Related Articles

Nissan counts down to Formula E debut

Nissan launches all new Kicks e-POWER in Singapore

The Nissan Kicks is a quiet yet fast crossover

Top tier sports coupes go head to head


This car has been nominated as best Hybrid

Nominated car
   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid Premium Plus (A)
19 Aug 2020  |  Nissan Reviews
Nissan shows us just what a crossover can do with its latest Kicks e-POWER, combining the best of electrified drive into an affordable package.
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
7 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
5 out of 7 (71.4%) reviewers said they would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
spacer
spacer
spacer

7 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Fuzzylogic
1st Gear
5 reviews
100 points
178 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2004
It's all about the Engine/Motor  Posted on 09 Sep 2020
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Kicks E-power about 2 weeks back. The highlight for the kicks e-power is definitely the engine and drivetrain. Other than that, it doesn't really have much going for it. Handling and driver engagement is what you expect for this class of vehicle. Not particularly engaging and rather boring. The interior is from the entry level Almera sedan which was just launched in Malaysia. Liberal use of hard plastics throughout the cabin makes you feel you are in a budget class vehicle which does not really match up to the price tag. It is unfortunate the taxation system here attributes to the rather high asking price. It should cost at least 15k less. The Kia Niro hybrid EX which goes for less than a 100k has an interior that feels more upmarket than this which in my opinion is a better choice if a small crossover is your thing.

What I like
1. Engine and drivetrain
2.Fuel economy

What I do not like
1. Cheap feeling interior
2. Boring driving dynamics
3. Cramped interior
4. No Android auto
5. Price - expensive considering the overall package

Jetabout777
1st Gear
2 reviews
23 points
708 forum posts Joined on 27-Jun-2006
Nimble and Responsive Drive  Posted on 20 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car and really loved the driving performance. This car is a wolf in sheep's skin because you wouldn't expect such performance from a compact SUV. The e-power technology is really good for Singapore's urban driving pattern as it gives you excellent torque for pick up from standstill and overtaking. Best of all, this car does not require external charging even though its powertrain is electric.

What I like
1. E-power powertrain that is powerful, efficient and without external charging.

2. Instant torque available which is a very different experience as compared to other hybrids.

3. Nimble and easy to manoeuvre. Steering is light, hence very good for parking in tight spaces.

4. Size is not too big and not too small.

5. All round visibility is excellent with rarely any major blindspots.

6. Leather upholstery is nappa and really smooth to the touch.

7. Sharp graphics on the audio unit and pretty responsive.

8. Excellent boot space for a compact SUV.

9. Numerous safety features such as blind spot warning, rear traffic alert, emergency braking, 7 airbags, etc.

10. 10 years or 160k warranty for battery is quite assuring.

What I do not like
1. No TPMS.

2. Dual tone exterior is not available for all colours.

3. Orange and black leather not available for lower spec. Looks quite attractive when matched with orange or black exterior.

4. Rims are from the Nissan Leaf. Should have its own unique design.

Gabdat
4th Gear
22 reviews
554 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Instant power at your feet  Posted on 15 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
First time testing a car with this kind of smart power-train. Feels different. Comparing to hybrids,might give you anxiety and worries as power comes only from the batteries,rather from the engine and battery.
Simple analogy-hybrids can still move if the batteries malfunction. With Kicks, it's game over. Something to ponder. Finally, I think this car is just for novelty. Just to show off to your friends, neighbors and relatives. Forcing you to believe that people are impressed with your car.

What I like
-Instant power. Just press and go. No build up of torque like conventional engine.
-Adaptive cruise control.
-Nice exterior design and spacious back seat.
-Zippy drive.
-Not much intrusion of road and wind noise.
-Auto hold. Handy when you're at a light stop.
-Good fuel consumption.
-10 years or 160 000 km mileage lithium battery warranty.
-Friendly SE.

What I do not like
-Interior is way too cheap. Hard plastics everywhere. Not worth the price.
-Hybrids give much better mileage.
-Engine is a bit intrusive when it "kicks" in.
-Below average handling.
-No AA, only Apple Car-play.
-No auto tailgate. No rear air con.
-Reliability. Lately Nissan has been getting a lot of negative feedback for quality.
-The brochure does not state it's top speed and 0-100 km acceleration. Fishy.
-Made in Thailand. Might be subjective as most Japanese cars do come from Thailand but personally I expected this to be from Japan.

Murakami
1st Gear
1 reviews
79 points
16 forum posts Joined on 09-Nov-2010
Stable and Robust and packs alot of torque  Posted on 22 Oct 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I told myself that I will post a review once I completed my first maintenance . So, here it is. My likes for this car outweigh my dislike totally. Quiet(most of the time), very responsive drive, torque on demand, overtaking is a non issue now!

And best of all, the fuel savings as compared to my old ride's FC and the average monthly mileage I would cover, this car would be able to save me around 30% To 50% Of my monthly petrol cost and to add icing to the cake, it take Ron 92 fuel...

Coming from a non tech car like the honda Jazz, this car truly kicks!

What I like
1. Responsiveness of the car; instant torque when needed.
2. Quietness of the ride - some may need to disagree with me; but the car is quiet most of the time, except when the engine comes on occasionally to charge the battery
3. Stability of the ride; did a couple of cornering at higher speed but car handled cornering very well.
4. Sound System- love the integration between the phone and Head Unit. And best of all, the sound system is really nice, 7 speakers, with good clarity and not too shabby but that's perhaps be

What I do not like
The weirdness when you turn on/turn off the car;

The car doesn't auto lock when it is moving.

The car interior, for windows locking, door locking seems abit dated.

And for some people, the reverse sound, may seems tat irritating.

The car's interior doesn't have much storage room, i.e. under the steering wheel, no compartment or ledge to store a sunglass or something.

Nudgedoink
1st Gear
5 reviews
21 points
29 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2017
Agent is the main reason I don't recommend  Posted on 17 Oct 2020
spacer
I will not recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is one of those unfortunate cases where the car is good, but agent aftersales and technical experience is too questionable to recommend the purchase.

Test drove the car and it felt great. Interior quality could be better, but is fine for me. Seats are super comfortable. Car looks great and the new technology is exciting.

No. 1 concern is whether this new e power technology is reliable. Serena owners have experienced issues that the agent was not able to rectify in a timely and satisfactory manner and in one case only managed to rectify it after a month! Other issues which plagued the qashqai owners such as the squeaky steering wheel are also not addressed by the agent for these new models.

What I like
Engine feels awesome
Car looks good inside and out
Comfortable seats

What I do not like
Very bad agent support
Durability issues with Nissan cars.
High Road tax.
Ugly rims
No DRL.

Sorethum
1st Gear
1 reviews
38 points
26 forum posts Joined on 09-Apr-2012
This car Kicks-ass!  Posted on 22 Aug 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I took delivery of a Grey Premium Plus Kicks just before National Day - one of the 1st batches to be released.
Been driving for over 2 weeks and just pumped my 2nd tank of petrol.
So far I'm lovin' it!

The car itself is a rather basic compact crossover - some nice design cues here and there, but overall probably not striking or distinctive enough to stand out from the crowded field of competing small SUVs out there.

What makes the Kicks special, to me at least, is the E-Power technology - Nissan's attempt to address the two biggest shortcomings of electric vehicles - the range anxiety, and the general lack of charging infrastructure.
How Nissan gets around this is to have a small petrol engine whose only function is to charge the battery that powers the electric motor, that drives the car.
Some have commented, not incorrectly, that it's a roundabout and inefficient way of doing things, but on the contrary, I feel it's a very clever solution!
I get the zippy, high torque ride of an electric car, but none of the range anxiety and worry over finding a charging station, plus I get the fuel efficiency of a hybrid vehicle!

Unfortunately, I've only managed 16.4km/l on my 1st tank of petrol - which, while much better than my previous ride, is nowhere as good as the 21km/l that Nissan claims.
Not sure if it's the series-hybrid technology of the E-Power being not as efficient as the parallel-hybrid technology of the Toyota and Honda hybrids, or maybe it's just driving style, with a heavy right foot, in approximately 60% City, 40% Highway conditions.

Anyways, I really think this Kicks deserves a test-drive.
It's a small, zippy, good looking compact SUV that rides fairly well, has some nifty safety features, great sound system, comfy leather seats, a freezing cold air-con system, and is fairly fuel efficient!
Maybe after the test drive, you'll end up liking it enough to buy it, like I did!

What I like
- E-Power
- Fuel consumption quite good
- Bragging rights re driving an Electric vehicle
- Not expensive (by SG standards) for a Japan branded, electric/hybrid vehicle from AD
- Zippy ride
- Great sound system
- Intelligent Cruise Control
- Blind Spot Warning
- Comfy leather seats
- Powerful air-con
- Pretty good looking from the front and side

What I do not like
- Made in Thailand
- FC not as good as stated
- Interior design cues all over the place - leather with contrast stitching also have, carbon fibre also have, hard shiny plastic also have
- Some bits, eg. window buttons, look like they could have come from a Nissan Sunny from 20 years ago
- No sun-roof option
- Boot has a lid drop
- Rear seats cannot fold completely flat
- No air-con vents for second row
- Various storage holes are useless - all too small or shallow to be useful or practical
- Backside a bit busy looking

Munhua2
1st Gear
2 reviews
18 points
29 forum posts Joined on 10-Dec-2016
Most powerful acceleration so far!  Posted on 25 Jul 2020
spacer
I will recommend this vehicle to a friend
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Forget abt diesel. An electric car that drives like the mg zs electric but 20k cheaper and no need to charge as charged by the 1.2l petrol engine. With so many safety features especially for premium plus that has intelligent cruise control, mg has nothing as eurokars refuse to bring in mg pilot. The serena epower mpv is too big for small families so this is the best choice!

What I like
High acceleration with so many safety features!
Very fuel efficient at 17.5km/l which is more than other hybrids or even diesel.

What I do not like
Bouncy
Cramped
Cannot reverse park properly as cannot see.
The reverse cam on rear view mirror is really small.
No android auto but can buy a small android tablet for gps on dashboard.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid
3.5 stars - based on 7 reviews