Recommended for you

The Hyundai Avante is a stunning sedan

The new class act - Hyundai Avante

New marketing campaign for the new Elantra

Rule change allowed access to bigger loans


   Editor Review
spacer
spacer
spacer
Video Review - Hyundai Avante 1.6 Elite (A)
21 Dec 2020  |  Hyundai Reviews
The Hyundai Avante gives those looking for an everyday sedan a stylish option both on the inside and out. Could this change the image of the Korean brands?
spacer
spacer
What We Dislike
Blindspot warning beeping can get irritating
spacer
spacer
spacer
vs
vs
Comparison Tests:
Hyundai Avante vs Mazda 3 Sedan vs Toyota Corolla Altis
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
   Consumer Reviews of Hyundai Avante
spacer
spacer
OVERALL RATING
 
22 Reviewers
4 out of 5
spacer
Comfort
4/5 Reliability
4/5
spacer
Handling
4/5 Features
4.5/5
spacer
Exterior Styling
4.5/5 Interior Design
4/5
spacer
Value for money
4/5 Engine Performance
3.5/5
spacer
spacer
spacer

22 Reviews

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Limpeh23
2nd Gear
8 reviews
142 points
201 forum posts Joined on 21-Apr-2011
Most Bang-for-Buck Car in this Class  Posted on 22 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This is a car that has a distinctive look on the roads, one that will stand out from the rest and catch your eye. I love the sporty silhouette and especially the rear end with the H tail lights which are a beauty at night.

I honestly feel that in this segment and class, the Avante is a real value for money proposition, considering the features that it comes with and the spacious interior. I am not a fan of the CVT, but it has a rev-happy engine and is right up there with the best of its 1.6L NA peers in terms of performance.

Overall, if you are looking for a car that looks good, is spacious and is feature packed, then this is the car for you.

What I like
-Sporty silhouette
-Rear H tail lights
-Spacious interior
-Feature packed
-Well designed interior
-Rev-happy engine

What I do not like
-CVT gearbox

LPPL
6th Gear
5 reviews
2,612 points
1368 forum posts Joined on 14-Jan-2012
An appealing car in every sense  Posted on 12 Oct 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This car drives very smoothly and has good interior comfort. Elite comes with ventilated seats and a sunroof, features that I like. When driving on the road, this car is certainly a head turner with its unique design. Its wide body and long wheelbase offers passengers the luxury of space. There are also plenty of safety features, making this car a safe family sedan. I have tested this car and the honda civic and it did not take me long to decide on the CN7.

What I like
Safety features
Smart cruise control
ventilated seats
rear aircon vents
memory seats
sunroof
beautiful wide body design
spacious interior

What I do not like
default lane assist
beeping of turning signal

Kazuya
4th Gear
3 reviews
550 points
310 forum posts Joined on 21-Jan-2016
A huge leap forward for Hyundai  Posted on 24 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 3/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I'm currently driving a Hyundai Elantra AD since 2018 and this is serious improvement in terms of Engine, Fuel efficiency, Comfort, Styling and Features.

I was comparing the Hyundai Avante CN7 to the Mazda 3 and if only the CN7 has an interior like the Mazda, they would beat every single Japanese rival from Toyota, Honda and Mazda hands down.

I ultimately still chose the CN7 and put my money down because of its other features and styling. The Engine feels smoother compared to Mazda, better fuel economy, bold styling, and of course more spacious.The only downside is that the interior still feels plastic as compared to Mazda 3.

What I like
- Spacious (Spacious compared to the Elantra AD and Mazda 3)
- Engine (Smooth Pick up and quiet)
- Bold styling (Not to everyone's liking though)
- Features like Android carplay, electronic dashboard etc..

What I do not like
Overly Plastic interior

jonlim0083
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 24-Apr-2022
Feature rich, but a design that does not last  Posted on 24 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 3/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 1/5 Interior Design 1/5
Value for money 3/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
I have been driving the Avante for a few months now and firstly, lets address the largest elephant in the room: the Avante's design. I must say kudos to the Hyundai team for designing something so radical, which was appealing to me at first. However, the more I drove the Avante, the more I hated the design (the radical design clearly didnt last) and the more I regretted my decision. So many people asked me if I got "Hit" By another car cause they thought there was a "Dent" At the sides and back of the car. Cleaning the car also became more tedious and difficult.

Nonetheless, the Avante is loaded with features, from wireless Android Auto and Apple carplay, to rear aircon vents, auto rain sensing wipers, electric seats, digital infotainment and dashboard panel, auto brake hold and tons of safety features. These are really great and almost unheard of in its class, and one of the reasons why many people like me bought the car.

However, all these features comes at some expense as there is no free lunch in this world. The Avante has one of the most hard plastics in the cars that I have driven. I was in an collision with a motorcycle (Yamaha) and my Avante's bumper dropped out while the motorcycle was relatively unscathed! In addition, even though the Avante qualifies for a $15k VES rebate, the price is still higher than other cars in its class even though the OMV is the same.

In terms of engine, the Avante has a 1.6l Gamma II IVT, which is surprisingly fuel efficient, and understandably why many of the taxi companies use Hyundai cars. But again, it is a double edged sword as I always get questions on why I am driving a "Taxi" Car, and I didn't even choose Blue!

What I like
- Loads of features such as wireless Android Auto and Apple carplay, rear aircon vents, auto rain sensing wipers, electric seats, digital infotainment and dashboard panel, auto brake hold and tons of safety features.
- Decent powertain with good FC

What I do not like
- Exterior design was something that I grew and grew to hate
- So many people asked me if I got "hit" by another car cause they thought there was a "dent" at the sides and back of the car
- Cleaning the car also became more tedious and difficult.
- Avante qualifies for a $15k VES rebate, but the price is still higher than other cars in its class even though the OMV is the same.
- Associated with being a "taxi" car
- Alot of hard plastics in the cars

ryanschumi55
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Nov-2021
Fun and packed with safety features  Posted on 22 Apr 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 

Review
Been driving this car for almost a month now. My first Hyundai...Definitely a head turner with its futuristic looks. Drives well too. A lot of safety features and most importantly fun to drive. I like that it Comes with Google play and blind spot assistance and though the latter might be a bit too cautios at times but I will get use to the safety features eventually.

aerolith
Neutral Newbie
10 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
High refinement for the segement  Posted on 27 Mar 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 4/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
You're probably cross-shopping the Avante between the likes of the Honda Civic and the Toyota Corolla.

If your priority is driving refinement, this is the one to get. The cabin is quiet, engine drone is well suppressed, and it actually rides with a quality that comes close to a premium product.

What I like
That wild exterior design, which is what I guess, has pulled you into checking out this car as well.

There's also a fairly punchy engine underneath the bonnet, but where the Avante truly excels is the pleasantly designed cabin, with a pleasing mix of materials, cushy seats, and a decent looking infotainment to play with - something that you'll only get in some cars of the segment.

What I do not like
That exterior will always be divisive, even with so many examples already on the road.

suzukievery
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 19-Mar-2020
A car that obliterates the competition  Posted on 07 Mar 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
This generation of Avante/Elantra from Hyundai has really taken then brand to the next level. This Avante, along with the Tucson, are the new flagships of the brand, with an enormous amount of thought, design, features and hardware packed into a price-cutting package.

Absolutely packed with features, safety aids, comfort, all at the affordable price, undercutting its competitors. It is astounding how this car is raising the bar for compact sedans in any market. There are few things lacking, like paddle shifters and HUD, but still you can't complain because it is already ridiculously good value for money.

What I like
Features:
wireless AA/AC connectivity + wireless charging. start the car, throw your phone in and go, connected to the head unit, no plugging needed, navigation and music is automatically brought up, while your phone gets some charge.
sunroof
ventilated seats, a quality of life upgrade you can't go back from
full-digital instruments with customisable design, engine temperature reading
eco + sports mode
front electric seats, driver memory seats
IVT power and fuel savings
full suite of safety features, even capable of level 2 self driving with active cruise control + lane keeping assist
auto dimming rear view mirror
auto high beam + of course auto lights
auto wipers
revolutionary exterior design
plastic is done up well, especially on steering wheel, feels premium
tyre pressure monitoring system
good insulation for its segment
comfortable drive with relatively long wheelbase
rear seat aircon

What I do not like
No walkaway auto lock/welcome auto unlock, even though there is hardware to detect the proximity of the key. The mirrors unfold when you approach, yet you still have to physically push the door button before it unlocks
Wireless charging pad is behind the shifter, so it takes an angling to reach, especially in P gear.
safety system alarm is annoying, even at softest setting, no option to have mirror warnings light up without accompanying alarm. The sound itself is jarring, as compared to a refined warning tone like the one found in Mazda
Boot top will drip some water into the boot when opening.
Ventilated seats and auto hold by default are off, no memory setting or changing of default mode.

quippery
Neutral Newbie
31 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 07-Apr-2021
Best looking in the class  Posted on 09 Jan 2022
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
The Hyundai Avante has stepped up from one of Singapore's eyesores on the road to becoming a true looker. A long features list does not hurt it either.

The blue is a must-get for the Avante.

What I like
Ok, so the looks are divisive. Some people hate it, other's love it. Either way you have to give Hyundai credit for designing something so radical in actually putting it to market.

As with most cars from the firm, you also get plenty of safety tech. I think most of you will find the ventilated seats on the 'Elite' models more impressive.

Drive quality is also high in the Hyundai Avante, the ride is well-settled and you get good levels of insulation from outside noise on the go.

What I do not like
nil.

hansmith
1st Gear
1 reviews
27 points
69 forum posts Joined on 10-Nov-2018
Value-for-money car which is also the largest CAT A sedan you can get  Posted on 08 Dec 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 5/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Bought the Elite trim at $96k in June 2021 and have been driving for about 6 months. Here's my honest impressions on the likes and dislikes.

What I like
I am talking about what i like about the elite trim.
- Sub $100k price (now no longer the case)
- Looks (subjective)
- This is a very large car despite being CAT A. Family appreciates the room at the back.
- Ventilated front seats
- Driver seat moves back when you turn off the car so you can get out easily and it also moves in when you close the driver's door
- Good fuel economy for a non-hybrid
- Good sound insulation
- Digital displays for both instrument panel and in-car entertainment (speed is good)
- WIRELESS Apple Carplay
- Comfortable ride (for a car without multilink suspension)
- Shines when cruising

What I do not like
- Sound system slightly soft
- Blind spot monitoring warning sounds are irritating (turned off permanently)
- Boot has no handle when you open or close it. You need to touch the metal of the car when you open or close it.
- Pick-up from stationary is a abit slow (but it is a cat A car with low horsepower)

technetium
Clutched
8 reviews
9 points
2 forum posts Joined on 19-Nov-2021
Value for Money (if you are ok with the looks)  Posted on 27 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 3/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Very good value for its price! From interior comfort, design, safety features, to digital displays and controls! Only thing is you must be ok with the looks

What I like
Interior is well designed and looks atas (for its price)
Safety features are comprehensive (for the mid/higher spec)
Wireless Apple Carplay / Android Auto

All in all, GREAT value

What I do not like
Exterior styling is a bit too pretentious for me...
The width and length (with those angles) may be awkward to drive in tight spots...

Honghao
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 11-Nov-2021
Avante Exceed the ABCs Of Its Class  Posted on 17 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 4/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
The all new Hyundai Avante brings out the futuristic, and its sleek design, with their all new sedan, having the 'A'bsolute, 'B'old and 'C'reative compared to the past Avante predecessor. It is hard to believe that this is a Category A vehicle.

Nothing changes from the Avante are the comfort of drive, and fuel efficiency.

But the exterior is the first to catch the eyes of me. At the first look, the curvy edges, long rear windscreen, and the aggressive front grills seems to be Hyundai's biggest breakthrough of the design . While cruising, it is not hard to notice that blade like rims spinning, adding that aggressiveness to the design of the car.

The interior does not resemble any of its past Avante. On the driver seat, greeted with a 8" Screen display, curled to the drivers vision level for easy navigation on the road. It gives a luxury feel, with the dashboards going digital instead of the conventional analog type of display.

The drive are much quieter even going to at a higher speed of 90km/h, and with drive modes (Eco, sports etc) to cater for different driving style. Bringing a date out for a ride on a hot weather doesnt seem to be a big issue, as it also have a ventilated seats, to enhance the vehicle experience on the road. Avante is certainly a car I will drive to bring my lady for a date.

What I like
- Curvy edge dashboard and infotainment system well crafted and customized for driver eccentric control

- Wireless Apple and Android auto carplay.

- Ample boot space

- No additional bodykit required, as the overall design has brought out its uniqueness. It helps to save money too!

What I do not like
- Interior and exterior color combinations of car don't seem to blend in well

- Monotone color on car body. It could be unique if there are trim linings with other colors

- No usb port at the rear seats

- Hard plastics (But you will take it because it just looks good overall)

Bnlee
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
0 points
2 forum posts Joined on 12-Sep-2021
I am Impressed  Posted on 15 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 5/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 5/5
spacer

Review
To start with, I am a regular Toyota Altis and mazda 3 driver and occasionally i have drove Kia Stonic, Lexus, Honda Civic & Toyota Wish.

Prior to this purchase, i have tested on Kia Niro, Cerato, Hyundai Avante CN7, Honda City, Mazda 3, Honda Shuttle and Seat Arona. And selected the avante CN7 due to its price, specs and drive experience. I would personally still go for altis but the price is too high for my budget.

Personally, i failed Kia completely whether it is engine performance or in cabin noise insulation. And when i tried the avante, i was immediately impressed with the engine power and noise insulation. The transmission is smooth and i think it has one of the best in cabin noise insulation.

Many people have commented on the plastic-y feel in the cabin, they are right. But when we choose the black interior, it doesnt feel that bad. The plastic isnt that obvious with the black colour choice.

For the engine wise, it definitely beat the Kia completely. I didnt need to drag the engine to overtake cars from stationary position at the traffic light.

The technology is pretty new with digital panels and several safety features(some may find it irritating with all the beeps).

So now i have bought this car and drove it for 3 months already. Here's my likes and dislikes:

Likes:
- Good FC --> Average 14-15km/L with 65% Highway 35% City
- Reasonably good pick up comparing to my peers on the road.
- Relatively quiet in cabin noise. Probably you will hear tire noise but it is better than most of the cars in its class.
- Aircon vent at the rear.
- Nice H design at the back and it is always a good conversation starter with the design of the car. "Chio" Is the common word with the feedback from strangers.
- Very good rear space and car boot space

Dislikes:
- The car is abit light in terms of its handling
- The plastic dashboard keeps having quiking sound
- The car has lots of curves so it is easy to have dent when other cars open their car too forcefully
- The bass of the sound system is a little weak
- The window rubber weaken quite fast which resulted in wind noise, however, will get it fixed by KMC (i hope)
- Glossy dashboard surface which makes dust visible easily.

3 months to my purchase, i am still a satisfied buyer. :)

What I like
- Good FC --> average 14-15km/L with 65% highway 35% City
- Reasonably good pick up comparing to my peers on the road.
- Relatively quiet in cabin noise. Probably you will hear tire noise but it is better than most of the cars in its class.
- Aircon vent at the rear.
- Nice H design at the back and it is always a good conversation starter with the design of the car. "Chio" is the common word with the feedback from strangers.
- Very good rear space and car boot space

What I do not like
- The car is abit light in terms of its handling
- The plastic dashboard keeps having quiking sound
- The car has lots of curves so it is easy to have dent when other cars open their car too forcefully
- The bass of the sound system is a little weak
- The window rubber weaken quite fast which resulted in wind noise, however, will get it fixed by KMC (i hope)
- Glossy dashboard surface which makes dust visible easily.

mewmart
Neutral Newbie
1 reviews
3 points
2 forum posts Joined on 23-Jan-2021
Feature rich with a wallet friendly price  Posted on 11 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 3/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 3/5
spacer

Review
Personal opinions about this car is that it fulfils a lot of the needs for the modern city driver. From the spacious interior and boot, to the feature rich infotainment and safety systems in place, the price you pay for the car, is really “A lot of car” That you are getting out of it.

Granted that there are a lot of downsides such as a plasticky interior, probably also with bad QC for paintwork and finishes, but these are not performance impacting issues. The engine has a decent fuel efficiency as well for the average driver too so as long it is driven sensibly and not redlining it every time. The CVT is still rubber bandish but it’S not as prominent as its other competitors in the same segment in terms of the rev drag, making pickup somewhat decent off the traffic lights.

As a fan of Apple, having wireless CarPlay is really what attracted to me despite me being more of a Honda fan. The tech inside this car has kind of converted me to a Hyundai believer as well. All the tech that they have added in are really to be considered “Standard” In the current context and yet they could do that with a fraction of the cost. Well done.

I would recommend this for a first time car owner for sure. Well done Hyundai for all the improvements along the year and hope that this car can beat the competition to be the Sedan of the Year.

keitxw
Neutral Newbie
2 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 06-Nov-2016
Really value for money car  Posted on 04 Nov 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 5/5 Reliability 4/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 5/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Got the Avante during the NDP promotion this year. Test drove this twice and was impressed with how stable and serene the drive was. The exterior looks just outstanding and different from the rest of the cars on the road. The safety tech offered is applaudable at the price point vs its competitors. The car's interior is spacious and boot space is good. Sound insulation is not too bad. Car stability at higher speed (above 100km/h) is good.

I test drove the Cerato, Mazda 3 and Avante and among them, Avante's interior space was the best. It's engine also didn't feel like it was struggling and pickup seem better than the other 2. Since it's a CVT, pickup isn't as fun.

One thing to note though (coming from a Golf) you won't be too impressed with the fuel consumption. Averaging only 10km/litre on mostly normal roads. Can go 13.5km/litre with some expressway travelling. Plus I am not even heavy footed.

Nonetheless for the price point (I got it at 94k) it is really one of the better options out there.

What I like
- Wireless Android Auto and Apple Carplay
- Safety tech
- Exterior looks
- Comfortable drive
- LED taillight strip (very pretty)
- Interior space

What I do not like
- Plasticky interior (but for the price, what can you ask for)
- Fuel consumption
- Halogen indicators and brake lights (let down given the design)
- Automatic Lane Keep Assist that cannot be turned off

ilovetoyotacars
Neutral Newbie
24 reviews
0 points
0 forum posts Joined on 25-May-2015
Impressive looking sedan  Posted on 19 Aug 2021
spacer
Overall Rating
 
spacer
spacer
Comfort 4/5 Reliability 5/5
Handling 4/5 Features 5/5
Exterior Styling 5/5 Interior Design 4/5
Value for money 4/5 Engine Performance 4/5
spacer

Review
Hyundai has really outdone themselves with the design of the new Avante. There is no mistaking another car for it.

Not only does the exterior look good, the interior of the Avante is probably one of the best in its class featuring quality metal, leather and fabric. Unlike othe cars, it even has wireless Apple Carplay and Android auto.

The insulation is good, with little engine noise.

What I like
- Good looking
- Comfortable ride

What I do not like
- Fuel consumption not as good

  •   Sort By
  •  « Back ( 1 2 ) Next »  
  •  results/page
Hyundai Avante
4 stars - based on 22 reviews