Related Articles

Volkswagen celebrates its five millionth Tiguan

Volkswagen's SUV range expands its R-Line appeal

Volkswagen Tiguan tops segment in J.D. Power study

Puma celebrates endless reinvention with Scuderia Ferrari


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TSI DSG R-Line (A)
17 Mar 2017  |  Volkswagen Reviews
In the ever-competitive sport utility vehicle market, it's tough clawing your way to the top. Improved heavily, can Volkswagen's all new Tiguan do just that?
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Mazda CX-5 2.5 vs Toyota Harrier 2.0 vs Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Volkswagen Tiguan
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
8 out of 8 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
JuanwenSheng
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2019
Best SUV in current sg market  Posted on 20 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Tiguan highline is almost perfect to me,the only down side is the power is not strong enough,but it also provide you fuel economic.If you really think the power is not enough you can modify the software of car by a few hundreds dollars(100% No harm to the car).

What I like
Everything
Especially the looking,interior and outside. All show you the premium.

Also after ten years when you kill your car,you can get 20000,much better than other competitors

What I do not like
Nothing
If someday you think the power is not enough,just modify the software with a few hundreds dollars,can get 10-20% improve

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
144 points
61 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Disgustingly capable car at 140k  Posted on 07 Jan 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This car kills the cx-5 totally, yes including the top spec 2.5. Interior is so spacious and airy with huge windows. Great sound proofing like typial VAG group cars. Looks is just nice and not overdone like current cx-5 and not as ah pek like harrier turbo. 3008 is lacking in interior quality and new engine. Best NVH and driving in class. Suspension works wonders like new X3. Am seriously impressed.

What I like
Features Eg.cylinder deactivation which is really effective not like mazda's
Spacious boot and interior
Slick shifting 6 speeder, not unreliable 7 speed dsg DQ200 found in passat and golf
Heavy doors

What I do not like
Though it has best handling and quality in class, it cannot match the passat at both handling and acceleration due to high centre of gravity and hefty weight

andrealcolon
1st Gear
18 reviews
55 points
5 forum posts Joined on 04-Jan-2018
The Contemporary & Classic Family Car  Posted on 30 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Volkswagen Tiguan is presented only in diesel fuel trim in a couple of grades: Comfortline and Highline. The exterior styling is a bit different from the European counterpart, while the features on offer have also been reduced as compared to the Europe-spec model. Still, the Tiguan SUV comes with a lot of bells and whistles, whether it is comfort and convenience, or the safety compartment.

What I like
+Impeccable Safety Features
+Extremely Spacious with Best Boot Capacity
+Decent Mileage

What I do not like
-Overpriced
-Only available in 5-seater
-Engine Less powerful

Mervynwm
Premium User Mervynwm
3rd Gear
113 reviews
278 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The Reformed Tiguan.  Posted on 06 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the 1.4L ComfortLine variant which was told by salesperson there is a HighLine one that comes with more features and worth getting in terms of top up price.

The first looks is stunning than the previous boxy looks. Full LED front and back lights in both Comfort & Highline ones but highline has got adaptive features.

The interior is impressive as it’S made with good and smooth materials. If you are 1.8m tall, not to worry as there is good headroom. In it comes with panaromic roof with ease to open if you need UV lights in as std.

The instrument on board is also easy to operate and view but if you wish to have the active instrument like in Audi, do opt for the highline variant.

The start of engine is pretty quiet and gear change is robust where hopefully that DSG issue is done for since 2013 as stated.

Drive off has good pickup and gear change is smooth and soundless. Pushing the car to speed up for overtaking is a breeze and quick witted.

Overall it’S definitely a great improvement to the engine, drive and std gadgets given. And for the small top up price from comfortline, it sure sounds much better to get the highline variant that comes with more attractive gadgets to have.

What I like
- Punchy 1.4L engine than the previous 2.0L (wonder how punchier is the new 2.0L)
- Panoramic roof as std
- Full LED lights
- Park assist in highline
- Active digital display in highline
- Smooth & soundless gear changes
- High interior headroom
- Electric tailgate as std
- Wave to lock
- 5 years warranty by agent
- Front parking sensors in highline

What I do not like
Price too steep for 2.0L
Auto start stop cannot be permanently disabled
No option for lane departure assist
No option for blind spot assist
Electric seats only in highline and driver only for highline

Nivlek96
Premium User Nivlek96
Clutched
9 reviews
28 points
1 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Great medium sized SUV  Posted on 04 Jan 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Tiguan is a fantastic feature packed medium SUV that is easy and fun to drive. Lots of space for 5 passengers and it always feels energetic and zippy. Drove this car in Singapore, South Africa and Australia and it has never disappointed me. Price is rather high though compared to the Harrier which is arguably its main competitor in Singapore. But its German engineering and solid handling should win customers over.

chaihot
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
4 points
3 forum posts Joined on 19-Sep-2016
Most sophisticated car I've own  Posted on 17 Oct 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Got my Tiguan 1.4 R-line with free upgrades to 19 inch wheels and 9.2 Discover Pro entertainment system. The amount of tech inside the car can easily rival the higher grade counterparts. Drive wise is smooth and the dyna audio is awsome

What I like
Everything about the car

What I do not like
None i can think of.

vroom1963
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Dec-2015
A GROWN UP TIGUAN  Posted on 02 Feb 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Just got my new Tiguan 2 1.4 R-Line with additional R-Line kit, Adaptive Cruise Control, Aerial View Surround Cam, Lane Assist, Park Assit 3.

I must say it is truly well equipped with Virtual Cockpit and Head-Up Display with Autonomous City Emergency braking.

Performance is slightly better than the Gen 1 outgoing 1.4TSI model

What I like
Bold new Look
Bigger than the outgoing Gen 1 model
MQB Platform
Comprehensive features found in new $300k plus SUVs (Volvo XC90)
Power and Memory Seats

What I do not like
Need more torque for the extra ooomph!

Tanyachua88
2nd Gear
17 reviews
183 points
59 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Feels more matured and refined  Posted on 16 Jan 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Volkswagen Tiguan isn't the most fun SUV to drive but it excels at what it's meant to do. It's a practical, versatile and comes well-equipped, everything a family SUV is made for.

A sleeker and more good looking exterior certainly helps set it apart from a boring old family hauler.

This family car is more than capable of accommodating a family in comfort with a well-built cabin and a tonne of features like sat nav and Apple CarPlay.

What I like
Well-equipped
Comfortable and well-built cabin
Practical and versatile

What I do not like
Not the most exciting car to drive around in

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Volkswagen Tiguan
4.5 stars - based on 8 reviews