Recommended for you

Toyota GR Yaris arrives in Singapore

Production of Toyota GR Yaris underway

Toyota GR Yaris premieres at Tokyo Auto Salon

Mayfair Motoring embraces digital solutions


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Toyota GR Supra 3.0 (A)
28 Nov 2019  |  Toyota Reviews
With a combination of German technology, sporty driveability and Japanese reliability, it's hard to fault the all new fifth generation Toyota GR Supra.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Toyota GR Supra
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
5 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

5 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Power69
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
1 points
2 forum posts Joined on 15-Apr-2012
Best Coupe of the Year  Posted on 10 Nov 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Long awaited Supra since the last production car in August 2002, we had welcome the new J29, Toyota GR Supra from March 2019.
Superb 2.0 litre turbocharged in-line four engine with smooth 8-speed ZF automatic transmission.

What I like
Lots of bodykits for the car.

What I do not like
Pricing.

Motorknut
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 21-Oct-2012
Closest successor to the Z4 M coupe  Posted on 20 Oct 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Love it or hate it, there is nothing on the road that looks like it. It's street presence is undeniable. While the styling cues are typically linked back to Toyota sports cars of the past, I can't help but see flashes of the E86 Z4 coupe in the design. Especially the rear haunches.

You only fully appreciate this car when you push it on the road. No grandma test drives will do it justice. The handling is excellent - take a fast corner and the chassis asks for more.The engine is silky smooth like an inline 6 should be. And it has one of the best engines BMW has ever built. Plus enough power on tap to give you whiplash on hard acceleration. No kidding here. The platform is also truly dedicated to the Supra and Z4 only. Even earlier Z4s were based off the 3 series platform.

The interior is not as luxe as the new Z4, but it's beautiful in its own way - the carbon fiber console is gorgeous and everything is kept simple, clever and neat. Just how a modern, driver's car should be. Even with one generation old BMW tech, it's better than most Japanese car functionality. I can't imagine why anyone would save 20k for the 2.0L when you get so many extras with the 3.0L AD version.

What I like
Fantastic straight six engine, sublime handling. Dramatic pops and burbles from the exhaust in the customizable sport mode Classic roadster proportions that gives you that drive-by-the-seat-of-your-pants feeling. Inherits great BMW technology. Fraction of an M car with a dedicated platform for the Supra and Z4 alone.

What I do not like
Interior materials not all as lux as the BMW sister model. Low roofline + wider door will makes ingress tricky. Trunk has an odd shaped opening. Gap between the cabin and the trunk can be odd and annoying when transporting cooked food. Fraction of an M car is closer to 3/4 than 1/4 (ie: still not cheap). Synthetic piped engine noise can get annoying. Exhaust pops and burbles only in sport mode with transmission in sport setting which can be a little tiresome in city traffic.

Less comfort features with the 2.0L AD version.

Jackson_ngo
1st Gear
10 reviews
26 points
28 forum posts Joined on 25-Jun-2007
Paste and copy BMW Z4  Posted on 26 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 2/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Being a hardcore fan of the Supra MK4, the announcement of this Supra is a big disappointment. Toyota used to be a strong competitor of the Skyline GTR and Honda NSX. Current GTR and NSX came a long way to arrive with the high tech supercar slyer we see today. However, Toyota, being an automobile giant, maker of legendary Lexus LFA, can't even be putting proper efforts into making a car that lives up to Supra name. What we have today is just a BMW Z4 copy converted into a coupe body. Absolutely a disappointing car.

What I like
Good drivetrain from BMW

What I do not like
cope and paste from BMW Z4

ihatesportscar
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-Dec-2019
My $0.02  Posted on 25 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Albeit the process of obtaining the car at this price point wasn't the best, it is worth every penny (performance-wise).

I highly suggest buying from a reliable PI who already have stock on hand.

What I like
Engine Sound (Slightly Augmented)
Exhaust Pops & Burbles
Great Handling

What I do not like
Nothing much.

CarbonFalcon
Neutral Newbie
41 reviews
0 points
1 forum posts Joined on 22-Nov-2012
Ultimate Drive Machine meets Bulletproof Reliability  Posted on 01 Dec 2019
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
The thing about Sports Coupes are that they are supposed to scare you. An output too powerful. An engine drone like a dirty martini. A little oversteer that would send you on a skid like a wet penguin belly-skating on ice. In total, the gratification from owning and driving one would remain as a testament to the steel and weight of your family jewels. The daily reward would be the waltz with the devil and reaching destinations alive.

The GR Supra shares none of these typical psychopathic traits of normal sports cars.

With its Arnie roots, initial ridicule was equally similar to the Terminator's early days. Its badging and not being a BMW is almost always the conversation starter. That's where as a new owner, it takes a while to digest the fact that this is the first global GR badge. It's an M. It's an AMG. So to speak. And it is different... And bloody good.

The first instant reward is the lost inline 6 symphony that Porsche gave up on. A linear acceleration bearing the biblical identity of the 2000 GT - along with its double bubble roof signature. With pure BMW interiors and panel gaps of Japanese heresy - there's little Toyota in the vehicle - except for the bulletproof reliability assurance learning from the development stories of numerous Japanese testing and improving.

Unlike other similar options such as the Alpine A110 or the Porsche 718, the Supra is an absolute comfort to drive in. It soaks up the road with so much ease that the only fatigue that sets in is purely from the G forces. An unexpected surprise was how it went over some of the worst humps I know of as if they never existed. For a car that low - that i don't understand at all.

Telling people you own a Supra is something no luxury badged sportscar can recreate. For its legendary status, that's a new kind of gratification altogether.

What I like
The exhaust popping on sport mode.

That glorious Inline 6 humming.

God level handling and hump clearance. 50-50 ratio.

Automatic cruise control - a godsend when I'm exhausted from pulling too many Gs.

Fantastic comfort.

What I do not like
Waiting 20 years for this.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Toyota GR Supra
4 stars - based on 5 reviews