Recommended for you

Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid1.5 Astina (A) Video Review

Hyundai Avante vs Mazda 3 Sedan vs Toyota Corolla Altis

Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid 1.5 Astina (A) Review

6 used car models you may not have considered


Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Mazda 3 1.5 Sedan vs Skoda Octavia 1.0
14 Jun 2023  |  Mazda Reviews
The Mazda 3 and Skoda Octavia are closely matched on price, but offer a significantly different driving experience.
spacer
spacer
Mazda 3 Sedan 1.5
More eager throttle response and transmission
Better material use in the cabin
Skoda Octavia 1.0
Significantly larger boot space
Greater drivetrain refinement
More modern infotainment system
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid
spacer
4.0
 
23 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
4.0 Reliability
3.0
spacer
Handling
4.0 Features
4.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5 Interior Design
4.0
spacer
Value for money
3.5 Engine Performance
3.0

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
EmptyToast
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 02-Dec-2023
Feels continental!  Posted on 09 Apr 2024
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Probably the most attractive and luxurious option within the Japanese compact sedan category, this vehicle marks a significant upgrade over its predecessor in terms of design aesthetics. However, the same praise cannot be extended to its driving performance, as it falls short of the dynamic "Punch" That made its predecessor renowned.

What I like
1) Wireless CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity.
2) Great road-feel.
3) Soft touch interior finishes.
4) Sporty yet elegant design language.

What I do not like
1) Lacks power slightly.
2) Fuel consumption is a little high.
3) Bigger than usual steering wheel.


TK888
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Nov-2023
COE Rebate  Posted on 13 Nov 2023
spacer
 

Review
With volatility in COE price, the COE rebate for Mazda car is low and higher risk for buyer if COE price dropped a lot.


vampirefate
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2020
Probably the best car in the compact segment  Posted on 26 May 2023
spacer
 

Review
Got this Mazda 3 M-Hybrid since 2021. I have been driving this car slightly over 2 years with over 100k km as a daily driven car.

So far this car have not gave me any issue other than slight rattling here and there which the AD have fixed. The engine and transmission are pretty reliable. Still driving smoothly with such heavily driven mileage.

I'm very particular about driving ergonomics and dynamics and this car didn't disappoint. Handling is sharp with stock tyres but further improved when I switched to Pilot Sport 5.

After driving Mazda for a period of time, I test drove and feel that the other popular compact cars like the Altis, Civic, Avante, Cerato are so boring cars that doesn't even drive half as well as the Mazda 3.

Here are the pros and cons in my opinion.

Pros:

- Handling is sharp and the car kup corners like a breeze with nice heavy feel like a sports car

- Very stable on any speeds with slight body roll (its fun) which is well controlled by the GVC Plus

- Good conti car built and sound insulation, doesn't feel like a typical tin can jap car

- Pedal positions just right with organ style throttle

- Gear shifts well and the gear selections are well selected. Very nice 6 speed AT, at least Mazda don't use the boring CVT

- Leather cladded interior that feels more premium than the Mercedes A class that have disappointing cheap feeling scratchy plastics at the rear

- Sharp premium looks in and our that doesn't lose out to Mercedes, BMW, etc if parking beside those cars

- Sunroof and rear aircon vents

- Armrest for both elbows are balanced in height. Something so simple that car making giants like toyota and honda fail to do

- Engine sound and exhaust notes sound good even without modifications


Cons:

- The 1.5L engine is too weak, too little juice and the car could definitely handle more power. Could do with at least the 2.5 or 2.5 turbo that other countries have

- No wireless android auto or apple carplay

- Tight rear leg space (not like I care as i'm the driver)

- Brakes could be a little better altho its already and upgrade compared to the previous Mazda 3 BN model

- The aircon fan control. It has 8 levels. Mostly use at level 2. If set at level 2 its too weak and if set at level 3 its too strong. Would be good to have a speed inbetween that 2 levels

- No LTA approved aftermarket exhaust due to the BP6 chassis, what a shame


Yklmatt
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 12-Jul-2017
A Redical upgrade from previous gen  Posted on 08 Feb 2023
spacer
 

Review
I had been driving the previous gen (BN model) for 5.5 years and it was one of the best looking & well built Mass Market Sedan on the road until I swoop it for the latest Astina Model. First off, the interior look stunning with soft touch material everywhere reachable. While I consider myself a seasoned driver, its good to try out all the safety features.. And the Astina model has aplenty. The sound insulation is massively improved so the I can truly appreciate the clarity of sound the BOSE 12 speakers produces. Gear shifts are more refined compared to BN model (often drags the gear at up slope). The only downsides are the heavy steering at low speed and the tendency to feel every bumps on the road. If you are looking for a Mass Market sedan with continental feel inside out, Mazda is the best choice out there!

Pros:
- Technologically packed with many safety features with 360 camera
- 12 speakers BOSE system
- Fierce & sporty exterior and upscale interior
- Good sound insulation

Cons:
- Tight space for rear passagers
- Heavy Steering
- bumpy ride compared to BN model
- No wireless Apple carplay/Andriod Auto


seeleong
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
8 forum posts Joined on 28-Jun-2017
Affordable car yet luxury equipement  Posted on 22 Jan 2022
spacer
 

Review
What to says? At this price range it has Bose system… again? A Bose system…. Where else can u get?


AndrewLaw
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Oct-2021
Good to have! Amazing experience with mazda 3 sedan mild hybrid elegance  Posted on 19 Jan 2022
spacer
 

Review
What i like:
Overall very premium
Sound system not bad on elegance
Overall driving feels is good
Love the interior design and exterior design
Good for 1st time new car buyer

What i don like:
Lack of power
Brake still have room to improve


Zeepzap
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 10-Sep-2021
First love on first car with Mazda  Posted on 12 Oct 2021
spacer
 

Review
Awesome car with plenty of safety systems for a new driver like me :)

Soul red is a beautiful colour! No other reds on other cars captured my attention based on first look in the showroom

I must admit car is a little under powered but for me, it's just fine. Interior is absolutely plush and luxurious.

Drive is fantastic and sound insulation is top notch! Been driving for 2 months now and this car certainly makes me a better / more confident driver. Every drive is pleasant! Sound system is superb even on elegance model. For astina model, Bose system is superb.


Civicblade
2nd Gear
2 reviews
215 points
495 forum posts Joined on 24-Sep-2005
Test Drive Review - Well Built Quality Unit  Posted on 10 Aug 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
This is a review based on 2 short test drives. The interior build quality, 7 airbags and the heads up display (available even on the base model) won me over.

The handling of the Mazda 3 is the best in class. The classic is the most value for money small sedan in the market right now. The other small sedans comes only with two airbags for the base model.

Power is adequate for use in Singapore. If you are after a car that launches quickly and has good 0-100km/h times.. Look elsewhere.

Reliability should be good as I have not heard of reliability issue for this generation of Mazda 3 in Australia and Singapore at least not for the 2 years after first launch.

What I like
Attention to details such as plastic cover for the boot hinge arm, nice hand grip for closing the boot, boot open button located under the Mazda logo.

Good sitting position for the driver.

Much improved rear legroom. I am 185cm and I can sit directly behind my adjusted driver seat with probably 1mm to spare. This is impossible on the previous Mazda 3.

NVH greatly improved from outgoing model. The engine is smooth and rev happy and keeps the car moving without you realizing that the 0-100km/h is 11.9s.. feels quicker than it seems on paper. Don't expect to win any traffic light drag race.

Steering feel is nicely weighted and steering is precise and feels connected. Compare the Mazda 3 to the Nissan Note/Kicks and you will know what I meant.

Aesthetically very pleasing.

7 airbags on the base model.

Air conditioning works well. I deliberately tested the car on a sunny day at around 1pm in the afternoon to check the air conditioning out.

The i-stop execution is wonderful for a non-full hybrid.

Heads up display as standard.

Mild hybrid as standard. The other bread and butter sedan makes doesn't have this even as an option.

All switches, knobs, buttons and displays are top notch in quality. Exudes a premium feel.

Navigation comes standard.

8 speaker sound system comes standard.

No sunroof on the base model. I hate sunroofs with a vengeance. The least useful feature of a car in Singapore.

Naturally aspirated engine. The very linear power delivery and smoothness of the small 4 pot. Reminds of Honda's cam driven 400cc bikes built in the 90s (CBR400). Reliability should be good without to worry about turbochargers.

Previous generation Mazda 3 are very reliability and two years after first launch I have not heard reliability issues from local forums.

This generation is no longer used as PHV for lease companies. Doesn't bother me much but I thought is a small plus.

What I do not like
Will be great if the Mazda 3 is a full hybrid.


Mr_LTH
1st Gear
8 reviews
72 points
44 forum posts Joined on 07-Jan-2018
Such a beautiful sedan inside out  Posted on 06 May 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Went to the showroom to see the Mazda 3 sedan after testing out several other cars in the same price range and I must say that it's quite an impressive car for it's segment. Unless you are an Audiophile who really want the Bose speaker and some other stuff (mainly aesthetic wise except for Adaptive LED headlights, Driver Monitoring & FCTA), otherwise the Elegance variant alrdy has lots of safety tech and features and share a lot in common with the Astina variant so I decided to book it after my test drive.

Exterior: The Mazda 3 Sedan is definitely the most beautiful car right now in it's segment imo (Hyundai Avante is also up there but not because it's beautiful but more of eye catching design). The Kodo design language is certainly an upgrade as compared to before.

Interior: It also has a very nice and minimalistic design in the interior of the Mazda 3. It looks simple yet premium for it's price and not busy which is to my liking. The infotainment screen is also easy to use with the help of the knob control. The centre LCD display of the instrument cluster also looks good and shows relevant info as well. I also like how Mazda uses leather and mainly soft plastic for the dashboard, doors etc since it gives off a more premium feeling to it instead of hard plasticky feel. The rear legroom isn't that spacious even tho the wheelbase has increased. It's more suitable for 4 pax and 5 pax will be slightly cramped. The boot space is enough for me but it's on the smaller side when compared to it's rival.

Ride: The ride was good and seats are comfortable. The handling of the car is pretty good as compared to the other rivals. The engine is refined and the gearbox is pretty smooth. Noise insulation is done pretty good too. One downside is the 1.5L engine is not really powerful.

Overall, the Mazda 3 is a car for you if you value exterior, interior and the safety features for the money. If you value spacious cabin and boot space, there are other options out there.

What I like
- Exterior & interior design
- Materials used in the cabin is quite good, looks and feels premium.
- Infotainment easy to operate with the commander control
- Comfortable seats
- Refined ride and pretty decent handling
- Solid noise insulation
- Lots of features and safety tech even for Elegance (BSM, MRCC, Smart Brake Support front & rear, 360 view monitor, Powered & memory seat for driver etc.)
- Rear Aircon

What I do not like
- Engine not really powerful
- Rear legroom, headroom & boot space aren't the most spacious in it's class
- Wish it'd Ventilated seats and Tyre pressure monitoring system but it's not a deal breaker for me since the car alrdy has lots other features to play around with.


Youngyy
Clutched
4 reviews
6 points
6 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Worst car I've driven.  Posted on 18 Nov 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 1.0
Handling 5.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 1.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
It's a stable nice looking car. But the the problems are aplenty.
My 2016 December M3 deluxe wiper faulty, Reverse gear Vibration during 1-2 years. At 3 yrs 8 mths after warranty, the speedometer failed. Told replacement needed $3K+.
O m g, servicing very expensive, wanted to replace engine oil and filter need $350. My mileage only 36500km. Have to buy 2 times service package at $700+, No choice.
Poor cabin sound insulation.
Poor Resale value at 45K by sgmart. 16/11/2020.
It's my 7th car I've owned.
Ford escort, Accord, Civic, Bluebird, 120Y, Daihatsu Charade, Lancer (2006-2016)
My 10 years Mitsubishi car service at Pandan only $150-170.

Now my Mazda3 only 3yrs 11 months.

Decided to sell and opt for Altis. (95k)

Civic 99k, City 89k, octavia 99k, Kia 81, avante 97k. All under consideration too.
No wonder, Now M3 only 88k, cheapest in the range,

What I like
Stable at highway drive due to its kerb weight.
Road holding good.

What I do not like
High servicing maintenance cost.
Poor cabin insulation.
Common private Grab Car fleet. Majority of it.
Low resale value.

To be fair, depend on luck buying a car. I've ass luck. Also electronic devices are unpredictable.
My greatest regret in my driving history of Cars I've owned.


Nudgedoink
1st Gear
5 reviews
30 points
48 forum posts Joined on 21-Nov-2017
Questionable long term reliability.  Posted on 17 Oct 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3.0 Reliability 1.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Test drove the mazda 3 m hybrid and though the interior felt very premium, the engine is not responsive with a slight lag in acceleration. Body roll is also noticeable.

Biggest pro is also the biggest con. The car comes with a stylish design and lots of hi tech features but these are at the expense of reliability. A quick Google search will show you owners complaining about rear view mirrors falling off, black dots on infotainment screen, airbag warning lights activating, and the worst of all, the auto emergency brake engaging even when there is no car in front. The special soul red crystal paintwork has issues of spotting or flaking for many disgruntled users online as well.

It feels like a car that is worth more than it is selling for and is a good buy assuming everything works down the road. For me, I am more risk adverse so I decided against the car.

What I like
Premium feeling interior, nice exterior design
Advanced features such as HUD and active safety
Electric seats for elegance.
Sunroof
istop is no longer intrusive like the old engine
Great sound insulation

What I do not like
Poor user feedback on reliability
Unresponsive engine
Bodyroll is noticeable
Have relatives who have had bad aftersales experience with agent
Associated with phv car


LGmonitor
Clutched
1 reviews
7 points
25 forum posts Joined on 24-Apr-2020
Not perfect, but satisfactory to me  Posted on 12 Sep 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Actually booked a Korean brand during CB period because of the attractive price during promotion.
Went to Mazda show room, immediately after test drive the Korean car, and before signing agreement, as my wife likes Mazda more.
The sales representative is honest, and gave an moderate price. The price was so moderate, that even a small bargain was refused..... The price was still not as good as that of the Korean car, however being worried that the Korean brand might not be able to get COE as the bidding level was so low, expecting that the COE will raise up about 2 months after CB, so we paid deposit immediately, and signed the agreement 1 weeks later, after a simple and short test drive. As I fresh driver, I dont have much experience, and expectations, however the car is generally satisfactory to me.

What I like
1.Safety specifications. I am not saying how good this car is, however it is really unacceptable to me that some of the brands have downgraded much on the safety specifications of their cars in the local market, comparing to the same models being sold in America or Europe.
Price. Cars of the same class: either have better promotions but need top up for COE, or have promotions not as good as Mazda
2. external design: actually this is what my wife likes, I like Corolla more.
3. Internal design: we like simple designs. Mazda's internal design is simple but clear. dont need pay much attention to the green and purple light on the screen.
4. easy to drive. The car is easy to drive/handle, even for me, a fresh driver,
I can expect the reactions of the car when a handle is made.

What I do not like
1. I didnt test drive other brands such as Honda or Corolla, however the engine of this car feels a bit weak especially when ramping up.
2. Dont have tier pressure monitoring system.
3. Dont have paints such as light blue or light green


Fuzzylogic
2nd Gear
5 reviews
103 points
183 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2004
Great design and Features  Posted on 04 Sep 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Test drove the Mazda 3 sedan recently and I was left with a rather good impression of the car. The first thing you'll notice is its elegant yet sporty exterior body shape with led lamps front and rear. The flowing body lines and sharp front and rear end design finished with its twin talipipes, in my opinion, has to be one of the sleekest looking compact sedans. On the inside, it does not disappoint as well. The modern cabin layout with soft touch materials being used generously provides a premium feel that would not be out of place even in luxury brands like a bmw or audi. It is not the most spacious compact sedan out there with a rear passenger space that is good enough for 2 asian sized adults. 3 across would be a squeeze. The driving position is good and the modern looking semi digital instrument cluster is easy to read and looks good as well. The infotainment system though not touch screen is fast and responsive with support for andriod auto and apple carplay. The car is also loaded with all the latest active safetry features like blind spot warning, lane keep assist, lane departure warning, active cruise control, active emergency braking, 360 camera etc. One thing that lets the car down though is the engine. The 1.5L mild hybrid engine will get you from point A to B in a relaxed manner. It doesn't like to be pushed and even if you rev it hard, it won't make the car go any faster due to a lack of power. Best is to drive it like your grandfather which is a shame since the car handles well with it's rather firmish ride and responsive steering. The car could definitely do with a more powerful engine. The brakes are up to the task with a progressive feel providing confidence should you need to stop in a hurry. The 3 is priced competitively against class rivals like the corolla, civic and slyphy but feels like a much more premium car than any of them with all the features you could want in a modern day compact sedan.

What I like
1. Exterior Design
2. Premium interior with good build quality
3. Active safety features
4. Boot space
5. Driving position

What I do not like
1. Lack of power from 1.5l mild hybrid. Definitely could do with a turbo or larger engine
2. Rear cabin space is rather cozy
3. Only 3 year 100k km warranty as standard. Need to top up if you want an extended warranty


AlvinLoo_9311
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Sep-2018
Seeing is better than owning 1  Posted on 16 Apr 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 1.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
I have been driving Mazda 3 2020 model since Jul 2019 and indeed, let me emphasise that Mazda 3 won the best "DESIGN" Award only. Other than that any Mazda 3 before this model is actually better is reliability.

Let me share my experience, I am at the 13K mileage mark right now and i am facing quite a number of issue since i got hold of this car.

1) Strong petrol smell after each pump - went back twice for this and the smell will come back occasionally.
2) A black dot showing on the infotainment system after 10K mile checks and went back again then they are going to ship from Japan.
3) Door glass start to show signs of faulty after winding down the door glass will have a loud "Knock" Sound.
4) Over-reacting jam brake by the system if deem there is an object in front of the car. (There is a recall for this.)

What I like
The design:
It is similar comparing with a conti car or even better.

Features:
1) Walk away lock
2) Auto Hill Assist
3) e-brake
4) Other safety features.

What I do not like
RELIABILITY is the main issue.

Engines, Bhp its not catching up other brands.


choroniclesmu
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 08-Jan-2018
Sleek, Stable & Safe  Posted on 10 Mar 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 5.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Gotten my Mazda 3 Elegance last year Dec and it has been a good almost 3 months with it already and I felt that it's the right time to write a review on this car already. Gotten the Signature Mazda Machine Grey and did not regret the color choice; One of the best grey in the market I feel. For the exterior, for someone that likes the design, even though it does not have distinct lines edges like the recent other brand model cars, it still a very beautiful car that doesn't lose out. For interior wise, I feel it is the right balance of the amount of the analog and digital in the dashboard. As compared to the Mazda 6 interior, I personally feel that the one in 3 looks way much better. However, the screen is not a touchscreen one so it is much of a pity. Need some time to get used to just using those buttons and the knob to scroll your way through to the things u want to display. Interior size is a little smaller as compared to the other brand and model but it is not like extremely much smaller. Love how the front seats help to correct the posture when driving. A small yet thoughtful design in mind. Speaking of the engine, Singapore only carries the 1.5M-Hybrid which is a little pity as compared to the ones just across the bridge, they do offer a 2.0 version which I feel will be a much better engine for the heavier Mazda 3. However, it doesn't mean that the response and pick up for this is bad. Sometimes, you might exceed the speed limit without knowing cause the engine is just too smooth and quiet. (Only when climbing steep slopes and you are also on cruise control), you will see the engine rev up to 4.5K RPM that kind. Boot space is enormous, 3 Large size suitcase should fit with ease. To those that want to get the ASTINA version, it is a 10K step up from the Elegance and the following things are the ones that cost it: BOSE Sound System, Padder Shifter, Frameless Back Mirror, Driver Monitoring and also some other safety features. If you have the spare cash to go with, go-ahead, if not the Elegance will do the job quite well already. One last point for the Sedan is that the red interior seats are only available on the Hatchback which is quite a disappointment. If Mazda could do it for the sedan, I believe more will get this car even if it will require a top-up. Fuel Consumption at 12-13/l (80% Urban, 20% Highway)

What I like
Exterior Design
Interior Design (Dashboard, Personal Air-con, etc)
Safety Features
18 inch Rim
Sunroof
Fuel Consumption
Quiet Cabin
Quiet Engine

What I do not like
Only 1.5 model in SG
No Dark trim rim for the Sedan
No Red interior seat for the Sedan
a Step-up of 10K for Elegance to Astina

Mazda 3 Sedan Mild Hybrid
4 stars - based on 23 reviews