Recommended for you

Nissan Kicks e-POWER to arrive mid-2020

Nissan Kicks merges practicality and affordability

Nissan launches all new Kicks e-POWER in Singapore

We look at what cars Autodealz has to offer


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer spacer
spacer
Video Review - Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid Premium Plus (A)
19 Aug 2020  |  Nissan Reviews
Nissan shows us just what a crossover can do with its latest Kicks e-POWER, combining the best of electrified drive into an affordable package.
spacer
spacer
vs
Comparison Tests:
Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid vs Toyota Yaris Cross Hybrid
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
10 Reviewers
3.5 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
3.5/5 Reliability
3.5/5
spacer
Handling
3.5/5 Features
3.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4/5 Interior Design
3/5
spacer
Value for money
3.5/5 Engine Performance
4.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

10 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Nord
Neutral Newbie
4 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 12-Feb-2013
Surprisingly good, but note that its less efficient than Toyota Hybrids  Posted on 26 Mar 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I dont like the way it looks, somehow it manages to look tall and narrower than it really is. Quite like a swift sport on stilts. The Yaris Cross looks so much bolder.

Next is to get over the Made in Thailand stigma at this price point, when the Jazz Hybrid is fully made in Japan with far better build quality is almost $6K cheaper. But if you have the short man syndrome where you think sitting high means safety, then you only got this and the yaris cross hybrid to consider. Now that is made in Japan, almost the same price, but the unfortunately for the Yaris, the interior feels made in China.

The drive however is really good. The first impressions hitting the first road bump is how supple and well damped it is, abit like memory foam. You dont get such feel from Japanese cars in the past. It must be Renault influence!

The drive train is very smooth and torquey, feels like a 1.4turbo DSG accelerating. Even when the engine kicks in , its fairly quiet and at a low RPM. Much better than Yaris Cross in this respect. However, FC I understand is not as good as Yaris, online I see 16-17km/l as realistic. The test drive car had a 10.1km/l average in its computer.

Interior quality is subpar, but there is some effort unlike the Yaris. Looks like it took a cheap interior and spruced it up with Nappa. Still it cant hide the rough edges and the hard plastics. Try cranking up the driver seat height up and down, you will not be able to do that without breaking the lever. And whats that wire in the rear view mirror tunnel ? The steering leather feels more suited for a Nissan Urvan, material, coarse and hard, leather really ? Interior space is soso, narrow car with decent leg room front and back. One queer trait I notice, the rear passenger bench has a slight offset. It is position more left, and you will notice when u sit behind, you do not sit directly behind the front seat. Because of the offset, the foot well feels smaller behind the driver seat than the passenger seat. The arm rest too is useless, its there, but you will hunch to use it. These are the queer traits that irritate.

Overall, nice car to drive, nice damped, but not so nice pricing. I would choose this over a Yaris Cross, but at this px point, an Arona drives better at $10K cheaper and a Subaru XV is 1 class up and slightly cheaper. Do look at these as well!

anoonair
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2018
Really value for money car. Good family car to own.  Posted on 30 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Just got this car during week end. And now driving for 3 days. Did a city drive in Orchard, Raffles & Serangoon, managed to get 19.4 Km average in FC report. Easy to maneuver
Specially in city roads. Did try a sharp turning, stable drive turning radius is really good compared to any other models in same class. Most important family really liked the drive in this car. I will really recommend this, if a 4 member family looking for a SUV type within a reasonable price. As a driver what I like is one pedal system, which really giving an easy and unstressed drive in Singapore roads.

What I like
Driver comfort.
Features for driver.
Decent space for passengers and boot.
Instant torque and power.
Fuel consumption.
Less or no engine/road noise.
Exterior design.
Music system and head unit even though it supports only apple car play.
easy to maneuver and park.
clear view.
Aircon.

What I do not like
Could have bot more spacious for rear passengers.

Review cam. same model in thailand and indonesia comes with better view in head unit with 360 deg view, not a boxed view in review mirror which really not helpful especially if we have some eyesight issue.

Driver Arm rest not really useful. could have more storage as well.

Could have more features in head unit and for driver assistance. other cars in same segment or within same price comes with more features.

serlbh
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 16-Dec-2020
Most fuel $ friendly sprinting car I've owned.  Posted on 16 Dec 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This Serial-Hybrid employed in the Kicks is a great as it is driven by electric motor. Hence there is no engine heat in front of the driver, and the air conditioning system is so cold. The AC electric motor is so well tuned and it seemed to have some AI that learned the driver's driving habits, the more you drive, the more comfortable one feels.

What I like
Quiet, responsive high torque (so might regard this as jerky ride). the SMART drive mode is most satisfying, at FC below 5 L/ 100km for urban driving.

The boot space is huge!

With the discount of road tax coming in 2021, this car is becoming more cost effective, but this is not unique to Kicks.

What I do not like
The rear view mirror could have been installed higher, especially for tall driver. The integrated display in the rear view mirror for reverse camera is too bright and too near for driver with age, as bi-focal spectacles are design for reading.

If the Kicks is as big as the Qashqai, it will be a greater car to own, as it seems to be too cramp for tall people.

Murakami
1st Gear
1 reviews
82 points
17 forum posts Joined on 09-Nov-2010
Stable and Robust and packs alot of torque  Posted on 22 Oct 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I told myself that I will post a review once I completed my first maintenance . So, here it is. My likes for this car outweigh my dislike totally. Quiet(most of the time), very responsive drive, torque on demand, overtaking is a non issue now!

And best of all, the fuel savings as compared to my old ride's FC and the average monthly mileage I would cover, this car would be able to save me around 30% To 50% Of my monthly petrol cost and to add icing to the cake, it take Ron 92 fuel...

Coming from a non tech car like the honda Jazz, this car truly kicks!

What I like
1. Responsiveness of the car; instant torque when needed.
2. Quietness of the ride - some may need to disagree with me; but the car is quiet most of the time, except when the engine comes on occasionally to charge the battery
3. Stability of the ride; did a couple of cornering at higher speed but car handled cornering very well.
4. Sound System- love the integration between the phone and Head Unit. And best of all, the sound system is really nice, 7 speakers, with good clarity and not too shabby but that's perhaps be

What I do not like
The weirdness when you turn on/turn off the car;

The car doesn't auto lock when it is moving.

The car interior, for windows locking, door locking seems abit dated.

And for some people, the reverse sound, may seems tat irritating.

The car's interior doesn't have much storage room, i.e. under the steering wheel, no compartment or ledge to store a sunglass or something.

Nudgedoink
1st Gear
5 reviews
30 points
47 forum posts Joined on 20-Nov-2017
Agent is the main reason I don't recommend  Posted on 17 Oct 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 4/5 Features 3/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
This is one of those unfortunate cases where the car is good, but agent aftersales and technical experience is too questionable to recommend the purchase.

Test drove the car and it felt great. Interior quality could be better, but is fine for me. Seats are super comfortable. Car looks great and the new technology is exciting.

No. 1 concern is whether this new e power technology is reliable. Serena owners have experienced issues that the agent was not able to rectify in a timely and satisfactory manner and in one case only managed to rectify it after a month! Other issues which plagued the qashqai owners such as the squeaky steering wheel are also not addressed by the agent for these new models.

What I like
Engine feels awesome
Car looks good inside and out
Comfortable seats

What I do not like
Very bad agent support
Durability issues with Nissan cars.
High Road tax.
Ugly rims
No DRL.

Fuzzylogic
1st Gear
5 reviews
100 points
178 forum posts Joined on 04-Oct-2004
It's all about the Engine/Motor  Posted on 09 Sep 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 2/5
Value for money 2/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Test drove the Kicks E-power about 2 weeks back. The highlight for the kicks e-power is definitely the engine and drivetrain. Other than that, it doesn't really have much going for it. Handling and driver engagement is what you expect for this class of vehicle. Not particularly engaging and rather boring. The interior is from the entry level Almera sedan which was just launched in Malaysia. Liberal use of hard plastics throughout the cabin makes you feel you are in a budget class vehicle which does not really match up to the price tag. It is unfortunate the taxation system here attributes to the rather high asking price. It should cost at least 15k less. The Kia Niro hybrid EX which goes for less than a 100k has an interior that feels more upmarket than this which in my opinion is a better choice if a small crossover is your thing.

What I like
1. Engine and drivetrain
2.Fuel economy

What I do not like
1. Cheap feeling interior
2. Boring driving dynamics
3. Cramped interior
4. No Android auto
5. Price - expensive considering the overall package

Sorethum
1st Gear
1 reviews
41 points
26 forum posts Joined on 09-Apr-2012
This car Kicks-ass!  Posted on 22 Aug 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
I took delivery of a Grey Premium Plus Kicks just before National Day - one of the 1st batches to be released.
Been driving for over 2 weeks and just pumped my 2nd tank of petrol.
So far I'm lovin' it!

The car itself is a rather basic compact crossover - some nice design cues here and there, but overall probably not striking or distinctive enough to stand out from the crowded field of competing small SUVs out there.

What makes the Kicks special, to me at least, is the E-Power technology - Nissan's attempt to address the two biggest shortcomings of electric vehicles - the range anxiety, and the general lack of charging infrastructure.
How Nissan gets around this is to have a small petrol engine whose only function is to charge the battery that powers the electric motor, that drives the car.
Some have commented, not incorrectly, that it's a roundabout and inefficient way of doing things, but on the contrary, I feel it's a very clever solution!
I get the zippy, high torque ride of an electric car, but none of the range anxiety and worry over finding a charging station, plus I get the fuel efficiency of a hybrid vehicle!

Unfortunately, I've only managed 16.4km/l on my 1st tank of petrol - which, while much better than my previous ride, is nowhere as good as the 21km/l that Nissan claims.
Not sure if it's the series-hybrid technology of the E-Power being not as efficient as the parallel-hybrid technology of the Toyota and Honda hybrids, or maybe it's just driving style, with a heavy right foot, in approximately 60% City, 40% Highway conditions.

Anyways, I really think this Kicks deserves a test-drive.
It's a small, zippy, good looking compact SUV that rides fairly well, has some nifty safety features, great sound system, comfy leather seats, a freezing cold air-con system, and is fairly fuel efficient!
Maybe after the test drive, you'll end up liking it enough to buy it, like I did!

What I like
- E-Power
- Fuel consumption quite good
- Bragging rights re driving an Electric vehicle
- Not expensive (by SG standards) for a Japan branded, electric/hybrid vehicle from AD
- Zippy ride
- Great sound system
- Intelligent Cruise Control
- Blind Spot Warning
- Comfy leather seats
- Powerful air-con
- Pretty good looking from the front and side

What I do not like
- Made in Thailand
- FC not as good as stated
- Interior design cues all over the place - leather with contrast stitching also have, carbon fibre also have, hard shiny plastic also have
- Some bits, eg. window buttons, look like they could have come from a Nissan Sunny from 20 years ago
- No sun-roof option
- Boot has a lid drop
- Rear seats cannot fold completely flat
- No air-con vents for second row
- Various storage holes are useless - all too small or shallow to be useful or practical
- Backside a bit busy looking

Munhua2
1st Gear
2 reviews
18 points
29 forum posts Joined on 10-Dec-2016
Most powerful acceleration so far!  Posted on 25 Jul 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Forget abt diesel. An electric car that drives like the mg zs electric but 20k cheaper and no need to charge as charged by the 1.2l petrol engine. With so many safety features especially for premium plus that has intelligent cruise control, mg has nothing as eurokars refuse to bring in mg pilot. The serena epower mpv is too big for small families so this is the best choice!

What I like
High acceleration with so many safety features!
Very fuel efficient at 17.5km/l which is more than other hybrids or even diesel.

What I do not like
Bouncy
Cramped
Cannot reverse park properly as cannot see.
The reverse cam on rear view mirror is really small.
No android auto but can buy a small android tablet for gps on dashboard.

Jetabout777
1st Gear
2 reviews
23 points
708 forum posts Joined on 27-Jun-2006
Nimble and Responsive Drive  Posted on 20 Jul 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
Test drove this car and really loved the driving performance. This car is a wolf in sheep's skin because you wouldn't expect such performance from a compact SUV. The e-power technology is really good for Singapore's urban driving pattern as it gives you excellent torque for pick up from standstill and overtaking. Best of all, this car does not require external charging even though its powertrain is electric.

What I like
1. E-power powertrain that is powerful, efficient and without external charging.

2. Instant torque available which is a very different experience as compared to other hybrids.

3. Nimble and easy to manoeuvre. Steering is light, hence very good for parking in tight spaces.

4. Size is not too big and not too small.

5. All round visibility is excellent with rarely any major blindspots.

6. Leather upholstery is nappa and really smooth to the touch.

7. Sharp graphics on the audio unit and pretty responsive.

8. Excellent boot space for a compact SUV.

9. Numerous safety features such as blind spot warning, rear traffic alert, emergency braking, 7 airbags, etc.

10. 10 years or 160k warranty for battery is quite assuring.

What I do not like
1. No TPMS.

2. Dual tone exterior is not available for all colours.

3. Orange and black leather not available for lower spec. Looks quite attractive when matched with orange or black exterior.

4. Rims are from the Nissan Leaf. Should have its own unique design.

Gabdat
4th Gear
23 reviews
554 points
253 forum posts Joined on 15-Mar-2009
Instant power at your feet  Posted on 15 Jul 2020
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 2/5 Reliability 1/5
Handling 2/5 Features 2/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 1/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
First time testing a car with this kind of smart power-train. Feels different. Comparing to hybrids,might give you anxiety and worries as power comes only from the batteries,rather from the engine and battery.
Simple analogy-hybrids can still move if the batteries malfunction. With Kicks, it's game over. Something to ponder. Finally, I think this car is just for novelty. Just to show off to your friends, neighbors and relatives. Forcing you to believe that people are impressed with your car.

What I like
-Instant power. Just press and go. No build up of torque like conventional engine.
-Adaptive cruise control.
-Nice exterior design and spacious back seat.
-Zippy drive.
-Not much intrusion of road and wind noise.
-Auto hold. Handy when you're at a light stop.
-Good fuel consumption.
-10 years or 160 000 km mileage lithium battery warranty.
-Friendly SE.

What I do not like
-Interior is way too cheap. Hard plastics everywhere. Not worth the price.
-Hybrids give much better mileage.
-Engine is a bit intrusive when it "kicks" in.
-Below average handling.
-No AA, only Apple Car-play.
-No auto tailgate. No rear air con.
-Reliability. Lately Nissan has been getting a lot of negative feedback for quality.
-The brochure does not state it's top speed and 0-100 km acceleration. Fishy.
-Made in Thailand. Might be subjective as most Japanese cars do come from Thailand but personally I expected this to be from Japan.

  •   Sort By
  •  spacer 
  •  results/page
Nissan Kicks e-POWER Hybrid
3.5 stars - based on 10 reviews