Related Articles

The launch of the new Perodua Bezza

The Perodua Bezza, the brand's very first sedan

The Perodua Bezza is practical and sensible

Seven important tips about hybrid car maintenance


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Perodua Bezza 1.3 Premium X (A)
26 Jan 2017  |  Perodua Reviews
The first ever sedan produced by Perodua takes aim at the compact sedan market, touting good fuel efficiency, daily practicality and financial sensibility.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Perodua Bezza
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
2.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
3.5/5 Interior Design
2.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
10 out of 11 (90.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
_Sam_
Premium User _Sam_
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
19 points
11 forum posts Joined on 28-May-2018
Bold and basic  Posted on 15 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Been driving this car for almost 3 months now and at 3000 km. This is one of the most fuel efficient cars I have driven. Fell in love with this car after trying it and the Mitsubishi Attrage. I bought the MT variant because of my love for MT. Although this car is devoid of most luxury items, the car will cover most of your basic needs and still provide decent performance.

What I like
1) Fuel efficient - easily 15-16km/L (depending on how you drive if its MT)
2) Huge boot space
3) Reasonable price tag (for a car sold in SG)
4) Can camouflage your car and buy spare parts if you visit Malaysia often
5) Responsive clutch
6) Reliable engine (from Toyota)
7) Decent performance - won't hear the engine straining when carrying 3 passengers (excluding driver) going up a steep hill

What I do not like
1) Poor sound insulation - probably have to shout to be heard in the car during a heavy downpour/travelling on the highway
2) Narrow gear ratio between 2nd and 3rd gear
3) Small rims (alamak, stock rims at 14" tak boleh la)
4) Narrow and high body - feels like the car is going to turtle turn when cornering at higher speeds

war_virus
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 09-Jul-2016
Am glad i chose another Perodua  Posted on 11 May 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got this Bezza since April 2017 and i must say this is one under-rated vehicle. It's been more than a year and my average FC is 18.44km/litre. Best was 19.7km/litre and worst was 16.5km/litre. VVTI is a great improvement from my previous Kelisa with a smoother stick shift action. The gear ratio set up is as good as it gets.. Depending on your driving habits. Other perks are the push start engine, generous leg and boot space, small turning radius, front and rear sensors and smart locking mechanism. Ie; You'll never be able to lock your car with the keys inside it.

What I like
1. small turing radius
2. fuel efficient
3. generous leg/boot space
4. quiet engine
5. ideal gear ratio
6. one touch signal
7. front and rear sensors
8. spare tire is similar to the ones on the car. you don't get those ridiculous puny scooter tire as spare.
9. the car actually looks good IMO.

What I do not like
1. wipers do a terrible job
2. under carriage has zero noise insulation
3. manual folding side mirrors
4. no arm rest
5. matt silver portion of the steering wheel not durable. maybe my thumb skin too thick. XD
6. sides of the boot panel (that piece that covers the spare tire) is made of soft fabric
7. interior sides of boot is hollow. don't smash your luggage or it'll bend inwards.

wayne221
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Apr-2018
Do not underestimate Malaysian cars!  Posted on 15 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Expect the unexpected. The bezza comes with a Toyota-Daihatsu 1NR-VE Engine which is also used on the Toyota Avanza. Exterior looks modern-ish but the back resembles the old 2005 honda city. Also comes with keyless entry and push start button even at this price tag.

Overall it's a good ride but there are many things which can be improved on. Of course, do not expect much from this car. But if you take good care of her, she will not fail on you.

What I like
-Superb Fuel Consumption. Achieved 17km/L for city driving
-Light steering and good handling
-One touch Signal (good to use when changing lanes)
-Sound System (not too bad)
-Easy to Park
-Front/Back Sensors
-Decent boot space for its class
-Good suspension. Not too stiff, not too soft, just nice.

What I do not like
-Feels under-powered. Full throttle and only reached 120km/h with struggle. Even a Proton Saga zoomed past me! This car is definitely not suitable for speed demons.
-Design somehow looks like a redesigned copy of city/vios
-Rims size too small. 15'' would be great
-Noisy air con. Sounds like it's gonna explode at fan speed 3.
- Poor air con circulation. Passenger at the back complained cannot feel the air con sometimes.
- Poor noise insulation.

Some of these issues can definitely be rectified with some minor aftermarket changes to the car. Overall, it was a pleasant experience driving this car.

pangsh02
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 18-Jan-2018
Most economical car!  Posted on 18 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Super economical car!
Comfortable with simple design.
Push button start and unlock!
Good aircon
Easy and cheap to maintain!
Daihatsu Dual VVTI engine... Good and proven reliability and performance and fuel consumption.

What I like
Very economical and spacious for this class of car.
Super easy to drive, park, turn everywhere! A city car.
Giant boot!
Perodua-Daihatsu-Toyota!
Fuel consumption is crazy! This car really sips fuel!
Like the retractable hooks at the seats!
Like the hand bag hook with lock!

What I do not like
Would have preferred leather seats
Would have preferred a heavier steering wheel
Would have preferred a thicker steering wheel
Would have preferred if it were quieter. Mainly tire noise

All except heavier steering wheel can be taken care off with aftermarket products :)

lekite
Clutched
1 reviews
28 points
5 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2018
Great value for the price you pay  Posted on 14 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Received my car late December 2017. Was deciding between Attrage or the Bezza Auto and am glad i went for the Bezza instead. It is cheaper car with much better power train and refinement.

Very practical point A to B car that seats 5 and a large 508 liter boot.
Handling could is much above average but could be better, and the turning radius is probably the smallest of any car i have driven.

What I like
1. Keyless entry is convenient.
2. Fuel consumption is very good. Usually get 20km/l on highway and 14km/h in stop start city traffic. A full tank of 30 liters gets me close to 500km.
3. Gigantic bootspace!
4. Cheap to maintain with many parts and mechanics in JB.
5. Comes with ABS and EBD.
6. Comfortable ride for its price point.
7. Smooth engine and gear box.

What I do not like
1. Default fabric seat instead of PVC leather.
2. only 2 air bags.
3. No center arm rest :(
4. Sound proofing is good, but could be better.
5. Plastic interior and dashboard.

nghongyeong
Premium User nghongyeong
Clutched
1 reviews
27 points
5 forum posts Joined on 15-Jul-2017
Most affordable car I've bought  Posted on 09 Aug 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Look small in size but spacious on inside.
Affordable than other car in its class.
Good inhouse workshop

What I like
Spacious/Big boot
Engine Start-Stop button
Small turning radius

What I do not like
Sound insulation along expressway poor
Minimum attractive interior features
Fuel efficiency not as per spec (achieved about 80% only)
No auto folding for both side mirrors
No arm rest

Nemsis
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
1 forum posts Joined on 02-Nov-2005
A great car for first-timers, a simple & zippy car!  Posted on 14 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
First-time experience with the Perodua brand.
Looks small in size, but spacious on the inside!

Put in around corners & road bumps, it will handle accordingly.

What I like
Spaciousness
Exterior & Interior Design Practicality
A Reliable Engine
Typical Maintenance Regime
Engine Start-Stop Button

What I do not like
Transmission Shift Lag (Doesn't really suit for start-stop traffic)
Minimal attractive interior features - Normal Radio Headunit
Rear Seats slightly upright
Aircon Blower weak at Low Speed

BabyStar
2nd Gear
15 reviews
147 points
17 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2014
Would be a great first car  Posted on 07 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Being in Cat A, the Bezza is definitely more affordable than other cars in its class. The one I test drove really surprised me. I thought it'd be a horrible drive but it feels more refined than the Attrage.

Space in the Bezza is pretty impressive too. I have long legs but I don't feel cramped at all, even with rear passengers of similar height.

For a sub 100k car the Bezza comes with plenty of features usually found in cars above its class like a smart key and engine push start/stop button. Another thing I like is the surprisingly large boot. Malaysia boleh!

What I like
More refined than the Attrage
Decent interior space despite its compact size
Big boot

What I do not like
Interior build quality

Carnoob
Premium User Carnoob
Turbocharged
1 reviews
8,119 points
2088 forum posts Joined on 03-Jul-2012
A simple BNB car  Posted on 07 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested the car with leather seats (addition $850 for leather seats). Feels like driving a 06 Toyota Vios, responsive engines and light steering (not forgetting car specially prepared for test driving). Simple design with BIG car boot.

Advanced if bring in Singapore cost another $5000... The dashboard is too "Shiny" And will leave behind fingerprints. A touchscreen will look better for the console. A simple and practical car in the category with its 1.3L engine. Fuel efficiency not really tested since it has just been launched.

What I like
BIG Boot space
Responsive engine
Easy maintenance

What I do not like
Fabric seats
Old fashioned radio console
Back seats a bit too "straight"

Overthere
Premium User Overthere
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
1 forum posts Joined on 16-May-2010
Toyota Altis  Posted on 05 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Overall this new supermini car is a joy to drive in, especially in Singapore where the roads are congested and carparks are quite and small.

Its light weight makes it a breeze to handle in tight corners, plus it's faster and fuel efficient.

Legroom is sufficient, and there's ample boot space. But it might be a tiny bit cramped in the back for taller people.

What I like
fun to drive, practical, comfortable
spacious legroom and ample boot spcae.

What I do not like
Not much headroom for taller folks.
And no auto folding for both wing mirrors.

Kurty
Premium User Kurty
NOS-ed
3 reviews
10,029 points
7216 forum posts Joined on 28-Apr-2009
Could be better  Posted on 04 Feb 2017
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
First experience with bezza premium.
Kinda disappointed with this model as I have seen and tested the advance in malaysia.
For such price tag, we are being shortchanged by getting the premium model only.

What I like
Spacious
Reliable engine
Decent sound proofing
Short turning radius
Fuel efficiency
Better built as compare to attrage.
Good leg room

What I do not like
Lousy interior which really dampen me off.
Despite this car was built in 2016, they are giving Singaporean lousy head unit, non adjustable and heavy steering.
Front and rear sensor only 2 while other makes are giving 4..
No arm rest
Fabric seat while other make, is giving leather...
Air con is weak, got to switch to 2. Then you will feel the aircon
The rear outlook is horrible..
Overpriced while they could be giving us more and better.
Be mindful, this car only cost rm45k in Malaysia. .
5 years or 100k warranty.. while other, is giving 5 years unlimited. .

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Perodua Bezza
3.5 stars - based on 11 reviews