Related Articles

Mazda to Unveil Updated Mazda6 Wagon in Geneva

Re-engineered Mazda6 to debut at the LA Auto Show

Mazda6 achieves five-star Euro NCAP rating

The Passat is a better car than yours


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Facelift - Mazda6 2.5 Luxury (A)
29 Aug 2018  |  Mazda Reviews
A new and rather comprehensive set of improvements has made the Mazda6 a much more premium and refined package than ever before.
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Honda Accord vs Mazda6 vs Toyota Camry
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda 6
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
15 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3/5
11 out of 15 (73.3%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

15 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Fishy
5th Gear
6 reviews
1,267 points
995 forum posts Joined on 04-Mar-2007
Value for money  Posted on 14 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought this car last year and I have been driving it happily without issues. Its comfortable and considering the price I paid for it, I am very happy with this car. I havent had a more reliable car especially my last car was a XX brand from Germany.

What I like
Value for money
comfortable and good control
BSM monitoring
HUD
GPS is shown on HUD
Apple play (but i paid for it separately)
quite fuel efficient

What I do not like
engine is weak for 2.0
side mirror gets misty and fogs out easily
360 view is not available on 2.0 executive version
GPS maps cannot be updated easily

CLLU
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 17-Sep-2020
Aggressive features, humbly priced.  Posted on 17 Sep 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving my new Mazda 6 for 1month, after putting up with MPVs' sluggjshness for the past decade.

The drive feel is excellent for this price ranged car. The features thrown in for this Executive variant are attractively priced too.

I had been reading a lot to compare various car models, but nothing beats going down in person to test drive. It added a lot of points after i tested drive mazda 6.

What I like
GVC+: I have been driving MPV for past 12yrs, hence can really feel and appreciate this feature.
Responsive transmission (happily bid my old Wish's CVT goodbye)
Fantastic exterior, paint (red), luxurous interior
HUD with nav/ LDWS/ BSM/ speed limit info
Quiet & spacious cabin
Nothing else to upgrade coz all that I needed is already in
Fun to drive: Sports mode is persistent and eager to do more for driver, low CG chassis
Memory motorised seats
Bose audio system, Andriod Auto & Apple Carplay
Adaptive headlights, auto highbeam (impressive)
Safety features: BSM, LDWS, SCBS, RCTA (essentials)
Fuel economy: 11.5 (mix) - 15 (highway) km/L
Affordable: Same price tag as my old Wish, which has none of the above.

What I do not like
Slow responding centre display, with touchscreen disabled during drive. (Old technology)

Android Auto has no touchscreen (even when stationary), have to rely on centre console command knob to navigate around. While Apple carplay is ok when stationary.

Low headroom: Entry and exit is a feat to big guys like me

Aircon cooling is too humble for Singapore weather

Centre bottle rack is obstructive to left arm movement

I-stop on hot weather last for 10seconds due to heavy Aircon load. Need i-eloop to really enjoy this i-stop feature.

Chassis would be more fun with 2.5L engine.
I miss the 360° camera, traffic sign recognition, mrcc of the luxury variant.

Tmcderricktan
Clutched
2 reviews
15 points
12 forum posts Joined on 07-Feb-2010
Most worth the money, overall good and reliable family sedan  Posted on 20 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Owned the car for almost 3 years now, so far never spend single cent for any repair, except a hiccup on the auto side mirror not folding properly and its cover under agent warranty and fix it once and never come back again.

overall a good car fun to drive, especially good on highway when you hit above 60 kph. You will enjoy the cruising and power toward high speed

What I like
worth the money
handsome look, wont be outdated so fast
spaces is ok compare to other d-segment car, reasonable
fun to drive, especially at higher speed range.
reliability, first time owned Mazda and found its a reliable car
vroom vroom engine noise, which is not too loud and nice engine sound
Bose speaker is nice to have

What I do not like
slightly noisy undercarriage
somewhat floating when at high speed, need to invest some stability bar, strut bar and better tyre. but if you are gentle driver its a comfort car to drive.
pickup can be better
fuel consumption can be better, getting a real life 11-12km/little on 70% city 30% highway.

Jefflimpc
Clutched
2 reviews
6 points
6 forum posts Joined on 26-Sep-2005
Mixed thoughts...  Posted on 18 Jul 2020
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Have owned the M6 Executive for almost a year now. Didn't really have much time to shop around before i had to replace previous car. I would consider it an average car.

What I like
Handsome car, inside and outside
Quiet ride. Can hear engine noise, other than that, other noises are kept out
Bose speakers

What I do not like
Average FC
Average rear legroom, despite the sedan being longer than the wagon...
No wireless charging
Weak aircon. The aircon is already weak on normal usage. When at stop, it goes even weaker, i guess to save fuel.
Reliability issue:
- The famous side mirror failing to work issue. Can sense mine gonna fail soon. Not expecting this from a brand new car barely a year old.
- Occasionally the the display unit don't startup. Again, not expecting this from a brand new car barely a year old.
- Blindspot detection occasionally don't work...maybe cos of the side mirror failing

bryann
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Nov-2016
Great bang for the buck  Posted on 11 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Mazda 6 and i was sold. Looks great and comes loaded with safety features. For a premium sedan that costs less than 100k, the Mazda 6 performs really well and quite honestly it offers the best pricing amongst its competitors. Mazda has nailed the brakes on the 6 as with most of its cars and handling is great. The kodo design language is impressive as well and i hope to see more cars like this as Mazda prepares to launch the next generation Mazda 6.

What I like
- Great looks
- Good power
- Attractive Pricing

What I do not like
- 3 years warranty (Requires top up for 5 years)
- Trailing behind competitors in rear legroom space (given the size of the car)
- Weak aircon

Irenelumsh
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-May-2013
The drive is effortless and smooth  Posted on 09 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Car is beautiful inside out. Has most of the specs which an above average car would have. Heads up display, lane departure warning, smart city braking feature. Fuel consumption is reasonable. Ride is compliant and smooth at most times. Chassis is pretty firm and car is reasonably stable at high speed. Overtaking is reasonably easy too. Value for money model.

petrolpump
1st Gear
13 reviews
30 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Apr-2018
Better than Uncle Camry  Posted on 06 Aug 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
I tried the Executive variant of M6. If you are considering style between the M6 and Uncle Camry, then of course M6 will win. But if comfort and more rear leg room for your passengers is what you need, than Camry should be your choice. Of course, price diff is quite a bit almost 33k then might as well consider the Accord. For M6 I did not find sound-insulation to be all that great, don't know why the hoohaa is all about. Engine seemed sluggish for a 2 liter power-plant. They should have just turbocharged a 1.5L save road tax in almost $600 annually. Camry had choice of 2 interior colours M6 used to have 2 as well but they standardize all models to ugly dingy black. Aircon was weak. My old altis could leave you in frostbite at 22deg fan speed 1... The M6 cabin became bearable at 18 deg with fan speed 2. In fact, go try the Mitsubishi Outlander and feel the difference in aircon... Day and night like my old altis. In our climate weak aircon means angry drivers. Seats were not all that comfy. I'm 1.8m tall and without thigh support long journeys can be tiring. Qutlander had better seat support, I would say but one is a sedan and the other SUV... Opel Insignia has better seats if you wish to compare sedan and uncle camry. Mazda should lower their price if it really wishes to dilute our roads with Mazdas.

What I like
Body styling
FULL LED front and rear lights including signal and reverse.
Auto Lock (just off engine/close door and walk away from car - it will lock on its own)
Price (okay okay, can be lower)

What I do not like
Rear leg room
No electric boot release
No remote boot release
No button inside car to release boot either
17" rims (should be at least 18s)
No wireless charging
Rear USB slots in arm rest (if carry 3 rear passenger then how to use USB?)
Lack of interior colours (no white or brown only black)
Insulation
Engine performance
Weak aircon (should learn from Toyota and Mitsubishi)

josephywj
1st Gear
1 reviews
90 points
37 forum posts Joined on 02-Feb-2017
The complete package!  Posted on 20 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got my car 2 weeks ago. M6 executive. As an ex volvo xc60 owner, i have to say the M6 is looks good and feels damn good. Perhaps for me the pick up is lacking, maybe because I'm used to a car with a turbocharger. But the torque makes up for it nicely.

What I like
- super quiet car
- comfortable electronic memory seats
- packed with safety features (e.g. blind spot and lane departure warnings)
- super stylish led headlamps.
- soul red paintwork
- price I paid was 7k more than a brand new altis. And 9k more than a new civic 1.6 with 2 airbags. It was an easy choice.
- bose sound system
- excellent 8 inch touch screen with android auto and apple carplay

What I do not like
- air con is on the weak side, in terms of the air output. Temp is perfectly fine
- should have 18 inch rims instead of 17!

Irenelumsh
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
3 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-May-2013
Value for money  Posted on 20 Jun 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Last driven an almost ten yr old Skoda. Looking for a replacement which matches the same drive and make quality and also does not consume too much fuel. Had never owned a Mazda in my life, but was pretty impressed with this model after a test drive. Ever since I owned it, this car is very conposed at all times and petrol consumption is at 18km per litre on highways which clocked over 30km.

What I like
Very stable ride and high specs. Pretty quiet engine with minimum road noise. Reasonable fuel consumption. Android auto makes life convenient, now that I had no need to mount handphone on dashboard.Keyless and auto lock function is good as I no longer even need to lock the doors after getting down. Heads up display is helpful for drivers to gauge speed limit of road and gives warning on any motorists ard us before we switch lanes. Like the exterior styling of car esp the stylish grills and the plush interior that is also functional and pleasant looking.

What I do not like
Screen black out in s few occasions. Interior cabin space could haave been bigger

LinHan
Clutched
1 reviews
6 points
4 forum posts Joined on 22-Feb-2019
Amazing value-for-money family sedan  Posted on 02 Apr 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is my first car so my review only comes from my experience with the car for a few days and my previous rental and test drive experiences.

The Mazda 6 is a great balance among quality, performance and money. Among my shortlisted cars - Civic 1.5, Stinger and Mazda 6 2.0 Executive, I picked the Mazda 6 because it comes with enough power for SG streets, responded quickly enough for my acceleration needs, equipped with the premium feeling fit and finish and came with all the nice driving assistance features. And it's the cheapest among all three options. For a car that will last for at most 10 years in SG, I don't know why would anyone buy the Camry over this.

I would strongly recommend anyone who consider Mazda 6 to go for at least the Executive model for all the extra features. You'll regret buying the standard when you know you could have keyless entry, HUD, blind spot monitoring and a nice sound system with just a few thousand extra.

I especially like the HUD, it shows the speed, current speed limit and blind spot alert for both sides. It also shows navigation if you use built-in map but I've never got the map working.

What I like
Premium feeling material - leather, wood and soft-touch plastic
New front grille makes the exterior even more sleek
Dial-operated infotainment system
[Executive and above exclusive features]
Bose Sound System
HUD - Speed, Speed Limit and Blind Spot indicator
Keyless entry

What I do not like
No adaptive cruise control
Built-in map is a pain to use

CoolZebra
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
1 forum posts Joined on 30-Jul-2016
Mazda 6 High fuel consumption  Posted on 30 Mar 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
I just purchase Mazda 6 standard and got the car for less than 2 weeks. Overall, it is quite a decent car with all the basic feature. I like the exterior and interior design.

I regret not having the deluxe model with the auto lock when you away from your car and you can lock the car without taking out the key. The petrol consumption is quite high, at about 1 litre/ 9km. I run on 50% Highway 50% City.

What I like
exterior and Interior design
Auto Hold feature

What I do not like
High Petrol Consumption
No auto lock when away from the car
Alway need to take out the key when lock or unlock the car
Dashboard and aircon design (I have a problem to mount my phone on aircon)

thesoul
3rd Gear
1 reviews
253 points
159 forum posts Joined on 10-Mar-2018
Most value for money mid-sized sedan  Posted on 04 Mar 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Mazda is widely known to have the best handling amongst the asian car makes and this face-lift is living up to its name.
Looks:
- Interior has been given a huge upgrade with right combination of suede and japanese wood along the dashboard improving the looks and feel. Definitely shine compared to the likes of camry or even skoda superb - where interior designs look dated and full of cheap plastic
- minor change to the exterior w a new grille. Coupe like design makes the car looka sporty. The only downside is lower headroom, particular for passengers at the rear.

Drive:
- 2L engine which i test drove was abit sluggish during pickup but it was ok after reaching a certain speed. A breeze to drive
- Significant provement to the NVH compared to the pre-FL version and mazda 3

Features:
- executive comes w great features like assisted braking, lane departure warning, bsm, HUD on windscreen etc
- missing sun roof for 2L exec which is a petty
- no 360 camera for this version

What I like
- awesome interior w comfortable leather seats
- packs w some good features
- good handling
- good improvement to NVH
- sporty exterior design

What I do not like
- skyactiv engine is known to be slightly underpowered at a cost of better fuel saving
- no sunroof
- no wagon for 2L engine

opgamerkkhk
2nd Gear
36 reviews
139 points
62 forum posts Joined on 15-Nov-2016
Killed by skoda superb  Posted on 06 Jan 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Test drove superb and mazda 6 on the same day since both are around 130k. 2.0 was a complete turtle while 2.5 was also super sluggish. Handling was great, however cannot be compared to new G10 530i. If anyone is looking for this car, do not buy it. Boot space is minimal at just over 400 litres. For refernce superb has 600 litres. Even a thai made honda civic sedan has 520 litres. Cannot fit weekend prams, groceries or golf bags comfortably. Engine makes rough note when revved. Additionally, the strain on the engine made the car accelerate no faster. Limited headroom at the rear makes occupants 1.7m and above to take grab. Suspension was bumpy and could not take bumps as well as something like a b8 passat. Price was 139k for top spec 2.5. Features were no where near continental competitors. Poorly insulated cabin and cheaply built cabin was extremely disappointing. Would only buy this car if I'm broke. Please avoid it totally! Test drive one and you would understand what i mean.

What I like
Stunning looks, good handling, beautiful interior

What I do not like
Cheap materials used
Hollow sounding doors
Laggy engine
Terrible NVH
Disgustingly small boot
Poor mazda aftersales service

Gabdat
4th Gear
21 reviews
669 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Don't fix it if it ain't broken  Posted on 15 Oct 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 2/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 2/5
spacer

Review
Went over to test drive Mazda 6 2.5 last weekend.Wanted to feel what was all the hype about.So..Here goes.

What I like
-exterior design.they made some minor changes.and that's a good thing because it has always been handsome
-dashboard.matured and neater.feels more luxurious
-felt bigger
-sunroof
-couple of important safety features but only on the 2.5 version
-front seats are comfortable
-that Soul Red Metallic color is to die for
-18" rubber to burn

What I do not like
-engine noise
-skeptical about the skyactiv engine.getting mix reviews on the international forum
-gearbox slightly jerky
-only has 6 speed
-vibrates during idling

DdCarReviewerSG
1st Gear
21 reviews
54 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Sep-2018
Newly Facelifted Mazda 6 is a legend......  Posted on 17 Sep 2018
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
If you are looking to go on a car hunt, the Mazda showroom is one that you should not miss. The Mazda Range is one of quality and promises comfort. Test it out for yourself to believe. This is what I have to say after test driving the Mazda 6 and Mazda CX 9. These 2 models are the flagship models in their respective segments. With this belief in mind, I invited several car enthusiasts who drive the 2008 registered S5 just like me to go for a car hunt at Kia, Toyota, Audi, Nissan and Mazda. Some of us definitely got excited at what this legend can offer. I personally swayed towards the Audi SQ5. This review is written in a continental car driver perspective hence it may not apply to everyone.

What I like
Long wheelbase of vehicle
Elegant design
Many features to play with
Bespoke club upon purchase...(You Know what I mEAN)
desire programme

What I do not like
Fuel consumption
Pickup Speed
Build Quality as compared to other luxury sedans

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Mazda 6
4 stars - based on 15 reviews