Related Articles

The MG HS ticks all the right boxes

Top tier sports coupes go head to head

» Go to articles

This car has been nominated as best SUV

Nominated car
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Car Review - MG HS 1.5 Standard (A)
30 Jun 2020  |  MG Reviews
MG might have had a tumultuous past, but its well-heeled HS has the ability to take the more established SUV competitors head on.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of MG HS
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
8 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4.5/5
spacer
Value for money
4.5/5 Engine Performance
4/5
7 out of 8 (87.5%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

8 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Kar_lover
Supercharged
8 reviews
5,268 points
5506 forum posts Joined on 19-Feb-2010
Unbeatable Value for Money  Posted on 02 Oct 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Did not want to write a review earlier because did not think a test drive would be sufficient to provide a "Proper" Review. Now that I have collected and driven around a little but more, i feel i am in a better position to write a short review.

By the way I am coming from an Infiniti Q30 1.5T (diesel). The MG HS gave a nicer overall driving experience than the Q30. Engine performance was definitely better and definitely more comfortable andof course spacious. The Q30 was able to handle better since it is lower and had the excellent MB chasis/suspension. But i never expected to be able to drive the HS in the same was as the Q30 anyway. Stock sound system is decent too.

By now most of you already know the HS has plenty of features so i won't go into that much more here. So far i did not experience any of that alleged clunky gear box at low speeds (maybe i am lucky?). Thoroughly enjoyed driving the car although need some getting used to the significant increase in size. As per my title, dollar for dollar, I don't think any car in the market can give you as much bang foryour buck. Yes the price has risen recently but that's due to rising COE, many other car prices are also increasing.

Reliability is of course a question mark but not much of a concern for me. They may be new in Singapore, but not new elsewhere so i am ok with that. So i am giving it 4 stars with some benefit of doubt thrown in. By the way other established brands also have problems with even new cars.

What I like
Almost everything

What I do not like
Needing to use the interface to adjust the air-con is a bit troublesome - direct physical knobs would be better.
Also a bit strange that the dual zone climatic control is for left-right rather then front-back (although this is not really a problem)
Fog lights not LED

Mervynwm
1st Gear
124 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
The Many Goodness of a MG SUV.  Posted on 18 Aug 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Saw this at Motor Show and finally had time to go take a closer look at the showroom.

First looks is impressive, though is MIC or Made In China, thus bearing the MG brand for its prestige.

Headlights and Tail lights are full LED and waving signal lights at both similar to Audi though headlights circular LED looks from Hyundai...

Interior is a mix and match from various brands, like aircon vents from Mercedes, Gearstick from BMW (only 7-Speeds than the real 8-speed), etc...Etc..Thus giving you the conti feel.

The screen was intuitive and responsive where comes with many features where you can configure the car, like an unusual tailgate height which is done from button and hold to lock height but this MG can do from its console.

Other than that, many other features can be preferred from the comfort of the driver seat. Noticed that opening and closing of tailgate takes a "While" To react.

Engine start is quiet and moving off is adequate too. At low speeds, gear changes seems cluttered in normal mode where at sports mode (changed in console), slightly better but have some lag, whereas in super sports mode (button pressed on steering like a ferrari), the engaging part is when you revved it and the cluttering gear changes with lag are somehow gone which deviates from normal usage.

Overall, its a reasonably priced conti SUV at its entry level for this price tag but the reliability yet to be proven.

What I like
Great torque when drive
Able to get 2 more years warranty
Wave signal lights
Panaromic roof
Electric seats for both front seats

What I do not like
No front assist
No front sensors from factory
Resale value
Reliability

Fuzzylogic
1st Gear
5 reviews
100 points
178 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2004
Interesting Option for bargain hunters  Posted on 02 Aug 2020
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Read a fair bit online about the HS but what caught my eye was the promotional price of $99,888. Decided to head down to their showroom to check it out and go for a test drive. My current ride is also coming to 5 years and thought that this might be a feasible option. The MG dealership is one of the brands under the Trans Eurokars group but currently seems like a poor sibling gauging by the investment into the showroom premises. However, initial impressions of the HS was good based on its design and presence especially in the body colour of white or red. It is a fairly large SUV akin to a GLC or CX-5 where the designers have taken inspiration from. The good impression continues on inside the spacious cabin with its large 10.1" Infotainment screen which was fairly responsive, modern dashboard layout with Merc like turbine air vents and comfy leatherette seats. The faux leather feels more durable rather than luxurious.There are lots of soft touch surfaces in the cabin but the quality of materials are definitely a notch below the latest offerings from the Japanese like the CX-5 or even the Subaru Forester.The 2L entry level spec Forester is only 5k more expensive mind you. The switch gear also do not have a precise clicky feel to them which makes them feel abit filmsy and cheap. The doors don't really have a reassuring thunk when you close them but neither do they feel insubstantial. It's no VW but definitely better than some Jap makes. The electric tailgate, large 7" Driver's multi function screen and hydraulic struts for the bonnet are features you don't usually see at this price point. The test drive route was fairly short but you'll notice the 1.5t engine is quite torquey which has no issues hauling its over 1.5 ton body. Steering feel is numb but this is no sports car as well. You do feel the heft of the vehicle when on the move though. The 7 speed dct gearbox isn't lightning fast like a dsg but mostly works well with the 1.5t engine. Overall I do think this is a worthy entrant into the competitive SUV market but I think the price still needs to be lowered further as it is still too close to established makes and the warranty could also be longer than the standard 3 years to give buyers a better peace of mind venturing into a relatively unknown brand and the stigma of being made in China.

What I like
1. Standard features that are usually only available on more expensive makes
2. Design and road presence
3. Perky and torquey engine
4. Interior colour combo of black and red gives it a sense of class
5. Panoramic sunroof
6. Cabin space
7. 18" Rim design
8. Safety features like bsm, rcta, lka comes standard
9. Cabin noise insulation

What I do not like
1. Quality of materials
2. Steering feel
3. Price is probably still too close to more established makes even with all the features thrown in
4. Warranty is too short for a new unestablished brand
5. Potentially thirsty due to the weight of the vehicle
6. Reliability still unknown, hence a longer warranty would help
7. Resale value
8. Servicing cost and availability of technical expertise

Heartbreakid
5th Gear
13 reviews
1,894 points
1739 forum posts Joined on 15-Oct-2005
Impressive  Posted on 10 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test Drove the HS 1.5 Turbo.

The Drive - Under normal driving mode, the gearbox is very eager to upshift at the earliest, it doesn't feel responsive to the accelerator input as in the amount of pressure press onto the accelerator, doesn't correlate to the speed picked up. But under sport mode, the response became sensitive with rising rpm and the feel of acceleration became more apparent. Insulation (i.E. Engine, road, exterior noise) is good. It is refine ride. Despite wearing 18/ 50 235 tyres, under normal driving speed around Leng Kee and Commonwealth stretch, tyre noise is not noticeable. Engine noise is low too, even when rising to 4k rpm, it's not uncomfortably intrusive.

Overall impression is very good on this Chinese build product.

What I like
- If price is kept at current, the ratio of "build quality and equipment list (comfort and safety)" to its selling price is no match.
- Well spec for comfy and safety.
- Good build and good material quality interior. Door closing sound is better than BnB of Japs and Koreans but still slightly behind Contis, like VW or Skoda.
- Good refinement.
- Big size exterior and interior space.
- Decent engine performance. It's not weak nor is it responsive. Different driving modes will help on responsiveness.
- Has pedal shift levers for gearchanges.
- Doesn't have the B.S. start stop function.

What I do not like
- Weak brakes:
- The braking performance is very alike Mazda 3, i.e. the initial bite is not strong and feel is very linear.

- Unknown long term reliability (Gave a rating "average" but instead should be "unknown" on its engine and transmission, i.e
1) Direct injection is subjected to carbon build up on intake valve side. How MG overcome this or reduce side effect this is unknown.
2) 7 speed Dual Clutch reliability.
3) Overall engine, gearbox, electronic parts reliability is unknown unless one research through China website from owners there to know more.

- Servicing:
1) In terms of how familiar outside workshop in dealing with repair and servicing on this brand.
2) Spare parts availability.
3) Maintenance costs are unknown.

- Resale value.
- Real world fuel economy.

Kirosky
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 29-Sep-2020
Excellent ride, most value for money!  Posted on 18 Nov 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Premium ride for a really low price. Nothing to complain about. Go see it for yourself and test drive it.

Seanliu
Neutral Newbie
6 reviews
1 points
14 forum posts Joined on 09-Jan-2006
Suprising good NVH  Posted on 13 Nov 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Before I test this car, I had getting know this car was launched about a year and this model is made in China car. In my pass memory of China made car is really not that good, but today I think China automobiles industry should have improved over these years, just like their handphone so I decided to take a look.

When I saw the real car in showroom, I notice that the car quality was really impressive. The paintwork was good, nice Michelin tyre have been used. When got into car interior, I found this is where this car is standard, the quality of panel, dashboard and seat material it used is equivalent to the one you Only can find on car that cost you at least 150k or above.

But the most surprised when I test drive it. When I first started engine, I really couldn't n felt the engine was started.When it was drive on the road at the speed 60 to 80km/h, the soundproofing and the refinement is far better than Suv like Honda C-RV, it remind me the feeling I sit in those luxury vehicles.

The Power wise I shall said it was adequate but not impressive. The gear change consider good for DCT gear board. Fuel efficiency should be moderate if compare with other SUV.

What I like
Superior NVH.
Quiet
Luxury interior
Nice paintwork
Price and value

What I do not like
Nothing much for it price it asked

Kevinhwc
1st Gear
4 reviews
86 points
192 forum posts Joined on 10-Aug-2009
Most VFM car I've seen  Posted on 02 Nov 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 3/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Decently priced SUV with tons of features only available at higher end cars. Interior is definitely top notch given the price point. The car is huge enough to accommodate 3 adults at the rear seat.

What I like
- Price
- Interior
- Safety features

What I do not like
- Jerky transmission at lower gear
- Low torque at 1st & 2nd gear
- Brake not biting enough. Feels too soft/
- Sunroof doesn't come with insulation.

Snapper1
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Aug-2011
BEST value for money SUV !!!  Posted on 01 Nov 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Driving:
The MG HS is a great SUV to drive. The 1.5L Turbo is quite punchy and Super Sport Mode makes this car fly! The suspension is a little bit stiff but it is not neck breaking. There is not to much body roll so it handling is not bad. There is ample grip despite not having AWD. The brakes are a bit spongy though.

Interior:
The amount of soft touch materials on this car is INCREDIBLE, especially considering the price of this car. It is quite luxurious. The centre armrest folds down from the middle seat (probably why the seat backing is hard) in the 2nd row. It has a button to open the cupholders and its so satisfying to watch it open slowly. A nice premium touch. There is another button to open a small cubby space which fits my Samung Galaxy J7 perfectly. Quite handy if you want a place to hold your small snack packet. The seats feel a little rubbery. But they are still quite comfortable and are soft and supple. The aircon is quite powerful and there are rear aircon vents. The build quality is great!

Infotainment:
It is quite intuitive. It supports Apple Car Play and Android Auto. However,
you can only control the climate via the infotainment. I`m not sure if it has haptic feedback or not as I have not tried to change the temperature of the aircon. It is still a good system to use.

Practicality:
With 463L of boot space, you can put quite a number of things in it and is more than enough for your weeks worth of groceries. Fold the rear seats down, and you can start a furniture moving company with 1287L of space.
In addition, there is no load lip so it is easy to get things in and out of the boot. There is some underfloor storage to keep dirty things.

Safety:
The MG HS has Blind Spot Detection and Rear Cross Traffic Alert, handy for city driving. It even has curtain airbags, along with front and side airbags.

MG has done a great job with this SUV. There is a lot of tech and engine performance is good. It is a great all rounder.

What I like
1. Good engine performance.

2. Great build quality and premium interior.

3. Practical

4. 5 Star EURO NCAP Rating

5. Aesthetically pleasing.

What I do not like
1. No AWD

2. Brake feels spongy

3. 2nd row middle seat backing is a little hard

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
MG HS
4 stars - based on 8 reviews