Related Articles

The Seat Ateca packs ample standard features

Seat sales rise by 23.3 percent

MCF checks out SEAT's award-winning range

Increase for Cat A while Cat B and E fall


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Seat Ateca 1.4 TSI DSG Xcellence (A)
18 Jul 2018  |  SEAT Reviews
The Seat Ateca is a punchy mid-sized SUV that packs ample standard features and sporty good looks. What's not to like?
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Seat Ateca 1.4 AWD TSI DSG FR vs Toyota RAV4 2.0
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SEAT Ateca
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
6 out of 7 (85.7%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Weezersg
3rd Gear
2 reviews
468 points
210 forum posts Joined on 27-Jan-2005
A pleasure to drive everyday  Posted on 05 May 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Coming from a 1.2T CVT, Ateca 1.4T DSG feels like such a big improvement in responsiveness and drivability. Always feel planted and in control even at high speed cornering or rain, thanks to the on demand 4WD.

The TPMS (tyre pressure monitoring system) is really useful, once the tyre got a small nail and I was still able to drive normally without feeling puncture but the TMPS was able to detect leakage and able to point out exactly which tyre is leaking air. The adaptive auto cruise is a joy for long distance drive, I even use it on ECP or AYE. Auto hold is also useful at stop and also ensure you do not "Creep" Which is bad for DCT transmission. The one problem I have initially is the car tend to veer to the left, but was solved after a few trips to the workshop, they were nice and helpful.

I feel the best thing about the car is the 1.4T DSG engine/transmission which is the same as the more expansive VW Tiguan. There is plenty of torque from 1500 RPM, most time the RPM stays around 1.5K-2K RPM for light footed drives.

I have been driving Ateca for 8 months now, granted that the car is still new, so far there isnt any issues yet and I have driven into Msia for 4 times so far and stuck in immigration jams plenty, it has perform satisfactory.

Every day I look forward to driving coz it is a car that is really a joy to drive.

What I like
1) Nice clean design

2) Alcantara seat is really comfortable

3) Interior mood lighting

4) Very responsive engine and smooth transmission

5) On demand 4WD

6) Spacious interior

7) 360 degree camera view 2D and 3D

What I do not like
1) Plain interior

2) Does not come with Park Assist ( Arona has it )

3) Higher road noise than my previous car

Lash15
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
14 points
12 forum posts Joined on 06-Jul-2018
Superb all in one suv  Posted on 20 Feb 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Buying a car from SEAT SG has been a Breeze. No frills, no hidden costs. Non guaranteed COE but they are sincere to get the bid almost guaranteed. (I had a bad experience with another German make, under PSA group, they either bid low or didn't even bid!)

I'd recommend my SE Eamon, very patient and shares his views openly. Cheers.

What I like
- highly spec FR
- loads of safety features
- power, 4wd
- almost feels like a hatchback, fun to drive
- fuel economy is good for suv
- straightforwardl dealer

What I do not like
- nice if can include with park assist, sunroof, virtual cockpit.

starlord555
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 27-Oct-2018
Value for money compact SUV  Posted on 27 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I started my hunt for my next car 3 months ago and finally settled on the Xcellence model. Have seen and test driven most of the SUVs (Japs and Conti) within the $120K to $130K+ bracket and decided that this model offers the best features to price ratio. I do not find the ride to be overly firm as read from many overseas reviews , maybe due to the version we getting here uses multi-link rear setup instead of torsion beam for the 2WD version. Overall i feel the ride quality is well balanced.

What I like
- Good handling , fun to drive, especially in sports mode
- Using MQB platform from VW group and sharing platform, engine and gearbox as the tiguan, but priced lower
- 4WD (Read that this is a Haldex 5 system, so it is only on-demand 4WD, petrol consumption not as high as permanent 4WD
- Spacious interior despite compact exterior dimensions
- Wireless charging, 360 camera, black roof interior (feels sporty)
- Full LED headlamps
- Using wet clutch DSG instead of dry type
- V.Good service attitude from SE

What I do not like
- Lack of factory fitted leather option. Alcantra leather looks nice and comfortable but not if you have young kids
- No electric controls on passenger seat
- More use of softer plastics will be much better , not that the ones now feel cheap. It is still of good quality
- Lack of aftermarket accessories

Elaz
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
6 points
0 forum posts Joined on 28-Dec-2014
One of the best drives  Posted on 19 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have driven the Ateca Xcellence for 6 months, logging close to 10K km.

This car is superb in many aspects. The design is clean and sharp.. Nice tail lights, DRLs, LED flashers, 18" Rims..

Handling feels sedan-like a despite its raised profile. The DSG is smooth and feels connected.The steering is a joy to hold, accurate and very responsive with preferential weightiness depending on drive mode. It grips the road well around corners with very minimal body roll. It's very quick off the start. At cruising, the car is really quiet and comfortable. I have driven other makes and the Ateca feels like one of the best in terms of drive and handling. Driving light-footed with 60% Highway/40% Urban, I have consistently achieved an FC of about 14-15 km/L.

The adaptive cruise control with AEB assist is a marvelous piece of technology.. Got used to it after several times and it's really a boon for a more enjoyable cruise.. Just keep the eyes on the road and the car behaves itself and alerts you even if you're not paying attention. However, one must adjust the sensitivity of the AEB to suit your drive style. My car once auto-braked when I approached a high road hump at a slightly higher speed.

The infotainment is great. Menus/buttons are clustered for ease of use. The model I drove has no integrated navigation, but the Android Auto and Apple Car play more than make up for it. The infotainment system integrates google maps, music, and even apps like WhatsApp with your voice control. It's really great! As for the interior built quality, I must say it feels better than some of the Japanese makes, but not up to par with the German sedan I had before. However, it feels generally comfortable with the Alcantra leather.

This car has loads of space for the family.. The foot-waving electric boot also never fails to impress every time I need to use it to open/close the boot. Other small bytes that I love include 3-blinks flashers, brake auto hold, electric park brake, 3D cameras and park assist, auto dim rear-view mirror, auto folding side mirrors, adjustable interior night ambient lightings (super cool!)

Generally, I am enjoying my ride daily!

What I like
- Sharp and clean design
- Superb handling, AWD
- Adaptive cruise control
- Spacious interior
- Auto boot opening/closing (foot-wave)
- Rear aircon
- Integrated infotainment / Android auto
- Space saver spare tyre (patch kit in my last ride was a nightmare)
- Price cheaper than VW
- Some of my friends said that it's a big risk buying a car in Singapore that may not give peace of mind due to its past reputation/reliability issues, resale, etc.. and especially with an "untested" agent. But I'm willing to take this risk for an enjoyable ride. Knowing that this car is essentially a VW platform allayed some of the "risks" as many workshops here are familiar with such platforms and engines.

What I do not like
- No sunroof
- No HUD
- Interior finishing could be better built for entry level
- Firm suspension - needs getting used to
- Reliability? My experience with Vertex Auto being the new kid on the block, thus far have been great and they are attentive to my needs. They resolved software glitch to the side-assist systems that caused the detection of blind spot objects to disappear.. one visit and fixed within a day. Only time will tell...

Badieboy
2nd Gear
6 reviews
143 points
46 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
It's a SUV facing harsh competition  Posted on 26 Jul 2018
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Friend wants to purchase a SUV so I accompanied him as a passenger. This is a very decent, high spec-ed car but ride is on the firm side. At 130k, it is facing very harsh competition from its sister brand Skoda, and the bigger Kodiaq is also at 130k.

What I like
-brisk acceleration
-4WD
-LED headlights
-good headunit
-all round camera
-different driving modes to choose from

What I do not like
-not full leather
-no sun roof
-ride a bit on the firm side
-boot door does not go all the way up
-whole interior is very dark (roof lining, doors, dashboard)
-seat is adjusted electrically but no memory function

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
115 reviews
278 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The Sportier Tiguan named Ateca.  Posted on 02 Feb 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Saw this at motor show 2018.

1st impression is sportier looking than its cousin, Tiguan. Sharing same engine of 1.4L TSI.

Exterior looks of full LED front and back lights and a nice design but not as high as it’S cousin or a SUV, more like a crossover.

Interior seems up to date features but has no premium feel which look and feel of cheap plastic and seats are fabric by factory. Headroom is not that high too.

Asked sales if there is factory leather but was given 3 different answers, so which is correct then ?
1. Yes can be arranged, not sure how long the wait and if need top up.
2. No all comes in factory fabric and locally fitted leather.
3. No all comes in factory fabric and local wrapped leather.

Asked if there are factory options available, was told to see international website and they are not sure it can be available to fit, what a strange reply as an agent.

The drive was ok in the pick up. But seems to feel,like a down tuned engine to its Tiguan cousin when revved. Drive profile selection mode was great to use where can only see in Tiguan 2.0L and feels it almost immediate when change modes.

Comes good to have is the lane departure and blind spot assist but no sun or moon roof despite being sportier design.

There is suppose to have waiver lock or walk away lock according to sales but somehow it did not kick in when done. Also on once lock suppose to auto fold mirror too but ends up have to press and hold lock button to do so as well.

Considering an more affordable than the Tiguan (Xcellence vs Highline) in price but perhaps you may want to consider going through the international website to add up almost to all the features that highline has to be on apple to apple before you decide which 1.4L brand you want to put your signature on.

What I like
Profile drive similar to Tiguan 2.0L
Lane departure assist as std
Blind spot assist as std
Price affordable compare to Tiguan 1.4L
Electric tailgate
Full LED front and back lights

What I do not like
No sunroof or moon roof
Plastic interior feel
Fabric seats from factory, not sure if there is factory leather available
Seems a down tuned engine when revved
No options to add at agent. Need to see from international website to try
Low headroom
Must press and hold for mirror fold when car locked

bahomet
2nd Gear
19 reviews
111 points
12 forum posts Joined on 23-Jan-2014
A sportier, better handling Tiguan  Posted on 08 Sep 2017
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I've always been impressed with Seat's line up of more affordable, albeit stripped down versions of VW models. They give a more 'bare essentials' feel and are 'no nonsense' cars, something that is few and far between these days.

Everyone knows the Ateca is the stripped down version of the Tiguan. But I honestly prefer it over the German. It's got sportier looks, handles better, doesn't have as many electronic nannies, and the best thing is it's a whole lot cheaper. Well, that depends on what variant you choose.

All in all, a great SUV that gives plenty of bang for the buck.

What I like
Sporty looks
Handles well for an SUV
Cheaper than the Tiguan

What I do not like
Doesn't come with as many bells and whistles as its cousin

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
SEAT Ateca
4 stars - based on 7 reviews