Recommended for you

Mitsubishi unveils new styling for Eclipse Cross

Mitsubishi teases the new Eclipse Cross

Eclipse Cross receives five star safety rating

Does a heavy rain clean your car?


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Car Review - Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross 1.5 Turbo Sunroof (A)
19 Feb 2018  |  Mitsubishi Reviews
The Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross may be a new kid on the block but its stylish coupe design, pleasant cabin and punchy powertrain make it a compelling contender.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
CVT is uninspiring
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross was facelifted on Nov 2021. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
spacer
4.0
 
17 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
3.0 Engine Performance
4.0

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
quippery
Neutral Newbie
53 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Some hits and some misses  Posted on 30 Oct 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Mitsubishi has facelifted a model that was quite the success here on our roads. Can this updated car hope to accomplish the same?

What I like
Mitsubishi really was quite eager with the redesign of the exterior here. The grille and head lights are now swept back, suggesting speed which is always great on a car, while the rear has been simplified, so it looks big and strong, exactly as how many SUV shoppers will like.

And its also a pleasant drive this thing. It's a 1.5-litre but turbocharged so if you're looking for some performance but don't want to spend the dosh, this Eclipse will be quite to the appealing buy. Gutsy enough so you don't feel like you're straining the engine even if you need to hustle off the lights.

What I do not like
The interior however, is where you'll feel the cost cutting performed to keep this model affordable. Plastics here are hard and nasty, and the infotainment is two generations old already, delivering bland graphics and not a lot of usability although there is smartphone integration.


supresass
Neutral Newbie
35 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Spacious and Zippy little thing  Posted on 24 Oct 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
The Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross was facelifted a few months ago now. A redesigned front grille, head lights, and a completely new tailgate graces now graces the car. But is it still as a good a buy as the car that first appeared now eons ago?

What I like
For such an old platform, the facelift is really works. It's more than a quick nip-tuck and the result is, at least from the outside alone, rather impressive. This Eclipse looks like it could be last year's model, as opposed to something that's already been kicking about for years.

And the acceleration offered from this thing is also rather commendable. You shift through traffic effortlessly enough, so that only the car's high seating position remind you that you're in a bulky SUV.

The view outwards for rear passengers is great and Mitsubishi will tell you that there's now room for your luggage.

What I do not like
Step inside this car and its not hard to notice that a lot of work was missing from the interior. Cheap plastics abound and the infotainment is just dreary to look at when you've seen what Kia and Hyundai can offer.


Shutterbugchris
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Aug-2022
One of the best JPN SUV  Posted on 10 Sep 2022
spacer
 

Review
1.5-liter with 4-cylinder engine & 163 hp. A very practical and functional car to drive in Singapore! We Love the redesigned tailgate, as it gives us great rear visibility, comparing to the older design.


What I like -
Punchy at low speeds.
A very decent boot space.
Speed limit & Cruise control function instead of only 1.


What I do not like -
No rear aircon vents.


Jaspok
1st Gear
1 reviews
52 points
129 forum posts Joined on 18-Jun-2010
European styled FL model n adequately powered 4 cyclinders engine  Posted on 21 Jan 2022
spacer
 

Review
Pros
- Few 4 cylinders compact SUV with 163bhp/250nm which is powerful for most situations
- Great handling and stability on bends like a Conti car (test drove twice to confirm it)
- GS platform from Evo helps in chassis rigidity
- Front strut & rear stabilizer enhances stability in bends & corners
- Cabin room is spacious n minimalist layout similar to conti cars
- 5 star NCAP/NHSTA safety with 7 airbags
- Coupe SUV style rival by GLC & CHR only in the market.
- Lesser downpayment due to OMV/ARF below 20K
- 10yrs engine warranty & 5yrs unlimited milleage warranty

Cons
- CVT with simulated 8 spd GLgb not exciting or driver eccentric
- Minimal specs as compared to US e.G S-AWC, Twin sunroofs, black roof linings, HUD, body colour trimmings, FCM, Auto high beam, Mitsubishi connect.
- 16" Rims for the classic trim was disappointing given the size of the car
- Only 1 yr free servicing

Most of the cons were due to keeping the OMV/ARF low.
Tested better equipped XV but the driving feel was nowhere near the capability of this unqiue offering from Mitsubishi.

The SE (CK) was friendly, informative n helpful in my queries n enhanced the experience. Contactless test driving was a grear being on the rd myself to fully test the car.


Heryadi
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Jan-2020
Excellent Japan SUV  Posted on 26 Jan 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Been driving the car about a week. The car is superb with alot of function and also in safety aspect. With the turbo charge engine, the car feel like you are gliding when you press the accelerator, don't feel any sluggish. Been driving vezel for the pass 5 years and what i can say it is totally different feeling and comfort. No regret on it. Japanese car but Euro feeling in the cabin and ride. Got the Grey Titanium Black edition with no extra costs due to black friday sales. Looks more Sporty than ever with all the blacks grills,side mirror and black interior

What I like
-Cabin insulation is good
-Surround speaker is good better than i expect with 6 speaker
-Car design look solid compare with Vezel/HRV
-Engine power with turbo charge works wonders
-Good Safety features with 5 star Euro Encap And Asea Ncap
-Ideal fuel consumption for SG road user
-Love the rear seat which can be adjusted if you need more space at the boot

What I do not like
-Small boot space not ideal for family with big stroller
-Big fuel tank compare with others SUV
-Fuel Consumption can be better


Lohzhangming
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Owner for a year now... probably will be for the next 9 years! (EC with sunroof)  Posted on 23 Jan 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Had the Eclipse Cross for a year now, never stop falling in love with it. Drove to KL and back, tested it @ 160-180 range, it still glued on the road steadily.
Fuel consumption 12km/l (Pretty constant)(40% City, 60% Expressway).
For this size of vehicle, really cannot asked for more.
CVT gearbox was indeed the well known Japanese technology. I never used the available paddle swift as i cannot swift it better than by its own. Initial moving off from stationery (0-20) may requires the engine work a little harder, after that range, it will pick up its speed at breeze. Fun to drive! Of course in comparison to sedan, it does sacrifice the capabilities to take corners, but i guess it be one of the best handling SUV you can find.

Last but not the least, this is the last "Pure" Mitsubishi design before the alliance of Renault-Nissan Alliance.

Model considered before committing to this:
CHR, Vezel, ASX, XV, Forester, Civc.

What I like
1) Strong Chasis
2) Peaky and refined engine
3) Good handling
4) Nice style
5) FCM - (really prevented collision couple of times when my attention slipped).
6) Beautiful taillights
7) Full LED headlamp
8) 360 deg camera view
9) Andriod auto connectivity
10) Premium leather quality (Sport version in which leather are from Jap)
11) Fierce front
12) Hidden rear wiper
13) Split rear window (the centre split actually block those irritating rear vehicles's high beams.
14) Made in Japan! unlike...... T, H.
15) 5 stars Euro Encap ratings

What I do not like
1) NO S-AWC - Super All Wheel Control not available in Singapore.
C&C, what are you thinking!?
2) NO Lane Departing alert.
3) Booth space abit tight with it slanting roof line.


DopeyOne
3rd Gear
4 reviews
414 points
122 forum posts Joined on 04-Feb-2015
Handsome looking Coupe SUV  Posted on 26 Mar 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Collected ride and having driven for a week, realized this ride is comfortable, quiet and smooth engine delivery and transmission. Interior is very Euro-feel, leg room has been great, start/stop kick-in is not abrupt as compared to previous ride's.

What I like
Head-Room / Leg Room is good.
Cabin Insulation.

What I do not like
Boot Space is small.


Des72
1st Gear
2 reviews
38 points
60 forum posts Joined on 28-Mar-2008
Good looking SUV  Posted on 19 Nov 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Finally, collected my very first SUV last week. Still getting use to and exploring the car features which is a lot of fun to do. I have been driving a sedan in the past and I must say that I am enjoying the ride of this EC very much. Its' high driving position let me see traffic far ahead and feel really comfortable. To me, personally, I feel it is a way better car in term of engine performance, features, audio system compare to my ex Citroen. Good responsive turbo engine, good cabin noise insulation and very good FC compare to my ex ride. I like the exterior design, a very good looking coupe SUV. Its' interior design also great and very modern as compare to other similar SUV. However, it will be great if C&C is bringing in EC equip with other features available in other countries. Overall, I am enjoying my ride in the EC and hope it will serve me well for the years to come.

What I like
Everything about the EC!
Good performance engine
Good and reliable Japanese made car
Good FC (so far)
Comfortable drive
Good features (can be better)
Good cabin noise insulation
Good air conditioning system (as in other Japanese made)
Stylish exterior
Modern looking interior design

What I do not like
Boot space a bit small but it is not an issue for me
No safety features which is available in other countries like blind spot detection, ACC and rear moving object detection system


cody7k
1st Gear
1 reviews
26 points
66 forum posts Joined on 09-May-2018
Great Sporty Crossover SUV  Posted on 16 Nov 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Had the car for 3 months now and i must admit i like the car. It was unique much like the C HR but with more space and felt more well built then the more common Vexel/HRV and nicer features and look (personally felt) then the forester or XV.

A lot off people says the car drags/sluggish but that because the ECO mode is on and it limits the car a little but if you put a bit more pressure on the gas the car would react and it felt like a sporty hatchback.

The car are not without it flaws if those who done their research would find out the car lack blind spot monitor, adaptive cruise and awd which is part of the package else where the car is sold. But what really this car lag is the price of the car sitting close to Outlander (7 seater) Harrier(PI), CLA (PI), GLA(PI), Scenic, Madza 6,, Forester and the XV, X-trail and yet higher to the Vexel.

Nonetheless its is a unque car with sporty look of a hatchback/coupe with the road presence of a typical SUV and yet drive close to a normal day to day sedan.

What I like
Powerful 1.5T engine works wonders
Road Presence, ride height
Safety feature (FCM, Around camera)
Spacious for 4-5 adult with boot space
Handling is good but bumpy

What I do not like
Some feature could have been added in Blind spot monitoring, AWD, Rear passenger air con
Price point too high for the car of this size and feature
Fuel consumption could be slightly better
Interior is dull
Comfort is affected as the car be a bit bumpy over uneven road or humps


Tarutaru
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
One of the Best Looking SUV  Posted on 13 Nov 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
One of the few 1.5l turbocharged Japanese car. It has very good low and mid end torque that is very well suited for driving in Singapore.

What I like
Design / styling, high ride height / ground clearance, responsive / good pickup, smooth CVT.

What I do not like
Small boot, no auto anti-glare rear view mirror, very light steering feel, no auto door lock and unlock, no powered boot hatch.


Gabdat
4th Gear
23 reviews
555 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Drives like a sedan  Posted on 17 Oct 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
This is the best buy you can find out there right now.Tested this car a couple of weeks ago and it surprises me in nearly every aspect.

What I like
-surprisingly quiet and handles road imperfection perfectly
-drives as good as the Harrier but far cheaper
-nice weighted steering
-very calm and relaxing
-spacious with huge rear space and boot
-friendly staff
-basic model is good enough

What I do not like
-CVT still whines if you floor it
-quality can be better
-low ARF
-lack of freebies might turn off potential buyers such as no limited free servicing
-like all Mitsubishi,probably has a low resale value


Treiber
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-Sep-2018
Uninspiring Drive  Posted on 24 Sep 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 2.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Tested this previously after seeing it on the road….

First impressions is that it has a compact and fierce design, but I felt it is overdone and seems unoriginal especially the front grilles. Looks good from the side but looks weird from the back.

The drive is really not inspiring. Not quick off the start, and around corners it has a very noticeable body roll. And the CVT is not motivating at all. However when it is on cruising mode it is pretty quiet and comfortable...

The interior is alright.. With many bells and whistles and many gadgets as standard.. Android auto and mirror link comes as standard.. The boot space is sufficient enough for a "Standard" Family of wares.. But with the sunroofs the headspace is a bit low for tall people.

Overall, this car is chique and affordable and those who drive at leisure will enjoy it with all the gadget and equipment. But the drive and handling is really not one I look forward to..

What I like
The design (only nice from the side profile)
Pricing
Comfortable at cruising

What I do not like
Poor pick up
CVT is not engaging
Not so good handling
Overtaking is sluggish


Adyrai
1st Gear
1 reviews
17 points
23 forum posts Joined on 26-Jul-2018
The most comfortable car  Posted on 11 Sep 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
Been driving EC for a month and found the car did not disappoint me . The handling is good and very comfortable . Road noise greatly reduce.Very fast from stationary point . Thanks to high torque and powerful engine.

What I like
Easy to monouver and good FC consumption

What I do not like
Engine start and stop


Contipro
5th Gear
1 reviews
2,015 points
1404 forum posts Joined on 02-Sep-2013
Eclipse Cross Last 100% Mitsubishi Design  Posted on 18 Jul 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Like to share my view of this new EC
Good
a) Great torque for acceleration and overtaking.

b) The side sills are protected by door fully covered till bottom, hence when the side body is wet or dirty no need worries your leg or pant or skirt (for ladies) getting dirty or wet.

c) The side sills are more toward inner, so getting in and out make easy.

d) 1.5 road tax cheaper than 2.0 or 2.4.
Where you get the torque like 2.4 engine while fuel consumption like 2.0 (almost).

e) The HU supplied is very stable and great for connecting Apple carplay or Android auto.

f) Even it is CVT, the ratio change pattern programmed to mimic normal auto transmission (but not 100%). At least the feel is better than its own outlander and other car brand like Honda notice during test drive.

g) CVT drive instead of DCT. Where DCT dry dual clutch not very suitable for creeping. (minimize my risk)

h) low engine rpm example 100 km/h, ~2000rpm, pedal assume 25% Depress.

i) Independent rear suspension. Torsion beam suspension is NO NO in my list when looking for new ride (unless no budget).

j) the new 4B40 engine come with both direct injection and port injection.
Hence the issue of carbon built up due to direct injection is minimize because during port injection mode the fuel will clean up the back of the valve.

No Good
a) I consider High fuel consumption 10~12 km/L, If mostly city even low at ~8km/L
b) If you use cruise control 80~90km/hr, I find the engine control at ~1800rpm to maintain its optimum torque, and surprisingly this give better fuel consumption versus I drive without cruise control.
c) Sometime depend on your load change, the turbo lag may felt at 1800rpm.
d) Sometime when rpm drop <1200rpm and you sudden need to gain back speed you may felt some jerking. Not sure this is due to the turbo try to spool up again or the torque convertor full lock up engaging at the region.
This happen if you press the pedal slightly, if you press more no such feel. Is like the system hunting for the correct output based on your very litter pedal input. (if you know what I try to say)
e) Body roll more not as good as HRV. This due to higher center of gravity.
Mit selected CVT ratio not as good as honda jade/civic, hence the fuel consumption remain higher versus honda.

What I like
As above pro and cons

What I do not like
Small boot space compare to HRV or QQ

no blind spot and adaptive cruise.


Bluebull
2nd Gear
1 reviews
131 points
106 forum posts Joined on 29-Dec-2002
My Eclipse Cross has made driving really fun and engaging  Posted on 16 Jul 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 5.0
spacer

Review
This is my 6th car and my first SUV, though I drove a crossover for 7 years some time back. My previous car was a sedan with all the technological gadgets and features. With this background referenced, this review is written 3 days after collecting my Eclipse Cross (EC).

So far, my EC has turned heads and opened eyes, in the carparks and on the roads. The exterior styling is simply eye catching. At red lights, other drivers and passengers have been observed pointing to and talking about my EC. Padestrians have also turned and looked as they crossed the roads.

The interior is really comfortable and plush. The front seats wraps around my back nicely with good support. The dash boards and center console are very modern, very "3D" With layers that protrude out at you, not vertically flat like in the conti cars, especially the V branded one.

The comparison to conti cars is because the EC is conti specced and doesnt feel like your typical Japanese/Korean cars. The build quality is solid, no plasticky squeaky parts. The drive is solid and assured yet the car is quiet, not slient but quiet. I felt serene and relaxed while cruising through the KPE through the MCE to Pasir Panjang on my first extended drive in my EC.

When the shades to the 2 sunroofs are open, the EC feels airy and bright, very interesting feel, to have so much light in the cabin yet the factory tint cuts out the heat. Open the glass roof of the front sunroof and a new driving experience unfolds. The Heads-Up-Display (HUD) keeps my eyes on the roads while showing me the speed that I was driving at (especially in the KPE/MCE tunels) as well as showing me cruise control information.

Back seat passengers were surprised by the leg room they had and the sound system is adequate (adjust and fine tune the settings) if you do not want to spend on In-Car-Entertainment (ICE) systems.

Parking my EC was easy too, thanks to the 360 bird's eye view camera and rear camera parking assist system, in addition to the all around proximity sensors. The front and back in-car camera system gives me peace of mind while one the roads.

Overal after 2 full days of driving around in my new EC, I am thoroughly enjoying driving again. I keep looking forward to the next time I get into my EC and after a 3 months wait for it, I am relishing driving it everyday.

What I like
- Solid build quality
- Quiet on the go
- powerful engine
- plush interior
- attention grabbing exterior
- 2 sunroofs
- 360 , rear camera and all around sensors parking assist system
- Heads-Up-Display
- Comfortable front seats
- Very capable infortainment and sound system

- The all important...New Car Smell!!! ... which is actually full of harmful chemicals so hope it goes away soon but still want to enjoy it while it lasts.

What I do not like
- To keep OMV low, some features that are standard in overseas models have been removed. Its a baffling decision considering that other cheaper new Japanese and Korean cars have those features.
- attention grabbing exterior (sometimes very paiseh to have people pointing and talking about your car while stopped at traffic lights.)
- The piano black trims in the interior can get fine scratches very quickly if the user is not gentle and careful type.
- The all important...New Car Smell!!! ... full of harmful chemicals

Mitsubishi Eclipse Cross
4 stars - based on 17 reviews