Recommended for you

Honda City 1.5 RS i VTEC (A) Review

Honda City 1.5 RS i VTEC (A) Video Review

Should you pump higher RON petrol for better performance? Not so fast...

» Go to articles

Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Honda City 1.5 RS i VTEC (A) Video Review
14 Dec 2020  |  Honda Reviews
The Honda City borrows its styling from its larger stablemates while offering a comfortable ride and spacious interior.
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Hard plastics abound in the cabin
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Honda City
spacer
3.5
 
6 Consumer Reviews
spacer
Comfort
3.5 Reliability
4.0
spacer
Handling
3.5 Features
3.5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.0 Interior Design
3.0
spacer
Value for money
3.5 Engine Performance
3.0

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
aerolith
Neutral Newbie
62 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Bigger is better with this Honda City  Posted on 12 Aug 2022
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 3.0
Handling 3.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Honda's new City used to be quite the iconic thing, with the fourth and fifth generation cars especially quite popular here back in the day and both featuring rather distinctive and appealing styling.

What I like
This Honda City is not the same. The exterior looks quite similar to the current Honda Civic, and is not that far off from the Honda Accord either. All models now carry Honda's new design language, sleeker than before, perhaps a little boring and indistinguishable to others.

There's now more legroom and general cabin space than before, but that's also quite expected given that this new City is larger on the outside as well.

To drive, this City is actually quite the pleasing thing to steer, however, the 1.5-litre unit is really missing out on mid-range torque. If you're looking for strong acceleration in your compact car, shop elsewhere.

What I do not like
The seats front and back are upholstered in a material that looks cheap and does not feel good on the skin. Bummer.


ChowChengYu
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 26-Nov-2016
Very luxury car good fuel efficiency and good quality .  Posted on 11 Nov 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 1.0 Reliability 2.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 2.0
Value for money 2.0 Engine Performance 2.0
spacer

Review
Best for like quality better then other cars quality. Good reviews for Honda city and the car of the year 2021 and four safety award's.


beatdrive
Neutral Newbie
16 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Great looking compact sedan!  Posted on 19 Aug 2021
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 3.0
Value for money 3.0 Engine Performance 3.0
spacer

Review
Absolutely love the design of the new Honda City, it looks miles better than its predecessor.

Inside however, the car looks rather dated with its analog cluster, but it should age rather well.

The engine found in this City is the familiar 1.5 litre NA, while other countries such as Thailand gets turbocharged variants of the car which would be nice to have.

What I like
- Good looks
- Simple fuss-free compact sedan

What I do not like
- Pricey, you can almost get a Civic for the price of the top-spec City...
- A turbocharged engine option would be interesting


chocksinglim
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 04-May-2014
Honda is one of the most reliable car compared to the many other brands that I had driven over more than 30 years.  Posted on 15 Dec 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 4.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 4.0 Interior Design 4.0
Value for money 5.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
It also delivers a very good ride quality and insulation levels that can rival cars. Most importantly it has many features comparable to many other more expensive brands.

What I like
Easy to drive and maintain, very economical.

What I do not like
Lacks power during over taking.


Philipkee
Twincharged
7 reviews
23,245 points
5643 forum posts Joined on 25-Oct-2009
Fuel efficient car  Posted on 05 Dec 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5.0 Reliability 5.0
Handling 5.0 Features 4.0
Exterior Styling 5.0 Interior Design 5.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
I got the honda city in nov 2020. It is a simple car. Not too many features but ok. Not too bad. Very comfortable in handling.

There is one thing I note. It is that after an acceleration, when I release the accelerator, the rev stays up for a while. I read online that its because the new city has the electronic throttle but not able to independently verify it. Maybe I will do it at the next servicing. So in case any driver encounters this and think its unique to him, I encountered this also.

What I like
Fuel consumption.- 15-16 km/ litre. I admit I don't rev a lot.
Cruise control - easy to use

What I do not like
Nothing major. Might be better if side mirror is auto folding.


Mervynwm
1st Gear
142 reviews
76 points
65 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Good 4 City.  Posted on 01 Dec 2020
spacer
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4.0 Reliability 4.0
Handling 3.0 Features 3.0
Exterior Styling 3.0 Interior Design 1.0
Value for money 4.0 Engine Performance 4.0
spacer

Review
Went by Kah Motor to look at this new City where earlier generation is a 3 cylinder which now you see is a 4 cylinder engine.

Exterior curves looks like a compacted and taller version of civic with shark fin antenna.

There are 2 variants, base and RS which RS comes with cosmetics, 16 inches rims, better leather interior, additional fog lights, more airbags, paddle shifters and better speakers too. All these are at the small top up which is great.

Interior is seems much more spacious than before, came with rear aircon (usually you do not have in a small sedan). Only no automatic headlights, automatic rain sensors or automatic folding mirrors when locked. Seats looks more premium than before as well.

Paired with a CVT 7 speed automatic gearbox that is pretty good for a smooth drive. At drive mode is norm where do not expect much in Sports mode as is meant for a day to day car.

Parking is easy too as reverse camera is factory fitted too.

Overall, it is a good compact sedan over the hatchback (jazz) whereby now is a 4 cylinder engine.

Honda City
3.5 stars - based on 6 reviews