Recommended for you

Skoda supports Tour de France for 17th time

The Skoda Superb is as smooth as silk

Smooth cruising with the Skoda Superb

Rule change allowed access to bigger loans


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Skoda Superb 2.0 TSI Laurin & Klement (A)
12 Nov 2020  |  SKODA Reviews
The updated Skoda Superb delivers a silky smooth ride and pairs that with generous space for passengers and your luggage.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Opel Insignia Grandsport 1.5 Turbo vs Skoda Superb 2.0 TSI
spacer
spacer
Facelift

The SKODA Superb was facelifted on Jun 2020. Read more

spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SKODA Superb
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
11 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

11 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Trent895
2nd Gear
7 reviews
106 points
19 forum posts Joined on 08-May-2016
Like a boss - without the price tag  Posted on 05 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
For the price, it has a basic A6 set up. The L&K turn up the notches on pampering: high grade leather, ventilated seats, virtual cockpit, full safety suite, wireless connection, Canton system, ambient lighting and more. Even the door bins are felt. This feels like one of the most luxurious main-stream cars that I have come across.

It looks like a boss too - hefty with the huge 19-in wheels and sharp lines. I like the sunroof with the translucent shade which makes it feel like a lamp during the day. The lift back set up gives me a boot that is bigger than my previous SUV. There is a full-size spare tyre. Sit in the rear to truly feel like a boss! Enjoy the leg room and set your preferred temperature for the rear aircon.

The engine and gearbox works like a dream. There is so much low-end torque that I can climb the steepest flyovers at 7th gear effortlessly. At high speed cruising, it is so comfortable and relaxing with the engine rev so low that I need to keep my eye on the speedometer. Fuel consumption is fantastic for what it is- about 13km/l in mixed driving.

Quietness is not the car forte, however. The 19 -in wheels and tyres produce noticeable road noise. The engine can be heard but it is in low rev most of the time. There is some wind nose near the front mirrors at speed. You can also hear the suspension when exiting the car.

The wet DSG works very well in eco mode because it disengages the gear every time the foot is off the accelerator. It also glides for long distances under this mode. Under other modes, the engine brake can be felt at low gears which reminds you that DSG is essentially an automated manual gearbox. Gear 1 and 2 feels like one long extended gear which makes it feel slow to start off the line but beyond that, it is slick and buttery and knows what you want it to do.

I will give it a 4-star if it were an E-class or Audi A6. For the price, I will give it a full 5-star. Take the listed price with a pinch of salt. Go down and inquire, and be pleasantly surprised.

What I like
Really classy cabin in L&K version.
Engine has plenty of effortless push to complement the luxurious feel.
Fuel economy.
Car exterior is the antithesis of overly-designed cars nowadays. Simple lines which becomes more classically handsome by the day.

What I do not like
Not as quiet as I would like but I am nitpicking at this price.

Ncsam
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 22-Oct-2021
Good stuff  Posted on 22 Oct 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Simply Superb. Steady and Sturdy

No regrets.

Carspottersg
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Dec-2020
Best value for money car  Posted on 10 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The Skoda Superb has one of the better designs compared to its competitors... It takes most of its styling from audi and the 2L engine has almost the same specifications as an Audi A6. Legroom is better than most executive sedans and it looks very fierce.

chullys
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 01-Aug-2016
Comfort, Spacious, Value for money well packaged  Posted on 20 Oct 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Was comparing between Golf, Octavia & Passat at first. In the end - top up just a little bit more for the next level semi-luxury sedan.
While Golf/Octavia offers fun drive, Superb offers comfort and luxurious ride as the next level segment with more features.
Having "Alot" More space in the back seat + boot definitely beats Golf and also Superb which offers relatively large space as well.
During the test drive, I enjoyed the cushy ride while hesitant about slower acceleration and less sharp turns compare to its smaller siblings. Though in the end, my decision was made to upgrade from my usual small/compact segment to mid/large family sedan/hatch.
In comparison to Passat, Passat has slightly harder suspension (which I liked) though needed to top-up another $10k for almost the same car without reverse camera & electric trunk and much less spacious cousin.

What I like
Huge cabin, boot space with hatch-like access.
Extremely comfortable seat position,
Excellent for highway cruise,
Lot of hidden spaces & compartments,
Well insulated to keep cabin quiet,
Lot of features for this price range,
Looks more expensive than it is.
Decent warranty periods,
Handles corner and tight turns well

What I do not like
Fuel economy in the city is poor,
Small rattling noises from plastic parts - Assembly finishing could be improved.
Suspension seem soft for me (personal preference).
Need patience and tolerance in accelerating under Normal or Economy drive mode. (but can change to sports or custom drive mode as well)

Mervynwm
1st Gear
126 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Sill Simply Superb (Facelifted model in 2020).  Posted on 18 Jul 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I wrote the review of this 2.0L Superb way back in April 2018. Since then, I do recommend people around me to get this affordable sedan when they are considering one, as its price is reasonable where you get a VW engine without the VW or Audi price tag which those got them are readily HAPPY with the drive and features.

Now, the facelift version in 2020, from 2.0L to 1.8L and now back with 2.0L, the same engine, facelift in the front LED lights, tail LED with matrix signal (from Audi A4), strip style LED fog lights, virtual cockpit (L&K), plus some other small features too.

The drive is still SUPERB thats for sure as moving off with good torque and the sports mode still gives you the SPORTS feel drive with comfort and luxury.

IF you are considering a powerful sedan drive at affordable range in a conti category, this is the one which L&K is at $149k (as at 11 Jul) than other similar 2.0L mid to luxury ones that are easily $170k and above.

Overall, its STILL the SIMPLY SUPERB to get for a conti car that you would think of getting, with VW engine, matrix tail lights (even if from Audi A4 where does it matter to share parts from same original factory ?)

What I like
Virtual Cockpit in L&K
Great drive STILL
LED front lights (Finally)
LED tail lights with matrix signal
Strip style LED fog lights (Finally)

What I do not like
No panaromic sunroof

Solar
Turbocharged
2 reviews
10,585 points
7044 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2005
Value for money sedan  Posted on 16 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 2/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
This is my second time test driving the Superb. First was about 10 years ago.
This Superb keeps up it's selling points, spacious and luxurious at a bargain.
Power is acceptable with it's 1.8l turbo engine.
I was hoping to see the 2l version though.
I can't push the handling due to the rain condition during the test drive.
Driven normally is handling rather confidently.

What I like
Space and and more space. I like!
Pushed a turbo engine and noise intrusion is limited.
You get brisk speed increase but not the rough out bumpy feel.
Start stop it's also gracefully muted and not intrusive.

What I do not like
I would like to see how a 2l model fare against the 1.8 liter, as both different gearbox setups.
Adaptive suspension configuration isn't available in the 1.8l either.

Design and looks is still a bit to catch up from the others.

The standard 17" is rather small for a car this size.
18" to 19" standard make more sense. However this gives the opportunity for the new owner to change outside to his preference.

And finally.. The windscreen wipers judder..

Vinyl
5th Gear
4 reviews
1,012 points
607 forum posts Joined on 06-Aug-2011
Humongous Space  Posted on 16 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Tested the car on the MyCarForum event. I went to the event to test the Kodiaq but got my heart stolen by the Superb.

First, the price. Very competitive for a car this size.

Second, the space. HUGE legroom at the back. Huge boot.

Third, sportback opening. I prefer the wagon, but a sportback means I have slightly less space than a wagon but still loads of storage and a huge opening.

All they have to do is to bring in the wagon and I'll rush to the showroom and sign without hesitation.

What I do not like
The DSG gearbox is always going to be a question but I'll still take the risk.

Carbon82
Hypersonic
2 reviews
237,220 points
10376 forum posts Joined on 27-Jun-2007
A very well balanced sport sedan  Posted on 01 Apr 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I have owned the 2nd generation Superb 2.0TSI for close to 4.5 years (with close to 160K Km on the clock when I sold it), and through out the period of ownership, nothing breakdown or need extensive repair (except for a faulty headlight module).

Naturally when the new Superb was launched, I am keen to check it out, and everything has been improved. The improved EA888 engine, with 10% More horsepower (now at 220ps) and 25% More torque (now at 350Nm) than the 2nd gen Superb, make this well built car feel more like a compact sedan, and can propel the car to 100Kmh in a time shorter than what claimed on the technical spreadsheet (my butt feel).

The Dynamic chassis control (DCC) works well, and is now able to control the gearbox setting with just a simple selection via the HU. Using the sport mode, the gear will be automatically be set to sport model, and coupled with the stiffened suspension, the car feel like having unlimited torque, able to tackle step slope with ease, even with full carload of people.

The large infotainment panel sitting at the centre of the dash is very user-friendly, with simple and easy to navigate interface. Sound quality (on the top of the line L&K trim) is worth the premium, as it make the car like a mini theater. The built-in Android Auto and Apple Carplay allows seamless connection of any Android or Apple phone to the HU, enhancing safety and usability.

One of the attraction of this sedan is the huge amount of leg space available at the rear, thanks to the extended wheelbase (2,841 to be precise). It make passenger in the rear felt like there are in a standard wheelbase 7 series / A8, no joke. The current gen Superb is also wider than it predecessor, and now should space at rear is not longer an issue.

Last, boot space. My 2nd gen allows me to transport a 3 ft fish tank with metal stand, and the new Superb with >600 ltr volume seems like able to do much more... Based on my trial, it has no problem to load in 4 full size (28") luggage, marvelous!

What I like
- Smooth yet powerful engine
- Dynamic chassis control (DCC)
- Generous leg and boot space
- Great Canton sound system
- Blind spot detect with rear traffic alert
- Reasonably priced

What I do not like
None

Thaiyotakamli
Supersonic
9 reviews
55,180 points
27208 forum posts Joined on 06-Jan-2010
Its simply superb  Posted on 16 Dec 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Comfort 5/5: Very comfortable car due to long wheelbase, it adds more space for rear passenger. Comes with leather seat and good seating that support our back, suitable for up north trip.

Reliability 5/5: skoda brand came out as one of most reliable brand in Europe. Add on with support of VAG sg for 5 years warranty, offering peace of mind

Handling 5/5: the steering very precise, the car is well planted and gives you more confidence at cornering. The steering setting can be adjusted to normal or heavier sport which is good for high speed and corner.

Exterior styling 5/5: very executive look, comes with 18 inch rim for ambition plus and nice L shape DRL.

Interior design 5/5: good quality of material used, nice dashboard and styling is pretty similar with its cousin Passat.

Features 5/5: comes with blind spot assist; Reverse cam, rear traffic alert, apple carplay, nice sound system. Get the L&K for more sophisticated features which most japanese rival dont offer

Value for money 5/5: cheaper than camry or accord, has more feature, more power, conti feel, better handling, more spacious, big boot. If this car rebadged as vw it might sell for 180k

Engine performance 5/5: with 217 bhp and 350nm torque, i think this is a beast that disguise in executive look. Full throttle and the car launch like a rocket with screeching tyre, with quick 6 speed wet clutch DSG, it can hit 100kmh in mere 7 seconds, faster than most rival in its class. Engine also very quite due to 5 acoustic filter in engine bay.

Overall, i have been driving this car for almost a month, the amount of space for passengers are almost similar as 7 series and yet the boot is biggest in its class. Given its features, power and reliability, this car is definitely underrated and i dare to say that Skoda Superb is the best in its class and definitely value for money. Its like a luxury performance car at the price of japanese

What I like
VW engine, chassis, tech yet with toyota price
6 speed wet DSG
Huge power with RWD for best handling experience
Space, i wonder how they can rival S class space with E class car length
Huge boot, almost similar as wagon
Electric tailgate
Blind spot assist
Apple carplay
Adaptive headlight
Rear traffic alert
Good sound system
Nice seating with 3 memory for driver plus lumbar for both
Reverse camera
L&K offers many features which is optional for other brand
5 yrs warranty from VAG with 3 yrs free servicing

What I do not like
Rim do get dirty easily like other contis
Only 1 color selection for interior which is black
Nothing, because its simply superb

Kowfangl
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Sep-2009
Value for money VAG car  Posted on 08 Jun 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went down 1 month back to test drive the car.
Was impressed with the overall space that the car has, especially at the back and the boot.
Drive train is as creamy as it can be (DSG). Was happy that it is a 6 speed
Power instantly delivered (350NM torque)
Ride is quiet despite the power and comfortable. Car feels lighter than 1450kg.
Being a big car, handling is not as good as a hatch but you cant have best of both worlds.

Placed an order in the end. Awaiting my ride in late July

What I like
Skoda price for Audi/VW make (MQB platform)
DSG 6 speed
Interior feels upclass
Lots of power.
SPACE SPACE SPACE in the back and boot
Loads of features which is normally found in more expensive cars.
Huge availability of modifications after warranty ends to make the car more exciting

What I do not like
No paddle shifters
Would have preferred the 4X4 variant 280BHP which they have overseas
Speedometer/RPM meter looks dated
Should consider bringing the sportsline/greenline variant.
Should consider bringing the estate variant
Shares the same servicing workshop as VW singapore.

Mervynwm
1st Gear
126 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Simply Superb.  Posted on 07 Apr 2018
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Went by to see this new Superb L&K edition last weekend.

First looks of the exterior. The contours of the body is appealing. The tame blue display car is a stunning color to pick if you are getting it. Pairs with 19” rims too. Only downside is bi-xenon headlights and LED taillights. Wish both are pure LEDs.

Interior looks as if you are in a VW passat highly spiced up as it comes with front electric seats. And a nice ambient lighting (L&K).

Remote also able to roll down windows if park in hot sun like their Kodiaq too. This option of remote you can likely find in higher end conti cars.

The drive where start of engine is quietly sounded. Drive off is a breeze as pickup is good and not jerky. In normal mode, the drive is smooth and slight need to overtake is also not an issue.

Then switching to sports mode, you can feel the umph to dash when you slight throttle. Using it to dash on a straight line within speed limits and overtaking a few cars on the way, sliding past one another is absolutely not a problem at all. Gear changes in sports mode you can feel it too.

Overall, it’s an excellent business class sedan with good drive to get as it comes with many options that other conti brands do not offer as standard.

What I like
Spacious interior for seating to both front and back with front electric seats.
Spacious boot with electric tailgate.
Power packed 2.0L engine with good torque and pickup.
Lane departure assist.
Sunroof.
Blind spot assist.
Excellent drive in both normal and sport modes.
Nice body contouring.

What I do not like
Bi-Xenon headlights. Should have been full LEDs for both front and back.
Price too steep compared with Passat. Should be further apart to capture market.
Not sure of original accessories options by agent.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SKODA Superb
4 stars - based on 11 reviews