Related Articles

Charting Mazda's way ahead

Mazda explores carbon-neutral biofuel research

The Editorial Team's automotive highlights of 2019

Supreme Cars offers quality pre-loved cars


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Video - Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid1.5 Astina (A)
25 Nov 2019  |  Mazda Reviews
Appealing looks, premium quality and high levels of refinement, the Mazda3 Sedan raises the benchmark in the compact sedan segment.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
9 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
3/5
8 out of 9 (88.9%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review

9 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Discoburg
2Fast2Furious
2 reviews
57,576 points
6716 forum posts Joined on 25-Jan-2004
Stylish and features packed JDM ride  Posted on 08 Jan 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The 7th gen of the Mazda 3 is sexy, features packed and reliable. Looks win over most of the Japanese brand cars and features beats them hands down for those in the same class and some a few classes above the Mazda 3 BP.

The thing that brings down the points for this ride is the price point. Too expensive for the COE price I paid compared to other Japanese ride of the same class. Hopefully it will be as good as my 2015 Mazda 2 in the next few years of ownership.

What I like
Features, look, drive.

What I do not like
Price point, FC

Mervynwm
3rd Gear
118 reviews
280 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The day to day IMPROVED Mazda 3 with Mild Hybrid.  Posted on 21 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Tested this new facelift last week or so. First looks from this year (2019) motor show was pretty impressive with the great curves from the previous generation.

Comes in 1.5L of 2 variant, the sleek sedan and sporty hatchback. There is a CLASSIC, ELEGANCE and ASTINA models where Classic is usual barebone, Elegance is the mid with the whistles and gadgets and Astina is only fitted with what Elegance has but a better sound system plus paddle shifters. All comes with price variants, of course.

Saw and Test driven the Elegance one as it comes with the gadgets I look forward to see.

Inside, the high standard since good old Mazda days of being the upmarket one against the other Japanese makers out there.

Comes with electric seats for driver only is one of the bonus you seldom or dun see in a mid range priced car. On screen display or Active Driving Display is too. Adequate space given for front and back passengers to sit comfortably.

Now comes with mild hybrid, the pickup certainly improved from its predecessor. Gear changes are smoother too.

The dashboard is not the traditional meter but is similar to conti car's active digital display, also with the heads up display too. Many features can be found and you can customized all you want from the central 7 inches console itself.

Comes with many features like lane departure which steers back in lane, front assist with braking, blind spot assist and much more you dun see in other Japanese makers.

The drive was smooth with improved pickup as mentioned, but was laggy should you need to overtake in a way or another.

Overall, its a sure to get if you are looking at a day to day car with great practical gadgets.

What I like
Sunroof
LED headlights
360 view camera
Electric driver seats with memory
Lane Keeping Assist
Lane Departure Warning with steering feedback
Front Assist camera with brake assist
Distance and speed alert
Active Digital Display on dashboard
Auto Hold feature
Improved pickup

What I do not like
Manual canopy opening of sunroof
Not panaromic sunroof
Still revving its way along when overtaking

choroniclesmu
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
2 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2018
Sleek, Stable & Safe  Posted on 10 Mar 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Gotten my Mazda 3 Elegance last year Dec and it has been a good almost 3 months with it already and I felt that it's the right time to write a review on this car already. Gotten the Signature Mazda Machine Grey and did not regret the color choice; One of the best grey in the market I feel. For the exterior, for someone that likes the design, even though it does not have distinct lines edges like the recent other brand model cars, it still a very beautiful car that doesn't lose out. For interior wise, I feel it is the right balance of the amount of the analog and digital in the dashboard. As compared to the Mazda 6 interior, I personally feel that the one in 3 looks way much better. However, the screen is not a touchscreen one so it is much of a pity. Need some time to get used to just using those buttons and the knob to scroll your way through to the things u want to display. Interior size is a little smaller as compared to the other brand and model but it is not like extremely much smaller. Love how the front seats help to correct the posture when driving. A small yet thoughtful design in mind. Speaking of the engine, Singapore only carries the 1.5M-Hybrid which is a little pity as compared to the ones just across the bridge, they do offer a 2.0 version which I feel will be a much better engine for the heavier Mazda 3. However, it doesn't mean that the response and pick up for this is bad. Sometimes, you might exceed the speed limit without knowing cause the engine is just too smooth and quiet. (Only when climbing steep slopes and you are also on cruise control), you will see the engine rev up to 4.5K RPM that kind. Boot space is enormous, 3 Large size suitcase should fit with ease. To those that want to get the ASTINA version, it is a 10K step up from the Elegance and the following things are the ones that cost it: BOSE Sound System, Padder Shifter, Frameless Back Mirror, Driver Monitoring and also some other safety features. If you have the spare cash to go with, go-ahead, if not the Elegance will do the job quite well already. One last point for the Sedan is that the red interior seats are only available on the Hatchback which is quite a disappointment. If Mazda could do it for the sedan, I believe more will get this car even if it will require a top-up. Fuel Consumption at 12-13/l (80% Urban, 20% Highway)

What I like
Exterior Design
Interior Design (Dashboard, Personal Air-con, etc)
Safety Features
18 inch Rim
Sunroof
Fuel Consumption
Quiet Cabin
Quiet Engine

What I do not like
Only 1.5 model in SG
No Dark trim rim for the Sedan
No Red interior seat for the Sedan
a Step-up of 10K for Elegance to Astina

zhiqisee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Dec-2019
Absolute value for money!  Posted on 28 Dec 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Bought the Mazda 3 M Hybrid Elegance recently after trying offerings from Mazda, Honda, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai and Toyota. So far extremely happy with the purchase. Don't be shunned by the high prices compared to the competition like the Civic and Altis... OMV of the vehicle is higher and negotiation is always possible with the AD. You also get a lot more features and safety equipment. (e.G. 7 air bags when competitors mostly offer 2)
The most striking feature of the car is it's styling, especially with the Soul Red Crystal colour it really turns heads. Not to mention you have LED headlights, DRLs turn signals and tail lights.
Interior is next level in terms of quality, not even close to what competitors have to offer. Noise insulation is incredible, doors close with a solid thump. Standard 8 speaker Mazda audio system is decent.
The almost overwhelming amount of safety features also ensures a safe ride on Singapore roads. They all work as advertised and if you don't find the need to have all these features, the base model will definitely suffice.
Infotainment with rotary dial is easy to use, 8.8-inch screen is sharp and lag-free, no complaints there. Mazda also gives a HUD as standard across the range.
Nicely weighted steering wheel helps with handling, the suspension is on the firm side but definitely livable and comfortable enough at speed.

Seeing the reviews on SGCM, the main complaint is the engine offering. The old Skyactiv G 1.5 is absolutely NOT as bad as everyone makes it out to be. The Mild Hybrid system helps with initial liftoff and acceleration, you definitely won't be the first off the stop line, but you won't be the last either. Overtaking in Singapore is definitely not a problem as most people are going at 50-90km/h on normal roads anyway. Chiong so fast for what? Zoom here and there meet at same traffic light also. The 6 Speed Automatic is far better than the conventional CVT offerings of competitors, yet still offers a fun drive.

My point is -- the new Mazda 3 is definitely not for the speed demons, but for people who are looking for a beautiful, safe, comfortable easy-to-drive and fun ride, there really isn't anything close right now.

What I like
- Interior & exterior styling
- Excellent build quality
- Made in Japan
- Heads-up display
- LED lights
- Noise insulation
- Infotainment system
- Apple Carplay & Android Auto
- Modern and useful safety features
- Handling
- Value for money

What I do not like
- Use of piano black in certain areas of the interior is easily scratched and a fingerprint and dust magnet.
- Lack of ventilated seats
- Rear leg and headroom can be improved, but definitely not an issue if you're under 185cm.
- Only have one storage pouch at the back of front passenger seat, driver seat don't have.

BKroger
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Most comfortable and sound system  Posted on 18 Nov 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Reasonable valued with lots of perks equipped within the car. The stylish body line, lighting and shape catches eyes of many.

What I like
quiet, great sound proof and audio system, Bose and value for money.

What I do not like
Nothing

Sherleo
Neutral Newbie
5 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2019
Facelifted Mazda 3 is such a beauty  Posted on 15 Oct 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Test drove and tested the new facelifted Mazda 3. Attracted by the exclusive looks of the car especially the red coloured one.

What I like
Exclusive exterior look
Interior design is awesome
Sunroof for non standard!
Handy features such as ventilated seats, area to place shades and memory seat
Great fuel economy on paper
Cool looking infotainment

What I do not like
Small rear seating leg space
Car feels like its lacks enough pushing off power when driving
The handling is not as responsive and road hugging (Probably cos its going for luxurious rather than sporty feel)
Turning knob infotainment takes a longer time to select things
Price is pretty steep

nawegoro
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Sep-2019
Well thought out, poorly executed  Posted on 11 Sep 2019
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 2/5 Features 1/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Invited to test drive as I have registered for interest.
In sheet metal, this car looks impressive.
Interior quality is very good, layout is ergonomic, attention to details, sound is muted (except during engine high rev due to lack of power).
The drive, steering well weighted..... Then... Comes the disappointment.
Acceleration is lackluster, body roll, torsion beam rear suspension.
After test drive, checked the rear leg room, shocked, the longer wheelbase and overall car length does not translate to more legroom.
Even more disappointed with the price, more expensive than Altis and Civic ? This car comes with $10,000 VES rebate, how come the Elegance model so ex ? Forget about the base model as it is really bare bone.

What I like
Design
Interior quality
Sound insulation

What I do not like
Acceleration (Thumbs down)
Handling
Rear legroom
Price, expensive car considering lower PARF rebate from the VES discount, Toyota and Honda have better resale value and hey Impreza 2.0 is cheaper than Mazada 3 base model. Kia and Hyundai comes into play, you will be wondering if paying so much during the slow economy is a wise choice ?

Wasteland
Neutral Newbie
14 reviews
12 points
0 forum posts Joined on 13-Jul-2019
Improv d model  Posted on 07 Sep 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Exterior looks is better than the previous generation.

Doors are pretty solid when closing them.

Interior is very good, soft touch materials in sue, seat cushions are good.

Comes with HUD in the high end model. Like the way the bsd is intergreted into the hud with a visual warning.

The center display can be better in terms of color and resolutions.

The 360 camera os good to have,but when displayed on the tiny screen, you really. Ant see much clearly,it soft of defeats the purpose of the 350 camera.

Engine is pretty much mazada engine, noisy when rammed hard. Hi weed speed is is able to cruise comfortably. Its feels pretty under powers at acceleration from a stop. If a 2litre or 1.5 pt engine is used, it will be a pretty good car.

What I like
- Good exterior and interior looks
- lots of safety features for the high end model
- 360 camera high end model
- Rims looks nice
- Nice seats with good cushions for its class
- drive handles pretty well, stable
- interior larger than previous Mazda 3
- nice steering wheel

What I do not like
- under powered engine
- center display screen size is too small
- 360 camera screen is pretty small

Heartbreakid
6th Gear
12 reviews
2,559 points
1530 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2005
It's a beautiful car  Posted on 28 Jul 2019
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 1/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Mazda 3 Sedan Elegance that comes with 18 inch rims. Reliability is given an average because this is a new model and hence issues are unknown. Previous model does have a fair share of issues like, engine vibrations, suspension knocking sound, etc. Hence this new model needs time to prove it reliability.

What I like
- Interior and Exterior design.
- Features (Even the Classic, which is the basic model has decent equipment and safety features.)
- Build quality. Door close with solid thump. And overall body panels do not eludes the thin hollow sound when knock as compare to previous model.
- Good ride comfort despite wearing 18inch wheels.
- Improved insulation against road and engine noise (Engine noise is much more refined at higher rpm than previous model)
- The drive eludes solid feel.

What I do not like
- SPACE: (Very) disappointing despite longer wheelbase that previous, and it seems previous model (already not a very roomy car) is slightly roomier in terms of legroom. The overall cabin feels snug within.

- BRAKES: The brakes lack of strong bite, this eludes an impression of weak braking performance because the bite power is correlated to your leg strength input. Perhaps is the way Mazda wanting the driver to have more "feel" to the handling than making the brakes way to power assisted?

- PERFORMANCE: Under normal driving, the 1.5 litre is enough but it will not eludes strong immediate overtaking power due. The kick down gears do not eludes the "push" feel. Ideally for such a body size and weight, the 2.0 litre or a 1.8 litre (which Mazda doesn't have as petrol model) will be a good balance, but price is another factor.

- PRICE: In terms of safety equipment, Mazda is generous with this new model, but factor in the engine size, the price for this category is on the high side. The highest range, Astina, model is priced really closed to Civic 1.5, Subarus or even its own Mazda 6. So the consideration for this new Mazda 3 is really up to personal choice on what the buyer is targeting (Performance? Equipment? Comfort? Design? Economy? Space? Or an overall good balance package of all?)

- Unknown updates frequency for this model: Usually for most makers, a model will be updated/ facelift one time, but for Mazda, like the Mazda 6 or 2, which has been facelifted 3 times (Mazda 2 updated model has been revealed), one will never be certain if the model is going to be updated for the better or not.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Receive 3 MCF points when you submit a review
Submit a review
Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid
3.5 stars - based on 9 reviews