Recommended for you

Is there such as thing as identical triplets?

The Skoda Scala is one spacious hatchback

The Skoda Scala is a mighty fine hatch

Rule change allowed access to bigger loans


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Video Review - Skoda Scala 1.5 TSI Style (A)
20 May 2021  |  SKODA Reviews
The Skoda Scala offers those looking for a hatchback an interesting option with its super-sized interior dimensions.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
No physical air-conditioning controls
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of SKODA Scala
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
12 Reviewers
4.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

12 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Muralz93
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Jun-2022
A Hatchwagon that can be whatever you want it to be.  Posted on 22 Jun 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Upgraded myself to a Skoda Scala Monte Carlo recently and the drive has never been better.

It is one of the most underrated cars and, its one of the cars where performance meet style. Fuel efficiency and features that are included (rear aircon, driver assists and an electronic tailgate with a good amount of cabin and boot space) as basic where even other premium models fail to offer.

For looks wise, getting the monte carlo trim which is the top the line, saves you some time and money if you're into modification as the trim itself looks modified with slightly darkened headlight panels, contrasting black base on the front, rear and side bumpers (which are not plastics), sports bucket seats and most importantly a panoramic sunroof .

At the end of the day, the Scala could be whatever you want it to be. It is simply that accommodating.

Muralz93
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Jun-2022
A Hatchwagon that can be whatever you want it to be.  Posted on 20 Jun 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Upgraded myself to a Skoda Scala Monte Carlo recently and the drive was never been better.

It is one of the most underrated cars and, its one of the cars where performance meet style. Fuel efficiency and features that are included (rear aircon, driver assists and an electronic tailgate with a good amount of cabin and boot space) as basic where even other premium models fail to offer.

For looks wise, getting the monte carlo trim which is the top the line, saves you some time and money if you're into modification as the trim itself looks modified with slightly darkened headlight panels, contrasting black base on the front, rear and side bumpers (which are not plastics), sports bucket seats and most importantly a panoramic sunroof .

At the end of the day, the Scala could be whatever you want it to be. It is simply that accommodating.

emman
1st Gear
1 reviews
25 points
32 forum posts Joined on 13-Nov-2020
Good value  Posted on 11 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
A car that fits in between sizes. It's not quite as small as a Jazz, yet nowhere near the sizes of a stationwagon like the Octavia. Makes a good car for those looking for something easy to drive yet need to pack loads of people and luggage.

Cat B COE now throwing prices off but I guess when prices equalize this will catch on again!

What I like
- Really solid engine and gearbox, shared with much of the new VW / Skoda / Audi vehicles
- Lightweight and you really feel this when driving
- Incredibly sharp turning
- Packed full of safety features
- Way more comfortable than most of the equivalent Jap/Korean competition
- Humongous boot and legroom for such a small car

What I do not like
- Cat B COE no longer keeps this car in a competitive price range. If you managed to get this in the earlier half of 2021, congratulations!
- MQB-A0 platform does feel slightly bumpier than the Octavia

HBB18
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 30-Sep-2021
Stylish and fun Hatch  Posted on 30 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
If there's ever such a thing as 'value for money' car in Singapore then the Scala is the most VFM hatchback there is!

What I like
Clean, sleek and minimalist driver cockpit
Spacious for a hatch. Comfortable interior
Good boot space
Some clever additions like side door umbrella
Drives very similar to a golf . Good enough zip and handling for your everyday drive
Enough tech and features
One of the nicest looking hatchbacks in the market

What I don't like
I have to change my aircon fan settings on screen
Ehhh the cup holders are too small

corproral
Neutral Newbie
13 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Hatchback that feels light on its feet!  Posted on 19 Sep 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
If you're looking for a hatchback with good build quality, decent space, and plenty of go, this is it!

What I like
Plenty of power and torque from a 1.5-litre unit. There's good space all around, it looks stylish, and the steering is quite light also, making it easy to steer around town.

What I do not like
Ride can get a bit busy when you're on bad roads. If comfort is high on your priority list, get the Golf or the Octavia instead.

beatdrive
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Decent car to drive, but design looks outdated  Posted on 31 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
When you compare it against all the other new cars you can buy, the Skoda Scala's design looks quite outdated, feels like it is a design from early 2000s era. Although it isn't exactly ugly, just a little out of place compared to other new, more modern looking cars.

The driving experience is honestly not bad, being a small hatchback, it is easy to drive, the turbocharged engine also give it quite a bit of power, it isn't like those 1.0 turbo where once you get on the expressway, it feels like you have to step alot on the accelerator to maintain the speed.

The best part of this car is the safety features, even the lower end style trim without all the fancy stuff, is equipped with all the driver assist features like adaptive cruise control, side assist and lane assist. Very good value.

Comfort of the car is not bad, although sitting at the rear feel a little bumpy and can hear some road noise. Quite normal for a hatchback. But it sure is spacious, with the rear seat knocked down, you can fit bicycles inside easily.

What I like
- Powerful engine
- Many driver assist system, don;t even have to go for the most expensive trim
- Spacious and practical

What I do not like
- Design look old, not so attractive

Wirelessed
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Oct-2009
Great looks, very smooth ride and sporty handling, AND practical for family  Posted on 29 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Really liked the "Conti-feel" Drive - very solid and stable, smooth ride over bumps and humps, and sporty as the 150hp torque and turbo comes in handy whenever you need to overtake. Plus, it is practical for a family with kids as there's lots of rear legroom, rear aircon, plus an impressive boot size of 467L, all in a very unique compact hatchback shape that's different from other jap/korean sedans. And event though the car is only 1200kg, you feel the "Weight" And "Muscle" When you drive it. Exterior/Interior is very welcoming and well designed too. Hence it won the Red Dot award in 2019!

What I like
- Good fuel economy, managed to get 12-15km/l on 50-50 urban roads and 18-20km/l on highways!
- Decent 8-speaker entertainment system with the Style trim. (Note: Carplay is NOT wireless, the Skoda website is wrong)
- Engine is super responsive when needed. Accelerator pedal is very sensitive.
- Adaptive cruise control and all the other safety features like front collision sensors are awesome.
- Very big boot (467L) that's bigger than many small hatchbacks and similar to many small sedans/crossovers

What I do not like
- cupholders are really small and can only fit bubble tea and small mineral water bottles
- car mats provided are the carpet kind not the coil/rubber kind
- my salesman says style trim has 4 speakers. I tested and detected at least 6!
- aircon fan speed is via touchscreen and not a physical knob like most cars
- carplay/android auto is not wireless but wired. Only USB-C ports provided.
- no 360-degree camera like the Seat or park assist like the VWs
- no "kick" sensor for rear tailgate

aerolith
Neutral Newbie
11 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Stylish and different  Posted on 21 Jun 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
You get an interesting looking hatchback, slightly stretched so it almost looks like an estate, and full of angular lines all over, from the doors to the head and taillights.

What I like
Loaded with safety tech, and with 148bhp you'll be able to catch up with a lot of traffic. Zero to 100km/h is 8.5 seconds in the Scala!

The cabin is also nice, plenty of space at the rear, and the boot is actually quite spacious, even if a lot of the space is quite deep in.

What I do not like
Just ok body control over the worst roads.

jamesim7
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Jul-2016
Simply Clever  Posted on 12 Jun 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Was Having initial thoughts of test driving the Kamiq without any interest in the Scala, but went for it anyway since I was there. The drive was extremely smooth and I was surprised at how well it was holding the road. Of course, it's an SUV vs hatchback comparison but after test driving both, I went ahead to book the Scala.

Having driving my own for 3 weeks now, I can say it's a good buy and when you're up for a little enthusiastic driving, the Scala is always ready to go where you point it to. This legroom and boot space at the back makes you rethink hatchbacks. It should fit into most lifestyles easily.

Fuel economy is pretty decent too, averaging 17km/l without pushing the car too hard and strategic de-activation of 2 cylinders to aid my drive. The only gripe I have is a relatively hollow roof inner lining, but otherwise the ride is still a quiet and comfortable one.

You wouldn't believe the platform was built for a smaller car like the Polo or Ibiza.

What I like
Strong angular lines
LED front and tail lamps
Responsive engine with decent torque
Legroom and boot room (even comparable to some sedans)
Solid build

What I do not like
Some scratchy plastics inside, but not at high touch areas
Cupholders are built for small energy drink sizes - some bubble teas are still ok though :)
You really got to slam the boot to lock it - unless you're going for the Style or MC trim with auto tailgate

quippery
Neutral Newbie
32 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
One great looking car  Posted on 31 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Look at it. Sharp angles everywhere and awesome looking head and taillights! You get all the necessary safety features in the Skoda Scala, plus 148bhp and loads of space for passengers and luggage.

What I like
Decent power, safe, easy to drive, and loads of space.

What I do not like
Nil.

ZephyrX_045
Neutral Newbie
7 reviews
1 points
4 forum posts Joined on 15-Dec-2019
Reliable, Practical & Sporty.  Posted on 18 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Went down to Skoda to check the Kamiq and Scala out with my fiancée. The Kamiq was a nice addition to the Skoda lineup, but the rear seats are too encroaching. However, the Scala had a very welcoming interior. Coming from a SEAT Leon, which is a super unreliable car, the Scala was a complete change of ambience. The car was a lot more reliable in terms of interior quality as well as exterior quality. Having ridden and driven VW Group cars for more than 19 years, VW's MQB platform stands out the most in terms of driving pleasure, comfort and practicality. Particularly this car, based on the A0 platform and yet still beats the Golf Mk. 8 in terms of looks and practicality.

Moving on to the test drive, the one they had was the Monte Carlo trim. Had all the bells and whistles and a few extras such as a panoramic roof and bodykit. The ride in the front was very comfortable as expected. The rear was a change of pace as well. Much more comfortable than the Leon's. The 1.5 TSi can clock at least 20 km/l on the expressway because of the active cylinder management system. The torque and power of the engine makes the 1.0 TSi on the Leon look like a punchline of some really bad joke. Overtaking, getting up to speed and some heavy-footed driving makes the Scala extremely fun to drive. Stability is also as expected from Continental cars as they are engineered for higher speeds.

Comparing the Monte Carlo Trim, Style Trim and Ambition Trim, the Style trim would be my ultimate choice as the Monte Carlo trim would be an extra cost just for the looks and aesthetics.

What I like
1. Rear Aircon Vents for Singapore's hot weather. 1 of 3 cars from Skoda built on the MQB-A0 platform. 1st being the Scala, 2nd being the Kamiq, lastly, the new Fabia.

2. Safety features are found on all 3 trim levels.

3. Punchy yet efficient 1.5 TSI engine. A significant upgrade from the previous gen 1.4 TSI.

4. Umbrella found in the driver side door. Something that a lot of manufacturers do not include, and only very high-end conti cars like Rolls Royce would have.

5. Big-A** BOOT. 426 Litres! Puts the Leon, Golf and Kamiq to shame due to its size. Has a variable boot floor. Not only that, it even has SPACE for a FULL SIZED Spare wheel.

What I do not like
1. Monte Carlo Trim is an expensive Aesthetic add-on

2. Panoramic Glass roof compromises structural integrity in the event of a rollover

3. Panoramic Glass Roof also would cook the inside of the car.

4. I'm probably just complaining about the Monte Carlo trim at this point.

ilovetoyotacars
Neutral Newbie
24 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Good looking conti hatchback  Posted on 18 May 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have always been interested in hatchback cars, they are fun and easy to drive, only problem is most of them are quite small, not much legroom at the back and very small boot space.

This Skoda Scala is surprisingly spacious, there is plenty of boot space as well, especially when you knock down the rear seats! Design wise, I think it is quite good looking, simple and nice.

As expected of a VAG car, the interior is user friendly and comfortable, although not very luxurious. Rides quite comfortably, rear not too bumpy, better than other older hatchbacks that I have driven

What I like
Very spacious for a hatchback, plenty of boot space makes it a practical choice. Taking it for road trip to Malaysia should be OK, can fit luggages.

What I do not like
Noticed abit of road noise and wind noise.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
SKODA Scala
4.5 stars - based on 12 reviews