it is not doing the reasonably powered engine any justice. Overtaking cars needs tremendous effort from the engine and despite how much it roars, it just feels like the CVT isn't able to thrust the car forward. Accelerating when the car is already traveling over 60km/hr works better, since the car already has some momentum. But if I really want more thrust, switching the car to 4WD Lock will be needed.
2. I believe that the engine reliability should be fine, since Mitsubishi is willing to give the engine a 10yrs warranty. However, I am not so sure about other parts of the car. Within 2yrs after driving the car, things started to fall apart. The weather seals on the doors and car body began to drop off, passenger overhead handle started to come off, just to name a couple.

However, don't get me wrong, the Mitsubishi Outlander is not entirely bad. To be fair, besides the 2 key points above, the Outlander does have its positive points like, handsome good looks, good fuel efficiency, comfortable ride with good suspension, sufficient space to take 7pax at any time of the day, etc.

All in all, I would say that my experience with the Outlander isn't the worst, but it isn't the best either. In any case, it is still the better Japanese 7-Seater SUV than the other brand, which is also using CVT transmission for its comparatively smaller 7-Seater SUV.

What I like
1. Handsome good looks
2. Sufficient space to take 7pax (incl. 2 kids)
3. Good fuel efficiency
4. Comfortable ride with good suspension
5. Sufficiently powered engine, if it is paired with a better transmission
6. Reasonably priced

What I do not like
1. Terrible CVT that is unable to transmit sufficient power to its wheels
2. Overall make reliability, where car parts start to drop off after driving for 2yrs
3. Mediocre handling with lots of body roll when addressing bends and corners
4. Interior furnishing and features can be improved

Suzeneka
Premium User Suzeneka
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
14 points
1 forum posts Joined on 21-Dec-2018
Good entry-level 7-seater Jap SUV  Posted on 21 Dec 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Been driving the 2015 2.4L Outlander for more than 3.5 years and decided to check out the new 2.0L model recently. Except for the front portion especially grille, the looks are quite similar. Best colour is again, red! It is scarily quite similar on the inside esp. Dashboard and finishing. There have been improvements though especially with the 2nd row aircon and lower capacity engine (i.E. 2.0L from 2.4L), with some savings on the road tax expected. Unfortunately, there is no sunroof for the new model or option for AWD (only FWD). The price is again, very reasonable and should be attractive to those who want to upgrade from Jap sedans to small/medium SUV.

What I like
Very attractive pricing for Made in Japan 7-seater medium-size SUV.
Like my current, expected to be reliable on the road for years.
2nd row aircon now available which is my current biggest pain point!

What I do not like
Too similar exterior and interior to 2015-2017 models.
No AWD/4WD option unlike predecessor models.
Same narrow width like predecessor models esp. for 3rd row.

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
138 points
61 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Cheap but affordable  Posted on 08 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 2/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Cheap in a sense that the quality is sub par to cars like forester,tiguan,x trail. Iterior space is okok,3rd row better than most in the segment.At 125k for the 2.4 it is reasonable. The performance is very average, do not even think about the 2.0, it will be hell.CVT is very whiny, road noise very evident, wind noise almost unacceptable. If lookinfor seven seater should take a look at vw touran or even the grand secnic.

What I like
Price,10 year warranty, liveable 3rd row seats

What I do not like
Noise,pretty unbearable,like my last time mx-5(na)
build quality pretty bad
Quiite sluggish if on full load
FC very high,test car 7.2km/l

Evo5sg
Clutched
3 reviews
45 points
27 forum posts Joined on 31-May-2011
Large on the exterior  Posted on 25 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Was looking for a 7-seater to replace Stream.
Car looks big on the outside, but tight inside, especially the last row. I really experienced how Paul's review done in Malaysia for sitting at the last row.
Turn-off for me as I expected it to be better with the bigger exterior.

What I like
Tall clearance
Looks big on the outside - road presence

What I do not like
Entry model does not have sunroof
Last row is very tight.
Steering did not feel nice to hold

AndyMichaelsLim
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Jan-2018
Best value 7 seater SUV with 4WD  Posted on 06 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Best value for money, the 4WD gives it a continental feel while driving. Big powerful MIVEC makes the Outlander nimble and great for over taking. The only other 7 seater SUV with 4WD I can think of is the XC90 which costs 300k.

What I like
7 Seats! 4WD and SUV looks! Flexible seats configuration is great for hauling large loads especially from Malaysia. It’s practically maintenance free, especially with the 5 year free servicing package and 10 year engine warranty.

What I do not like
Sound proofing can be better, Seats can be more comfortable.

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
138 points
61 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Rugged SUV  Posted on 20 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car is very practical for daily need as well.

What I like
ELECTRIC PARK BRAKE
SHARK FIN ANTENNA
SAFETY
ENGINE
MULTI ZONE AIR CON

What I do not like
NO REAR VENTS
NO AUTO FOLDING MIRRORS
SMALL SUN ROOF

Fungyee77
5th Gear
4 reviews
1,970 points
480 forum posts Joined on 16-Aug-2014
Good looking functional 7 seater  Posted on 06 Nov 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Outlander is an attractive, muscular looking 7 seater SUV.

Priced attractively, with a 5yr warranty/10-y powertrain warranty, it ticks a lot of boxes. Its a relatively light vehicle in its class, hence gets reasonable fuel economy and acceptable power from its 2.4L engine.

The 3rd row seats are tight, but has slightly more legroom (but less visibility due to window shape) than the X-trail.

The interior design was a bit of let down though. Design feels rather dated and has mostly hard plastics through the cabin, and NVH insulation is light.

All in, think its a good practical option, but scores more modestly in the refinement stakes.

What I like
- Muscular external design
- Attractive price point
- Functional 3rd row space

What I do not like
- Dated interior
- Mostly hard plastic surfaces
- NVH insulation

mrkkhk
Premium User mrkkhk
Neutral Newbie
8 reviews
24 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Aug-2016
Best car ever under 125k  Posted on 13 Oct 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Compared this car to an subaru outback when coe prices dipped,this was better due to the fact that it is more stylish as well as having a ten year engine warranty or 200000km warranty

What I like
sunroof,smooth engine revs,spacious 3rd row seats as compared to the nissan xtrail,all wheel drive

What I do not like
the large rims which may cost a little more to replace

Eclipse1
Premium User Eclipse1
3rd Gear
7 reviews
293 points
200 forum posts Joined on 03-May-2006
Best value 5+2seater around  Posted on 05 Sep 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested the car on a rainy day. SE allowed a longer drive as not much customer around. Managed to get onto the highway.
CVT + paddle shifters doesn't seems to work that well, preferred a Auto box with paddle shifters but Economy pushed most company to do CVT for better FC.

off the line, the car is laggy, probably due to its weight. Tested the older version of Outlander too, but that CVT + shifter seems to work better and was more energetic.

Car does roll about alot.

7 Seat option good for kids. My 7 and 10 yrs loves the space on the rear row. 2nd row is spacious. Getting to the 3rd for adult is difficult.

2nd row flows flat and is easily done, using when buying big stuffs or bringing bikes along.

What I like
size, not too big but still move 5+2
Engine is smooth and quite, well tested engine from the Mitsubishi stable.

What I do not like
too much chrome on the exterior, would matt black all the chrome parts.
CVT + Shifter is slow and noisy
blindspot on the rear window panel is very tight.

Little_prince
Premium User Little_prince
2Fast2Furious
13 reviews
49,116 points
19542 forum posts Joined on 20-Jan-2009
Very under rated car  Posted on 23 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Generally online feedback for the outlander was quite average. But my experience driving it for a week was quite decent.

Although some people complaint abt Power but it was adequate for me.

Space wise was excellent.

5yr Warranty and 10yr engine warranty is probably the best in class.

Very value for money!

What I like
Interior Space

Very masculine Front grill.

Warranty

What I do not like
Road tax

mrkkhk
Premium User mrkkhk
Neutral Newbie
8 reviews
24 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Aug-2016
Definitely Best Car Under $120k  Posted on 20 Aug 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just collected new car,it has 165hp giving the car boost and head start when it goes off the line,century sprint in 10.2 sec,great car with good fc.it has better third row space compared to wish, mzd 5,x trail and carens which are all cars i am deeply serious in buying as nissan gave me a very attractive price as i was driving the elgrand.so far no problems with the car,more than just adequate hp even when full loaded.consider it seriously please,very reliable!!!!Has 5=+5 years of warranty,not a single thing to worry about.guaranteed,comfort,excitement,thrill,space.very spacious boot when 3rd row unused.if compared to other competitors around the same price, i would say it is the x trail,which is severely under powered,however the zero gravity seats were extremely comfortable as compared to my old e250. Should definitely consider this car when looking for 7 seater . Many features available.

What I like
1.AIRCON
2.ENGINE POWER
3.STEERING,ROAD FEEDBACK
4.LOOKS
5. HIGH QUALITY INTERIOR AS COMPARED TO PREVIOUS VERSION BEFORE GETTING THE FACELIFT
6. VERY CONTI FEEL WHEN DRIVING THE CAR
7.RELIABILITY
8.CHEAP SERVICING
9.GOOD SERVICE FROM C&C
10.ALL ROUNDER
11. AWD

What I do not like
1.NO ELECTRICAL MIRRORS WHICH ARE COMMONLY FOUND,MIGHT BE A PROBLEM WHEN IN OPEN CARPARK DURING RAINY DAYS
2.ROAD TAX
3.FC

Hamiles69
Premium User Hamiles69
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
16 points
28 forum posts Joined on 18-Apr-2012
Excellent Car and Value for money  Posted on 31 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Collected my new car and has been driving for a week. Very comfort car. Enjoy the driving. The car horsepower is adequate. Most importantly is the quietness of the car while driving. The interior noise level is really reduced a lot. Excellent improvement from MIT.

This is the most economically car to buy if you consider for 2.4L 7-seater SUV. Price wise definitely cheaper than the branded similar SUV yet you get lots of features such as auto tailgate, DRL, AWD, 7 seater, 5 star Euro NCAP Rating.....

What I like
Auto tailgate
Cruise control
7-seater
7 SRS airbag
5-star Euro NCAP rating
Paddle Shifter
start-stop engine button
4WD

What I do not like
no rear airco (But aircon from the front panel is adequate)
Road tax expensive.

LMSWKT
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Jun-2015
Practical 7seater SUV and Good Value.  Posted on 24 Jul 2016
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This a practical SUV for Singapore market, especially when most family can only afford one car and the volatility of COE means most people should look into long term hold and use, vesus the days where Singaporeans change cars every couple of years. Overall power is good, not Sports car kind of overwhelming but power delivery is quite linear and progressive.This SUV also rides very comfortably and feels solid. Most importantly, drivng this car gives you the assurance of safety with its composed feel. Most online car reviews also have positive reviews for this facelifted model which looks more pretty than the old one. For those looking for an MPV for practical reasons but crave for a SUV, this car might make sense to you.

What I like
Nice modern looks. Most people love the new refreshing design and road presence.
Comfortable ride with the feel of a large car.
Reliability of typical Mitsubishi cars.
Large interior with 7seats
High commanding driving position.
Lots of features.
Quiet cabin.

What I do not like
No turbo but don't really need it in often congested Singapore roads full of speed cameras.
Lack of diesel option which works well on heavier SUVs to provide the low end torque.
Not as spacious in the last row as Kia Sorrento. however the Sorrento is much more expensive.

Mervynwm
Premium User Mervynwm
3rd Gear
109 reviews
266 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
A 2.4L SUV that does not seem like one after driving it.  Posted on 14 Feb 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Tested this locally award winning 7 seater SUV...

First looks, grills in-front looks captivating and fierce but somehow it looks like trying to imitate Lexus front stylish grills to me.

Inside was kinda shocking to me as it only comes bare basics of a car in today's mindset (perhaps this is why the price is the lowest for a 2.4L SUV)...Not even electric brakes as standard. Salesperson says too many gadgets as standard will affect price as the brand focuses on engine reliability instead....Hmm...

The use of GDI engine is kinda old and seems sharing across with Kia too but they claim is different. The startup of the engine is ok but gear engages with some crank sound.

The drive is ok at the start but when you throttle by tapping on it (not slamming) it somehow jerks and seems being pushed hard to do so which to me is not smooth and not acceptable. Gear changes are not smooth as well.

Despite being a 2.4L doesn't perform like one at all and seems like its struggling to move at all times. I wonder what will happen if its fully loaded.

Overall, its an affordable or in fact the cheapest 7 seater and a 2.4L SUV to get compare to other similar 2.4L makes like Hyundai SantaFe or even the Kia Sorento but given a choice, I think I rather Out this Lander instead.

What I like
Price (as the lowest in all 2.4L SUVs around) due to bare basics given

What I do not like
Acceleration and Pickup are sluggish
Gear changes not smooth at all
Only bare basics accessories given
Engine is noisy when throttle merely a little for overtaking
Interior materials appears low quality make

Robinsoul
Premium User Robinsoul
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
22 points
2 forum posts Joined on 23-Mar-2010
Lack of power  Posted on 23 Jan 2016
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
2.4L engine feel like a 1.6 engine power. A real disappointment on the power, really need to step on the accelerator hard to go up gentle slope. Even on straight this car move off like it had a bad day at work, I wouldn't have expected that from a 2.4L engine. As I'm looking for 7 seater, I try to look on the other side. But even my wife felt the car lack of power badly, I suppose due to CVT.

What I like
Exterior
Sun Roof
Rim

What I do not like
Engine
No rear aircon

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mitsubishi Outlander
3.5 stars - based on 18 reviews