Related Articles

Tempered love in the Kia Stinger 2.0

The Kia Stinger is a stunning achievement

Kia Motors releases all new Forte renderings

Five specialist workshops for Toyota cars


This car has been nominated as Sport Sedan

Nominated car
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - Kia Stinger 2.0 GT-Line (A)
16 Apr 2018  |  Kia Reviews
Powerful, practical and accomplished as it may be, the Kia Stinger 2.0 falls short of delivering the full blown Stinger experience.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Kia Stinger
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
9 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
9 out of 9 (100%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

9 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Gabdat
2nd Gear
12 reviews
240 points
132 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Continental designers can take lessons from KIA  Posted on 15 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
What can i say that has not been written in these reviews?Nothing actually.What has been said is exactly what i felt when i test drove this beauty of a machine.
thumbs down to other European make.This is the the car to own.
Shame on me for not buying it!!

What I like
-driving
-handling
-body
-fun factor
-engine
-RWD

What I do not like
-some parts feel and looks cheap.just like any other KIA using feeble plastics
-end up losing much more after driving for 5 years compared to other cars that are priced the same
-pretty low ARF for such a hefty price

StingerGT
5th Gear
1 reviews
1,101 points
298 forum posts Joined on 22-Jul-2018
Stinger 2.0T - Stylish looks, strong performance, well equipped, if you can look beyond the badge.  Posted on 22 Jul 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Exciting sheet metal design, with elements & cues here and there to remind you the Stinger isn't a regular Korean econobox but at the same time doesn't come across as vulgar or overly aggressive.

Interior is simple nice layout with good materials at important touch points. Feature wise is very well equipped in my opinion. Niceties such as large centre dash touchscreen display with Apple Car Play, Heads Up Display (HUD), sunroof, driver electric+memory seats, ventilated seats for both, electric tail gate, reverse camera with dynamic trajectory, are all very welcomed. Space wise is very commendable, slightly bigger than my B9 Audi A4 in terms of shoulder width & legroom, though that is expected given its long wheel base. Boot space is pretty generous & accessible since it's a sportback or liftback style. If you need more space, the car comes with knockdown rear seats that lay almost completely flat for loading of larger items.

2.0T is punchy and more than sufficient for normal city/highway driving. Torque comes in very early. There is some turbo lag but once it spools up, the power comes on all at once - very enjoyable. The paddle shifters are a bit slow in shifting gears though. Predictable & composed handling. Feels as though I'm driving a German car. Suspension wise, it's a bit stiffer than what you would expect, not saying that it's harsh or uncomfortable but you would feel the road undulations abit more than usual.

Overall I like the Stinger a lot, to the point I booked it immediately after the test drive. The 2.0T is not really a "Lesser" Variant since it still has a lot of the cosmetic elements and gizmos that the bigger 3.3 v6 turbo brother has - Main differences are the engine, lack of limited slip differential, brembo BBK and Harmon Kardon speakers plus smaller 18" Rims on the 2.0T.

I am not a brand whore so buying the Stinger was an easy decision to make.

What I like
Stylish looks
Neat interior layout
Quality materials
Spacious interior
Well equipped cabin
Strong performance

What I do not like
Turbo lag
Maybe a DCT would have performed better than the 8AT

DdCarReviewerSG
Neutral Newbie
8 reviews
21 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2018
Elegant, Sporty and just a Marvel  Posted on 13 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
After 10 years of Audi S5 ownership, here comes the time to go hunting for a good substantial car to replace my 10 yr old S5. Went car hunting at Toyota, Kia, Mazda,Nissan and Audi with a group of car enthusiasts who drive a S5 as well. This car feels very much like my S5 but still lacks in some areas like mods. In the end, some of the enthusiasts from the group settled for the Kia Stinger 3.3 while some of us went for the Mazda 6, the flagship sedan of Mazda, Mazda CX9, the flagship SUV and vehicle of the Mazda fleet, Toyota Vellfire, Premium First Class Drive on the roads as well as the flagship S series SQ5. I was one of them of who settled for the SQ5. I am writing this review in a Owner of a S5 and an enthusiastic and happy new owner of an SQ5's perspective. This review may not be really objective in a sense.

What I like
This car comes with paddle shifters which allows for quicker gear shifts. The car also has a long wheel base for a car of its class which makes space for more legroom. Most cars are compact these days. This car also comes with the panoramic sunroof. Good for people who love to admire the sky above while driving. This car also has multiple variants to choose from.Actually only two variants to choose from which is already more than enough to make buyers spoilt for choices.

What I do not like
Build quality
fails in comparison to conti cars
Plastics
something that conti would not make it dominate
Reliability
KIA TRACK RECORDS?
Turbo Lag
Takes a while for the full power to kick in

EuroNcap
Premium User EuroNcap
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
4 points
0 forum posts Joined on 05-Dec-2009
Beautiful Grand Tourer with exhilarating performance and great value.  Posted on 02 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This car has disrupted the automotive industry with its bold attempt to challenge the Germans but nonetheless they have done a fantastic job coming very close with its stunning performance, looks, thoughtfulness and value.

Driving this stinger invokes a blood surging emotion. The overall feel of the car and the connections exceeds one's expectations and its price. This car allows the driver to drive like a sports car and yet able to perform its daily task admirably.

For the same price, rivals will not be able to provide the same level of performance, reliability, and equipment level. This gap could be as far as 100K+ in Singapore.

This car is truly a YOLO kind of car. You have a lifetime to own a few cars and why not get a grand tourer that enables you to feel connected and truly go the speed you want at the speed of thought?

Government's rules on cars kept changing and it might not be so distant away when new rules will make ownership of performance cars fast more painful than now. COE upswing is also trending to start to 2019.

What I like
1. Amazing value and performance for a car that cost less than 200K. There is no contender in this price point that outperforms Stinger in terms of specifications, performance and looks.
2. Rear-wheel Drive, V6, 500NM of Torque at low RPM. Launch Control and features that exist in rivals costing 300K or more.
3. Heavy Doors, Welcoming Cockpit, High Quality Interior and Spacious.
4. Amazing Equipment Level - Air-con Seats, HUD, Memory Seats, Sun Roof, 15 speakers HK Speakers, etc... Quiet Cabin.
5. Amazing, timeless look. Beautiful yet functional. Fastback with ample capacity.
6. Blazing Performance - The engine, transmission, brembo brakes, firm chasis.

What I do not like
1. Lacks Navigation - But complements with Android Auto and Apple Carplay.
2. Adaptive Cruise and Land Keeping Assist is not available.
3. Long Lead time - 3 months wait.
4. VES, Road Tax and Expected higher fuel cost.

ervintay
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
9 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Nov-2017
Something which exceeds the likes of continental rivals  Posted on 19 Aug 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The stinger has both great looks and awesome performance. Had a test ride driven by Kia sales representative, James Law. Had fun on it thanks to his clear explanation of the car's unique features and his excellent handling of the vehicle. Overall one of the best performance car I have seated.

What I like
-Gorgeous looks
-Bold colours (hi-chroma red and sunset yellow)
-Awesome performance and handling

What I do not like
-Low headroom
-Fuel consumption on the high side

wheelogist
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
-1 points
44 forum posts Joined on 18-May-2016
Best value for money performance car  Posted on 04 Jun 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the 2.0 version on a wet sunday afternoon. Despite the wet condition,
it is very stable and a delight to drive. Power is more than sufficient for our roads.
Steering is very sharp and accurate. Suspension is a little hard IMHO, thus the comfort level could be better. Very quiet cabin, which I like and the transmission is very smooth. Overall it's a very nice to drive car and I really enjoyed the ride.
Built quality is as good as a continental make, although the interior is still not on par with the BMW or Merz yet, but is much better than most Japs.
At almost 170K, it's a little high unfortunately. I think it would have attracted a lot more buyers if the price is around 150K

What I like
Exterior styling,build and ride quality.

What I do not like
Suspension a little too hard
Price not attractive enough to win over more mid size car buyers

Badieboy
Premium User Badieboy
2nd Gear
6 reviews
141 points
48 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
With looks to kill  Posted on 22 May 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Heard that this Kia has striking looks and is developed on the Nurburgring, hence went to have a look for myself.

What I like
-sun roof
-Kia turned on the air con in the car in the showroom, wow
-sexy exterior
-Brembo brakes
-free shirt after test drive
-big boot

What I do not like
-soft leather may not be as lasting as harder leather from German counterparts
-sloping roofline eats into headroom
-seat belt is fully exposed - looks cheapo
-acceleration does not feel blistering fast as shown in the specs, maybe because we had 4 people in the car during test drive
-engine is relatively quiet, probably because of the turbo, meaning it is quite quiet in the car, can be a plus point
-$210k for a Kia
-will not be able to fir 3 comfortably at the back

Edmundgan
1st Gear
3 reviews
58 points
56 forum posts Joined on 25-Sep-2006
Performance car in my opinion.. but pricing needs to be better  Posted on 21 May 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drive the 2.0T GT stinger recently without appointment.

Exterior:
Sexy look with the curves and the yellow color makes it extremely appealing to me. Great looking car...

Interior:
A low car for me but the driver seat, telescopic steering wheel, gear knob is shiok

The interior appeals a lot to me.

But the vibration and the engine noise is not appealing to me.

“Driveability”:
Very nimble, very sharp steering, tested on small roads

2.0T is so ready to accelerate( pounce on a prey).

Heads up display is nicr.. Speedo is nice and vibrant.

Pricing:
Its too high. 2.0T is $170k plus.

$130k to $140k is more appealing to me.

What I like
The engine
The drive
The shiokness when it accelerate , it just GO and GO!!!

What I do not like
The engine noise at idling
The “shaking” of the car at idle.

AlainDupuis
3rd Gear
5 reviews
386 points
18 forum posts Joined on 12-May-2017
Cruise missile  Posted on 15 Apr 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The test drive started as passenger with a Kia "Pilot" At the wheel scaring me silly drifting through traffic on Alexendra road. What the... Kia is making rockets and their staff are rocketers!

After the spirited drive cooled down a bit, as a passenger, the first thing to note is how comfortable this car is. The interrior is a bit too black and lack fancy but everything feels of very high quality.

Taking over the wheel the car does feel heavy but in a good way. The steering is pretty light and she behaves quietly if the right pedal is used gently. The sport mode is probably what I would use most of the time because the level of comfort is very high and the car is extremly responsive. I did not try the sport+ mode though. With the wet road, the car was already skiding when pushing the pedal to the metal so I did not dare removing the stability control. It is a car that demands respect. May be a change to better tyres would make a lot of difference here.

The car is also very quiet. So much so that they have implemended a compulsory engine soundtrack through the car audio in sport mode. With a car that quiet I was expecting some great sound system. Unfortunatly the Harman Kardon is not up to the task with a very muddy bass tunning that ruins any sound track I tried. The one thing I would do if I get this car is to send it for a real high end audio upgrade that will also get rid of the engine noise sound track.

Overall, this car is the perfect choice for someone driving often to Malaysia and beyond. It is comfortable, quiet, bloody fast and the badge will not attract too much attention from the wrong people. It is kind of an AMG in disguise.

I would not even consider the 2l version. The price difference does not justify it. The specs on the V6 are much better and fully justify the extra cost. If you want to save money you should consider a Cerato in the first place or spend S$160k on an entry level Mercedes for those seeking badge status.

I am really impressed Kia is offering this car. I am very tempted to buy one but seldom drive north for my job.

What I like
Raw power that is a bit scarry but kept under control by the electronics
Comfort
Silence
Handling
7 year 150k kms warranty

What I do not like
Interior design could have a little more colour and fun in the presentation. At least it is well put together with quality materials.
Very disapointing "premium" sound system with boomy unrefined sound
Fake engine noise through the speaker that cannot be switched off.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Kia Stinger
4 stars - based on 9 reviews