Recommended for you

Lexus ES250 F Sport is bold-looking and polished

The Lexus ES250 F Sport heads downtown

Refreshed Lexus ES comes to Singapore

COE slips across Cat A, B and E


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Facelift - Lexus ES 250 2.5 F Sport (A)
26 Nov 2021  |  Lexus Reviews
The refreshed Lexus ES now comes with an F Sport variant to spice up its aggression and sport front. Can it drive as sporty as it looks?
spacer
spacer
Facelift (What's New)
Tweaked daytime running lights
First time ES is equipped in F Sport trim
Menacing-looking mesh grille
Aesthetic go-fast bits such as bucket seats and F Sport badges that enhance the car's aggression
Stiffened rear suspension
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Lexus ES 250
spacer
4.0
 
7 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
4.5
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
4.0
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
3.5 Engine Performance
3.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Peterapc
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 31-Dec-2005
Reputation precedes it's quality  Posted on 27 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 2.0 Features 2.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 1.0
spacer

Review
Bought the 2.5 luxury edition and nothing fantastic on the features. The torque is pretty sluggish, comparable to a 1.6l saloon, don't expect to over take any 2.0l cars and pick up is slower than a toyota pruis. When stopping, the noise level is compact but when travelling on uneven surfaces. Road noise is terribly loud comparing to continental cars. U-turn turning radius is near 3 lane of turn, which is even more than a 14ft lorry. Lexus could have done better. Don't believe the test drive vehicle in the show room. It's totally different when you own one.


Blackie_32
Neutral Newbie
3 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Mar-2008
Rear seat buyer must seriously consider LEXUS ES  Posted on 05 May 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Owned a ES300H (2014) earlier. Sold 1,5yr ago & current ride on MB.
Went showroom during Labour day holiday to have a look but nice experience.

Comfortable especially at the rear seat. Sofa feeling.
Test drive on this car. Built on the GA-K platform, nicely done! Chasis was lowered than 2014 model, was enhanced the aerodynamics. Assumed the LSS+ is another highlight, but didn't get a chance to test.
2,5L N.A. Do not have the turbo lag but do expect smooth but not so quick response (0-100km in 9.1s). Can make do with paddle shifter which comes in standard. However, reverse camera/panoramic view monitor image is utterly disappointing (unclear). Overall, nice car to have if you have the cash.

What I like
Comfort sofa seat
Premium Lexus brand
LSS+
GA-K platform
Facelifted model (Oct 2021)
Roomy cabin space
Panoramic Glass roof available in Executive variant
Touch screen Multimedia system

What I do not like
Blur images from reverse camera shouldn't occurred in this car. Disappointed.
Bi-LED headlamps on Executive variant. *the Triple L headlamp only found in Luxury.
A huge difference of S$29K of Executive vs Luxury
Fuel consumption of 6.6L/100km not the best in its class
18" aluminum wheels look average in big car
Current COE price CAT B S$90K to purchase new car is kinda challenging


Eng70080
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 19-Oct-2009
Best car I have owned  Posted on 30 May 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I have owned 18 cars before I finally purchased the new Lexus ES250 Luxury. The cars I owned in past include Audi A6 (C6 and C7), BMW 320i (E90), Audi Q7, BMW 740i (E65), Volvo V50, Lexus RX450H, Audi A4 Avant, Mercedes S300L, Audi A5, Audi Q5, VW Golf, etc.

Lexus ES250 is a very comfortable car. Just like my BMW 740i and Mercedes S300L. It is very roomy. It is more sporty than the Mercedes S300L which is very reluctant to accelerate. It is less sporty than BMW 740i but more petrol efficient - BMW 740i is VERY thirsty!

Equipment-wise, it is very generous. Forget about the Lexus ES250 Executive. Go for the Luxury version! It has SO MANY more equipment than the Executive version. I was considering the E-Class and 530i but I chose Lexus ES250 because it is a better package overall. E-Class does not even give you keyless entry! But it is a standard in Lexus ES.

The drive is superb. Very quiet and very comfortable. It feels so luxurious. The most comfortable car I have owned.

Looks-wise, it can be subjective but I love the aggressive look. BMW, Audi and Mercedes are too conservative. Their looks don't change much.

Also, forget about the LS. The Lexus ES250 is 80% An LS at half the price and probably running cost!

What I like
Nice looks - it stands out in the crowd. There are just too many Mercedes and BMW on the road.

Very generous with the equipment, especially the luxury version.

What I do not like
It does not have soft closing doors. But if it does, nobody will buy the LS! The 2022 version of the ES also has a touch screen. The current touchpad is not the most friendly to use.


Bunny-G
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
8 forum posts Joined on 08-Jun-2010
Impressive exterior and interior  Posted on 04 Jun 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
After owning this car for about 9 months I feel that the car is worth for the money I spent. I have owned or driven a number of different brand cars. Be it brand new or 2nd hands. Past owned Mercedes, BMW, Mini Cooper and Toyota. I have decided to come back to Lexus. This is the 4th Lexus I have owned so far. Previously owned RX300BMR, CT200H, GS300. Everything is good about this car. Except the turning radius is very poor. I actually wanted to get the ES300H for its initial power drive however the moonroof model only equipped for ES250. Ended up I purchased the ES250 Luxury. Comparing with the normal version ES250, I would say pay a little more for the Luxury as it comes with many more features that is worth the money. The fuel consumption for reasonably good. I have driven about 15,000 Km and getting about 8.9 L/100 Km for 30 / 70- City/ Expressway ratio.

What I like
The exterior look especially the sporty look front grille and the side view makes the whole long car looks good too.
The interior feel and touch is steady and nicely done. The solid matt silver inside door handle, the steering wheel and not forgetting the seats are always comfortable in Lexus car. The Luxury version comes with slight adjustable back passenger seats which my kids love it very much.

What I do not like
The look from behind is not as attractive. Feel like it could have added the exhaust like the overseas ES350.
The car after section design is very low, understand it makes the car looks better however it created a problem for reserve parking. You have to check and make sure the kerb behind is not too tall or high.
The turning radius is very poor. Whenever there is only 2 opposite lanes for U turn, I have to think twice. For those who encounter this hassle before, you will understand what I mean. I not sure whether it can be solved if the car is made all wheel drive or RWD.


Gabdat
4th Gear
23 reviews
555 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
First Year Anniversary With My ES  Posted on 21 Dec 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Now comes the Pros and Cons after 1 full year ownership of this car.
Car reviewing is the ES250 Executive model. Non hybrid version.
Mileage is 21000km. Locally driving about 60% Highway and 40% Normal roads with typical Spore traffic. Have driven all over Peninsular Malaysia. Consumption is 11km/L. It has never been reset since first day.

What I like
-Highest ever ranking/points in Euro NCAP Safety Test. Basically, it's the safest
car on earth.
-8 speed GB is fantastic. Push to the limits and it still performs. Was using the
3rd gear at 110km/hr around bends in NS highway. Impressive.
-Lexus durable paint condition.
-Huge legroom for front and back passengers.
-Silent engine during cruising and idling.
-Nicely weighted steering. Sharp and precise.
-Planted and discipline at speeds up to 197km/hr.
-Wind noise can only be heard at 125km/hr.
-Climate is fixed at 24 degrees Celsius at every condition. Powerful indeed.
-Window goes slower as it reaches the top or lowered. Oozes luxury.
-Feels like a RWD car.
-Very professional and helpful staff. After sales is also top notch.
-The most reliable brand for a very long time and years to come.

What I do not like
-Slight vibration on the dashboard but was settled instantly by BM.
-Depending on conditions, it can be under powered sometimes.
-Sound system is just ok. Nothing to brag about unlike the Luxury model that
comes with ML.
-Can be challenging to park due to it's enormous size.
-Useless coin box. Too small for anything.


DarrenChiaSGP
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 29-Jun-2019
Why I switch from German brand to Lexus  Posted on 29 Jun 2019
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I just switched to ES250 this year after driving German cars for last 10 years. Absolutely love the ride and comfort. The exterior design caught my attention with her distinct and sharp contours. The interior features are premium despite an entry level model I picked which you usually pay extra for German car. The thing I like most are the various safety features that are practical and essential to me who is not a car enthusiast. Finally, I do not need to burn a big hole in my pocket to own this beautiful car with premium features and I feel safe driving my family around.

What I like
1) Exterior design and sporty looks with the 18" wheels. In this 2019 facelift, the car has grown 5cm longer and wider but the height remains. This has made it on par or even bigger than its German competitors but keeping its sporty look.
2) The sunroof that stretch from driver to rear passengers which you can still shielded it if the sun becomes too bright & hot.
3) I am surprise at how quiet the cabin is even during cruising and overtaking, unlike the noisy turbocharged engine.
4) The roomy interior let you feel posh and comfortable even for someone who is taller than 1.8M especially the rear leg room.
5) Standard package include:
a) Keyless entry and auto start/stop
b) Built in GPS and rear camera, safety sensor around the front and back of the car.
c) Wireless phone charging in the car and multiple USB ports in front and back.
d) The auto sensor to open car boot using your foot (useful features for family man when your hands are full of grocery)
e) The safety features include auto detect when your car drift outside of your driving lanes, setting the safety distance with car in front, side mirror warning lights for vehicles in your blind spots just to name a few.
f) Leather feels soft and there is even aircon blowing through both the front passenger seats (good features for hot weather SGP)
g) The 2.5L engine is very smooth & powerful enough for SGP traffic. It is not punchy like turbocharged type. (If you like quick acceleration like BMW and sports engine, this is not your car)

Additional things thrown in by Borneo include front & back recording camera, 3M solar film, 5yrs warranty and 3yrs free service. Not forgetting my professional and friendly sales agent, Nicholas.

What I do not like
There is not much I dislike but if I really need to name a few:
1) No Apple CarPlay
2) The touchpad to control the entertainment center is not easy to use, need time to get used to.
3) The fuel consumption is around 12-13 km/l but I have heard a lot of car nowadays can go above 15km/l.


Gabdat
4th Gear
23 reviews
555 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
After testing so many cars,Lexus is the clear winner  Posted on 29 Oct 2018
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Purchased this car during pre-launch at Lexus Boutique. I will only receive the car in Jan 2019. Another review will follow up after running about 10 000km. Though I purchased this car, I will be as neutral as possible in this review. Model bought is the ES250 Executive. Bonus against buying after launch:-
-6 years warranty
-vehicle concierge service during free 3 years of maintenance
-cash vouchers for Lexus Boutique shop
The rest of the freebies are the same.

What I like
-space and legroom.comes with panoramic rooftop
-luxurious dashboard and interior
-reliability. Lexus tops the chart in North America repeatedly for dependability
-brand new interior and exterior.not just another face-lift
-18".suits the car better as it is long and big
-ride quality such as comfort and smoothness
-comfortable and cushy seats.
-silent interior.very silent
-Lexus Safety System +
-professional and friendly Sales Team

What I do not like
-$20k difference between executive and luxury.way too much
-hybrid model is also costlier
-cost of maintenance
-only the driver can lock/unlock the doors
-leg sensors for auto tailgate can be a abit tricky
-ambient lighting only for the luxury trim

Lexus ES 250
4 stars - based on 7 reviews